Library Catalog
On Shelf at CCBC Libraries
College Algebra and Trigonometry by
Julie Miller wrote her developmental math series because students were coming into her Precalculus course underprepared. They weren't mathematically mature enough to understand the concepts of math nor were they fully engaged with the material. She began her developmental mathematics offerings with intermediate algebra to help bridge that gap. The Precalculus series is a carefully constructed end to that bridge that uses the highly effective pedagogical features from her fastest growing developmental math series. What sets Julie Miller's series apart is that it addresses course issues through an author-created digital package that maintains a consistent voice and notation throughout the program. This consistency--in videos, PowerPoints, Lecture Notes, and Group Activities--coupled with the power of ALEKS and Connect Hosted by ALEKS, ensures that students master the skills necessary to be successful in Precalculus and can carry them through to the calculus sequence.
Call Number: QA154.3.M5434 2017
Trigonometry by
This guide covers the story of trigonometry. It is a swift overview, but it is complete in the context of the content discussed in beginning and advanced high-school courses. The purpose of these notes is to supplement and put into perspective the material of any course on the subject you may have taken or are currently taking. (These notes will be tough going for those encountering trigonometry for the very first time!)
Call Number: QA531.T18 2015
Trigonometry for Dummies by
A plain-English guide to the basics of trig Trigonometry deals with the relationship between the sides and angles of triangles... mostly right triangles. In practical use, trigonometry is a friend to astronomers who use triangulation to measure the distance between stars. Trig also has applications in fields as broad as financial analysis, music theory, biology, medical imaging, cryptology, game development, and seismology. From sines and cosines to logarithms, conic sections, and polynomials, this friendly guide takes the torture out of trigonometry, explaining basic concepts in plain English and offering lots of easy-to-grasp example problems. It also explains the "why" of trigonometry, using real-world examples that illustrate the value of trigonometry in a variety of careers. Tracks to a typical Trigonometry course at the high school or college level Packed with example trig problems From the author of Trigonometry Workbook For Dummies Trigonometry For Dummies is for any student who needs an introduction to, or better understanding of, high-school to college-level trigonometry.
Call Number: QA531 .S783 2014
Trigonometry: a Complete Introduction by
Trigonometry: A Complete Introduction is the most comprehensive yet easy-to-use introduction to Trigonometry. Written by a leading expert, this book will help you if you are studying for an important exam or essay, or if you simply want to improve your knowledge. The book covers all areas of trigonometry including the theory and equations of tangent, sine and cosine, using trigonometry in three dimensions and for angles of any magnitude, and applications of trigonometry including radians, ratio, compound angles and circles related to triangles. Everything you will need is here in this one book. Each chapter includes not only an explanation of the knowledge and skills you need, but also worked examples and test questions.
Call Number: QA533.A23 2013
Databases
- Science Database
Articles on both the applied and general sciences like aerospace, computers, transportation, and biology.
Basic Trigonometry by Khan Academy
Trigonometry - Easy to understand 3D animation by Eugene Khutoryansky
Digital Learning Object by Wisc-Online with Creative Commons License
- Practical Trigonometry
In this online activity, you will learn how to solves five practical shop problems using right angle trigonometry.
Online from CCBC Libraries
Trigonometry: a Very Short Introduction by
Born of the desire to understand the workings of motions of the heavenly bodies, trigonometry gave the ancient Greeks the ability to predict their futures. Most of what we see of the subject in school comes from these heavenly origins; 15th century astronomer Regiomontanus called it "the foot of the ladder to the stars". In this Very Short Introduction Glen Van Brummelen shows how trigonometry connects mathematics to science, and has today become an indispensable tool in predicting cyclic patterns like animal populations and ocean tides. Its historical journey through major cultures such as medieval India and the Islamic World has taken it through disciplines such as geography and even religious practice. Trigonometry has also been a major player in the most startling mathematical developments of the modern world. Its interactions with the concept of infinity led to Taylor and Fourier series, some of the most practical tools of modern science. The birth of complex numbers led to a shocking union of exponential and trigonometric functions, creating the most beautiful formulas and powerful modelling tools in science. Finally, as Van Brummelen shows, trigonometry allows us to explore the strange new worlds of non-Euclidean geometries, opening up bizarre possibilities for the shape of space itself. And indeed, one of those new geometries - spherical - takes us full circle back to ancient Greek astronomers and European navigators, who first used it to chart their ways across the heavens and the earth. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Publication Date: 2020
Geometry and Trigonometry by
This stimulating volume offers a broad collection of the principles of geometry and trigonometry, and contains colorful diagrams to bring mathematical principles to life. Subjects are enriched by references to famous mathematicians and their ideas, and the stories are presented in a very comprehensible way. Readers investigate the relationships of points, lines, surfaces, and solids. They study a wealth of facts about figures and, above all, methods to prove the facts. They learn about triangle measure for circular motion, sine, and trigonometric functions that are applied to right triangles.
Publication Date: 2014
Heavenly Mathematics by
Heavenly Mathematics traces the rich history of spherical trigonometry, revealing how the cultures of classical Greece, medieval Islam, and the modern West used this forgotten art to chart the heavens and the Earth. Once at the heart of astronomy and ocean-going navigation for two millennia, the discipline was also a mainstay of mathematics education for centuries and taught widely until the 1950s. Glen Van Brummelen explores this exquisite branch of mathematics and its role in ancient astronomy, geography, and cartography; Islamic religious rituals; celestial navigation; polyhedra; stereographic projection; and more. He conveys the sheer beauty of spherical trigonometry, providing readers with a new appreciation of its elegant proofs and often surprising conclusions. Heavenly Mathematics is illustrated throughout with stunning historical images and informative drawings and diagrams. This unique compendium also features easy-to-use appendixes as well as exercises that originally appeared in textbooks from the eighteenth to the early twentieth centuries.
Call Number: QA535.V36Publication Date: 2012
Trig or Treat by
This encyclopedia contains trigonometric identity proofs for some three hundred identities. The book is presented in the form of mathematical games for the reader's enjoyment and includes a concordance of trigonometric identities, enabling easy reference.Trig or Treat is a must-have for: - every student of trigonometry, to find the proofs for trigonometric identities that may be set in class or in exams;- every teacher of trigonometry, to have easy access to trigonometric identities of different levels of difficulty, to set assignments for different levels of students;- every library, to provide a ready resource for students- every aficionado of Sudoku, crossword puzzles, jigsaw puzzles, Tetris, and other games, who love an intellectual challenge.
Call Number: QA537.Y46Publication Date: 2007
Trigonometry by
Strengthen your trigonometry skills and grades with this powerful and simple tool for reviewing and referencing the most important core concepts. Quickly find that answer you need in 6 laminated pages rather than flipping through a large book. Used in the fields of engineering, medical imaging, geography, land surveying, and video game development, to name a few, you may find that trigonometry is here to stay in your career life. Keep this tool by your side and through it all for that extra memory jolt when you need it. Suggested uses: o Quick Reference - instead of digging into a large book to find a core answer you need while studying, use the guide to reinforce quickly and repeatedly o Memory - refreshing your memory repeatedly is a foundation of studying, have the core labs handy so you can focus on the larger picture
Publication Date: 2002
