Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
The Future of Nutrition by
From the coauthor of The China Study and author of the New York Times bestselling follow-up, Whole Despite extensive research and overwhelming public information on nutrition and health science, we are more confused than ever--about the foods we eat, what good nutrition looks like, and what it can do for our health. In The Future of Nutrition, T. Colin Campbell cuts through the noise with an in-depth analysis of our historical relationship to the food we eat, the source of our present information overload, and what our current path means for the future--both for individual health and society as a whole. In these pages, Campbell takes on the institution of nutrition itself, unpacking: Why the institutional emphasis on individual nutrients (instead of whole foods) as a means to explain nutrition has had catastrophic consequences How our reverence for "high quality" animal protein has distorted our understanding of cholesterol, saturated fat, unsaturated fat, environmental carcinogens, and more Why mainstream food and nutrient recommendations and public policy favor corporate interests over that of personal and planetary health How we can ensure that public nutrition literacy can prevent and treat personal illness more effectively and economically The Future of Nutrition offers a fascinating deep-dive behind the curtain of the field of nutrition--with implications both for our health and for the practice of science itself.
Call Number: RA784 .C23522 2020
Nutrition and Metabolism in Sports, Exercise and Health by
The second edition of Nutrition and Metabolism in Sports, Exercise and Health offers a clear and comprehensive introduction to sport and exercise nutrition, integrating key nutritional facts, concepts and dietary guidelines with a thorough discussion of the fundamental biological science underpinning physiological and metabolic processes. Informed by the latest research in this fast-moving discipline, the book includes brand-new sections on, amongst others: * Cellular structure for metabolism * Alcohol and metabolism * Uncoupling protein and thermogenesis * Dietary guidelines from around the world * Nutrient timing * Protein synthesis and muscle hypertrophy * Protein supplementation * Ergogenic effects of selected stimulants * Nutritional considerations for special populations * Dehydration and exercise performance Each chapter includes updated pedagogical features, including definitions of key terms, chapter summaries, case studies, review questions and suggested readings. A revised and expanded companion website offers additional teaching and learning features, such as PowerPoint slides, multiple-choice question banks and web links. No book goes further in explaining how nutrients function within our biological system, helping students to develop a better understanding of the underlying mechanisms and offering the best grounding in applying knowledge to practice in both improving athletic performance and preventing disease. As such, Nutrition and Metabolism in Sports, Exercise and Health is essential reading for all students of sport and exercise science, kinesiology, physical therapy, strength and conditioning, nutrition or health sciences.
Call Number: QP141 .N77 2018
Human Nutrition by
The field of human nutrition has expanded hugely in recent years, to now encompass topics as diverse as nutritional genomics and food security. As appreciation for the importance of nutrition to human health and well-being grows, an understanding of the many aspects of the subject has never been more important. Written by a renowned team of international experts, Human Nutrition provides an authoritative, comprehensive resource for students of human nutrition and other health sciences, and a valuable source of information for everybody working in nutrition and related fields. The text opens with an exploration of the chemical characteristics of foods and nutrients, before moving on to discuss the physiology of food nutrition, micronutrients, and dietary requirements for different sections of the population. The text concludes with an assessment of the evidence base for a link between nutrient intake and disease risk, and a review of the broad discipline of public health nutrition. Online Resource Centre: The Online Resource Centre to accompany Human Nutrition features: Student Resources: Auto-marked multiple choice questions to accompany each chapter Curated links to online sources of further information 'In depth' panels: extended coverage of topics included in the book Lecturer Resources: Figures from the book: available to download for use in lectures
Call Number: RC620 .H86 2017
Williams' Essentials of Nutrition and Diet Therapy by Call Number: RM216 .S358 2015
Nutrition and Diet Therapy by
Emphasis on clinical applications. Nutrient recommendations and food label data, including updated DRIs. Cautions for unregulated supplements and descriptions of interactions of food, drug, and over-the-counter nutrients. Life cycle approach that includes screening tools and nutritional interventions for infants, children, adolescents, and mature adults, as well as pregnant and lactating women. Updated recommendations and food plans for weight control, clients with diabetes, HIV/AIDS, dysphasia, preventing heart disease, and other health concerns. Useful assessment tools and tables throughout, including Food Handling Guidelines, Labeling Regulations, Research Summaries, and Wellness Tips Coverage of nutria-genomics and genomics. "Teamwork" exercises focusing on nutritional documentation from different care providers, including dietitians, physical therapists, and speech therapists. "Dollars and Sense" feature highlighting which food costs or economic factors influence nutritional care.
