Skip to main content

Library 101 for Faculty: Library Materials

Who we are and our goals; what we offer to you and your students, and how you can better integrate library services and information literacy into your courses.

Library Collection

The CCBC Library collection includes over 100,000 print monographs, over 55,000 ebooks, 68 primarily article databases providing access to over 45,000 periodicals, and two academic video databases. SmartSearch searches 50 of these databases and the library catalog (155,000 print & ebooks + c.5,000 video links) simultaneously. The library collection is regularly evaluated for currency and relevance to subject area. New acquisitions arrive weekly. In FY2015, we added 5,417 new permanent items and withdrew just over 5,000 outdated or damaged books and media items. 

Course Reserves

course reserves

Place materials behind the Circulation Desk that students can borrow for limited periods of time in the library, ensuring the books or articles on reserve will be available to everyone. Not only can you select books from the current collection for reserve use, but we also encourage you to donate copies of your course textbooks. This is a very popular service with the students and it is a great way, in addition to scheduling a library session, to get them into the library.

 

Recommendations & Requests

suggest a purchase

Identify course and provide brief assignment description if not submitting specific title. A collection development librarian will respond within two business days. 

SmartSearch Educational Resources in Blackboard: Reading list creator

SmartSearch:Educational Resources is a tool in Blackboard for creating and managing course reading lists.  It "enables you to bring the world of quality databases, ebooks, and other digital resources from the library’s discovery system easily and directly into the online learning environment." - Ebsco, product vendor

The library can help you in utilizing our collection of journal subscriptions, ebooks, streaming videos.  SmartSearch: Educational Resources  streamlines the linking process in Blackboard.

For more information about SmartSearch: Educational Resources (SSER), contact Karen Quinn-Wisniewski
Jean Boggs or Anne Sleeman.

For more information about the library acquiring online resources for use in your course, contact Elizabeth Irtenkauf