Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
The Biggest Number in the World by
From cells in our bodies to measuring the universe, big numbers are everywhere We all know that numbers go on forever, that you could spend your life counting and never reach the end of the line, so there can't be such a thing as a 'biggest number'. Or can there? To find out, David Darling and Agnijo Banerjee embark on an epic quest, revealing the answers to questions like: are there more grains of sand on Earth or stars in the universe? Is there enough paper on Earth to write out the digits of a googolplex? And what is a googolplex? Then things get serious. Enter the strange realm between the finite and the infinite, and float through a universe where the rules we cling to no longer apply. Encounter the highest number computable and infinite kinds of infinity. At every turn, a cast of wild and wonderful characters threatens the status quo with their ideas, and each time the numbers get larger.
Call Number: QA99 .D24 2022
The Mathematics of Everyday Life by
If you think of mathematics as a series of pointless classroom exercises without much relevance to real life, this book will change your mind. As the authors show, math is deeply embedded in almost every aspect of daily life--from managing your personal finances, making consumer purchases, and sharpening your computational skills, to learning to apply mathematical concepts that will give you a better grasp of both ordinary and extraordinary events and help you better appreciate the world we live in. With some basic geometry under your belt, you'll discover that there is an optimal point on a soccer field from which to shoot a goal. And you'll be more clever with the gears of a bike. If you like to play cards or go to the casino, knowing something about probability will give you an edge. You'll also have an enhanced understanding of the "whispering effect" inside the Capitol rotunda, why a car's headlights are so bright, and even why sewer covers are round.
Call Number: QA93 .P6725 2018
ACCUPLACER Mathematics Exam Secrets Workbook by Call Number: LB2353.67 .A337 2016
College Mathematics Through Baseball by
Mathematics is often challenging for students majoring in nontechnical fields. This book makes mathematical concepts more engaging with examples drawn from baseball and other sports, providing a basis for a solid survey of college math. Liberal arts students will find concepts applicable to "real life" presented in ways not typically taught in college algebra courses. Topics covered include logical fallacies, unit conversions, statistics, probability, finance, geometry, modeling and voting theory. The book can be used in high school courses for students who have taken algebra and geometry. Instructors considering this book for use in a course may request an examination copy here.
Call Number: QA135.6 .W667 2015
Websites
- Purplemath
Help for standardized test prep as well as Pre-Algebra, Algebra, and Geometry
from GCFLearnFree.org
Math Basics from GCFGlobal
- Math Basics Playlist
Includes videos explaining Addition, Subtraction, Multiplication, Division, Decimals, Percents, Reading and Writing Fractions, and Reducing Fractions
Podcasts
- Breaking Math Podcast Breaking Math is a podcast that aims to make math accessible to everyone, and make it enjoyable. Every other week, topics such as chaos theory, forbidden formulas, and more will be covered in detail. If you have 45 or so minutes to spare, you're almost guaranteed to learn something new!
- The Numberphile Podcast Interviews with people who love numbers and mathematics. Hosted by Brady Haran, maker of the Numberphile series on YouTube.
- Mathematical Moments from the American Mathematical Society The American Mathematical Societys Mathematical Moments program promotes appreciation and understanding of the role mathematics plays in science, nature, technology, and human culture. Listen to researchers talk about how they use math: from presenting realistic animation to beating cancer.
Online From CCBC Libraries
101 Careers in Mathematics by
This third edition of the immensely popular 101 Careers in Mathematics contains updates on the career paths of individuals profiled in the first and second editions, along with many new profiles. No career counselor should be without this valuable resource. The authors of the essays in this volume describe a wide variety of careers for which a background in the mathematical sciences is useful. Each of the jobs presented shows real people in real jobs. Their individual histories demonstrate how the study of mathematics was useful in landing well-paying jobs in predictable places such as IBM, AT & T, and American Airlines, and in surprising places such as FedEx Corporation, L.L. Bean, and Perdue Farms, Inc. You will also learn about job opportunities in the Federal Government as well as exciting careers in the arts, sculpture, music, and television. There are really no limits to what you can do if you are well prepared in mathematics. The degrees earned by the authors profiled here range from bachelor s to master s to PhD in approximately equal numbers. Most of the writers use the mathematical sciences on a daily basis in their work. Others rely on the general problem-solving skills acquired in mathematics as they deal with complex issues.
