On the Shelf at CCBC Library
Mosby's Comprehensive Review for Veterinary Technicians by
Use this study tool to prepare for success in your courses and certification exams! Written by and for veterinary technicians, Mosby's Comprehensive Review for Veterinary Technicians, 6th Edition provides complete preparation for the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE®) as well as other state/provincial examinations in veterinary technology. An easy-to-read outline format breaks down and simplifies important information, and hundreds of review questions in the book and on the Evolve website help you assess your understanding of the material. Realistic practice exams help you polish your test-taking skills. From experienced educators Monica Tighe and Marg Brown, this book is also ideal for vet tech graduates who need a quick, everyday reference. Review of all areas of the veterinary technology curriculum is mapped to VTNE® domains, tasks, and knowledge statements. Streamlined outline format makes content easy to read and simplifies the classification and grouping of the material. Comprehensive, full-color coverage includes all areas of veterinary technology, such as A&P, clinical sciences, diagnostics, restraint and handling, animal nutrition, pharmacology and anesthesia, and professional and practice management skills. Comprehensive 350-question test in the book includes an answer key and provides a solid review of the vet tech curriculum and the information you need to know to pass the VTNE. Coverage of dogs, cats, large animals, birds, reptiles, and laboratory animals ensures you are prepared for all aspects of the national board examination. Learning features include chapter outlines, key terms, learning objectives, a glossary, summary boxes and tables, and end-of-chapter review questions. Online practice exam engine on the Evolve website simulates the computer-based VTNE testing environment with 500 questions (three times the number on the exam), allowing you to take a timed mock examination or to study in quiz mode and to randomize test questions, receive instant feedback, and obtain test scores. Practical appendices include abbreviations and symbols, the metric system and equivalents, medical terminology, species names, and normal values. NEW! New photos and illustrations make it easier to understand and recognize essential concepts including histology, hematology, diagnostic microbiology and mycology, virology, urinalysis, and parasitology. NEW! Discussion and review questions throughout the book are thoroughly reviewed and updated by experts in the field.
Call Number: SF774.4 .M67 2025
Assessing Essential Skills of Veterinary Technology Students by
Standardized assessment criteria covering all essential skills from the nine areas required by the American Veterinary Medical Association Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities The newly revised and updated Fourth Edition of Assessing Essential Skills of Veterinary Technology Students provides a comprehensive review of the required American Veterinary Medical Association Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (AVMA CVTEA®) essential skills for completion of a veterinary technology degree. Each essential skill includes assessment criteria as well as decision-making instructions necessary to demonstrate proficiency both academically and professionally. The text is organized based on the categories provided by the AVMA CVTEA, making it easy for an instructor and students to locate the assessment criteria for a particular essential skill relative to their course. Several guidelines from veterinary organizations regarding standard of care in veterinary medicine have been updated since the publication of the previous edition, including 2018 A AHA Infection Control, Prevention and Biosecurity Guidelines, 2022 AAHA Pain Management Guidelines for Dogs and Cats, 2021 AAHA/AAFP Feline Life Stages Guidelines, 2019 AAHA Canine Life Stages Guidelines, 2021 AAHA Nutrition and Weight Management Guidelines, 2023 AAHA Technician Utilization Guidelines, and others. Written by highly qualified authors, Assessing Essential Skills of Veterinary Technology Students includes assessment criteria that addresses the knowledge, decision-making capabilities, and hands-on skills for the following: Pharmacologic fundamentals of drug administration, pharmacy essentials of drug dispensing, compliance with state and federal regulation, and monitoring of therapeutic responses. Ethics, jurisprudence, and communication in veterinary management. Husbandry, nutrition, and therapeutics of common domestic species, handling and restraint, patient assessment, and dental procedures in small animals. Fundamentals of and experiences with common surgical procedures, patient management and use of anesthetic equipment, proper surgical assistance, pain management, management of surgical equipment and facilities, and perioperative management. Diagnostic laboratory procedures and management of laboratory specimens and equipment, parasitology of common domestic species and diagnostic procedures for parasite, microbiologic procedure and evaluations and necropsy procedures. Avian, exotic, small, and large animal husbandry and nursing skills. The Fourth Edition of Assessing Essential Skills of Veterinary Technology Students is an essential study resource for all undergraduate students enrolled in an AVMA CVTEA accredited veterinary technology program and an excellent teaching resource for instructors of veterinary technology courses.