Call Number: RM216 .L98 2015
Vitamania by
"Measured, funny, and fascinating... If you need vitamins to survive (you do), you should read this book." Scientific American ("Food Matters") Most of us know nothing about vitamins. What's more, what we think we know is harming both our personal nutrition and our national health. By focusing on vitamins at the expense of everything else, we've become blind to the bigger picture: despite our belief that vitamins are an absolute good--and the more of them, the better--vitamins are actually small and surprisingly mysterious pieces of a much larger nutritional puzzle. In Vitamania, award-winning journalist Catherine Price offers a lucid and lively journey through our cherished yet misguided beliefs about vitamins, and reveals a straightforward, blessedly anxiety-free path to enjoyable eating and good health. When vitamins were discovered a mere century ago, they changed the destiny of the human species by preventing and curing many terrifying diseases. Yet it wasn't long before vitamins spread from labs of scientists into the realm of food marketers and began to take on a life of their own. By the end of the Second World War, vitamins were available in forms never before seen in nature--vitamin gum, vitamin doughnuts, even vitamin beer--and their success showed food manufacturers that adding synthetic vitamins to otherwise nutritionally empty products could convince consumers that they were healthy. The era of "vitamania," as one 1940s journalist called it, had begun. Though we've gained much from our embrace of vitamins, what we've lost is a crucial sense of perspective. Vitamins may be essential to our lives, but they are not the only important substances in food. By buying into a century of hype and advertising, we have accepted the false idea that particular dietary chemicals can be used as shortcuts to health--whether they be antioxidants or omega-3s or, yes, vitamins. And it's our vitamin-inspired desire for effortless shortcuts that created today's dietary supplement industry, a veritable Wild West of overpromising "miracle" substances that can be legally sold without any proof that they are effective or safe. For the countless individuals seeking to maximize their health and who consider vitamins to be the keys to well-being, Price's Vitamania will be a game-changing look into the roots of America's ongoing nutritional confusion. Her travels to vitamin manufacturers and food laboratories and military testing kitchens--along with her deep dive into the history of nutritional science-- provide a witty and dynamic narrative arc that binds Vitamania together. The result is a page-turning exploration of the history, science, hype, and future of nutrition. And her ultimate message is both inspiring and straightforward: given all that we don't know about vitamins and nutrition, the best way to decide what to eat is to stop obsessing and simply embrace this uncertainty head-on. By exposing our extraordinary psychological relationship with vitamins and challenging us to question our beliefs, Vitamania won't just change the way we think about vitamins. It will change the way we think about food. Booklist, *STARRED* "A hidden, many-faceted, and urgent story." Wall Street Journal "The baselessness of our hopes for various elixirs, alongside our baseless fear of science's true achievements, opens up a rich vein of hypocrisy that Ms. Price mines with engaging relish."
Call Number: QP771 .P76 2015
Streaming Video
- All About NutrientsDepriving the human body of proper nutrition is like taking away a car’s gasoline—as well as its steel, aluminum, rubber, and upholstery. This program explores the function and importance of nutrients, explaining why we need a balanced food intake and illustrating the health problems that result when we don’t eat properly. Viewers learn about a wide variety of necessary vitamins and minerals and encounter diet-related illnesses that result from inadequate quantities of some foods and their associated nutrients. The consequences of consuming too much of some food types are also explored in detail. (24 minutes)
ProQuest Central
Websites
- The Nutrition Source
From Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.
Podcasts
- Nutrition Talks Podcast Archive
from the American Society of Nutrition
Databases
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals on science, technology, and medicine for advanced research.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles about medicine and health for professionals and patients.
Online From CCBC Libraries
Nutrition for Dummies by
Get the straight facts on nutrition, slim down, and feel great You've been hearing it since you were a kid: "You are what you eat." And this wise saying is true! Good nutrition is the key to achieving and maintaining healthy weight and lifelong good health--no matter how you slice it. Nutrition For Dummies, 6th Edition is a one-size-fits-all guide to nutrition that shows you how to manage your diet so you get the most bang for your buck. This book gives you the know-how to put together a shopping list, prepare healthy foods, and easily cut calories. The latest edition of The Dietary Guidelines for Americans encourages individuals to eat a healthful diet--one that focuses on foods and beverages that help achieve and maintain a healthy weight, promote health, and prevent chronic disease. This updated edition of Nutrition For Dummies reflects the latest suggested guidelines and details in plain English so you can incorporate these recommendations for living a nutritionally sound life. You'll get updated RDAs on vitamins and nutritional supplements; find out why you should eat more fruits, vegetables, nuts, whole grains, and other plant-based foods; understand the importance of cholesterol for brain health; get the latest information on obesity; and more. Decipher the latest nutrition facts, labels, and guidelines Understand why sugar is the most controversial subject in diet today Grasp the truth about vitamin supplements and energy drinks Make informed decisions about your own nutrition choices An apple a day may not necessarily keep the doctor away, but with the simple guidance of Nutrition For Dummies, 6th Edition you can be on your way to living a happier, healthier, and longer life.
Publication Date: 2016
Fruits, Vegetables, and Herbs by
Fruits, Vegetables, and Herbs: Bioactive Foods in Health Promotion brings together experts from around the world working on the cutting edge of research on fruit, vegetables, and herbs in health promotion. Offering a timely, concise, scientific appraisal of the efficacy of key foods to prevent disease and improve the quality of life, Fruits, Vegetables, and Herbs: Bioactive Foods in Health Promotion provides valuable evidence-based conclusions and recommendations. This reference text will encourage further research on the potential benefits of fruits and vegetables in health and disease prevention, providing a basis for possible dietary modifications by the government and the public.
Publication Date: 2016
The Vitamins by
The fourth edition of this bestselling text will again provide the latest coverage of the biochemistry and physiology of vitamins and vitamin-like substances. Extensively revised and expanded on the basis of recent research findings with enlarged coverage of health effects of vitamin-like factors, it is ideally suited for students and an important reference for anyone interested in nutrition, food science, animal science or endocrinology. It contains a cohesive and well-organized presentation of each of the vitamins, as well as the history of their discoveries and current information about their roles in nutrition and health.
Publication Date: 2012
