On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
How to Sleep by
"Easy to read and comprehensive. This book offers real practical guidance." --Matthew Walker, PhD, bestselling author of Why We Sleep Sleep difficulties affect millions of people - and the problem is getting worse. The deluge of sleep advice out there, referred to collectively as "sleep hygiene" rules, consists mostly of isolated recommendations for things not to do, such as: Don't drink coffee close to bedtime. Don't watch TV in bed. Despite the popularity of these old rules, Dr. Rafael Pelayo tells us, sleep hygiene alone is rarely effective in helping people with serious sleep problems. We need new rules that reflect the growth of knowledge in sleep science and can effectively improve our health. Pelayo's approach is to first take a step back and teach us how sleep works. He explains that nobody sleeps through the night; that the need for sleep is biological, but the way we sleep is learned; how much sleep you actually need each night, and that you can't get by with less. Then, once readers understand sleep and why it's so essential to our health and well-being, he offers a clear path to better sleep, with a flexible approach that will work for anyone. He offers a strategy for combatting jet lag: use your circadian rhythms to your advantage by maximising your exposure to daylight. He advises you to think of napping like snacking: snacks are fine to tide you over during long stretches between meals, but if snacking too much or too late keeps you from eating dinner, it's a problem - same goes for naps and a good night's sleep! And he cautions that alcohol is a double-edged sword: it may help you fall asleep, but it also disrupts your sleep cycle. The information in this friendly, accessible book will help readers sleep better, wake up refreshed, and have a healthier life.
Call Number: RA786 .P44 2020
The Body by
AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST * LONGLISTED FOR THE PEN E.O. WILSON LITERARY SCIENCE WRITING AWARD "Glorious. . .You will marvel at the brilliance and vast weirdness of your design." --The Washington Post Bill Bryson, bestselling author of A Short History of Nearly Everything, takes us on a head-to-toe tour of the marvel that is the human body. As addictive as it is comprehensive, this is Bryson at his very best, a must-read owner's manual for everybody. Bill Bryson once again proves himself to be an incomparable companion as he guides us through the human body--how it functions, its remarkable ability to heal itself, and (unfortunately) the ways it can fail. Full of extraordinary facts (your body made a million red blood cells since you started reading this) and irresistible Bryson-esque anecdotes, The Body will lead you to a deeper understanding of the miracle that is life in general and you in particular. As Bill Bryson writes, "We pass our existence within this wobble of flesh and yet take it almost entirely for granted." The Body will cure that indifference with generous doses of wondrous, compulsively readable facts and information.
Call Number: QM23.2 .B79 2019
The Hacking of the American Mind by
"Explores how industry has manipulated our most deep-seated survival instincts."--David Perlmutter, MD, Author, #1 New York Times bestseller, Grain Brain and Brain Maker The New York Times-bestselling author of Fat Chance reveals the corporate scheme to sell pleasure, driving the international epidemic of addiction, depression, and chronic disease. While researching the toxic and addictive properties of sugar for his New York Times bestseller Fat Chance, Robert Lustig made an alarming discovery--our pursuit of happiness is being subverted by a culture of addiction and depression from which we may never recover. Dopamine is the "reward" neurotransmitter that tells our brains we want more; yet every substance or behavior that releases dopamine in the extreme leads to addiction. Serotonin is the "contentment" neurotransmitter that tells our brains we don't need any more; yet its deficiency leads to depression. Ideally, both are in optimal supply. Yet dopamine evolved to overwhelm serotonin--because our ancestors were more likely to survive if they were constantly motivated--with the result that constant desire can chemically destroy our ability to feel happiness, while sending us down the slippery slope to addiction. In the last forty years, government legislation and subsidies have promoted ever-available temptation (sugar, drugs, social media, porn) combined with constant stress (work, home, money, Internet), with the end result of an unprecedented epidemic of addiction, anxiety, depression, and chronic disease. And with the advent of neuromarketing, corporate America has successfully imprisoned us in an endless loop of desire and consumption from which there is no obvious escape. With his customary wit and incisiveness, Lustig not only reveals the science that drives these states of mind, he points his finger directly at the corporations that helped create this mess, and the government actors who facilitated it, and he offers solutions we can all use in the pursuit of happiness, even in the face of overwhelming opposition. Always fearless and provocative, Lustig marshals a call to action, with seminal implications for our health, our well-being, and our culture.
Call Number: BF575.H27 L83 2017
The Twenty-Four Hour Mind by
In January of 1999, an otherwise nonviolent man under great stress at work brutally murdered his wife in their backyard. He then went back to bed, awakening only when police entered his home. He claimed to have no memory of the event because, while his body was awake at the time, his mind wasnot. He had been sleepwalking.In The Twenty-four Hour Mind, sleep scientist Rosalind Cartwright brings together decades of research into the bizarre sleep disorders known as parasomnias to propose a new theory of how the human mind works consistently throughout waking and sleeping hours. Thanks to increasingly sophisticated EEGand brain imaging technologies, we now know that our minds do not simply "turn off" during sleep. Rather, they continue to be active, and research has indicated that one of the primary purposes of sleep is to aid in regulating emotions and processing experiences that occur during preceding wakinghours. As such, when sleep is neurologically or genetically impaired or just too short, the processes that good sleep facilitates - those that usually have a positive effect on our mood and performance - can short circuit, with negative results that occasionally reach tragic proportions. Examiningthe interactions between conscious and unconscious forms of thinking as they proceed throughout the cycles of sleeping, dreaming, and waking, Cartwright demystifies the inner workings of the human mind that trigger sleep problems, how researchers are working to control them, and how they can applywhat they learn to further our understanding of the brain. Along the way, she provides a lively account of the history of sleep research and the birth of sleep medicine that will initiate readers into this fascinating field of inquiry and the far-reaching implications it will have on the future ofneuroscience. The Twenty-four Hour Mind offers a unique look at a relatively new area of study that will be of interest to those with and without sleep problems, as well as anyone captivated by the mysteries of the brain--and what sleep continues to teach us about the waking mind.
