Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Eating Disorders and Obesity, Third Edition by
Acclaimed for its encyclopedic coverage, this is the only handbook that synthesizes current knowledge and clinical practices in the fields of both eating disorders and obesity. Like the prior editions, the significantly revised third edition features more than 100 concise, focused chapters with lists of key readings in place of extended references. All aspects of eating disorders and obesity are addressed by foremost clinical researchers: classification, causes, consequences, risk factors, and pathophysiology, as well as prevention, treatment, assessment, and diagnosis. New to This Edition *Reflects 15 years of important advances in both fields, including state-of-the-art intervention approaches and a growing focus on how the brain regulates eating behavior. *Dozens of entirely new chapters. *New topics: epigenetics, body weight and neurocognitive function, stress and emotion regulation, the gut microbiome, surgical devices for obesity, food labeling and marketing, and more. *Expanded coverage of prevention and policy.
Call Number: RC552.E18 E2825 2018
Eating Disorders by
A timely, relevant work, this encyclopedia provides a comprehensive examination of a full range of topics related to eating disorders and body image. The mortality rate associated with eating disorders is higher than that of any other psychiatric illness. What are the factors that influence abnormal perceptions of body image and trigger the deadly behaviors of food deprivation or uncontrollable gluttony? This indispensable resource thoroughly examines the complex subject of eating disorders, particularly the sociocultural, psychological, and nutritional aspects of eating disorders and body image. Eating Disorders: An Encyclopedia of Causes, Treatment, and Prevention explores the definitions, risk factors, symptoms, and health consequences of such illnesses as anorexia, bulimia, and binge eating. The author discusses the assessment and treatment of these conditions, and imparts health education strategies related to the "Dos and Don'ts" of awareness and prevention efforts. Additionally, she shares tips for recognizing symptoms and discusses where to seek help if a friend or family member is affected. Topics include flight attendants and body weight requirements, the impact of Virtual Reality, and media and sociocultural influences. Case illustrations of eating disorder concerns A timeline of the history of eating disorders Contributions from experts in cross-disciplinary fields Types of prevention programs and ways to promote positive body image
Call Number: RC552.E18 E28216 2013
Anorexia and Bulimia by
In the United States, 20 million women and 10 million men suffer from an eating disorder according to NEDA. Eating disorders are impacting children as well, even as young as first-graders. Your readers are provided with essential information on Anorexia Nervosa and Bulimia Nervosa. This book also serves as a historical survey, by providing information on the controversies surrounding its causes. Compelling first-person narratives by people coping with Anorexia and Bulimia give readers a first-hand experience. Readers will learn from the words of patients, family members, or caregivers. The symptoms, causes, treatments, and potential cures are explained in detail. Alternative treatments are also covered. Student researchers and readers will find this book easily accessible through its careful and conscientious editing and a thorough introduction to each essay.
Call Number: RC552.A5 A548 2013
Treatment Plans and Interventions for Bulimia and Binge-Eating Disorder by
Highly practical and clinician friendly, this book provides evidence-based tools for tailoring psychotherapy to the needs of clients with bulimia nervosa or eating disorder not otherwise specified (EDNOS), including binge-eating disorder. It offers specific guidance for conducting thorough clinical assessments and conceptualizing each case in order to select appropriate interventions. A proven cognitive-behavioral treatment protocol is presented and illustrated with a chapter-length case example. In a convenient large-size format, the book includes a session-by-session treatment plan and 20 reproducible forms, handouts, and worksheets that clinicians can photocopy or download and print for repeated use.
Call Number: RC552.B84 Z94 2012
Overcoming Binge Eating, Second Edition by
This trusted bestseller provides all the information needed to understand binge eating and bring it under control, whether you are working with a therapist or on your own. Clear, step-by-step guidelines show you how to: *Overcome the urge to binge. *Gain control over what and when you eat. *Break free of strict dieting and other habits that may contribute to binges. *Establish stable, healthy eating patterns. *Improve your body image and reduce the risk of relapse. This fully updated second edition incorporates important advances in the understanding and treatment of eating disorders. It features expanded coverage of body image issues and enhanced strategies for achieving--and maintaining--a transformed relationship with food and your body. Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies (ABCT) Self-Help Book of Merit. Included in the UK National Health Service Bibliotherapy Program.
Call Number: RC552.C65 F35 2013
Organizations
Streaming Videos
- Anorexia: A Gut FeelingThirty million people suffer from some form of eating disorder. New research suggests there might be a biological reason for the illness.
- Nutrition and Eating DisordersWhether they’re viewed from a behavioral standpoint or from a profound psychological perspective, one thing is clear—eating disorders stress the body’s systems and put individuals at increased risk for disease, infertility, organ failure, and death. This video pinpoints the dangers of anorexia, bulimia, binge eating, and other eating disorders, exploring their possible causes as well as ways to overcome them. Showing how food consumption (or avoidance of it) is often the one thing that eating-disorder sufferers feel they can control, the program features dramatized case studies that enlighten viewers in a nonconfrontational way. With the aid of expert commentary, it also provides practical information on identifying signs of eating disorders in others and emphasizes the importance of persuading them to seek professional help. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Meridian Production. Part of the series Healthy Eating: A Guide to Nutrition. (30 minutes)
CINAHL
Databases
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals on science, technology, and medicine for advanced research.
