Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Calculus II by
This study guide is designed for students taking a Calculus II course. The textbook includes examples, questions, and practice problems that will help students to review and sharpen their knowledge of the subject and enhance their performance in the classroom. The material covered in the book includes applications of integration, sequences and series and their applications, polar coordinate systems, and complex numbers. Offering detailed solutions, multiple methods for solving problems, and clear explanations of concepts, this hands-on guide will improve students' problem-solving skills and foster a solid understanding of calculus, which will benefit them in all of their calculus-based courses
Call Number: QA303.2 .R34 2024
The Cartoon Introduction to Calculus by
The internationally bestselling authors ofThe Cartoon Introduction to Economics return to make calculus fun The award-winning illustrator Grady Klein has teamed up once again with the world's only stand-up economist, Yoram Bauman, Ph.D., to take on the daunting subject of calculus. A supplement to traditional textbooks,The Cartoon Introduction to Calculusfocuses on the big ideas rather than all the formulas you have to memorize. With Klein and Bauman as our guides, we scale the dual peaks of Mount Derivative and Mount Integral, and from their summits, we see how calculus relates to the rest of mathematics. Beginning with the problems of speed and area, Klein and Bauman show how the discipline is unified by a fundamental theorem. We meet geniuses like Archimedes, Liu Hui, and Bonaventura Cavalieri, who survived the slopes on intuition but prepared us for the avalanche-like dangers posed by mathematical rigor. Then wetrek onward and scramble through limits and extreme values, optimization and integration, and learn how calculus can be applied to economics, physics, and so much more. We discover that calculus isn't the pinnacle of mathematics after all, but its tools are foundational to everything that follows. Klein and Bauman round out the book with a handy glossary of symbols and terms, so you don't have to worry about mixing up constants and constraints. With a witty and engaging narrative full of jokes and insights,The Cartoon Introduction to Calculusis an essential primer for students or for anyone who is curious about math.
Call Number: QA303.2 .K54 2019
Calculus Simplified by
An accessible, streamlined, and user-friendly approach to calculus Calculus is a beautiful subject that most of us learn from professors, textbooks, or supplementary texts. Each of these resources has strengths but also weaknesses. In Calculus Simplified, Oscar Fernandez combines the strengths and omits the weaknesses, resulting in a "Goldilocks approach" to learning calculus: just the right level of detail, the right depth of insights, and the flexibility to customize your calculus adventure. Fernandez begins by offering an intuitive introduction to the three key ideas in calculus--limits, derivatives, and integrals. The mathematical details of each of these pillars of calculus are then covered in subsequent chapters, which are organized into mini-lessons on topics found in a college-level calculus course. Each mini-lesson focuses first on developing the intuition behind calculus and then on conceptual and computational mastery. Nearly 200 solved examples and more than 300 exercises allow for ample opportunities to practice calculus. And additional resources--including video tutorials and interactive graphs--are available on the book's website. Calculus Simplified also gives you the option of personalizing your calculus journey. For example, you can learn all of calculus with zero knowledge of exponential, logarithmic, and trigonometric functions--these are discussed at the end of each mini-lesson. You can also opt for a more in-depth understanding of topics--chapter appendices provide additional insights and detail. Finally, an additional appendix explores more in-depth real-world applications of calculus. Learning calculus should be an exciting voyage, not a daunting task. Calculus Simplified gives you the freedom to choose your calculus experience, and the right support to help you conquer the subject with confidence. · An accessible, intuitive introduction to first-semester calculus · Nearly 200 solved problems and more than 300 exercises (all with answers) · No prior knowledge of exponential, logarithmic, or trigonometric functions required · Additional online resources--video tutorials and supplementary exercises--provided
Call Number: QA303.2 .F469 2019
Infinite Powers by
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER "Marvelous . . . an array of witty and astonishing stories . . . to illuminate how calculus has helped bring into being our contemporary world."--The Washington Post From preeminent math personality and author of The Joy of x, a brilliant and endlessly appealing explanation of calculus - how it works and why it makes our lives immeasurably better. Without calculus, we wouldn't have cell phones, TV, GPS, or ultrasound. We wouldn't have unraveled DNA or discovered Neptune or figured out how to put 5,000 songs in your pocket. Though many of us were scared away from this essential, engrossing subject in high school and college, Steven Strogatz's brilliantly creative, down‑to‑earth history shows that calculus is not about complexity; it's about simplicity. It harnesses an unreal number--infinity--to tackle real‑world problems, breaking them down into easier ones and then reassembling the answers into solutions that feel miraculous. Infinite Powers recounts how calculus tantalized and thrilled its inventors, starting with its first glimmers in ancient Greece and bringing us right up to the discovery of gravitational waves (a phenomenon predicted by calculus). Strogatz reveals how this form of math rose to the challenges of each age: how to determine the area of a circle with only sand and a stick; how to explain why Mars goes "backwards" sometimes; how to make electricity with magnets; how to ensure your rocket doesn't miss the moon; how to turn the tide in the fight against AIDS. As Strogatz proves, calculus is truly the language of the universe. By unveiling the principles of that language, Infinite Powers makes us marvel at the world anew.