ISBN: 9780883857861Publication Date: 2014
How to Study As a Mathematics Major by
Every year, thousands of students declare mathematics as their major. Many are extremely intelligent and hardworking. However, even the best will encounter challenges, because upper-level mathematics involves not only independent study and learning from lectures, but also a fundamental shiftfrom calculation to proof.This shift is demanding but it need not be mysterious - research has revealed many insights into the mathematical thinking required, and this book translates these into practical advice for a student audience. It covers every aspect of studying as a mathematics major, from tackling abstractintellectual challenges to interacting with professors and making good use of study time. Part 1 discusses the nature of upper-level mathematics, and explains how students can adapt and extend their existing skills in order to develop good understanding. Part 2 covers study skills as these relate tomathematics, and suggests practical approaches to learning effectively while enjoying undergraduate life.As the first mathematics-specific study guide, this friendly, practical text is essential reading for any mathematics major.
Publication Date: 2013
Slicing Pizzas, Racing Turtles, and Further Adventures in Applied Mathematics by
Have you ever daydreamed about digging a hole to the other side of the world? Robert Banks not only entertains such ideas but, better yet, he supplies the mathematical know-how to turn fantasies into problem-solving adventures. In this sequel to the popular Towing Icebergs, Falling Dominoes (Princeton, 1998), Banks presents another collection of puzzles for readers interested in sharpening their thinking and mathematical skills. The problems range from the wondrous to the eminently practical. In one chapter, the author helps us determine the total number of people who have lived on earth; in another, he shows how an understanding of mathematical curves can help a thrifty lover, armed with construction paper and scissors, keep expenses down on Valentine's Day. In twenty-six chapters, Banks chooses topics that are fairly easy to analyze using relatively simple mathematics. The phenomena he describes are ones that we encounter in our daily lives or can visualize without much trouble. For example, how do you get the most pizza slices with the least number of cuts? To go from point A to point B in a downpour of rain, should you walk slowly, jog moderately, or run as fast as possible to get least wet? What is the length of the seam on a baseball? If all the ice in the world melted, what would happen to Florida, the Mississippi River, and Niagara Falls? Why do snowflakes have six sides? Covering a broad range of fields, from geography and environmental studies to map- and flag-making, Banks uses basic algebra and geometry to solve problems. If famous scientists have also pondered these questions, the author shares the historical details with the reader. Designed to entertain and to stimulate thinking, this book can be read for sheer personal enjoyment.
Publication Date: 2012
Rediscovering Mathematics by
Rediscovering Mathematics is aimed at a general audience and addresses the question of how best to teach and study mathematics. The book attempts to bring the exciting and dynamic world of mathematics to a non-technical audience. With so much focus today on how best to educate the new generation and make mathematics less rote and more interactive, this book is an eye-opening experience for many people who suffered with dull math teachers and curricula. Rediscovering Mathematics is an eclectic collection of mathematical topics and puzzles aimed at talented youngsters and inquisitive adults who want to expand their view of mathematics. By focusing on problem solving, and discouraging rote memorization, the book shows how to learn and teach mathematics through investigation, experimentation, and discovery. Rediscovering Mathematics is also an excellent text for training math teachers at all levels. Topics range in difficulty and cover a wide range of historical periods, with some examples demonstrating how to uncover mathematics in everyday life, including: number theory and its application to secure communication over the Internet, the algebraic and combinatorial work of a medieval mathematician Rabbi, and applications of probability to sports, casinos, and gambling. Rediscovering Mathematics provides a fresh view of mathematics for those who already like the subject, and offers a second chance for those who think they don't.
Publication Date: 2011
