On the Shelf from CCBC Libraries
Essentials of Managing Stress by
Every new print copy of Essentials of Managing Stress, Fifth Edition includes access to the Navigate Student Companion Website.Written for the one-term or shorter course, Essentials of Managing Stress, Fifth Edition teaches practical skills and techniques to handle the daily stressors in life. As one of the fastest growing health crises worldwide, award-winning author Brian Luke Seaward explores stress management from a holistic framework, involving all aspects of mind, body, spirit, and emotions. Using simple, down to earth concepts, the text uncovers both the theory and effective application of stress management techniques and various aspects of personal wellness.The integrated workbook includes numerous exercises in each chapter which urge students to assess their personal stressors and overall wellness. All workbook exercises are also included on the Navigate Student Companion Site as writable PDFs.The Navigate Student Companion Site also includes audio introductions by Brian Luke Seaward, audio relaxation files, practice quizzes, an interactive glossary, and web exercises.
Call Number: RA785 .S43295 2021
The Science of Stress Management by
Stress is an inevitable part of everyday life. Sometimes we manage it well. Other times, not so much. But understanding the role of stress in our overall health and wellness is essential to taking it head-on. It's not just that stress can take over our thoughts; it can take over our bodies. From the flight or fight response to inflammation, from feeling anxious to feeling sick, it can deteriorate our bodies and our minds from the inside out. While many books promise tips on managing stress, this book takes it one step further to consider the science behind stress and how it affects our minds and bodies, offering evidence-based approaches to managing stress for optimum results. Amitava Dasgupta guides readers to a greater understanding of the mechanisms at work when stress is present and provides guidance for dealing with those physical and mental responses. While grounded in the science of stress, this work also helps readers employ those strategies that will best manage stress for better overall health.
Call Number: BF575.S75 D267 2018
Stress: the Psychology of Managing Pressure by
Covering sources of stress in every area of life: work, exams, relationships, social pressure, money, and more, this practical guide combines infographics and self-analysis questionnaires to make information easy to access and apply. This dynamic infographic program, founded on cutting-edge psychological research, enables you to deconstruct and deal with stress head-on. Stress: The Psychology of Managing Pressure helps you identify external and internal sources of stress in your life and reframe unhelpful patterns of thought into powerful psychological solutions that you can apply every day. Underpinned by psychological theory, with relevant findings from psychologists, doctors, and teachers, this book will help you smash the shadow of stress in any area of your life and emerge happier, healthier, and more productive.
Call Number: RA785 .K39 2017
Reclaim Your Brain by
A prescriptive guide to restoring cognitive calm, based on Amen Clinics chiefpsychiatrist Dr. Joseph Annibali's three decades of treating patients who suffer from overloaded, overstimulated brains. Dr. Joseph Annibali has treated thousands of people with overloaded, overstimulated brains. Some people describe their brain as being "in chaos"; others feel that their brain is "on fire." But whether they are ultimately diagnosed with anxiety, disabling OCD, depression, bipolar disorder, or even substance abuse, the underlying problem is a Too-Busy Brain, a great irritant that interferes with attention, concentration, focus, mood, and often much more. It may even be a sign of undetected damage to either the brain or the body itself. But through practical strategies, understandable explanations, and prescriptive mind-management techniques, Dr. Annibali will help readers finally reclaim their brains and get back in control of their lives.
Call Number: BF575.C35 A43 2015
Stress Management for Dummies by
Tired of letting stress have a negative impact on your life? Easy. It's impossible to get through life without encountering stress. And unfortunately, most of us learn the incorrect ways to cope with it. Thankfully, Stress Management For Dummies gives you trusted, time-tested guidance on teaching your body and mind to properly cope with stress while keeping your sanity intact. Whether it's love, work, family, or something else that has you in the red zone, this updated edition of Stress Management For Dummies will help you identify the stress triggers in your life and cut them down to size -- all without losing your cool. Shows you how to use stress in a positive, motivational way instead of letting it negatively affect your life Teaches you to retrain your body and mind to react positively to stress Helps you overcome common stresses faced in modern life If you want to manage stress and get back to living a normal life, Stress Management For Dummies has you covered.