Call Number: QA303.2 .S78 2019
Calculus by
Calculus For Dummies, 2nd Edition (9781119293491) was previously published as Calculus For Dummies, 2nd Edition (9781118791295). While this version features a new Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the prior release and should not be considered a new or updated product. Slay the calculus monster with this user-friendly guide Calculus For Dummies, 2nd Edition makes calculus manageable--even if you're one of the many students who sweat at the thought of it. By breaking down differentiation and integration into digestible concepts, this guide helps you build a stronger foundation with a solid understanding of the big ideas at work. This user-friendly math book leads you step-by-step through each concept, operation, and solution, explaining the "how" and "why" in plain English instead of math-speak. Through relevant instruction and practical examples, you'll soon learn that real-life calculus isn't nearly the monster it's made out to be. Calculus is a required course for many college majors, and for students without a strong math foundation, it can be a real barrier to graduation. Breaking that barrier down means recognizing calculus for what it is--simply a tool for studying the ways in which variables interact. It's the logical extension of the algebra, geometry, and trigonometry you've already taken, and Calculus For Dummies, 2nd Edition proves that if you can master those classes, you can tackle calculus and win. Includes foundations in algebra, trigonometry, and pre-calculus concepts Explores sequences, series, and graphing common functions Instructs you how to approximate area with integration Features things to remember, things to forget, and things you can't get away with Stop fearing calculus, and learn to embrace the challenge. With this comprehensive study guide, you'll gain the skills and confidence that make all the difference. Calculus For Dummies, 2nd Edition provides a roadmap for success, and the backup you need to get there.
Call Number: QA303.2 .R86 2016
Fundamentals of Calculus by
Features the techniques, methods, and applications of calculus using real-world examples from business and economics as well as the life and social sciences An introduction to differential and integral calculus, Fundamentals of Calculus presents key topics suited for a variety of readers in fields ranging from entrepreneurship and economics to environmental and social sciences. Practical examples from a variety of subject areas are featured throughout each chapter and step-by-step explanations for the solutions are presented. Specific techniques are also applied to highlight important information in each section, including symbols interspersed throughout to further reader comprehension. In addition, the book illustrates the elements of finite calculus with the varied formulas for power, quotient, and product rules that correlate markedly with traditional calculus. Featuring calculus as the "mathematics of change," each chapter concludes with a historical notes section. Fundamentals of Calculus chapter coverage includes: Linear Equations and Functions The Derivative Using the Derivative Exponents and Logarithms Differentiation Techniques Integral Calculus Integrations Techniques Functions of Several Variables Series and Summations Applications to Probability Supplemented with online instructional support materials, Fundamentals of Calculus is an ideal textbook for undergraduate students majoring in business, economics, biology, chemistry, and environmental science.
Call Number: QA303.2 .M67 2016
AP Calculus by
Both Calculus AB and Calculus BC are covered in this comprehensive AP test preparation manual. The book's main features include: Four practice exams in Calculus AB and four more in Calculus BC All test questions answered with solutions explained A detailed subject review covering topics for both exams Advice to students on efficient use of their graphing calculators The manual can be purchased alone or with an optional CD-ROM presenting two more practice tests with answers. One test is in Calculus AB, and the other in Calculus BC. BONUS ONLINE PRACTICE TEST: Students who purchase this book or package will also get FREE access to one additional full-length online AP Calculus test with all questions answered and explained.
