Online From CCBC Libraries
Getting Personal by
Addresses how digital forms of personal writing can be most effectively used by teachers, students, and other community members.
Publication Date: 2018
Rhetorical Strategies and Genre Conventions in Literary Studies by
Laura Wilder fills a gap in the scholarship on writing in the disciplines and writing across the curriculum with this thorough study of the intersections between scholarly literary criticism and undergraduate writing in introductory literature courses. Rhetorical Strategies and Genre Conventions in Literary Studies is the first examination of rhetorical practice in the research and teaching of literary study and a detailed assessment of the ethics and efficacy of explicit instruction in the rhetorical strategies and genre conventions of the discipline. Using rhetorical analysis, ethnographic observation, and individual interviews, Wilder demonstrates how rhetorical conventions play a central, although largely tacit, role in the teaching of literature and the evaluation of student writing. Wilder follows a group of literature majors and details their experiences. Some students received experimental, explicit instruction in the special topoi, while others received more traditional, implicit instruction. Arguing explicit instruction in disciplinary conventions has the potential to help underprepared students, Wilder explores how this kind of instruction may be incorporated into literature courses without being overly reductive. Taking into consideration student perspectives, Wilder makes a bold case for expanding the focus of research in writing in the disciplines and writing across the curriculum in order to grasp the full complexity of disciplinary discourse.
Publication Date: 2012
Exploring College Writing by
Exploring College Writing: Reading, Writing and Researching across the Curriculum is a rhetoric for first-year and sophomore composition courses that uses a constructivist, ethnographic approach to introducing students to academic reading, writing, and researching. This text is especially useful to composition instructors who wish to provide students with both a general overview of academic discourse and an introduction to the purposes, audiences, and genres of writing across disciplines. This textbook works from the premise that the best way to initiate students to academic discourse is to have them explore academic literacies using an ethnographic, fieldwork approach to their own institution. Students are cast in the role of researchers, exploring their own experiences as college writers and investigating writing in General Education and in their prospective majors. The book provides instructors and students sequences of engaging and exploratory Writing to Learn and Learn by Doing activities and formal, extended writing projects that ask students to interview professors, analyze writing assignments, and reflect on their own reading, writing, and researching processes and histories. These writing projects connect to students' interests, experiences, and goals and provide them with a sense of purpose and audience for writing. The organization of Exploring College Writing moves students from reflection to investigation. Part I of the book provides a broad introduction to academic reading, writing, and researching and introduces students to the rhetorical situations, genres, and common college thinking and writing strategies. Part I presents students with prompts that ask them to explore the similarities and differences between high school and college literacy and reflect on their own literacy histories. Part II asks students to think critically about their reading, writing, and researching processes and to explore strategies for college reading, writing, and researching processes. Part II includes prompts that ask students to explore college reading, writing, and researching processes and practice academic research and making academic arguments. Part III introduces students to writing across the curriculum and the idea of disciplines and discourse communities. Part IV asks students to investigate the reading, writing, and researching assigned in the General Education and major courses at their campus and to consider discipline-specific ways of writing and thinking. Unlike other textbooks Exploring College Writing uses authentic student and professional texts from across disciplines in a variety of genres such as lab reports, scholarly book reviews, ethnographies and case studies to guide and inspire the writing process.
Publication Date: 2011
Writing in the Academic Disciplines by
" To understand the ways students learn to write, we must go beyond the small and all too often marginalized component of the curriculum that treats writing explicitly and look at the broader, though largely tacit traditions students encounter in the whole curriculum," explains David R. Russell, in the introduction to this singular study. The updated edition provides a comprehensive history of writing instruction outside general composition courses in American secondary and higher education, from the founding public secondary schools and research universities in the 1870s, through the spread of the writing-across-the-curriculum movement in the 1980s, through the WAC efforts in contemporary curriculums.
Publication Date: 2002
Teaching in the 21st Century by
The essays in this book argue that the active learning strategies that teachers trained in composition use for their literature courses can be exported to other disciplines to enhance both teacher performance and student learning. The book provides and explains examples of those strategies and illustrates how they have been effectively used in other disciplines.
Publication Date: 2002
Twenty Writing Assignments in Context by
Twenty original, classroom-tested assignments: This innovative collection of college writing assignments explores the practical applications of each lesson. Drawing upon current best practices, each chapter includes a discussion of the rationale behind the assignment, along with supplemental elements such as guidelines for evaluation, prewriting exercises and tips for avoiding common pitfalls. The assignments are designed for a range of courses, from first-year composition to upper-division writing in various disciplines.
Publication Date: 2016
From CCBC Databases
- Toward Writing in the Disciplines through Critical Thinking Bacabac, Florence Elizabeth. “Toward Writing in the Disciplines through Critical Thinking.” CEA Forum, vol. 48, no. 1, Jan. 2019, pp. 334–349. EBSCOhost, search-ebscohost-com.ccbcmd.idm.oclc.org/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,url,uid,cookie&db=eric&AN=EJ1235453&site=eds-live&scope=site.