Call Number: RA786 .C37 2010
Streaming Videos
- Happier Women: 25 Ways to Reduce Stress Video Clip Collection Hurried Woman Syndrome (3:28) -- State of Mind: Making Healthy Choices (2:58) -- Happiness as a State of Health (2:47) -- Power of Positive Thinking (3:59) -- Pressures at Work: Promotion Causes Stress (1:54) -- Women and Sleep Disorders (3:02) -- Women and Burnout (2:37) -- Stress on Mom: Birthday Party Madness (1:58) -- Postpartum Depression (1:51) -- Stress and Diabetes (1:27) -- Depression in the Workplace (1:54) -- Women and Hair Loss (1:47) -- Eco-Anxiety and Depression (2:00) -- Clutter Control (1:39) -- Healthy Workplaces: Workout at Work (2:01) -- Caring for Caregivers (1:56) -- Obesity: Socially Contagious (1:45) -- Car Commuting: Is It Dangerous to Health? (1:53) -- High Blood Pressure (1:56) -- Safety in the Home (1:36) -- Six Mistakes in the Gym (1:40) -- Food and Smoking Habit (1:38) -- Premenstrual Dysphoric Disorder (1:36) -- Headache Pain (1:48)
- Healthy Choices to Relieve Stress Understand how making healthy choices in the food and drink you consume, getting proper amounts of physical activity and sleep, and the right sources of emotional support can help you manage stress.
Article Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles about medicine and health for professionals and patients.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Articles on biomedical and health topics used by health care professionals.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- PsycARTICLES
Articles on psychology topics.
- PubMed
Citations and abstracts from life science journals and online books, increasingly available for full-text. Use for advanced research.
- Social Science Database
Articles on social science topics like communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Online from CCBC Libraries
Sleep and Health by
Sleep and Health provides an accessible yet comprehensive overview of the relationship between sleep and health at the individual, community and population levels, as well as a discussion of the implications for public health, public policy and interventions. Based on a firm foundation in many areas of sleep health research, this text further provides introductions to each sub-area of the field and a summary of the current research for each area. This book serves as a resource for those interested in learning about the growing field of sleep health research, including sections on social determinants, cardiovascular disease, cognitive functioning, health behavior theory, smoking, and more.
Publication Date: 2019-04-16
Sleep Information for Teens, 2nd by
This print and online resource provides comprehensive information about sleep and sleep requirements for teens. Explains the biological processes involved in sleep and discusses circadian rhythms, dreaming, sleep hygiene, and sleep disorders.
Publication Date: 2018-01-12
The Encyclopedia of Men's Health by
Praise for the previous edition:...provides information that will help men stay healthy...will be a welcome source in public and consumer health library reference collections.--American Reference Books Annual...an easy-to-read encyclopedia...Recommended.--Choice...brief, readable entries on any number of men's health topics...--BooklistMany health risks to men can be prevented and treated if they are diagnosed early. An important book for people of all ages, The Encyclopedia of Men's Health, Second Edition offers a complete overview of the medical, scientific, social, and lifestyle issues that impact men's health.Hundreds of A-to-Z entries cover issues related to men's physical and mental health and well-being, including physiology, life span, diseases and conditions (including treatment protocols, procedures, and surgeries), genetics, medications, vitamins and supplements, psychology, sports medicine, sexual health, relationships, men's fertility, fatherhood, and more. Allopathic, complementary, and integrative approaches to men's health are also discussed. A glossary of key terms rounds out this comprehensive reference. Entries include:Alzheimer's diseaseAntioxidantAutoimmune disordersBlood pressureContraceptionErectile dysfunctionGoutHair lossInsomniaLymphomaNicotineStomach ulcersTennis elbowVasectomyVitamin supplementsYoga.
Publication Date: 2017-11-01
Women's Health and Wellness Across the Lifespan by
Women's Health and Wellness Across the Lifespan provides a fresh and comprehensive approach to women's healthcare. Combining traditional and complementary medicine, this crucial text offers evidence-based insight on women's health and wellness. Update and enlighten your practice with relevant case histories, the latest research, and the insight of nursing experts on numerous wellness topics. This invaluable text offers the insights you need to respond to patients' individual concern and problems more effectively, promoting optimal wellness at every stage of your patients' lives. Developed for Clinicians in primary care and community settings, RNs, advanced practice students and faculty working in women's health, OB/GYN, family medicine, and adult/gerontology, and for nurse midwives, this vital reference includes: * Comprehensive, evidence-based content, crucial for promoting women's wellness and preventative care * Combines traditional medicine with alternative approaches for balanced, effective responses that answer the concerns of today's educated patient * Emphasizes the importance of incorporating social context, age and life experiences into health assessments * Tables and charts clarify different forms of care and their purpose Women's Health and Wellness Across the Lifespan is dvidied into three sections and covers o Introduction to women's wellness care - The holistic, lifespan approach to women's wellness; 21st century women's health care; evolution of the science and clinical specialty of women's health o Specific wellness issues for women across the lifespan - Issues from puberty through early adulthood, midlife, and healthy aging o Aids clinicians in promoting women's lifelong wellness - Special populations; body composition: exercise and nutrition; oral health; resilience; self-care: complementary therapies; herbal medicine; pharmacologic approaches to wellness and disease prevention; Pilates; healing environments; healing relationships; healthy sleep; peaceful dying
Publication Date: 2014-12-10
