On the Shelf from CCBC Libraries
The Mayo Clinic Guide to Stress-Free Living by
In this book, Amit Sood, M.D., M.Sc., a Mayo Clinic specialist in stress and resiliency, reveals how the mind's instinctive restlessness and shortsightedness generate stress and anxiety and presents strategies for living a more peaceful life. Have you ever driven several miles without noticing anything on the road, or read a page in a book without registering any of it? Do the day's worries and disappointments crowd your mind as you're trying to fall asleep at night? Do you feel stressed much of the time and aren't sure how to find peace? This book is based on the highly popular stress management program offered at Mayo Clinic that Dr. Sood developed after two decades of work with tens of thousands of people. Drawing on groundbreaking brain research, Dr. Sood helps you understand the brain's two modes and how an imbalance between them produces unwanted stress. From this basis, you learn skills that will help you: Develop deep and sustained attention Practice gratitude, compassion and acceptance Live a meaningful life Cultivate nurturing relationships Achieve your highest potential All of these concepts are weaved into a practical and fun journey that has been tested in numerous scientific studies, with consistently positive results. Take the first step to discover greater peace and joy for you and your loved ones. "Dr. Sood has put together a simple, secular and structured program that is anchored in science, is free of rituals and dogmas, and is accessible to everyone. This book can change your life." -- Dr. Andrew Weil "An important innovative approach to well-being, one we all should know about." -- Dr. Daniel Goleman
Call Number: RA785 .S6975 2013
Total Relaxation - the Complete Program for Overcoming Stress, Tension, Worry and Fatigue by
Total Relaxation provides the most effective program ever devised to overcome stress. Dr. Frederick P. Lenz, one of the foremost experts on stress and relaxation devised a twofold approach to stress control. The core program is a series of 12 relaxation techniques consisting of specific thought and image patterns designed to help you reach a level of total restful, refreshing relaxation. The exercises are easy and enjoyable and can be done anywhere at any time.
This book is not about changing your lifestyle ¿ you don¿t have to move to an isolated island to find relaxation. Rather, it is about doing what you want to do in life, being able to enjoy it, and getting the maximum of satisfaction and pleasure from it.
Everything you need to know is here:
12 core techniques designed to bring you immediately to a state of deep relaxation
Hundreds of strategies for eliminating stress from specific situations
Methods that will enable you to achieve an entirely relaxed lifestyle, without giving up any of your normal activities
This is more than a book on how to unwind after a hard day at the office. It is a must if you want to maintain your health ¿ and to reach your true potential.
Call Number: RA785 .L46 2011
The Relaxation and Stress Reduction by
The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook broke new ground when it was first published in 1980, detailing easy, step-by-step techniques for calming the body and mind in an increasingly overstimulated world. Now in its sixth edition, this workbook, highly regarded by therapists and their clients, remains the go-to source for stress reduction strategies that can be incorporated into even the busiest lives. This new edition is updated with powerful relaxation techniques based on the latest research, and draws from a variety of proven treatment methods, including progressive relaxation, autogenics, self-hypnosis, visualization, and mindfulness and acceptance therapy. In the first chapter, you'll explore your own stress triggers and symptoms, and learn how to create a personal plan for stress reduction. Each chapter features a different method for relaxation and stress reduction, explains why the method works, and provides on-the-spot exercises you can do to apply that method when you feel stressed. The result is a comprehensive yet accessible workbook that will help you to curb stress and cultivate a more peaceful life. This book has been awarded The Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies Self-Help Seal of Merit -- an award bestowed on outstanding self-help books that are consistent with cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) principles and that incorporate scientifically tested strategies for overcoming mental health difficulties. Used alone or in conjunction with therapy, our books offer powerful tools readers can use to jump-start changes in their lives. Find more help online at elearning.newharbinger.com. Self-Help Therapy offers web-based treatment for stress reduction based on the book The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook. Other modules in Self-Help Therapy offer treatment for anxiety, depression, borderline personality disorder and anger. A Reading Well Books on Prescription title.
