Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for Books and eBooks
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Plant-Based Nutrition, 2E by
Whether you're vegan, vegetarian, or omnivore, getting your nutrition from plant-based foods is one of the best things you can do for your health--and it's easier than you might think! The science confirms that a diet rich in whole, plant-based foods can help your body thrive. In fact, a growing number of physicians advocate a completely plant-based diet for many of their patients who suffer from diabetes, heart disease, and cancer. In this all new edition, leading plant-based dietician, Julieanna Hever, and Ray Cronise, the mastermind behind magician Penn Jillette's 100-pound weight loss transformation, team up to give you everything you need to know about following a plant-based diet, including: * A wealth of information on the most nutrient-dense foods in the plant kingdom * A new Food Triangle, representing a completely new way of looking at food and nutrition * New perspectives on macronutrients, and why categorizing protein, carbs, and fats as food groups causes unnecessary confusion about what to eat * The latest science on oxidative priority and how it explains why many common recipes drive unintentional weight gain * Healthspan and longevity recommendations based on the latest research * All new recipes from celebrity chefs: Matthew Kenney, Dreena Burton, Jazzy Vegetarian, Kathy Patalsky, Robin Robertson, Fran Costigan, Jason Wyrick, and Matt Frazier * Sample menus to get you started on a plant-based lifestyle * Tips for stocking your kitchen, boosting the nutritional content of your favorite dishes, and dining out healthfully
Call Number: TX392 .H34 2018
An acclaimed surgeon specializing in weight loss delivers a paradigm-shifting examination of the diet and health industry's focus on protein, explaining why it is detrimental to our health, and can prevent us from losing weight. Whether you are seeing a doctor, nutritionist, or a trainer, all of them advise to eat more protein. Foods, drinks, and supplements are loaded with extra protein. Many people use protein for weight control, to gain or lose pounds, while others believe it gives them more energy and is essential for a longer, healthier life. Now, Dr. Garth Davis, an expert in weight loss asks, "Is all this protein making us healthier?" The answer, he emphatically argues, is NO. Too much protein is actually making us sick, fat, and tired, according to Dr. Davis. If you are getting adequate calories in your diet, there is no such thing as protein deficiency. The healthiest countries in the world eat far less protein than we do and yet we have an entire nation on a protein binge getting sicker by the day. As a surgeon treating obese patients, Dr. Davis was frustrated by the ever-increasing number of sick and overweight patients, but it wasn't until his own health scare that he realized he could do something about it. Combining cutting-edge research, with his hands-on patient experience and his years dedicated to analyzing studies of the world's longest-lived populations, this explosive, groundbreaking book reveals the truth about the dangers of protein and shares a proven approach to weight loss, health, and longevity.
Call Number: QP551 .D358 2015
Becoming Vegan Express Edition by
The completely revised edition of a seminal classic offers fresh insights on the treatment of animals in food production and other industries, the latest findings on the health benefits of a vegan diet, expanded information on phytochemicals, and a thoroughly updated food guide. This streamlined ?xpress?version is extensive in scope, yet manageable for anyone who wants to easily understand how to construct a nutritionally balanced plant-based diet. They present the latest findings on: using plant foods to protect against cancer, heart disease, and other chronic illnesses; obtaining essential protein without meat, eggs, or dairy products; discovering ?ood?fats and where to find them; meeting dietary needs for calcium without dairy products; understanding the importance of vitamin B12; designing balanced vegan diets for infants, children, and seniors; and making the most of vegan pregnancy and breast-feeding.
Call Number: RM236 .D36 2013
Is the Western Diet Making the World Sick? by
With globalization, the Western diet, and particularly the American diet, is rapidly overtaking local diets around the world. Due to a reliance on sugars and fats, this diet has created major health problems for previously healthy populations. Diabetes, obesity, and heart disease are just a few directly-related maladies. This anthology looks at the key facts and ideas underpinning this phenomenon. Experts weigh in on the effects and consequences of the Western diet.
Call Number: RA784 .I59 2013
New York Times Bestseller What happens when you eat an apple? The answer is vastly more complex than you imagine. Every apple contains thousands of antioxidants whose names, beyond a few like vitamin C, are unfamiliar to us, and each of these powerful chemicals has the potential to play an important role in supporting our health. They impact thousands upon thousands of metabolic reactions inside the human body. But calculating the specific influence of each of these chemicals isn't nearly sufficient to explain the effect of the apple as a whole. Because almost every chemical can affect every other chemical, there is an almost infinite number of possible biological consequences. And that's just from an apple. Nutritional science, long stuck in a reductionist mindset, is at the cusp of a revolution. The traditional "gold standard" of nutrition research has been to study one chemical at a time in an attempt to determine its particular impact on the human body. These sorts of studies are helpful to food companies trying to prove there is a chemical in milk or pre-packaged dinners that is "good" for us, but they provide little insight into the complexity of what actually happens in our bodies or how those chemicals contribute to our health. In The China Study, T. Colin Campbell (alongside his son, Thomas M. Campbell) revolutionized the way we think about our food with the evidence that a whole food, plant-based diet is the healthiest way to eat. Now, in Whole, he explains the science behind that evidence, the ways our current scientific paradigm ignores the fascinating complexity of the human body, and why, if we have such overwhelming evidence that everything we think we know about nutrition is wrong, our eating habits haven't changed. Whole is an eye-opening, paradigm-changing journey through cutting-edge thinking on nutrition, a scientific tour de force with powerful implications for our health and for our world.