- Expanding Definitions of Academic Writing: Family History Writing in the Basic Writing Classroom and Beyond Rankins-Robertson, Sherry, et al. “Expanding Definitions of Academic Writing: Family History Writing in the Basic Writing Classroom and Beyond.” Journal of Basic Writing (CUNY), vol. 29, no. 1, Jan. 2010, pp. 56–77. EBSCOhost, search-ebscohost-com.ccbcmd.idm.oclc.org/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,url,uid,cookie&db=eric&AN=EJ898358&site=eds-live&scope=site.
- Writing Program Building in a Compromised Space: Relative Agency in a Small College in a Public University System Composition Forum 29, Spring 2014
- Academic literacy: The importance and impact of writing across the curriculum – a case study Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, Vol. 10, No. 2, June 2010, pp. 34 - 47.
- Writing Your First Scholarly Article: A Guide for Budding Authors in Librarianship
Information Technology and Libraries; June 2006
Online Articles
- Writing Across the Curriculum
by Steve Peha, from Teaching That Makes Sense - A Taxonomy of Writing Across the Curriculum Programs: Evolving to Serve Broader Agendas College Composition and Communication Vol. 64, No. 2 (December 2012), pp. 357-382 (26 pages)
- Writing Program Building in a Compromised Space: Relative Agency in a Small College in a Public University System Composition Forum 29, Spring 2014
- Teaching Writing Teachers Writing: Difficulty, Exploration, and Critical Reflection College Composition and Communication 6 1 : 2 / December 2009
- Clearing the Air: WAC Myths and Realities College English, Vol. 62, No. 5 (May, 2000), pp. 573-583
- What Critics of Student Writing Get Wrong
Chronicle of Higher Education, August 30, 2019
Open Access Resources
- Journal of Writing Resources The Journal of Writing Research (JoWR) is an international peer reviewed journal that publishes papers that describe scientific studies of the processes by which writing is produced and or by which it can be effectively taught. -- website
- Across the Disciplines Across the Disciplines, a refereed journal devoted to language, learning, and academic writing, publishes articles relevant to writing and writing pedagogy in all their intellectual, political, social, and technological complexity. -- WAC Clearinghouse
Websites
- The WAC Clearinghouse The WAC Clearinghouse is an open-access, educational website supported by more than 150 contributors, institutional sponsors, and roughly 180 volunteer editors, editorial staff members, reviewers, and editorial board members. -- home page
- Writing in the Disciplines
from Excelsior Online Writing Lab - Writing in the Disciplines
from LaGuardia Community College
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
A Writer's Reference by
For success in college, no skill is more critical than writing; it's the very core of a student's academic experience. Tested and trusted, A Writer's Reference is an essential tool for students who are strengthening habits and skills that will support them throughout college. In an April 2014 survey of first-year writers, 75 percent reported that using a Hacker handbook made them a more confident academic writer. What's more, A Writer's Reference has been a powerful tool for change across college campuses--helping to create a culture of writing at many schools by supporting a common language for talking about academic writing. In that way, A Writer's Reference is uniquely positioned to help transform attitudes about the value of writing instruction and the role that writing plays in academic work and in higher learning. With this eighth edition of the handbook, author Nancy Sommers invites you to be part of a community of those who teach and assign writing; who believe that critical reading, analytical writing, responsible research, and clarity are at the center of effective writing across the academy; and who use the nation's best-selling and most responsive handbook to support the development of the college writer. LaunchPad LaunchPad combines an interactive e-book with high-quality multimedia content and ready-made assessment options, including LearningCurve adaptive quizzing. Pre-built units are easy to assign or adapt with your own material, such as readings, videos, quizzes, discussion groups, and more. LaunchPad also provides access to a grade book that provides a clear window on performance for your whole class, for individual students, and for individual assignments. The result is superior book specific content in a breakthrough user interface in which power and simplicity go hand in hand. To package LaunchPad free with A Writer's Reference, Eighth Edition, use ISBN 978-1-319-00920-5.
Call Number: PE1408 .H2778 2015
The Essential Guide by
The Essential Guide: Writing Research Papers Across the Disciplines,based on Lester’s best-sellingWriting Research Papers,is the ultimate brief research reference. Pocket-sized and inexpensive, this research guide is priced to work as a supplement in any research-oriented course. Designed to be a guide for writing research papers both in first-year composition courses and in upper-level courses in all disciplines, the text features advice on the judicious handling of research materials as well as extensive coverage of electronic research. It remains rooted in the fundamentals of thorough library research but encourages and equips students to use the Internet as well as field research where appropriate. Numerous student samples and excerpts model different types of research papers from across the disciplines. Comprehensive coverage of the four most common documentation systems, reflecting the most current guidelines from both MLA and APA, increases the text’s usability beyond the composition classroom.
Call Number: LB2369 .L39 2011
The Elements of Teaching Writing by
Offering reliable advice about how to design effective writing assignments and respond to and evaluate student writing in any course, Elements of Teaching Writing provides time-saving strategies and practical guidance for educators.
Call Number: PE1404 .G65 2004
Writing to Learn: Strategies for Assigning and Responding to Writing Across the Disciplines by
This volume provides instructors who teach writing with an array of strategies and philosophies about the way writing is learned, both in the context of a discipline and as an independent skill. Focusing primarily on the best ways to give feedback about written work, the authors describe a host of alternatives that have a solid foundation in research. This is the 69th issue of the journal New Directions for Teaching and Learning.
Call Number: LB1025.2 .N456 1997 no. 69
