PSYC 103 Assignment
- PSYC 103 GREATs AssignmentThis link lists all eligible articles for this assignment and instructions on retrieving them.
Read the newest studies and articles: Major Databases for Academic Journals
- PsycARTICLES
Nearly 200,000 full-text articles from more than
110 journals published by several leading psychology publishers, including the American Psychological Association. 1894 - present. Journals include: American Psychologist, Journal of Applied Psychology, Journal of Comparative Psychology, Journal of Personality and Social Psychology - Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides over 540 titles available in full text, ranging from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics. Major publications within: The American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychotherapy and Psychosomatics, The American Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry, Development and Psychopathology, The Psychological Record - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals on science, technology, and medicine for advanced research.
Online from CCBC Library
Psychology of Aging 101 by
Older adults are not all the same -- Ageism and stigma -- Psychological problems older adults experience -- Normal cognitive decline, mild cognitive impairment, and dementia -- Older adults and their sexual lives -- Substance abuse/dependence is not just a problem for young people -- Older adult abuse -- Environmental geropsychology -- Issues surrounding dying and death -- Future areas for psychologists interested in the psychology of aging.
Publication Date: 2016
50 Psychology Classics, Second Edition
Explore the human condition through the great thinkers in psychology. This brand new edition of the bestselling 50 Psychology Classics includes new classics like Thinking, Fast and Slow; Quiet and The Marshmallow Test. In a journey spanning 50 books, hundreds of ideas and over a century, 50 Psychology Classics looks at some of the most intriguing questions relating to what motivates us, what makes us feel and act in certain ways, how our brains work, and how we create a sense of self. 50 Psychology Classics explores writings from some iconic figures such as Freud, Adler, Jung, Skinner, James, Piaget and Pavlov, but also highlights the work of contemporary thinkers such as Gardner, Gilbert, Goleman and Seligman. 50 Psychology Classics will further your understanding of human nature and yourself.
Publication Date: 2017
Child Development Theories and Critical Perspectives
Ways of knowing about development -- From Darwin to DNA : biologically-based theories of development -- Rainbow is more than the sum of its colours : beginnings of organicism -- Child as philosopher -- From Oedipus to attachment : the Freudian legacy -- Mechanism : the whole is equal to the sum of its parts -- Dialecticism : the child developing in a social world -- Historic event : contextualism -- Sociocultural influences on development -- Systems theories -- Listening to different voices 1 : feminism and developmental psychology -- Listening to different voices 2 : the voices of children -- Towards theoretical integration -- Theory-practice nexus.
Publication Date: 2015
Adolescence in the 21st CenturyPublication Date: 2014
On the Shelf at CCBC Library
How We Learn by
Award-winning science reporter Benedict Carey sifts through decades of education research to uncover the truth about how our brains absorb and retain information. What he discovers is that, from the moment we are born, we all learn quickly, efficiently, and automatically; but in our zeal to systematize the process we have ignored valuable, naturally enjoyable learning tools like forgetting, sleeping, and daydreaming. Is a dedicated desk in a quiet room really the best way to study? Can altering your routine improve your recall? Are there times when distraction is good? Is repetition necessary? Carey's search for answers to these questions yields a wealth of strategies that make learning more a part of our everyday lives--and less of a chore.
Call Number: BF318 .C366 2014
The Human Spark by
What factors account for the variation in skills, personalities, and values? How do experiences shape what we bring into the world? In The Human Spark, pioneering psychologist Jerome Kagan offers an unflinching examination of personal, moral, and cultural development that solidifies his place as one of the most influential psychologists of the past century. In this definitive analysis of the factors that shape the human mind, Kagan explores the tension between biology and the environment. He reviews major advances in the science of development over the past three decades and offers pointed critiques and new syntheses.
Call Number: BF721 .K155 2013
Developing Young Minds by
"Ever wonder what is going on in a baby's brain? Or how you can best nurture a child's natural development? Or why exactly Bach is better than Mozart for babies? This book will explain why. No technical knowledge is necessary, as Shore makes recent neurological findings accessible to all those who come into contact with young children. Everything a baby experiences in his or her first five years is building the foundation of life's learning potential. Through increasing the complexity of the early childhood environment in developmentally appropriate ways, we can nurture young children's brains."
