Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Diabetes Essentials by
Quick and easy top-ten lists on important type 2 diabetes topics for the newly diagnosed. This new guide from Karen Graham is a shorter companion book to Complete Diabetes Guide and Diabetes Meals for Good Health Cookbook. Diabetes Essentials includes easy diabetes tips covering 72 subjects, including medications, nutrition, gut bacteria, exercise, recipes and more. For each of the 72 subjects, Registered Dietitian and Certified Diabetes Educator Karen Graham along with MD and Endocrinologist Mansur Shomali offer the top-ten tips for that subject (with 720 total tips across all subjects), including "Answers to Your First Diabetes Questions," "Prediabetes," "Diabetes First Ten Days," "Diabetes Medical Terms," "Lab Tests," "Testing Your Sugar Level at Home," "Low Blood Sugar Episodes," and "Steps to Reduce a High Morning Blood Sugar." Meant as a diabetes primer for the newly diagnosed, this book contains essential advice meant to supplement the other two highly-respected books in the series. It will arm those who might be confused about their diagnosis with a path forward, with information about their condition and about managing it using nutrition, exercise, medication and other strategies. Karen Graham's diabetes books are market-leading and have sold over a quarter million copies across all titles and editions. She has an easy-to-understand approach and has devoted her career to helping those with diabetes improve their lives. Her collaboration with Dr. Shomali on this new Health and Wellness Series brings his leading-edge expertise as a physician and endocrinologist, professor of medicine and researcher.
Call Number: RC660.4 .G73 2020
A-Z Guide to Food as Medicine by
Can an apple a day keep the doctor away? The A-Z Guide to Food As Medicine addresses food folklore by exploring the scientific findings about physiological effects of over 250 foods, food groups, nutrients, and phytochemicals. Today, health care providers are fielding more questions from patients on how to help improve their nutritional health, which in turn can help to prevent disease. The guide¿is a dictionary-style reference intended for use by health care professionals to quickly and easily access information about the bioactive components in the foods and how diet can be manipulated for health benefits.
Call Number: RA784 .K67 2016
Your Type 2 Diabetes Action Plan by
Nearly two million people are diagnosed with type 2 diabetes in the United States every year. Many more are diagnosed with prediabetes. For the millions of people already living with diabetes, preventing or treating the many complications of diabetes is a constant concern. Often, what each of these individuals needs to control his or her blood glucose, treat complications, or prevent diabetes entirely is a change -- a change in nutrition, a change in physical activity, a change in medication, a change in lifestyle. To help facilitate these changes, these individuals require clear recommendations based on established research that can help them quickly make the adjustments they need to improve their condition and create lifelong healthy habits. What they need is an action plan. Designed specifically for those are ready to take action,Your Type 2 Diabetes Action Plan is a concise, step-based approach to quickly improving blood glucose management and quality of life. Diabetes self-care advice can often be overwhelming and, coupled with the shock of diagnosis, it's easy to be paralyzed by the enormity of new information. To prevent this, theDiabetes Action Plan breaks down complicated concepts and long-term goals into manageable steps that are measured in days and weeks. Each attainable, short-term objective then builds upon the previous step to engender long-term self-care change. Topics include improving glucose management and optimizing medication; increasing physical activity; creating a diabetes meal plan; treating and coping with complications; getting the most out of a health care team; improving family health, and much more. Presented in clear, actionable steps, this is the perfect guide to a longer, better life with type 2 diabetes.
Call Number: RC662.18 .Y68 2015
Nutrition Essentials for Nursing Practice by
Master the nutrition content you need for success with Nutrition Essentials for Nursing Practice , a practical reference you can use throughout your education and into practice. Throughout the book, the author demonstrates the importance of nutrition to all aspects of nursing practice and emphasizes what you really need to know about nutrition. The Seventh Edition reflects the latest evidence-based practice and nutrition recommendations, while maintaining its nursing process focus and emphasis on patient teaching. Prepare for the board exam with each chapter's NCLEX-style study questions. Apply nutrition concepts to real world scenarios through intriguing case studies in every chapter. Get involved in real world clinical challenges with 24 online Disease-Oriented Interactive Case Studies . Each case study ends with ten NCLEX - style test questions and five open-ended critical thinking questions. Be ready for teachable moments with patients through the popular Quick Bites features that offer short, compelling food details and facts. Test your knowledge with chapter-opening True/False questions tied to chapter Objectives. (An answer key appears at the end of the chapter). Access a range of useful tools, including Sample Diets , Dietary Reference Intakes , dietary guidelines for the United States and other countries, MyPyramid for Moms , and coverage of nutritional needs throughout the life cycle. Learn to think on your feet in challenging clinical situations with chapter-ending How Do You Respond? sections. Master the content of the course with key terms defined in the margins and chapter-ending key concepts , as well as easy-to-understand tables, and visuals. Find the most up-to-date and reliable nutrition resources online using chapter-ending Web addresses. You can also access the latest research through the wide range of current journal articles posted on thePoint .