Call Number: RA785 .E455 2013
Comprehensive Stress Management by
Comprehensive Stress Management empowers students to learn what stress is, evaluate their level of stress, and apply to their own lives the tools and skills to manage that stress. The book examines a variety of topics relevant to college students such as intrapersonal and interpersonal stressors, physiological reactions to stress, spirituality and stress, occupational stress, and family stress. Lab Assessments at the conclusion of each chapter help students relate what they have learned to their personal lives by encouraging them to identify specific attitudes, behaviors, and coping skills as well as target areas for improvement. The 13th edition incorporates many changes and updates while still retaining the content and features valued by instructors and students over the previous editions. Instructors and students can now access their course content through the Connect digital learning platform by purchasing either standalone Connect access or a bundle of print and Connect access. McGraw-Hill Connect® is a subscription-based learning service accessible online through your personal computer or tablet. Choose this option if your instructor will require Connect to be used in the course. Your subscription to Connect includes the following: * SmartBook® - an adaptive digital version of the course textbook that personalizes your reading experience based on how well you are learning the content. * Access to your instructor's homework assignments, quizzes, syllabus, notes, reminders, and other important files for the course. * Progress dashboards that quickly show how you are performing on your assignments and tips for improvement. * The option to purchase (for a small fee) a print version of the book. This binder-ready, loose-leaf version includes free shipping. Complete system requirements to use Connect can be found here: http://www.mheducation.com/highered/platforms/connect/training-support-students.html
Call Number: BF575.S75 G66 2009
Podcasts
- Mental Health Foundation: Podcasts and Videos Good Mental Health for All
- The Mindful Kind he Mindful Kind, hosted by Rachael Kable, shares exciting insights into mindfulness journeys and provides listeners with simple and effective practices to incorporate into their own lives. Being mindful can be a fun and interesting journey and has amazing potential to increase general wellbeing, from managing stress to improving sleep quality. With The Mindful Kind, you will have weekly access to new ideas, personal experiences and practical mindfulness exercises!
Streaming Videos
- 15 Ways to Handle Today's Stress Stress is often unavoidable in today’s job market, but there are ways to handle it so it doesn’t become overwhelming. In this program, viewers learn 15 simple steps to deal with stress: controlling only what you can control, talking with others, reducing caffeine and stimulants, learning relaxation techniques, doing something calming and quiet, keeping things in perspective, learning not to dwell on things, getting regular exercise, using lists, setting priorities, forgiving others, managing your finances, developing communication skills, using visualization, and laughing.
- Chill: straight talk about stress Unresolved stress is all too frequently a cause of substance abuse and suicide. This program shows teens how to recognize, analyze, and manage the stresses in their lives by using the C.H.I.L.L. formula: Communications, Health (nutrition), "I" concerns (self-esteem and self-image), Laid back (relaxation techniques), and Little at a time (time management) This valuable instructional tool can help teens reduce their stress levels and avoid the related problems that stress can cause.
Article Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles focused on contemporary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles about medicine and health for professionals and patients.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Articles on biomedical and health topics used by health care professionals.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- PsycARTICLES
Articles on psychology topics.
- PubMed
Citations and abstracts from life science journals and online books, increasingly available for full-text. Use for advanced research.
- Social Science Database
Articles on social science topics like communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Online from CCBC Libraries
Stress in the Modern World by
An engaging exploration of the scientific theories and medical conditions relating to stress and an examination of case studies that suggest ways to manage, reduce, and prevent stress in everyday life. Tension and anxiety are normal aspects of modern life, but ineffective stress management can lead to stress disorders, psychological distress, and physical ailments. An ideal resource for students researching the impact of stress on both physical and psychological health, this comprehensive two-volume set addresses scientific theories about stress, describes common symptoms and effects, identifies various sources of stress, explains how to identify and assess stress levels, and shares effective coping skills as well as strategies for preventing, managing, and reducing stress. More than two dozen contributors share their combined expertise, covering topics such as cognitive and behavioral theories and explanations of stress, the physical symptoms and effects of being subjected to stress, factors involving lifestyle and parenting styles, effective and ineffective coping methods, and finding support in mitigating stress. The set also supplies 20 personal accounts of stress, offers sidebars throughout its pages that present additional information about interesting related topics, and presents primary sources and statistics to encourage students to use their research and critical thinking skills. Examines the impact of stress on both physical and psychological health and from both theoretical and practical perspectives Provides broad, detailed coverage that explains what stress is, the effects of stress, and effective--and ineffective--methods of coping with or reducing stress Includes personal accounts from individuals who explain how a specific coping strategy worked for them, thereby providing suggestions of how readers may be able to improve the quality of their own lives
Publication Date: 2017-01-23
Stress Management and Prevention by
Gain a critical understanding of the nature of stress from a positive psychology framework that allows you to look beyond a simple pathology of stress-related symptoms. This new edition of Stress Management and Prevention integrates Eastern and Western concepts of stress while emphasizing an experiential approach to learning through the use of exercises, activities, and self-reflection. This student-friendly text contains chapters on conflict resolution, mindfulness meditation, time management, prevention of health risks, and cognitive restructuring. Included throughout are an emphasis on mindfulness and the neuroscience behind it, more theories, and new techniques for stress reduction and time management. An updated companion website includes even more video-based activities so students can see techniques in practice.