Call Number: LB1139.23 .S58 2015 (all campuses)
Child Psychology: a Very Short Introduction
This Very Short Introduction provides an up-to-date, authoritative, and accessible guide to modern child psychology, from birth to early adolescence. Beginning with infancy, Usha Goswami considers the process of attachment and "bonding", showing how secure attachments enable the development ofself-understanding. Exploring childhood learning, ranging from aspects of language and thinking to cognitive reasoning, Goswami looks at how babies and toddlers develop an understanding of the physical, biological, and social worlds, and develop complex abilities like language and morality.Demonstrating how learning is shaped by the environments surrounding the child; at home, school, with peers, and in wider society, Goswami emphasizes the importance of childhood friendships and siblings for psychological development. Introducing the key theories in child psychology, Goswami explainswhy children develop as they do and how society can further optimize their development through the adolescent years.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Call Number: BF721 .G648 2014
Discovering Psychology - Video suitable for academic research
Discovering Psychology: Highlighting major new developments in the field, this updated edition of Discovering Psychology offers students of psychology an overview of historic and current theories of human behavior. Stanford University professor and author Philip Zimbardo narrates as leading researchers, practitioners, and theorists probe the mysteries of the mind and body. Based on extensive investigation and authoritative scholarship, this introductory course in psychology features demonstrations, classic experiments and simulations, current research, documentary footage, and computer animation.
Discovering Psychology: The Developing Child
This program introduces examples of cognitive, perceptual, and behavioral development in children. You'll explore the roles of heredity and environment in child development, and children's incremental understanding of such phenomena as object permanence, symbolic reasoning, and perception of visual depth.
Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of adolescence by
The second edition of this encyclopedia continues to break new ground as an important resource for the study of adolescence. Comprehensive in breath and textbook in depth, the second edition - with entries presented in easy-to-access A to Z format - serves as a reference repository of knowledge in the field as well as a frequently updated conduit of new research and knowledge long before such information trickles down to standard textbooks. This updated and expanded major reference work advances the field by pushing and creating new boundaries and areas of study that further our understanding of adolescents and their place in society. In addition to the original 730 entries, the new edition adds more than 200 new essays as well as updates to many other entries. Substantively, the second edition continues to draw from four major areas of research relating to adolescence: The first broad area includes research relating to "Self, Identity and Development in Adolescence." The second broad area centers on "Adolescents' Social and Personal Relationships." The third area examines "Adolescents in Social Institutions." "Adolescent Mental Health" constitutes the last major area of research. This unique, comprehensive second edition of the Encyclopedia of Adolescence is an essential reference for advanced undergraduate and graduate students as well as researchers, professors, clinicians, and other practitioners across such related disciplines as developmental psychology, criminology and criminal Justice, adolescent psychiatry, child and school psychology, family, and public health.
Publication Date: 2018
The SAGE encyclopedia of children and childhood studies by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood Studies navigates our understanding of the historical, political, social and cultural dimensions of childhood.
Publication Date: 2020
The Gale encyclopedia of psychology by
This resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.
Publication Date: 2016The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology by This updated edition explores the latest developments in psychology, psychiatry and related fields, including new material on neuroscience and social psychology.
Publication Date: 2010
The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology by
The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology is the first and only dictionary that surveys the broad discipline of psychology from an international, cross-cultural, and interdisciplinary focus. This focus was achieved in several ways. The managing and consulting editorial boards were comprised of world-renowned scholars in psychology from many different countries, not just the United States. They reviewed and edited all of the keyword entries to make them lively and applicable across cultural contexts, incorporating the latest knowledge in contemporary international psychology. Thus entries related to culture, as well as those from all domains of psychology, are written with the broadest possible audience in mind. Also, many keywords central to contemporary psychology were incorporated that are not included in many competitors, including the Oxford and APA dictionaries.
Publication Date: 2009