Call Number: RA784 .C23524 2013
Forks over Knives by
The #1 New York Times bestseller answers: What if one simple change could save you from heart disease, diabetes, and cancer? For decades, that question has fascinated a small circle of impassioned doctors and researchers--and now, their life-changing research is making headlines in the hit documentary Forks Over Knives. Their answer? Eat a whole-foods, plant-based diet--it could save your life. It may overturn most of the diet advice you've heard--but the experts behind Forks Over Knives aren't afraid to make waves. In his book Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease, Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn explained that eating meat, dairy, and oils injures the lining of our blood vessels, causing heart disease, heart attack, or stroke. In The China Study, Dr. Colin Campbell revealed how cancer and other diseases skyrocket when eating meat and dairy is the norm--and plummet when a traditional plant-based diet persists. And more and more experts are adding their voices to the cause: There is nothing else you can do for your health that can match the benefits of a plant-based diet. Now, as Forks Over Knives is introducing more people than ever before to the plant-based way to health, this accessible guide provides the information you need to adopt and maintain a plant-based diet. Features include: Insights from the luminaries behind the film--Dr. Neal Barnard, Dr. John McDougall, The Engine 2 Diet author Rip Esselstyn, and many others Success stories from converts to plant-based eating--like San'Dera Prude, who no longer needs to medicate her diabetes, has lost weight, and feels great! The many benefits of a whole-foods, plant-based diet--for you, for animals and the environment, and for our future A helpful primer on crafting a healthy diet rich in unprocessed fruits, vegetables, legumes, and whole grains, including tips on transitioning and essential kitchen tools 125 recipes from 25 champions of plant-based dining--from Blueberry Oat Breakfast Muffins and Sunny Orange Yam Bisque to Garlic Rosemary Polenta and Raspberry-Pear Crisp--delicious, healthy, and for every meal, every day.
Call Number: TX392 .F67 2011
The Dietitian's Guide to Vegetarian Diets by
The Dietitian's Guide to Vegetarian Diets: Issues and Applications provides the most up-to-date information on vegetarian diets. Written for dietitians and other health care professionals, the Third Edition can be used as an aid for counseling vegetarian clients and those interested in becoming vegetarian or serve as a textbook for classroom study for students who have completed introductory coursework in nutrition. Evidence-based and thoroughly referenced, this text includes case-studies, sample menus, and counseling points to help students apply material to the real world.
Call Number: RM236 .M44 2011
Across the world a significant number of individuals, including many fitness professionals, are attempting to adhere to a plant-based diet in order to achieve the healthiest lifestyle possible. Some people, however, are struggling with ways to implement this goal, without disrupting or complicating their lives. Vegecipes details healthy recipes that can help make the lives of these individuals easier. The DVD explains how to add nutritional value by simplifying popular recipes and incorporating delicious substitutes for their favorite ingredients in most foods.
Online From CCBC Libraries
Vegetarianism and Veganism by
This detailed and comprehensive overview of meat-free diets introduces readers to their long history in human cultures and analyzes some of the important questions and issues surrounding their practice in today's world. Vegetarianism and Veganism: A Reference Handbook provides a history and background of vegetarianism and veganism from prehistorical times to the present day, along with detailed discussions of the practice in each historical period since that time. The ancillary chapters provide additional information on important individuals and organizations in the field, relevant data and documents on the topic, an annotated bibliography, a chronology of important events, and a glossary of terms likely to be encountered in the field. Of special interest is the Perspectives chapter, in which stakeholders in the topic write about some specific aspect of its importance in their own lives. Intended for high school, college, an general readers, the volume covers the field of vegetarianism and veganism in cultures from around the world. Some specific topics include ancient views of vegetarianism, religious stands on the practice, the growth of vegetarian and vegan institutions, and current controversies over the practice of meat-free diets. It also includes a host of resources that readers can use to continue their own research in the field. Illustrates the rich background of individuals who have promoted and practiced vegetarianism throughout the ages Describes some reasons that people choose to become vegetarians or vegans Talks about the positive and negative nutritional issues involved in living a vegetarian/vegan lifestyle Comments on reasons that some people have (sometimes strong) opposition to vegetarian and/or vegan lifestyles
Publication Date: 2019
The Way to Eat Now by
This is the way to eat now--feel-good food to satisfy every craving, from morning to night, and for every occasion Publisher's note: The Way to Eat Now was previously published in hardcover as Good Veg. Here is food that surprises and thrills through contrasts--think crisp and soft, sweet and sour, chile heat and refreshing herb--with meals that include: Roasted Carrot Soup with Flatbread Ribbons Chickpea Crepes with Wild Garlic Brown Rice Bibimbap Bowls with Smoky Peppers Toasted Marzipan Ice Cream Thoughtfully organized chapters will help you find just the right dish at any time of day, and for every occasion: Mornings Grazing Quick Thrifty Gatherings Grains Raw-ish Afters Pantry
Publication Date: 2019
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals on science, technology and medicine for advanced research.
CINAHL Complete/MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Articles on nursing and allied health.
Health Source Nursing/Academic and Consumer This link opens in a new window
Articles about medicine and health for professionals and patients.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles focused on contemporary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Science News: Vegetarian Diet