Library Catalog
On Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Geometry for Dummies by
Hit the geometry wall? Get up and running with this no-nonsense guide! Does the thought of geometry make you jittery? You're not alone. Fortunately, this down-to-earth guide helps you approach it from a new angle, making it easier than ever to conquer your fears and score your highest in geometry. From getting started with geometry basics to making friends with lines and angles, you'll be proving triangles congruent, calculating circumference, using formulas, and serving up pi in no time. Geometry is a subject full of mathematical richness and beauty. But it's a subject that bewilders many students because it's so unlike the math they've done before--it requires the use of deductive logic in formal proofs. If you're having a hard time wrapping your mind around what that even means, you've come to the right place! Inside, you'll find out how a proof's chain of logic works and even discover some secrets for getting past rough spots along the way. You don't have to be a math genius to grasp geometry, and this book helps you get un-stumped in a hurry! Find out how to decode complex geometry proofs Learn to reason deductively and inductively Make sense of angles, arcs, area, and more Improve your chances of scoring higher in your geometry class There's no reason to let your nerves get jangled over geometry--your understanding will take new shape with the help of Geometry For Dummies.
Call Number: QA459 .R8882 2016
Geometry by
Get ready to master the concepts and principles of geometry! Master Math:Geometry is a comprehensive reference guide that explains and clarifies the principles of geometry in a simple, easy-to-follow style and format. You'll beginwith the language of geometry, deductive reasoning and proofs, and key axioms and postulates. And as you understand the most basic fundamental topics you'll progress through to the more advanced topics, with step-by-step procedures and solutions, along with examples and applications, to help you as you go. A complete table of contents and a comprehensive index enable you to quickly find specific topics, and the approachable style and format facilitate an understanding of what can be intimidating and tricky skills. Perfect for both students who need some extra help or rusty professionals who want to brush up, Master Math: Geometry will help you master everything from deductive reasoning and proofs to constructions and analytic geometry.
Call Number: QA445.R67
A First Course in Geometry by
This introductory text is designed to help undergraduate students develop a solid foundation in geometry. Early chapters progress slowly, cultivating the necessary understanding and self-confidence for the more rapid development that follows. The extensive treatment can be easily adapted to accommodate shorter courses. Starting with the language of mathematics as expressed in the algebra of logic and sets, the text covers geometric sets of points, separation and angles, triangles, parallel lines, similarity, polygons and area, circles, space geometry, and coordinate geometry. Each chapter includes a problem set arranged in order of increasing difficulty as well as review exercises and annotated references suggesting sources for further study. In addition to three helpful Appendixes, the book concludes with answers and hints for selected problems.
Call Number: QA453.W22
Explorations in Geometry by
This book covers the basic topics in geometry (including trigonometry) that are accessible and valuable to senior high school and university students. It also includes material that are very useful for problem solving in mathematical competitions, from relatively easy to advanced levels, including the International Mathematical Olympiad.
Call Number: QA445.S53
Databases
- Science Database
Articles on both the applied and general sciences like aerospace, computers, transportation, and biology.
Online from CCBC Libraries
Geometry: a Very Short Introduction by
The study of geometry is at least 2500 years old, and it is within this field that the concept of mathematical proof - deductive reasoning from a set of axioms - first arose. To this day geometry remains a very active area of research in mathematics. This Very Short Introduction covers the areas of mathematics falling under geometry, starting with topics such as Euclidean and non-Euclidean geometries, and ranging to curved spaces, projective geometry in Renaissance art, and geometry of space-time inside a black hole. Starting from the basics, Maciej Dunajski proceeds from concrete examples (of mathematical objects like Platonic solids, or theorems like the Pythagorean theorem) to general principles. Throughout, he outlines the role geometry plays in the broader context of science and art. bVery Short Introductionsb: Brilliant, Sharp, Inspiring /b ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Publication Date: 2022
Beautiful Geometry by
If you've ever thought that mathematics and art don't mix, this stunning visual history of geometry will change your mind. As much a work of art as a book about mathematics, Beautiful Geometry presents more than sixty exquisite color plates illustrating a wide range of geometric patterns and theorems, accompanied by brief accounts of the fascinating history and people behind each. With artwork by Swiss artist Eugen Jost and text by math historian Eli Maor, this unique celebration of geometry covers numerous subjects, from straightedge-and-compass constructions to intriguing configurations involving infinity. The result is a delightful and informative illustrated tour through the 2,500-year-old history of one of the most important branches of mathematics.
Publication Date: 2014
Geometry and Its Applications by
Meyer's Geometry and Its Applications, Second Edition, combines traditional geometry with current ideas to present a modern approach that is grounded in real-world applications. It balances the deductive approach with discovery learning, and introduces axiomatic, Euclidean geometry, non-Euclidean geometry, and transformational geometry. The text integrates applications and examples throughout and includes historical notes in many chapters. The Second Edition of Geometry and Its Applications is a significant text for any college or university that focuses on geometry's usefulness in other disciplines. It is especially appropriate for engineering and science majors, as well as future mathematics teachers. Realistic applications integrated throughout the text, including (but not limited to): Symmetries of artistic patterns Physics Robotics Computer vision Computer graphics Stability of architectural structures Molecular biology Medicine Pattern recognition Historical notes included in many chapters
ISBN: 0080478034Publication Date: 2006
Elementary Euclidean Geometry: an Introduction by
This is a genuine introduction to the geometry of lines and conics in the Euclidean plane. Lines and circles provide the starting point, with the classical invariants of general conics introduced at an early stage, yielding a broad subdivision into types, a prelude to the congruence classification. A recurring theme is the way in which lines intersect conics. From single lines one proceeds to parallel pencils, leading to midpoint loci, axes and asymptotic directions. Likewise, intersections with general pencils of lines lead to the central concepts of tangent, normal, pole and polar. The treatment is example based and self contained, assuming only a basic grounding in linear algebra. With numerous illustrations and several hundred worked examples and exercises, this book is ideal for use with undergraduate courses in mathematics, or for postgraduates in the engineering and physical sciences.
Publication Date: 2003
Digital Learning Object by Wisc-Online with Creative Commons License
- Solving Percent Problems Using a Pyramid Grid
In this online activity, you will use the pyramid method to solve percent problems. The pyramid grid provide you a visual way to set up the equation.