Library Catalog
Online from CCBC Libraries
Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia by Publication Date: 2015
Merck Veterinary Manual
Academic Search Premier
Databases
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest gives access to Animal Cognition, Animals' Agenda, Journal of Animal Science, and Veterinary Economics. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Includes full text of The Veterinary Journal, Preventive Veterinary Medicine, Journal of Veterinary Cardiology, Veterinary Immunology and Immunopathy, and other relevant journals. - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
On the Shelf at CCBC Library
Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook by
Plumb's(tm) VETERINARY DRUG HANDBOOK Find drug dosages and other critical information for prescribing drugs to animals quickly and efficiently in this fully updated new edition of this must-have veterinary resource The Tenth Edition of Plumb's® Veterinary Drug Handbook updates the most comprehensive, detailed, and trusted source of drug information relevant to veterinary medicine. Covering dosages, drug interactions, adverse effects, and contraindications, among other key drug details, this bestselling book is a must for practicing veterinarians and anyone requiring reliable information on the use of drugs in animals. Designed for ease of use, the book surveys an exhaustive list of drugs with applications for a wide variety of species, including dogs, cats, birds, small mammals, and farm animals. This edition includes updates to all 738 drug monographs and adds 30 new monographs, including 9 new insulin monographs, to its exhaustive coverage of drugs used in the care of animals. This new edition: Provides an extensively reviewed and updated version of the must-have veterinary drug reference Includes 30 new drug monographs, including 9 new insulin monographs Updates all 738 drug monographs, with robust citing of new information Covers a wide variety of species, including dogs, cats, birds, small mammals, and farm animals Presents detailed dosing information for an exhaustive list of drugs used in animals Plumb's® exhaustive coverage of drugs relevant to the veterinary field makes this book an essential reference for veterinarians, veterinary technicians, veterinary pharmacologists, pharmacists with veterinary patients, and libraries that serve these groups.
Call Number: SF917 .P58 2023
Complementary Medicine for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses by
Timely update of a practical reference book in complementary medicine with expansion of bibliographies, nutrition and diet, treatments, and therapies Complementary Medicine for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses provides a broad overview of complementary veterinary medicine in general, designed as a reference book covering the most commonly used complementary modalities, with an explanation of each modality and its historical background, procedure guidelines, and usefulness, along with practical tips. A range of both common and lesser-known modalities are covered, including physical therapy, holistic nutrition, acupuncture, chiropractic, Chinese, Western, and Ayurvedic herbal medicine, homeopathy, aromatherapy, and grief counseling. The text enables readers to assist with procedures associated with holistic medicine and knowledgeably discuss treatment options with clients. Outlining the respective roles of technicians and veterinarians throughout, Complementary Medicine for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses provides thorough coverage of integrative veterinary medicine in a user-friendly, digestible format. The book provides clinically-relevant patient history and release forms, a glossary of terms, quick reference charts, and contact information for additional resources and training. Written by a highly qualified author with significant experience in the field, Complementary Medicine for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses covers sample topics such as: TCM theory, chiropractic medicine, veterinary orthopedic manipulation (VOM), osteopathy, homeopathy, aromatherapy, and veterinary NAET Homotoxicology, applied kinesiology (AK), bach flower therapy, glandulars, cold laser therapy, magnetic therapy, ozone therapy, and prolotherapy BioNutritional analysis (BNA), immuno-augmentative therapy (IAT), color therapy, rife, EAV/Biotron, and animal communicators Detoxification, nutraceuticals, general nutrition, trigger point therapy, reiki, shiatsu, tuina, underwater treadmill therapy, and herbal pharmacy procedures Role of conventional medicine in a holistic practice, ozone therapy, pulsing magnetic field therapy, and assisi loop A unique resource covering different modalities that can be used to effectively treat health problems in animal patients, Complementary Medicine for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses is an essential resource for veterinary technicians and nurses, along with veterinarians and dedicated pet owners who wish to move beyond basic consumer resources.
Call Number: SF745.5 .S23 2024
Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician by
Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician Comprehensive full color textbook on common exotic species, written specifically for vet techs in classroom or clinical settings Now in its fourth edition, Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician is a comprehensive yet clear introduction to exotic animal practice for veterinary technicians in the classroom and clinical settings alike. With an emphasis on the exotic species most likely to find their way to a veterinary practice, the book offers coverage of birds, reptiles, amphibians, exotic companion mammals, and wildlife. It also features discussions of anatomy, restraint, common diseases, radiology, anesthesia and analgesia, clinical skills, surgical assisting, and parasitology. This edition offers new updates throughout, including new chapters related to critical care feeding of exotic companion mammals, reptile infectious diseases, and exotic animal rehabilitation. It also provides full-color photos, including radiographs. Designed to provide technicians with all the information necessary to confidently and competently treat exotic patients, Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician offers easy-to-follow descriptions of common procedures and techniques. A companion website delivers review questions and images from the book in PowerPoint format. Topics covered in Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician include: Herpetoculture and reproduction, covering captive bred versus wild caught, quarantining, methods of sex determination, and reproductive behavior Criteria to determine water quality for fish, including pH, oxygen, temperature, chlorine and chloramine, and salinity Clinical techniques for degus, including oral (PO), subcutaneous (SC), intramuscular (IM), intraperitoneal (IP), catheter placement, and wound management Role of the veterinary technician in wildlife rehabilitation, covering clinical protocols, intake procedures, ethical considerations, and choosing treatment routes Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician is an essential reference for veterinary technician students, along with veterinary technicians working in an exotic practice, or veterinary technicians who work in a small animal practice where adding exotic patients is being considered.
Call Number: SF997.5.E95 C44 2024
Applied Pharmacology for Veterinary Technicians by
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 with "Essential Purchase" designation in Veterinary Nursing & Technology** Learn to calculate dosages accurately and administer drugs safely! Applied Pharmacology for Veterinary Technicians, 6th Edition shows you how to determine drug dosages, administer prescribed drugs to animals, and instruct clients about side effects and precautions. Coverage of drugs includes pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, clinical uses, dosage forms, and adverse effects. An Evolve companion website offers animations of pharmacologic processes, practice with dosage calculations, and more. Written by veterinary technology educator Lisa Martini-Johnson, this resource provides the pharmacology knowledge you need to succeed as a vet tech! Quick-access format makes it easy to find important drug information, including clinical uses, dosage forms, and adverse side effects. Body systems organization follows a logical sequence of study. Illustrated, step-by-step procedures demonstrate proper administration techniques for common drug forms. Key terms, chapter outlines, Notes boxes, and learning objectives focus your learning and make studying easier. Proprietary drug names are listed with the generic drug names, highlighting drugs that have generic options. Companion Evolve website includes drug dosage calculators with accompanying word problems, animations of pharmacologic processes, and dosage calculation exercises. Dosage calculation exercises provide practice immediately after new information is presented. Review questions reinforce your understanding of key concepts, with answers located in the back of the book. Technician Notes provide useful hints and important reminders to help you avoid common errors and increase your efficiency on the job. NEW! Emergency Drugs chapter is added. UPDATED drug information keeps you current with the newest pharmacologic agents and their uses, adverse side effects, and dosage forms. NEW! Case studies at the end of every chapter introduce real-world scenarios.
Call Number: SF915 .W36 2021
Pet Medications
- Your Pet's Medications
From AVMA