Call Number: RA785 .D374 2008
The Art of Peace and Relaxation Workbook by
This workbook contains over 130 exercises in the form of surveys, questionnaires, inventories, and journal entries, to help you make some or all of these skills part of your daily routine, achieve balance, and stop "victim consciousness." Moreover, by doing these exercises you will find they become a great study guide for the textbook, Managing Stress. By combining effective coping skills (mind) and effective relaxation techniques (body) you will be able to achieve frequent and quality periods of total body wellness.
Call Number: RA785 .S43 2008
Learn to Relax by
We all need to relax. If only it were as easy as it sounds! Now, with this beautifully illustrated and practical volume, anyone can learn to let go. Offering almost 30 ingenious and easy-to-do exercises tailor-made for busy people, plus original illustrations to aid visualization and a friendly text that's low on jargon,Learn to Relax presents effective ways to ease tension at work, at home, or on the road. Stress counselor Mike George suggests simple techniques for breathing, massage, anxiety control, time management, sleep enrichment, detachment, and meditation, all designed to calm the mind. Drawn from both Eastern and Western traditions, this book's easy yet highly effective strategies reveal how we can put problems in perspective, deepen self-awareness, and celebrate the positive in life. Practical and inspirationalin the style ofTeach Yourself to Dream, Learn to Relax is the only accessible illustrated relaxation book on the market -- and an indispensable guide for anyone who wants to rediscover the essential art of relaxation.
Call Number: RA785 .G46 1998
Podcasts
- Tracks to Relax: Guided Sleep Meditations on Apple Tracks To Relax Guided Sleep Meditations, the most relaxing way to end your day and fall asleep fast! Enjoy over 200+ premium sleep meditations with no advertising or introductions at TracksToRelax.com and listen with your favourite podcast player app.
- Untangle: Mindfulness for Curious Humans elcome to Untangle! Hosts Patricia Karpas and Ariel Garten interview authors, experts and thought-leaders in areas related to mindfulness, brain health practices, leadership, life and so much more! You’ll hear from psychologists, neuroscientists, nutritionists, storytellers, buddhists, MD’s, Sleep experts etc. It’s a wide collection of interviews with thoughtful, provocative, inspirational and sometimes funny guests who share their true and heartfelt experiences. New episodes every Tuesday.
Streaming Videos
- Simple Stress Relief for Everyone: Relaxation Training Gray's 20-minute video provides mindfulness breathing and gentle chair yoga instruction for stress relief. She explains the effects of stress and benefits of reducing stress on health, sleeping, relationships, and learning. The multimodal instruction, complimentary imagery, and music invite viewers to engage in the practice. The visual, aural, and closed captioning offers basic instruction and can easily be used for those with disabilities as well as young and mature individuals. This video could be used in conjunction with current standard treatments or independently in the naturalistic environment.
Article Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles about medicine and health for professionals and patients.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Articles on biomedical and health topics used by health care professionals.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- PsycARTICLES
Articles on psychology topics.
- PubMed
Citations and abstracts from life science journals and online books, increasingly available for full-text. Use for advanced research.
