Key PSYC databases
- PsycARTICLES
Articles on psychology topics.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals on science, technology, and medicine for advanced research.
On the Shelf at CCBC Library
How We Learn by
Award-winning science reporter Benedict Carey sifts through decades of education research to uncover the truth about how our brains absorb and retain information. What he discovers is that, from the moment we are born, we all learn quickly, efficiently, and automatically; but in our zeal to systematize the process we have ignored valuable, naturally enjoyable learning tools like forgetting, sleeping, and daydreaming. Is a dedicated desk in a quiet room really the best way to study? Can altering your routine improve your recall? Are there times when distraction is good? Is repetition necessary? Carey's search for answers to these questions yields a wealth of strategies that make learning more a part of our everyday lives--and less of a chore.
Call Number: BF318 .C366 2014
The ABCs of How We Learn by
The purpose of this book is to present this new science of learning so that educators can creatively translate the science into exceptional practice. Each chapter offers a concise and approachable breakdown of one way people learn, how it works, how we know it works, how and when to use it, and what mistakes to avoid. The book covers field-defining learning theories ranging from behaviorism (R is for Reward) to cognitive psychology (S is for Self-Explanation) to social psychology (O is for Observation). The chapters also introduce lesser-known theories exceptionally relevant to practice, such as arousal theory (X is for eXcitement).
Call Number: LB1060 .S375 2016
Case Studies in Educational Psychology
This case study book serves as a valuable tool for professors and instructors of educational psychology. It contains 18 cases that represent current areas of interest in Educational Psychology embedded within current challenges that teachers face in today's elementary grade classrooms. The cases are organized into six major parts: Human Development, Individual Differences and Diversity, Learning Theories, Motivation, Classroom Management, Instructional Approaches, and Assessment and Evaluation. Each case describes a detailed teaching scenario written from either the student or the teachers' perspective. To engage students in critical thinking, perspective-taking, analysis, problem solving and decision-making, the cases have been intentionally written without a conclusion. Because the cases are open-ended, it allows the professor or instructor more flexibility and autonomy in how they use the cases. Each case is followed by thought-provoking questions, highlighting the significant issues in the case, from which to analyze the case and apply various theoretical viewpoints. While the cases do not replace actual classroom experience, they present a way to immerse students in the classroom's culture by providing them with real-life teaching examples.
Call Number: LB1051 .W58895 2017
Online from CCBC Library
Montessori by
In Montessori, Angeline Stoll Lillard shows that science has finally caught up with Maria Montessori. Lillard presents the research behind nine insights that are foundations of Montessori education, describing how each of these insights is applied in the Montessori classroom. Lillard explains the scientific basis for Montessori's system and the distinctions between practices in traditional, "Montessomething," and authentic Montessori education.
Publication Date: 2017
Handbook of Psychology: Educational Psychology
Psychology is of interest everyone who is curious about why humans think and behave as they do. This book covers discoveries based in neuroscience, clinical psychology's new interest in evidence-based practice and mindfulness, and new findings in social, developmental, and forensic psychology.
Publication Date: 2013
Game On!: Gamification, gameful design, and the rise of the gamer educator by
Kevin Bell's Game On! presents dynamic case studies of gamer educators and game-derived techniques to help instructors creatively formulate their own teaching strategies. Breaking gamefully designed classes into their component parts, Bell analyzes what these classes are actually doing and explains why they work. He offers faculty a rubric to assess their own courses for their propensity to engage students, particularly those from low socioeconomic and high-risk populations. Bell explores how game design, pedagogy, and intrinsic motivators can level the playing field to produce rigorous learning environments that are as addictive to all participants as the latest apps and social media systems. He also discusses best practices, lays out the broader context of computer-mediated teaching and learning, and considers the challenges and opportunities that gamification presents.
Publication Date: 2018
Educational Psychology
A comprehensive introduction to educational psychology, this volume is inclusive of all of the essentials--covering history, profiles, theories, applications, research, case studies, current events, issues, controversies, and more. Focused on human learning and teaching, the field of educational psychology informs a range of educational challenges, including instructional design, curriculum development, organizational learning, special education, student motivation, and classroom management. In this book, two veteran professors in the fields of education and psychology, offer a clear and concise yet comprehensive overview of this growing specialty. This volume will be valuable not only to university students aiming to understand psychology's subfields and to choose a major or a specialty, but also to classroom teachers, school administrators, and school social workers aiming to make teaching more effective and learning more thorough and lasting. Topics include the field's history, primary figures theories, research, theories, applications, issues, and controversies. Authors Martin and Torok-Gerard also explain current issues of social justice and educational equity, citing means that have been used to meet those goals in schools. The text additionally analyzes special education as a civil rights issue as well as equity and fairness for LGBTQ+ students in the context of social justice. The text ends with emerging research and predictions for the future of educational psychology. Presents case studies that survey current social justice and educational equity issues Includes a historical timeline that allows readers to understand how issues have developed over time Offers a glossary of key terms that provides context for deeper understanding Provides a resource list so readers can investigate issues on their own Features a bibliography of citable resources that serves as a foundation for further research
Publication Date: 2019
Newest Research in Educational Psychology
Loading ...
Discovering Psychology - Video suitable for academic research
Learning This program discusses the basic principles of how we learn; classical, instrumental, and operant conditioning; and the role that stimuli and consequences play in learned behavior and habits. You'll explore how renowned researchers Ivan Pavlov, B. F. Skinner, Edward Thorndike, and John B. Watson contributed to what we know about human and animal learning.
Language Development This program outlines the development of language in children. It highlights linguist Noam Chomsky's theories about the human brain's predisposition to understand language, and then profiles three scientists working on aspects of psycholinguistics.
Cognitive Processes This program explores the evolution of cognitive psychology and how we take in information. Cognitive psychology spans a vast range of study, from the parts of the brain used in reading to the computer's impact on the study of how humans think.
Testing and Intelligence This program explores the history of intelligence tests, based on the work of Alfred Binet. You'll also explore the field of psychological assessment, potential biases in testing, and the influence of cultural beliefs and stereotypes on test performance.
Discovering Psychology (whole series): Highlighting major new developments in the field, this updated video series of offers students of psychology an overview of historic and current theories of human behavior. Stanford University professor and author Philip Zimbardo narrates as leading researchers, practitioners, and theorists probe the mysteries of the mind and body.