Books on the Shelf at CCBC Library
Great Myths of Personality
Great Myths of Personality teaches critical thinking skills and key concepts of personality psychology through the discussion of popular myths and misconceptions. Provides a thorough look at contemporary myths and misconceptions, such as: Does birth order affect personality? Are personality tests an accurate way to measure personality? Do romantic partners need similar personalities for relationship success? Introduces concepts of personality psychology in an accessible and engaging manner Focuses on current debates and controversies in the field with references to the latest research and scientific literature
Call Number: BF698 .D645 2021
Handbook of Personality Disorders, Second Edition
The leading reference on personality disorders and their treatment, this authoritative work is now significantly revised with 80% new content reflecting important advances in the field. Preeminent experts provide in-depth coverage of conceptual and taxonomic issues, psychopathology, epidemiology and longitudinal course, etiology and development, and specific diagnoses. Diagnostic issues are explored and available assessment instruments discussed. All available evidence-based treatments are reviewed in consistently organized chapters that cover theoretical and empirical foundations as well as clinical strategies, facilitating comparison of the various approaches. New to This Edition *Incorporates more than 15 years of major research advances; includes 21 chapters on new topics. *Critically examines DSM-5 diagnostic criteria. *Chapters on additional treatments--mentalization-based treatment, schema-focused therapy, transference-based psychotherapy, and systems training for emotional predictability and problem solving. *Chapters on dimensional models, longitudinal studies, and personality pathology in children and adolescents. *Chapters on specific diagnoses: antisocial/psychopathic, borderline, and obsessive-compulsive personality disorder. *Integrative section introductions by the editors. See also Integrated Treatment for Personality Disorder, edited by W. John Livesley, Giancarlo Dimaggio, and John F. Clarkin, which weaves multiple well-established intervention strategies into a systematic modular approach.
Call Number: RC554 .H36 2018
Personality 101 by
What is personality and where does it come from? What is personality and why be interested? ; Why are some people different from others? Understanding the causes of personality -- How is personality assessed? Does personalty matter? ; Personality and social implications ; Personality and personal implications Personality and career implications -- Controversies and future directions. Controversies ; Directions and future research.
Call Number: BF698 .A335 2013
Personality Psychology
Personality Psychology: The Basics provides a jargon-free and accessible overview of the discipline, focusing on why not all individuals think, feel, speak, or act the same way in the same situation. The book offers a brief history of the area, covering a range of perspectives on personality including psychodynamic, behaviourist, humanistic, and cognitive approaches. Also featuring fascinating case studies to richly illustrate the theories discussed, the text looks at influential theories and related research within each of the major schools of thought in personality psychology. Rigorously examining the fundamental principles of personality psychology, the author concludes by outlining the future of the area in relation to cutting edge research and potential future trends. Exploring the major personality theories that seek to explain why people behave as they do in eight reader-friendly chapters, and written in accordance with British Psychological Society (BPS) guidelines regarding content in Individual Differences, this is an essential introduction for students who are approaching personality psychology for the first time.
Call Number: BF698 .G18 2020
Online from CCBC Library
Inkblot Personality Test
First authoritative and comprehensive study in the field of Inkblot Personality Test, this book describes the historical roots of the three major projective inkblot measures: the Rorschach, the Holtzman Inkblot Technique (HIT) and the Somatic Inkblot Series (SIS). It presents the extensive psychometric background work accompanying the normative data and diagnostic indicators along with indices for selecting executives in a business organization. The book begins with a detailed history of Hermann Rorschach and his early experiments with inkblots in the diagnosis of mentally ill patients. Special attention is given to the administration and scoring of the Rorschach, with the sections detailing the systems developed by Klopfer and Exner. The HIT and SIS are also reviewed in detail, emphasizing their psychometric qualities.
ISBN: 9789353284619Publication Date: 2019
Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Constructs by
"...provides a systematic standardized evaluation of approximately 100 scales in 25 areas"
Publication Date: 2015
Personality Traits and Types by
The authors examine the relationship between personality and self-awareness, as well as personality traits including self-confidence, self-efficacy, and motivation; explore the connection between emotional intelligence and individual differences in psychological type among church leaders; discuss personality prototypes in older adulthood; the personality and quality of life in patients with epilepsy and schizophrenia; and finally, provides information on empowerment through intrinsic motivation and self-efficacy
Publication Date: 2015
The Praeger Handbook of Personality Across Cultures by
How does culture impact personality traits? To answer that question, this book address current theory and research on culture and personality in an effort to determine how people differ--and how they are alike. They also address the accuracy or meaningfulness of trait comparisons across cultures and the methods and limitations of research on the subject. As most psychological research is conducted on participants from Western industrialized countries, a work that includes a wide range of cultures not only fosters a more complete understanding of human personality, but also broadens perspectives on value systems and ways to live. Uniquely brings together diverse topics and theoretical viewpoints related to personality across cultures, including cross-cultural, cultural, indigenous, evolutionary, and neuroscientific perspectives. Draws on cultural samples from every continent except Antarctica.
Publication Date: 2017
Newest Research on Personality
Loading ...