- Social Science Database
Articles on social science topics like communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Online from CCBC Libraries
Hypnotic Relaxation Therapy by
iLike others trying to incorporate hypnotherapy into their practice, I found myself struggling with the question, iWhere do I begin'i This book provides that answerO It]offers the first complete presentation of the] fundamentals of hypnotic relaxation therapy] in a manner that is not only supported by empirical research, but is consistent with the authoris 30 years of experience as a clinical practitioner. In contrast to a ione-size-fits-all approach, i this book provides specific, easy-to-follow guidelines for developing hypnotic suggestions in a flexible manner that will enable the clinician to effectively address individual patientsi unique needsO Practitioners, students, and clinicians will want to have a copy of this comprehensive book, not only to use as a training manual, but to have as a igo to guidei to troubleshoot typical problems.i -Cassie Kendrick, PsyD Post-Doctoral Fellow in Clinical Health PsychologyMind-Body Medicine Research Laboratory Baylor University This book introduces a new, evidence-based model of hypnotherapy called ihypnotic relaxation therapyi (HRT). Easily integrated with other therapeutic models or used alone, HRT has been proven effective in a wide variety of applications including pain management, anxiety reduction, smoking cessation, insomnia treatment, and treatment of post-menopausal symptoms. This new model advances the field of hypnotherapy by making relaxation an explicit part of hypnotherapy and measuring individual differences in hypnotizabillity with the introduction of a new measurement instrument, the Elkins Hypnotizability Scale (EHS). Additionally, it is the first book to integrate Cognitive-Experiential Self Theory with HRT. Dr. Elkins is a highly esteemed leader in clinical hypnosis. He has served as President of the American Society of Clinical Hypnosis, President of the American Board of Psychological Hypnosis, Vice-Chair of the Council of Representatives of the International Society of Hypnosis, and Chair of the Fellows Committee of the Society for Psychological Hypnosis of the APA. His book provides clinicians with the guiding principles of HRT as well as the empirical research underlying it. Dr. Elkins offers a session-by-session approach to HRT that covers the process for structuring sessions, treatment planning, and dealing with resistance, and explicates detailed applications of HRT. Guidelines for formulating hypnotic suggestions are described, as is HRT as a proven effective source of intervention for hot flashes in menopausal women. The book explains how to integrate HRT with other modalities and discusses the ethical considerations of HRT. Additionally, the book introduces the Elkins Hypnotizability Scale for clinical assessment of hypnotizability that is currently being used in NIH-funded research at Baylor University and the Mayo Clinic. Case examples and sample transcripts are incorporated throughout the book, which also includes a sample brochure for patients.Key Features: Introduces a new, evidence-based conceptualization of hypnotherapyPresents a new, well-validated, easy-to-use scale for measuring hynotizabilityIncludes plentiful case examples and sample transcripts of hypnotic relaxation interventionsExplains how to integrate HRT with other modalitiesWritten by a renowned leader in the field of hypnosis
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The World's Best Massage Techniques The Complete Illustrated Guide by
Massage is one of the oldest healing modalities in the world and even modern science is proving its incredible power to soothe anxiety, boost immunity, and alleviate pain. "The World's Best Massage Techniques" presents the most effective massage and bodywork techniques from around the world-many of which have been used for thousands of years-to soothe stress and tension, alleviate discomfort, and give pleasure. This beautiful hands-on guide teaches you how to skillfully apply a wide variety of massage and bodywork techniques from other cultures for relaxation, stress relief, and wellness. - Swedish Massage: Kneading strokes lengthen tense muscles - Hot Stone Massage: Heated, flowing movements penetrate tight knots - Thai Yoga Massage: Assisted stretches bring the body into alignment - Reflexology: Focused pressure activates energy meridians - Lomi Lomi: Sensuous strokes calm the body and mind - Tantsu: Close, body-to-body contact creates intimacy - Polarity: Gentle rocking movements loosen muscles and joints - Shiatsu: Small compressions reduce pain and aid injury recovery Color photography and step-by-step layout make techniques understandable and immediately applicable. With "The World's Best Massage Techniques" you can use the world's most exciting bodywork techniques in your own home.
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
Stress-Free Living by
The internet, email and mobile technology have given birth to an 'instant gratification' society. It's almost impossible not to find yourself drawn into it. With this in mind The Feel Good Factory has been created to bring the people what they want: helpful information that's verbiage-free, gets straight to the point, is easy to navigate and most importantly is actually pertinent to them. What comes off the production line are beautiful, helpful books that people actually enjoy looking at and reading. In Calm-inducing, Mind-soothing, Stress- relieving Ideas for a Happy Life, Elisabeth Wilson helps you find and maintain a balanced perspective, so that you can deal with whatever life throws at you. Whether you're permanently stressed-out or just in need of a bit of a push in a calmer direction, this book can help you regain control.
Publication Date: 2009-10-02
Stress Proof Your Life by Publication Date: 2007-03-01