Online From CCBC Libraries
Body Image in Eating Disorders by Publication Date: 2021
Eating Disorders in America by
An indispensable resource for readers interested in eating disorders, this book summarizes their history in human civilization, assesses the current status of eating disorders in American society, and describes efforts for establishing effective prevention and treatment programs. Although eating disorders have existed for centuries, considerable controversy remains as to the basic cause or causes of these disorders and their genetic, biological, and/or psychological factors. Eating Disorders in America: A Reference Handbook investigates these disorders, priming readers on the causes, symptoms, controversies, and treatments available. The two opening chapters of the book provide general background and a historical review of the existence of eating disorders in society. The remaining chapters provide resources the reader can use for further research, such as an extensive annotated bibliography, a glossary, and a chronology. This book differs from others on the topic in that it provides both an expository section that provides information as well as a set of resources for further research. The book also contains a "perspectives" chapter in which writers describe and discuss their personal views on the subject of eating disorders. Together with the author's expertise, these views add to the value of this book as a resource for eating disorder research. Provides an introduction to the history of eating disorders in society, a topic less well known and discussed than others in the social sciences Offers comprehensive discussion of the whole range of eating disorders, rather than the two most commonly covered (bulimia and anorexia), along with a review of the risk factors, causes, prevention, and treatment of each Outlines the ongoing debate concerning the possible causes of eating disorders and how they guide prevention and treatment Includes a chapter on individual perspectives about specific cases of, experiences with, and attitudes toward eating disorders in today's world
Publication Date: 2019
Eating Disorders by
This encyclopedia offers a variety of resources for readers interested in learning more about eating disorders, including hundreds of reference entries, interviews, scholarly debates, and case studies. While many people may reflexively imagine an anorexic or bulimia teenage girl upon being asked to think about eating disorders, eating disorders are a form of mental illness that can take many forms and affect individuals of all genders, ages, and ethnic backgrounds. In fact, an estimated eight million people in the United States struggle with an eating disorder, making eating disorders one of the most prevalent forms of mental illness in America. This two-volume encyclopedia comprehensively examines eating disorders as the forms they can take; their causes and potential complications; and how they can best be treated and prevented. It also examines the influence had by cultural factors such as the fashion industry, television and movies, and social media. More than just a simple A-to-Z reference, Eating Disorders: Understanding Causes, Controversies, and Treatment also includes valuable features such as Q&A interviews with those affected by and working to combat eating disorders, case studies, scholarly essays that voice opinions in key debates, and a directory of resources for individuals seeking help. Reflects recent changes in approaches to eating disorders brought about by the publication of the latest edition of the DSM Explores key issues related to eating disorders and models critical thinking and argument construction in the Controversies and Debates section Offers insights from a variety of perspectives expounded upon in interviews with scholars, eating disorder professionals, patients, and family members Gives readers a "real world" look at the many ways eating disorders can manifest and progress in the Case Illustrations section
Publication Date: 2018
Eating Disorders by
This book is an approachable introduction to eating disorders; one of the most common--and dangerous--forms of mental illness. The information, guidance, and resources offered make it a valuable tool for anyone struggling with issues surrounding food, weight, and body image. In the United States today, an estimated 20 million women and 10 million men meet the diagnostic criteria for an eating disorder, and millions more have disordered eating habits and a dysfunctional relationship with food. Whether their disorder is diagnosed or not, individuals struggling with these issues face serious and potentially lifelong physical and emotional consequences as a result of their behaviors. Eating Disorders: Your Questions Answered, a part of Greenwood's Q&A Health Guides series, provides clear, concise information for readers who want to learn more about these often misunderstood psychiatric illnesses. In addition to discussing the most common eating disorders, their consequences, and treatment, this book also explores how eating disorders develop and how they can be prevented. Each book in this series follows a reader-friendly question-and-answer format that anticipates readers' needs and concerns. Prevalent myths and misconceptions are identified and dispelled, and a collection of case studies illustrates key concepts and issues through relatable stories and insightful recommendations. The book also includes a section on health literacy, equipping teens and young adults with practical tools and strategies for finding, evaluating, and using credible sources of health information both on and off the internet--important skills that contribute to a lifetime of healthy decision-making. Makes the subject accessible to readers by means of a simple Q&A format Helps readers hone their research and critical thinking skills in a Guide to Health Literacy section Provides real-world examples of concepts discussed in the book through case studies Dispels popular misconceptions in a Common Myths section and directs readers towards accurate information Points readers towards additional books, organizations, and websites for further study and research in an annotated directory of resources
Publication Date: 2018
The Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders by
Praise for the previous edition:...accurate, concise information concerning eating behaviors in a user-friendly format...Certainly topical, this encyclopedia will be most welcome in both the young adult and adult departments of public libraries of any size, community college libraries and undergraduate libraries, and high-school libraries.-- Booklist "The entries, clearly written and easily understood, will help readers find more information...An important addition to most public, special, and academic libraries.-- Choice style=color: #333333; font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 11 ;>The Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders, Fourth Edition is more relevant now than ever before. Presently almost two-thirds of American adults are overweight and 31 percent are obese. Eating disorders are now affecting a wider range of the population, particularly with increased diagnoses in men and boys, and a range of diet crazes has swept the country with potentially long-lasting ramifications for health and nutrition. Made up of 80 detailed articles and an extensive glossary, this reference is the first stop in any serious research of these troubling health afflictions.style=color: #333333; font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 11; style=color: #333333; font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 11;/>Entries include: ul style=color: #333333; font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 11 Anorexia nervosaBody image disturbanceBulimia nervosaChildhood obesityExercise and obesity and eating disordersHunger and appetiteMales and eating disordersNutritional counseling for eating disorders and obesityPharmacotherapy for eating disorders and obesityScreening tests for eating disordersStress and eating disordersWeight loss scams and frauds.
Publication Date: 2017
Podcasts
- ED Matters
Healthy Conversations About Eating Disorders - The Eating Disorder Recovery Podcast
with Dr. Janean Anderson