Call Number: RM216 .D8627 2014
Understanding Celiac Disease by
As the market for gluten free foods continues to grow and change, many people are turning to a gluten free lifestyle for a number of reasons. Some people, however, are diagnosed with celiac disease, which is more than just a gluten sensitivity. For people with celiac disease, eating is often uncomfortable and sometimes painful; children with the disease often experience difficulties gaining weight. Understanding Celiac Disease explores the underlying causes, explains the biology, details the methods for diagnosis, and describes the symptoms and potential treatments. In easy to understand language, Dr. Naheed Ali helps demystify the subject for those who suffer, those who suspect they might suffer, and those who help care for those diagnosed with celiac disease.
Call Number: RC862.C44 2014
Whole by
New York Times Bestseller What happens when you eat an apple? The answer is vastly more complex than you imagine. Every apple contains thousands of antioxidants whose names, beyond a few like vitamin C, are unfamiliar to us, and each of these powerful chemicals has the potential to play an important role in supporting our health. They impact thousands upon thousands of metabolic reactions inside the human body. But calculating the specific influence of each of these chemicals isn't nearly sufficient to explain the effect of the apple as a whole. Because almost every chemical can affect every other chemical, there is an almost infinite number of possible biological consequences. And that's just from an apple. Nutritional science, long stuck in a reductionist mindset, is at the cusp of a revolution. The traditional "gold standard" of nutrition research has been to study one chemical at a time in an attempt to determine its particular impact on the human body. These sorts of studies are helpful to food companies trying to prove there is a chemical in milk or pre-packaged dinners that is "good" for us, but they provide little insight into the complexity of what actually happens in our bodies or how those chemicals contribute to our health. In The China Study, T. Colin Campbell (alongside his son, Thomas M. Campbell) revolutionized the way we think about our food with the evidence that a whole food, plant-based diet is the healthiest way to eat. Now, in Whole, he explains the science behind that evidence, the ways our current scientific paradigm ignores the fascinating complexity of the human body, and why, if we have such overwhelming evidence that everything we think we know about nutrition is wrong, our eating habits haven't changed. Whole is an eye-opening, paradigm-changing journey through cutting-edge thinking on nutrition, a scientific tour de force with powerful implications for our health and for our world.
Call Number: RA784 .C23524 2013
Streaming Video
- Trends In Medical Nutrition: A Mystery Of Nutritional Portionalities
Trends in Medical Nutrition: A Mystery of Nutritional Portionalities provides a comprehensive overview of several of the factors involved in medical nutrition. The video discusses how much is nutrition really used to ameliorate disease and health issues. The video also looks at the question concerning whether anything interesting and new exists concerning medical nutrition in a clinical setting. In addition, the video explores what is occurring with the food choices of Americans. Finally, the video offers tips and insights with regard to how medical wellness professionals should talk with their patients about nutrition.
ProQuest Central
Databases
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals on science, technology, and medicine for advanced research.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles about medicine and health for professionals and patients.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Background information on all topics to start your research.
Online From CCBC Libraries
Public Health Nutrition by
In this second edition of the bestselling title from the acclaimed Nutrition Society Textbook series, Public Health Nutrition has been extensively revised to ensure that it reflects the latest evidence-based knowledge and research. Ground-breaking and comprehensive in both its scope and approach, Public Health Nutrition has been fully updated by an expert editorial team to cover the most recent changes in the field. It now offers a structured overview of the subject's core concepts and considers public health nutrition tools and the application of intervention strategies. Divided into five key sections, Public Health Nutrition contains a wealth of information, including: Public health nutrition concepts and assessment tools, and their application in light of the latest evidence. Case studies to illustrate how best to apply the theory and evidence to policy and practice. An examination of nutrition throughout the lifecycle, and the relationship between diet and disease, including in relation to obesity, diabetes, cancer, as well as mental health. The impact of environmental factors on public health. Public health strategies, policies and approaches. With a clear and concise structure, Public Health Nutrition is an essential purchase for students of nutrition, dietetics and other healthcare areas, as well as an invaluable practical guide for health professionals working within public health. A supporting companion website featuring multiple-choice, short answer, and essay style questions is available at www.wiley.com/go/buttriss/publichealth
Publication Date: 2017
The Handy Diabetes Answer Book by