Publication Date: 2016-09-07
Chilling Out by
This appealing, accessible reference volume enables readers to easily understand what creates and constitutes stress--an unavoidable part of modern life--and learn about the psychology behind relaxation. What is "stress," from a psychological and physiological perspective? Why is it important to "unwind" and relax? Can some forms of stress actually be good? And how do people outside the United States relax? Part of Greenwood's The Psychology of Everyday Life series, this book defines in non-scientific language what stress and relaxation are, addresses factors related to our daily experiences with stress, identifies the negative effects of stress, and describes how to reduce stress and achieve relaxation. Readers will see how relaxation techniques are practiced around the world--and by people of all ages--and learn how "chilling out" can not only make you happier but may also help you live longer. The book also provides a critical-thinking section that challenges readers with questions such as "Are relaxation drinks effective?" The opposing viewpoints, written by scholars, encourage readers to consider the evidence on both sides of the debate and decide for themselves which answer makes the most sense. The scenarios presented in the book help readers to see the practical applications for relaxation techniques via an analysis of what is happening in the example and why particular recommendations may be made. Focuses on examples and applications from everyday life rather than abstract, academic theories to ensure that the information is highly accessible and relevant to readers seeking to understand how their stressful lives may be harming them and wanting specific strategies for improvement Includes real-world scenarios that demonstrate the positive and negative effects of different relaxation techniques in different circumstances Features a glossary of unfamiliar technical terms related to physiology, psychology, and psychological diagnosis Includes contributions from scholars debating major issues related to the psychology of relaxation
Publication Date: 2015-08-11
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by Publication Date: 2015-05-28
Worried Sick by
Comments like "I'm worried sick" convey the conventional wisdom that being "stressed out" will harm our health. Thousands of academic studies reveal that stressful life events (like a job loss), ongoing strains (like burdensome caregiving duties), and even daily hassles (like traffic jams on the commute to work) affect every aspect of our physical and emotional well-being. Cutting through a sea of scientific research and theories, Worried Sick answers many questions about how stress gets under our skin, makes us sick, and how and why people cope with stress differently. Included are several standard stress and coping checklists, allowing readers to gauge their own stress levels. We have all experienced stressful times--maybe a major work deadline or relocating cross-country for a new job--when we came out unscathed, feeling not only emotionally and physically healthy, but better than we did prior to the crisis. Why do some people withstand adversity without a scratch, while others fall ill or become emotionally despondent when faced with even a seemingly minor hassle? Without oversimplifying the discussion, Deborah Carr succinctly provides readers with key themes and contemporary research on the concept of stress. Understanding individuals' own sources of strength and vulnerability is an important step toward developing personal strategies to minimize stress and its unhealthy consequences. Yet Carr also challenges the notion that merely reducing stress in our lives will help us to stay healthy. Many of the stressors that we face in everyday life are not our problems alone; rather, they are symptoms of much larger, sweeping problems in contemporary U.S. society. To readers interested in the broad range of chronic, acute, and daily life stressors facing Americans in the twenty-first century, as well as those with interest in the many ways that our physical and emotional health is shaped by our experiences, this brief book will be an immediate and quick look at these significant issues. View a three minute video of Deborah Carr speaking about Worried Sick.
Publication Date: 2014-04-15