Call Number: QA309 .B63 2015
Egghead's Guide to Calculus by
The fourth book in Peterson's NEW series of guides for visual learners, this volume covers basic calculus topics that are essential for success on high school and college calculus tests. Topics include limits & continuity, derivatives & their applications, and integrals. Students who need help with the basics will find that egghead's Guide to Calculus offers just what they need to be able to improve their understanding of the fundamentals of calculus necessary for success in high school and college courses. The book includes a review of algebra and trigonometry required in preparation for understanding calculus. egghead's tips and advice for improving calculus skills Ideal subject review for students taking higher-level math courses in high school and college Expert tutorial explanations for students who need basic and remedial instruction Dozens of sample exercises and solutions with helpful tips and strategies Easy-to-follow lessons with fun graphics that provide essential information to help those who learn visually
Call Number: QA303.2 .C36 2015
Introduction to Calculus by My Secret Math Tutor
What is Calculus? by Socratica
Online From CCBC Libraries
Focus on Calculus by
This book is devoted to some recent aspects of calculus. The book contains seven chapters. Chapter 1 introduces the conception for conformable delta (Hilger) derivative and some of its properties. Results in this chapter include basic conformable delta derivative, the conformable exponential function, conformable trigonometric and hyperbolic functions, conformable delta integral and integral rules and Taylor's formula. They are considered first order conformable dynamic equations on time scales. Chapter 2 is devoted to some classes second order quadratic difference equations. They are given criteria for existence of a unique equilibrium point that is stable and unstable, existence of prime period-two solutions. Chapter 3 is aimed to develop two calculi over the specific algebraic operations, preserving the preceding relativistic addition formula and having all ordinary properties. Chapter 4 is devoted to principles of hypercomplex random function calculus. Generalised Gaussian-type hypercomplex valued measures are studied. Random functions controlled by these measures are investigated. Solutions of hyperbolic PDEs over hypercomplex numbers such as the octonion algebra and Cayley-Dickson algebras are scrutinised. Chapter 5 covers the interesting historical aspects of the spreadsheets and their distinct advantages. It is described how the ubiquitous Microsoft Excel spreadsheets can be used to implement well-known numerical methods such as Simpson's Rule and Trapezoidal Rules. Appropriate examples are presented in substantial detail. The aim of Chapter 6 is to show some didactic tools that can be suggested by professors so that students can recall those issues saved in the deepest part of their minds. In Chapter 7, based on fractional differences, a fractional calculus is developed which complies with most of the properties that is to say non-differentiability, non-commutativity of derivative and long-range memory. The book is addressed to a wide audience of specialists such as mathematicians, physicists, engineers and biologists.
Publication Date: 2020
Calculus 2 by
Calculus 2, focusing on integral calculus, is the gateway to higher level mathematics of which the best degrees and careers are built upon. The core essentials can be used along with your text and lectures, as a review before testing, or as a memory companion that keeps key answers always at your fingertips. Suggested uses: * Quick Reference - instead of digging into the textbook to find a core answer you need while studying, use the guide to reinforce quickly and repeatedly * Memory - refreshing your memory repeatedly is a foundation of studying, have the core answers handy so you can focus on understanding the concepts * Test Prep - no student should be cramming, but if you are, there is no better tool for that final review
Publication Date: 2016
Introductory Calculus by
With a "less is more" approach to introducing the reader to the fundamental concepts and uses of Calculus, this sequence of four books covers the usual topics of the first semester of calculus, including limits, continuity, the derivative, the integral and important special functions such exponential functions, logarithms, and inverse trigonometric functions.
Publication Date: 2015
Everyday Calculus by
Calculus. For some of us, the word conjures up memories of ten-pound textbooks and visions of tedious abstract equations. And yet, in reality, calculus is fun, accessible, and surrounds us everywhere we go. In Everyday Calculus, Oscar Fernandez shows us how to see the math in our coffee, on the highway, and even in the night sky. Fernandez uses our everyday experiences to skillfully reveal the hidden calculus behind a typical day's events. He guides us through how math naturally emerges from simple observations--how hot coffee cools down, for example--and in discussions of over fifty familiar events and activities. Fernandez demonstrates that calculus can be used to explore practically any aspect of our lives, including the most effective number of hours to sleep and the fastest route to get to work. He also shows that calculus can be both useful--determining which seat at the theater leads to the best viewing experience, for instance--and fascinating--exploring topics such as time travel and the age of the universe. Throughout, Fernandez presents straightforward concepts, and no prior mathematical knowledge is required. For advanced math fans, the mathematical derivations are included in the appendixes. Whether you're new to mathematics or already a curious math enthusiast, Everyday Calculus invites you to spend a day discovering the calculus all around you. The book will convince even die-hard skeptics to view this area of math in a whole new way.
Publication Date: 2014
Calculus Help
- Calculus I
from Khan Academy - Calculus
from Math Is Fun
Databases
- Science Database
Articles on both the applied and general sciences like aerospace, computers, transportation, and biology.