Whether young, old, type 1, type 2, gestational, newly-diagnosed, long-time sufferer, caretaker or loved one, millions of people are afflicted and affected by diabetes. The CDC estimates 9.3% of the population in the U.S. and Canada have diabetes, with millions more with prediabetes. From scientific explanations of the affects of diabetes on the human body to monitoring, maintaining, exercising and eating right, The Handy Diabetes Answer Book provides detailed information on the research and science on the disease as well as coping with the burden. This useful resource shows how and why the disease affects the body, and provides glimpses of historical and contemporary figures with diabetes. It explains who is most at risk, and points to the differences throughout life stages. It looks at the science behind its affects on the sense, brain and the various systems of the human body. It demonstrates how to cope with--and live well--through food, exercise and life style choices. The Handy Diabetes Answer Book is the go-to guide for diabetics, prediabetics, their loved-ones and care-takers. It answers questions in plain English on all aspects of the condition. It also introduces the scientists behind breakthrough advances in care. Easy to use and informative reference, brings the complexity of the illness into focus and provides practical assistance for managing the malady through the well-researched answers to nearly 950 common questions, such as ... & bull; What were some early common treatments for patients with diabetes?& bull; What company was responsible for making the first commercial insulin?& bull; What percent of people have prediabetes in the United States?& bull; What are some ethnic, racial, or cultural groups that have more people with type 1 and type 2 diabetes?& bull; Has type 2 diabetes increased in teens and young adults?& bull; What are some other eating challenges that can affect an older person with diabetes?& bull; What are the early warning signs of type 1 diabetes?& bull; What is insulin shock?& bull; How can having pregestational diabetes affect a woman's unborn child?& bull; Did writer Ernest Hemingway suffer from hemochromatosis?& bull; Can secondhand smoke affect a person with diabetes?& bull; Why does diabetes cause blindness?& bull; Why is it important for a person with diabetes to be aware of tooth pain? & bull; Why is there a controversy over how much salt should be eaten daily?& bull; How do "energy drinks" affect a person's blood glucose levels?& bull; What are some tips for person with diabetes when they go shopping for food?& bull; What food additives should a person with diabetes be aware of consuming?& bull; What should a person with diabetes look for on a restaurant menu?& bull; Why is health care so costly for treating diabetes?& bull; Will type 1 diabetes ever go away?& bull; What recent study tried to find a way to reverse type 2 diabetes?& bull; What doll company is helping children cope with type 1 diabetes?& bull; What are some websites that offer a free diabetes risk assessment?
Publication Date: 2017
Nutrition and Diet Therapy by
Emphasis on clinical applications. Nutrient recommendations and food label data, including updated DRIs. Cautions for unregulated supplements and descriptions of interactions of food, drug, and over-the-counter nutrients. Life cycle approach that includes screening tools and nutritional interventions for infants, children, adolescents, and mature adults, as well as pregnant and lactating women. Updated recommendations and food plans for weight control, clients with diabetes, HIV/AIDS, dysphasia, preventing heart disease, and other health concerns. Useful assessment tools and tables throughout, including Food Handling Guidelines, Labeling Regulations, Research Summaries, and Wellness Tips Coverage of nutria-genomics and genomics. "Teamwork" exercises focusing on nutritional documentation from different care providers, including dietitians, physical therapists, and speech therapists. "Dollars and Sense" feature highlighting which food costs or economic factors influence nutritional care.
Publication Date: 2014
Clinical Nutrition by
This second edition of Clinical Nutrition, in the acclaimed textbook series by the Nutrition Society, has been revised and updated in order to: Provide students with the required scientific basis in nutrition, in the context of a systems and health approach. Enable teachers and students to explore the core principles of nutrition and to apply these throughout their training to foster critical thinking at all times. Each chapter identifies the key areas of knowledge that must be understood and also the key points of critical thought that must accompany the acquisition of this knowledge. Are fully peer reviewed to ensure completeness and clarity of content, as well as to ensure that each book takes a global perspective and is applicable for use by nutritionists and on nutrition courses throughout the world. Ground breaking in scope and approach, with an additional chapter on nutritional screening and a student companion website, this second edition is designed for use on nutrition courses throughout the world and is intended for those with an interest in nutrition in a clinical setting. Covering the scientific basis underlying nutritional support, medical ethics and nutritional counselling, it focuses solely on the sick and metabolically compromised patient, dealing with clinical nutrition on a system by system basis making the information more accessible to the students. This is an essential purchase for students of nutrition and dietetics, and also for those students who major in other subjects that have a nutrition component, such as food science, medicine, pharmacy and nursing. Professionals in nutrition, dietetics, food sciences, medicine, health sciences and many related areas will also find this an important resource. Libraries in universities, medical schools and establishments teaching and researching in the area of nutrition will find Clinical Nutrition a valuable addition to their shelves.
Publication Date: 2013