Call Number: SF774.4 .A87 2024
Essential Calculations for Veterinary Nurses and Technicians by
Learn to easily master the types of veterinary nursing calculations you will face on the job with Essential Calculations for Veterinary Nurses and Technicians, 4th Edition. From basic arithmetic to dilutions and statistics, this useful text covers all aspects of calculations as applied to veterinary nursing. Readers will benefit from the text's common-sense approach to clinical situations and complete the book knowing how to use calculations to determine dosage rates, anesthetic flow rates, radiography exposure rates, parenteral nutrition, and more. User-friendly features include simple language, detailed explanations, ample examples, and special author guidance so that content is easy to follow and understand. Plus, the text's abundance of learning features - such as self-assessment questions, clinical hints, and tips - help clarify important concepts and ensure that you have mastered everything you need to make calculations in the day-to-day clinical environment. Mathematical explanations using veterinary terms present all principles in a manner that directly pertains to the veterinary field. Comprehensive content covers everything from basic arithmetic to dilutions and statistics, so users have everything needed to succeed in calculations for veterinary nursing and technology. Dimensional analysis bridge method removes the necessity of memorizing formulae and takes advantage of simplifying equations so that calculators are often unnecessary. NEW! Reviewed and updated drugs throughout the book provide dosage calculations that coincide with drugs currently used in the field for the most clinical relevance. NEW! Additional math problems both in the text and on the Evolve companion website offer substantial additional practice. Self-test sections with clinical hints and tips ensure retention of core concepts.
Call Number: SF919 .L35 2023
Vtne Secrets Study Guide - Exam Review and Vtne Practice Test for the Veterinary Technician National Exam by
At Mometrix, we think differently about tests. We believe you can perform better on your exam by implementing a few critical strategies and focusing your study time on what's most important. With so many demands on your time, you probably don't have months to spend preparing for an exam that holds the key to your future. Our team of testing experts devote hours upon hours to painstakingly review piles of content and boil it all down to the critical concepts that are most likely to be on your exam. We do a lot of work cutting through the fluff to give you what you need the most to perform well on the exam. But you don't have to take our word for it; here is what some of our customers have to say: "I have just retaken my test and I scored way better than my previous score. I had this program for only 3 days and I just want to say that I can't believe how well it worked." - Mandy C. "Just wanted to say thank you. Due to your product I was able to ace my exam with very little effort. Your tricks did the trick. Thanks again, and I would recommend this product to anyone." - Erich L. "Just dropping you a note to let you know that I am completely satisfied with the product. I had already taken the test once and landed in the 75th percentile of those taking it with me. I took the test a second time and used some of your tips and raised my score to the 97th percentile. Thanks for my much improved score." - Denise W. "I just wanted to tell you I had ordered your study guide, and I finally aced the test after taking it numerous times. I tried tutors and all sorts of study guides and nothing helped. Your guide did the job and got me the score I needed! Thank you!" - Nicholas R. We offer study materials for over 1000 different standardized exams, including: Business and Career, Construction and Industry, Counseling and Social Work, Finance, Insurance, and Real Estate, Medical and Nursing, Teacher Certification, K-12, College Admissions and Placement, For questions about bulk discounts or ordering through your company or institution, please contact our Institutional Sales Department at 888-248-1219 or sales@mometrix.com. Visit www.MometrixCatalog.com for our full list of products and services. *Mometrix Media LLC is not affiliated with or endorsed by any official testing organization. Mometrix publishes a variety of unofficial educational materials. All organizational and test names are trademarks of their respective owners. Information in this publication is included for utilitarian purposes only and does not constitute an endorsement by Mometrix of any particular point of view.
Call Number: SF774.4 .V78 2022
Textbook for the Veterinary Assistant by
A fully updated new edition of the most complete guide to the veterinary assistant curriculum The newly revised Second Edition of Textbook for the Veterinary Assistant delivers a complete exploration of the veterinary assisting curriculum and acts as a comprehensive text for students and instructors. The book discusses all aspects of the curriculum approved by the National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America. The book is thoroughly updated to reflect cutting-edge advances in veterinary practice and includes a new chapter on laboratory considerations and an updated chapter on avian and exotics covering popular exotic pets. Readers get access to an expanded companion website that offers teaching PowerPoints, homework assignments, self-assessment tests and quizzes, multiple-choice questions, teaching activities, breed study guides, and instructional video clips. Textbook for the Veterinary Assistant also includes: A thorough introduction to medical terminology for veterinary assistants, including prefixes, suffixes, and common abbreviations used in veterinary medicine Comprehensive explorations of veterinary anatomy, including anatomical directional terms and all relevant anatomical systems Practical discussions of the behavior, handling, and restraint of animals, including explorations of animal body language In-depth examinations of animal nutrition, including discussions of weight management, body condition scoring, and food assessment Textbook for the Veterinary Assistant is the ideal resource for veterinary assistant students and veterinary assistants studying for the NAVTA Approved Veterinary Assistant exam, as well as practicing veterinary assistants seeking a one-stop resource that includes up-to-date information on topics such as restraint, behavior, nutrition, anatomy, and laboratory considerations. It is also useful for veterinary technology students in introductory courses.
