Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
The Complete Guide to Food Allergies in Adults and Children by
The most complete guide to preventing, testing, living with, and treating food allergies in children and adults. In this comprehensive, evidence-based guide for adults and children with food allergies and those who care for them, Dr. Scott H. Sicherer provides all the critical information you need on preventing, testing, living with, and treating food allergies. Organized in an accessible Q&A format and illustrated with case studies, the book thoroughly explains how to prevent exposure to a known allergen at home, at work, at school, in restaurants, and elsewhere. Emphasizing the most recent advances, Sicherer touches on everything from handling an anaphylactic emergency to diagnosing allergies and intolerances, all while detailing chronic health problems caused by food, such as eczema, hives, and gastrointestinal symptoms. He also shares: * the benefits and risks of new therapies * new prevention guidelines * new approaches to improve quality of life and reduce anxiety * the latest insights on adult-onset food allergies * new diagnostic tests now commercially available * approaches shown to increase safety in school * the latest thinking on treating eczema through the diet * new doses and self-injection devices for treating food anaphylaxis * new information about food allergies that affect the gut Dr. Sicherer also reviews food reactions that are not allergic, such as lactose intolerance, irritable bowel syndrome, and celiac disease. He explains how to get adequate nutrition when you must avoid dietary staples and discusses whether allergies ever go away (they do--and sometimes they return). Finally, he includes an allergy and anaphylaxis emergency plan and checklists to reduce cross-contamination. This is the most authoritative and accessible allergy book on the market.
Call Number: RC596 .S378 2022
Food Allergies by
It has been estimated that between 5 and 10 percent of the world's population suffers from food allergies, and the consensus among medical professionals is that these numbers are still growing. Out of every classroom in America, there are at least two teens who have food allergies, and every three minutes someone is taken to the emergency room as a result of an allergic reaction. From school cafeterias to movie theaters to sporting arenas--not to mention restaurants--teens encounter countless allergens. Although parents and health professionals are on the alert for food allergies, teens themselves must take the steps needed to ensure their health and well-being. But most of the books about food allergies are aimed at adults and don't take into consideration the perils that face teens on a daily basis. In Food Allergies: The Ultimate Teen Guide, Jessica Reino offers helpful and practical information that will aid teens in managing their sensitivities. The book looks at a variety of food allergies, from the most common--milk, peanuts, and gluten--to rarer ones that are no less a threat. The book also features input from food allergy experts and interviews with teenagers who share not only the difficulties they face but also the strategies they must employ to stay vigilant. Chapters in this book cover such topics as -self-advocacy -negotiating meals with family members -the importance of reading labels -the pitfalls of dining out -eating well even with dietary restrictions Over the last several decades, the world has seen an increase in food sensitivity. This book addresses the cause of allergies, delving into the catalysts that provoke physical reactions; but more importantly, it stresses what teens can do to prevent such incidents. With a chapter that contains a few allergy-friendly recipes, Food Allergies: The Ultimate Teen Guide is an invaluable resource for young adults, their friends, and their families.
Call Number: RC596 .R44 2015
Food Allergies by
Posing the questions that anyone with food allergies will think to ask-and then some- Food Allergies provides practical, emotional, and scientific guidance on the topics that affect your life. Allergy expert Scott H. Sicherer addresses the full spectrum of food allergies, from mild to life threatening, from single foods to food families, clearing up misconceptions along the way. He explains how exposure to foods can bring about an allergic response, describes the symptoms of food allergy, and illuminates how food allergies develop. He also recommends tests for diagnosing both food allergies and chronic health problems caused by food allergies-such as eczema, hives, and respiratory and gastrointestinal symptoms. Food Allergies thoroughly explains how to prevent exposure to a known allergen at home, at school, in restaurants, and elsewhere and what to do if exposure occurs, including how to handle an anaphylactic emergency. Dr. Sicherer also reviews food reactions that are not allergic (such as lactose intolerance), advises how to get adequate nutrition when you must avoid dietary staples, and discusses whether allergies ever go away (they do-and then sometimes they return).
Call Number: RC588.D53 S56 2013
Podcasts
- Food Allergy Podcasts
from AAAAI (American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, and Immuniology)
Streaming Video
- Food AllergiesWhat’s the difference between an allergy, a sensitivity, and an intolerance? Why do some schools have peanut-free zones? Can people have adverse reactions to artificial dyes? In this program, an expert presents information on the most common food allergens, covering their symptoms, tests used to diagnose them, and the range of treatments available. People with celiac disease discuss good alternatives to gluten, and a young man who is lactose-intolerant explains why it isn’t so hard to avoid pizza and ice cream when sticking to a special diet. A viewable/printable worksheet is available online. (26 minutes)
- Food Allergies and IntolerancesWhat is the difference between food allergy and food intolerance? This Australian-made, curriculum fit program answers this question and more using engaging dramatised scenarios and expert commentary from Dr. Andreas Lopata, Associate Professor of Food Sciences at Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology. We discover that up to 2% of the population have a food allergy and learn how to respond to a food reaction - including when and how to administer an EpiPen. We also learn how to identify food allergies and intolerances and how the food production and hospitality industries are responding to the increasing incidence of food reactions.
Websites
- Food Allergy
from the Mayo Clinic - Food Allergies
from Johns Hopkins Medicine - Food Allergies
from Food Safety and Inspection Service, USDA - Food Allergies and Intolerances
from Nutrition.gov, USDA
Online From CCBC Libraries
Food Allergies and Sensitivities by
An easy-to-understand introduction to food allergies, sensitivities, and intolerances--unique but related conditions affecting many children and adults. The information, guidance, and resources offered make this a valuable tool for anyone struggling with negative reactions to certain foods. While many people think that any negative reaction after eating a food indicates an allergy, that's not the case. True food allergies, along with more common food intolerances and sensitivities, can produce a wide range of symptoms, from unpleasant bloating to life-threatening anaphylactic shock. What causes these conditions, and how can they be treated or managed? Why are certain foods, like peanuts and milk, more problematic than others? Why are food allergies on the rise, and is this only a problem in the industrialized world? Food Allergies and Sensitivities: Your Questions Answered, a part of Greenwood's Q&A Health Guides series, answers these and other questions related to this fascinating topic. Each book in this series follows a reader-friendly question-and-answer format that anticipates readers' needs and concerns. Prevalent myths and misconceptions are identified and dispelled, and a collection of case studies illustrates key concepts and issues through relatable stories and insightful recommendations. The book also includes a section on health literacy, equipping teens and young adults with practical tools and strategies for finding, evaluating, and using credible sources of health information both on and off the internet--important skills that contribute to a lifetime of healthy decision-making. Makes the subject accessible to readers by means of a simple Q&A format Helps readers hone their research and critical thinking skills in a Guide to Health Literacy section Provides real-world examples of concepts discussed in the book through case studies Dispels popular misconceptions in a Common Myths section and directs readers towards accurate information Points readers towards additional books, organizations, and websites for further study and research in an annotated directory of resources
Publication Date: 2019
Databases
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals on science, technology, and medicine for advanced research.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles about medicine and health for professionals and patients.
Organizations
- Kids With Food Allergies
A Division of the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America - FAACT
Food Allergy and Anaphylaxis Connection Team
