Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Discrete Mathematics and Its Applications by
Discrete Mathematics and Its Applications is intended for one or two term introductory Discrete Mathematics courses taken by students from a wide variety of majors including Computer Science Mathematics and Engineering. This renowned best-selling text which has been used at over 500 institutions around the world gives a focused introduction to the primary themes in a Discrete Mathematics course and demonstrates the relevance and practicality of Discrete Mathematics to a wide variety of real-world applications--from Computer Science to Data Networking to Psychology to Chemistry to Engineering to Linguistics to Biology to Business and many other important fields.
Call Number: QA39.3 .R67 2012
Discrete Mathematics by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. MULTIPLY your chances of understanding DISCRETE MATHEMATICS If you're interested in learning the fundamentals of discrete mathematics but can't seem to get your brain to function, then here's your solution. Add this easy-to-follow guide to the equation and calculate how quickly you learn the essential concepts. Written by award-winning math professor Steven Krantz, Discrete Mathematics Demystified explains this challenging topic in an effective and enlightening way. You will learn about logic, proofs, functions, matrices, sequences, series, and much more. Concise explanations, real-world examples, and worked equations make it easy to understand the material, and end-of-chapter exercises and a final exam help reinforce learning. This fast and easy guide offers: Numerous figures to illustrate key concepts Sample problems with worked solutions Coverage of set theory, graph theory, and number theory Chapters on cryptography and Boolean algebra A time-saving approach to performing better on an exam or at work Simple enough for a beginner, but challenging enough for an advanced student, Discrete Mathematics Demystified is your integral tool for mastering this complex subject.
Call Number: QA76.9.M35 K736 2009
Discrete Mathematics by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's Outlines. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you: Practice problems with full explanations that reinforce knowledge Coverage of the most up-to-date developments in your course field In-depth review of practices and applications Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines-Problem Solved.
Call Number: QA39.3 .L56 2007
Online from Openmathbooks.org
- Discrete Mathematics : an Open Introduction
by Oscar Levin
Articles
- Why Discrete Math is Important
from Art Of Problem Solving
Databases
- Science Database
Articles on both the applied and general sciences like aerospace, computers, transportation, and biology.
Online from CCBC Libraries
Advances in Interdisciplinary Applied Discrete Mathematics by
In the past 50 years, discrete mathematics has developed as a far-reaching and popular language for modeling fundamental problems in computer science, biology, sociology, operations research, economics, engineering, etc. The same model may appear in different guises, or a variety of models may have enough similarities such that same ideas and techniques can be applied in diverse applications. This book focuses on fields such as consensus and voting theory, clustering, location theory, mathematical biology, and optimization that have seen an upsurge of new and exciting works over the past two decades using discrete models in modern applications. Featuring survey articles written by experts in these fields, the articles emphasize the interconnectedness of the mathematical models and techniques used in various areas, and elucidate the possibilities for future interdisciplinary research. Additionally, this book discusses recent advances in the fields, highlighting the approach of cross-fertilization of ideas across disciplines.
Publication Date: 2010
Student Solutions Manual for Discrete Mathematics with Applications by
This approachable text studies discrete objects and the relationsips that bind them. It helps students understand and apply the power of discrete math to digital computer systems and other modern applications. It provides excellent preparation for courses in linear algebra, number theory, and modern/abstract algebra and for computer science courses in data structures, algorithms, programming languages, compilers, databases, and computation. * Covers all recommended topics in a self-contained, comprehensive, and understandable format for students and new professionals * Emphasizes problem-solving techniques, pattern recognition, conjecturing, induction, applications of varying nature, proof techniques, algorithm development and correctness, and numeric computations * Weaves numerous applications into the text * Helps students learn by doing with a wealth of examples and exercises: - 560 examples worked out in detail - More than 3,700 exercises - More than 150 computer assignments - More than 600 writing projects * Includes chapter summaries of important vocabulary, formulas, and properties, plus the chapter review exercises * Features interesting anecdotes and biographies of 60 mathematicians and computer scientists * Instructor's Manual available for adopters * Student Solutions Manual available separately for purchase (ISBN: 0124211828).
Publication Date: 2004