Call Number: SF774.5 .B87 2022
An Illustrated Guide to Veterinary Medical Terminology by Call Number: SF610 .R66 2015
NAVTA
- NAVTA: National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America
National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America
VTNE : The Veterinary Technology National Examination
- VTNE
The site from the American Association of Veterinary State Boards tells you what you need to know about the exam.
Animal Health SmartBrief
Loading ...
Online from CCBC Library
Practical Cardiology for Veterinary Nurses by
This concise textbook provides a comprehensive, practical guide for veterinary nurses and technicians who wish to develop their knowledge, confidence and skills when nursing the cardiac patient. Presentation of dogs or cats with heart disease are common and it is vital that nurses understand how to look after these patients appropriately and support owners through what can often be challenging times. The book: Begins with basic anatomy and physiology, foundations required to understand the disease processes explained in later chapters Covers diseases seen in small animal practice, including congenital disease, heart failure and treatment options Gives the nurse a sound understanding of electrocardiography, thoracic radiography and cardiac ultrasound: how to perform these and of what they are seeing Covers the hands-on requirements of the veterinary nurse, such as heart auscultation and feeling patient pulses Lists cardiac drugs, explaining when and why pharmacology would be used, as well as side effects Has a dedicated chapter on first aid Discusses chronic nursing management of heart conditions, including remote monitoring, support and care planning. The book is packed with learning features including a Glossary, diagrams, illustrations and tables in full colour, concise end of chapter Key Points and Further Reading lists. Essential reading for student nurses and technicians, as well as those in practice who need a quick reference 'on the ground', this is the book that general practice veterinary nurses have been waiting for.
Publication Date: 2022
Canine and Feline Behavior for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses by
Canine and Feline Behavior for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses A complete and modern guide to the veterinary technician's role in behavioral preventive services This fully revised second edition of Canine and Feline Behavior for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses presents a comprehensive, up-to-date guide for veterinary technicians and nurses seeking to understand their patients on a deeper level, implement preventive behavior medicine, and assist veterinarians with behavioral interventions. The book provides a grounding in the behavioral, mental, and emotional needs of dogs and cats, and offers an invaluable daily reference for daily interactions with patients and clients. Along with brand-new coverage of Fear Free® veterinary visits, the authors have included discussions of animal behavior and development, communication, behavior modification, problem prevention, and behavior solutions. A companion website offers more than 50 video tutorials, multiple choice questions, PowerPoint slides, and appendices. This Second Edition also provides: A thorough introduction to the role of veterinary technicians in animal behavior Comprehensive explorations of canine and feline behavior and development Discussion of the complexities and richness of the human-animal bond Details on implementing emotionally protective practices into the veterinary and husbandry care Practical strategies for learning and behavior modification, problem prevention, behavior solutions, and communication and connection amongst the animal behavior team Canine and Feline Behavior for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses is an essential reference for veterinary technicians and nurses, and will also benefit veterinary technology and nursing students seeking comprehensive information about an increasingly relevant topic.
Publication Date: 2023
Laboratory Manual for Clinical Veterinary Technology by
Veterinary students and practicing technicians will find this book to be an important bench manual as well as an educated tool to have on their desk. Also included in the package is a free online resource for testing and additional information.
Publication Date: 2022
Professionalism and Reflection in Veterinary Nursing by
Professionalism and Reflection in Veterinary Nursing offers insight into the role of the veterinary nurse in the 21st century. It provides useful information that facilitates a deeper understanding of the underlying theory that supports clinical nursing practice. Exploring concepts that underpin the delivery of professional veterinary nursing, the book covers core issues, themes and principles that explain what it means to be a veterinary nurse. The role of the registered veterinary nurse The registered veterinary nurse's responsibility to the patient Evidence-based veterinary nursing Veterinary nurse trainer and educator resources A timely publication due to the increased recognition and expectations of the role of the veterinary nursing profession, Professionalism and Reflection in Veterinary Nursing is ideal for veterinary student nurses and qualified veterinary nurses, enabling them to contribute to the development of the professional identity.
Publication Date: 2022
Review Questions and Answers for Veterinary Technicians - REVISED REPRINT by Publication Date: 2014
Tasks for the Veterinary Assistant by Publication Date: 2014
