Library Catalog
On Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Algebra I Essentials for Dummies by
Algebra I Essentials For Dummies (9781119590965) was previously published as Algebra I Essentials For Dummies (9780470618349). While this version features a new Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the prior release and should not be considered a new or updated product. With its use of multiple variables, functions, and formulas algebra can be confusing and overwhelming to learn and easy to forget. Perfect for students who need to review or reference critical concepts, Algebra I Essentials For Dummies provides content focused on key topics only, with discrete explanations of critical concepts taught in a typical Algebra I course, from functions and FOILs to quadratic and linear equations. This guide is also a perfect reference for parents who need to review critical algebra concepts as they help students with homework assignments, as well as for adult learners headed back into the classroom who just need a refresher of the core concepts. The Essentials For Dummies Series Dummies is proud to present our new series, The Essentials For Dummies. Now students who are prepping for exams, preparing to study new material, or who just need a refresher can have a concise, easy-to-understand review guide that covers an entire course by concentrating solely on the most important concepts. From algebra and chemistry to grammar and Spanish, our expert authors focus on the skills students most need to succeed in a subject.
Call Number: QA159 .S74 2019
Algebra II Essentials for Dummies by
Algebra II Essentials For Dummies (9781119590873) was previously published as Algebra II Essentials For Dummies (9780470618400). While this version features a new Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the prior release and should not be considered a new or updated product. Passing grades in two years of algebra courses are required for high school graduation. Algebra II Essentials For Dummies covers key ideas from typical second-year Algebra coursework to help students get up to speed. Free of ramp-up material, Algebra II Essentials For Dummies sticks to the point, with content focused on key topics only. It provides discrete explanations of critical concepts taught in a typical Algebra II course, from polynomials, conics, and systems of equations to rational, exponential, and logarithmic functions. This guide is also a perfect reference for parents who need to review critical algebra concepts as they help students with homework assignments, as well as for adult learners headed back into the classroom who just need a refresher of the core concepts. The Essentials For Dummies Series Dummies is proud to present our new series, The Essentials For Dummies. Now students who are prepping for exams, preparing to study new material, or who just need a refresher can have a concise, easy-to-understand review guide that covers an entire course by concentrating solely on the most important concepts. From algebra and chemistry to grammar and Spanish, our expert authors focus on the skills students most need to succeed in a subject.
Call Number: QA159.2 .S753 2019Publication Date: 2019-05-14
Algebra Essentials by
Designed for the person who needs to learn algebra as a prerequisite for further study or for a refresher course before moving on, the book covers all of the basic algebra concepts such as variables, equations, quadratic equations, factoring algebraic expressions, exponents, roots, radicals, and more. It includes numerous step by step examples and practice exercises that help the reader to understand the topics in a "self-study" format, designed for those who are uncomfortable with mathematics. The companion disc includes self-correcting exercises and all the figures from the text. Instructor resources available for use in course adoptions. eBook Customers: Companion files are available for downloading with order number/proof of purchase by writing to the publisher at info@merclearning.com. FEATURES: *Presents basic concepts in an easy to understand style, designed for those who are uncomfortable with mathematics *Provides hundreds of step by step examples and practice exercises that help the reader to understand the topics in a "self-study" format *Includes a companion disc with self-correcting exercises and all the figures from the text BRIEF TABLE OF CONTENTS: Part I. First Impressions. Why Study Algebra? Part II. Arithmetic Review. Arithmetic Operations. Part III. Algebraic Operations. Addition and Subtraction. Multiplication. Division. Part IV. Equations. Linear Equations in One Variable Expressions. Quadratic Equations in One Variable. Expressions. Part V. Inequalities. Linear Inequalities. Appendices. Review Exercises. Answers Keys. Theorems, Corollaries, & Proofs. Key Words. Index.
Call Number: QA152.3 .S227 2016
Algebra II by
Your complete guide to acing Algebra II Do quadratic equations make you queasy? Does the mere thought of logarithms make you feel lethargic? You're not alone! Algebra can induce anxiety in the best of us, especially for the masses that have never counted math as their forte. But here's the good news: you no longer have to suffer through statistics, sequences, and series alone. Algebra II For Dummies takes the fear out of this math course and gives you easy-to-follow, friendly guidance on everything you'll encounter in the classroom and arms you with the skills and confidence you need to score high at exam time. Gone are the days that Algebra II is a subject that only the serious 'math' students need to worry about. Now, as the concepts and material covered in a typical Algebra II course are consistently popping up on standardized tests like the SAT and ACT, the demand for advanced guidance on this subject has never been more urgent. Thankfully, this new edition of Algebra II For Dummies answers the call with a friendly and accessible approach to this often-intimidating subject, offering you a closer look at exponentials, graphing inequalities, and other topics in a way you can understand. Examine exponentials like a pro Find out how to graph inequalities Go beyond your Algebra I knowledge Ace your Algebra II exams with ease Whether you're looking to increase your score on a standardized test or simply succeed in your Algebra II course, this friendly guide makes it possible.
Call Number: QA159.2 .S753 2015
CLEP College Algebra by
Earn College Credit with REA's Test Prep for CLEP* College Algebra Everything you need to pass the exam and get the college credit you deserve. CLEP* is the most popular credit-by-examination program in the country, accepted by more than 2,900 colleges and universities. For over 15 years, REA has helped students pass the CLEP* exam and earn college credit while reducing their tuition costs. Our CLEP* test preps are perfect for adults returning to college (or attending for the first time), military service members, high-school graduates looking to earn college credit, or home-schooled students with knowledge that can translate into college credit. There are many different ways to prepare for the CLEP* exam. What's best for you depends on how much time you have to study and how comfortable you are with the subject matter. Our test prep for CLEP* College Algebra and the free online tools that come with it, will allow you to create a personalized CLEP* study plan that can be customized to fit you: your schedule, your learning style, and your current level of knowledge. Here's how it works: Diagnostic exam at the REA Study Center focuses your study Our online diagnostic exam pinpoints your strengths and shows you exactly where you need to focus your study. Armed with this information, you can personalize your prep and review where you need it the most. Most complete subject review for CLEP* College Algebra Our targeted review covers all the material you'll be expected to know for the exam and includes a glossary of must-know terms. Two full-length practice exams The online REA Study Center gives you two full-length practice tests and the most powerful scoring analysis and diagnostic tools available today. Instant score reports help you zero in on the CLEP* College Algebra topics that give you trouble now and show you how to arrive at the correct answer-so you'll be prepared on test day. REA is the acknowledged leader in CLEP* preparation, with the most extensive library of CLEP* titles available. Our test preps for CLEP* exams help you earn valuable college credit, save on tuition, and get a head start on your college degree.
Call Number: QA157 .C647 2012
Online from CCBC Libaries
Algebra Fundamentals by
Get a leg up on the basics of algebra with this special 3-panel "Quizzers" version of our popular Algebra Fundamentals guide. Not only can you find the same algebraic definitions, tips, and example problems as featured in the previous version, there are now practice questions to answer and problems to solve so that you can keep on the right track. It all "adds" up to greater understanding--and better grades!
Publication Date: 2011
Algebra by
For grades 3-5, our State Standards-based resource meets the algebraic concepts addressed by the NCTM standards and encourages the students to review the concepts in unique ways. Each drill sheet contains warm-up and timed drill activities for the student to practice algebra concepts. The pages of this resource contain a variety in terms of levels of difficulty and content to provide students with a variety of differentiated learning opportunities. Included are questions involving patterning, evaluating algebraic expressions, utilizing number lines and graphs, mathematical sentences and algebraic properties. The drill sheets offer space for reflection, and opportunity for the appropriate use of technology. Also contained are assessment and standards rubrics, review sheets, test prep, color activity posters and bonus worksheets. All of our content is aligned to your State Standards and are written to Bloom's Taxonomy, STEM, and NCTM standards.
Publication Date: 2010
Introduction to Algebra by
Developed to meet the needs of modern students, this Second Edition of the classic algebra text by Peter Cameron covers all the abstract algebra an undergraduate student is likely to need. Starting with an introductory overview of numbers, sets and functions, matrices, polynomials, and modulararithmetic, the text then introduces the most important algebraic structures: groups, rings and fields, and their properties. This is followed by coverage of vector spaces and modules with applications to abelian groups and canonical forms before returning to the construction of the number systems,including the existence of transcendental numbers. The final chapters take the reader further into the theory of groups, rings and fields, coding theory, and Galois theory. With over 300 exercises, and web-based solutions, this is an ideal introductory text for Year 1 and 2 undergraduate students inmathematics.
Publication Date: 2008
Abstract Algebra by
This is a high level introduction to abstract algebra which is aimed at readers whose interests lie in mathematics and in the information and physical sciences. In addition to introducing the main concepts of modern algebra, the book contains numerous applications, which are intended to illustrate the concepts and to convince the reader of the utility and relevance of algebra today. In particular applications to Polya coloring theory, latin squares, Steiner systems and error correcting codes are described. Another feature of the book is that group theory and ring theory are carried further than is often done at this level. There is ample material here for a two semester course in abstract algebra. The importance of proof is stressed and rigorous proofs of almost all results are given. But care has been taken to lead the reader through the proofs by gentle stages. There are nearly 400 problems, of varying degrees of difficulty, to test the reader's skill and progress. The book should be suitable for students in the third or fourth year of study at a North American university or in the second or third year at a university in Europe, and should ease the transition to (post)graduate studies.
Publication Date: 2015
Databases
- Science Database
Articles on both the applied and general sciences like aerospace, computers, transportation, and biology.