On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Life During College by Call Number: LA229 .O81 2015
Business Networking for Veterans by
Your military skills and experience will be invaluable to you in civilian life. But your successful transition won't just happen. You need a network of people who can help you decide where you want to go[md]and then help you get there. Don't know how to build that network? No problem: Business Networking for Veterans will help you. Not comfortable drawing attention to yourself? Don't worry: networking is about service, not showing off. And service is something you've already mastered. Authored by two former U.S. Marines and a world-renowned business consultant, Business Networking for Veterans will teach you everything you need to know to succeed. From start to finish, it focuses on the unique challenges you face as a transitioning veteran[md]and the unique skills and resources you bring to the table. You've already proven yourself as a leader in service to your country. This book will help you do it as a civilian, too. #65533; Why networking is even more important for transitioning veterans Employers won't just hire you, because they may not understand you #65533; How to network well even if you're not comfortable doing it Not a natural talker? Use your powerful listening skills #65533; How to use online social networks to support your in-person networking Magnify your impact with LinkedIn, Facebook, and other online services #65533; Where to start today A complete plan that starts with the network you already have
Call Number: UB356 .A27 2014
Life after the Military by
Hundreds of thousands of military members are making the transition to civilian life each year. This transition is a move into unfamiliar territory and can be an extremely uncomfortable process. However, there are resources in place that can relieve much of the stress of the challenging situations that may arise. In Life After the Military: A Handbook for Transitioning Veterans, authors Janelle Hill, Don Philpott, and Cheryl Lawhorne-Scott collect all the information needed to settle into life after the military in one volume.The book discusses the many issues that transitioning veterans are faced with such as finding employment, going back to school, managing finances, special benefits available to veterans, and a host of other issues the transitioning veteran is likely to face when making the move to civilian life. It also discusses the emotional and psychological challenges that come with leaving the military and settling into life as a civilian. This book is essential for all who are transitioning out of the military, as well as their loved ones.
Publication Date: 2013-06-16
Best Boot Forward by
Best Boot Forward is a straightforward and entertaining guidebook for transitioning Post-9/11 veterans. It contains unbiased, practical information, techniques, and advice from the perspective of an enlisted U.S. Marine who has already been through the transition and wants to give back.
Call Number: UB357 .E47 2012
When the Warrior Returns by
Nearly two million soldiers, sailors, marines, and airmen have been deployed in recent conflicts. When the Warrior Returns addresses the practical and psychological needs of the families of these transitioning service members and provides a convenient list of key resources. Combining the knowledge of fifty experts, the book provides answers to questions about the post-deployment transition process, how it affects families, and how family members can help their service members and themselves navigate the transition successfully as a family. These experts provide straightforward answers to questions about the transition process and how it impacts the warrior and their children. A one-stop source of information filled with useful advice, this book is unequalled. The book features a foreword by Patty Shinseki and is published in cooperation with the Association of the United States Army.
Call Number: UB403 .W52 2012
Streaming Videos
- Succeeding as Citizens
May 10, 2013 - Air Force veteran Mike Haynie, a business professor at Syracuse University, has created a course to teach veterans how to start their own businesses. Watch Sanjay Gupta's report.
Article Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Current news for all branches of the military and government.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint essays, topic essays, and news and magazine articles on controversial issues. Browse for topics or search.
- U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Articles, essays, and primary sources on the history of the United States.
Online From CCBC Libraries
Out of Uniform by
After completing military service, veterans can have a difficult time finding employment when returning to civilian life. Out of Uniform, Second Edition is designed to help all transitioning military personnel, regardless of service, branch, rank, rating, time in service, time in grade, or specialty. Although all service members share common denominators, each individual brings something unique to the job market. Not only does this book cover the basics--search techniques, networking, interview preparation, résumés, negotiation, and a new chapter on social media--it also offers guidance on topics that are often overlooked, specifically the central issues of self-knowledge, interviewing empathy, and the power of questions. In addition to the technical guidance, readers will also discover important information in the anecdotes based on the experiences of soldiers, sailors, air force personnel, and marines. Out of Uniform, Second Edition is an invaluable resource for veterans who want to make the most out of their civilian career opportunities.
Publication Date: 2018-04-01
Mission Transition by
Change is a given in the United States military, but the soon to be applied "Blended Retirement System" is a financial change like no other the military has ever experienced. It is a huge deal that will not only affect the wallets of many active duty service members today and certainly 100% of them beginning in 2018, but it could also have a significant impact on future recruiting and retention of our volunteer military force. Mission Transition: Managing Your Career and Your Retirement is a needed introduction of the military's new "Blended Retirement System," representing the big shift in how the DoD manages military retirements. In the process, it encourages service members to adopt the new concept of retirement in the military, improve their own financial literacy, and assume responsibility for their own retirement planning. Finally, it provides new civilian job survival tips and strategies for service members in the process of leaving the military for civilian life. For those who are contemplating joining the armed forces and who wish to better understand the myriad of changes to the overall military retirement system this is the ideal guide.
Publication Date: 2017-10-27
The Civilian Lives of U.S. Veterans by
In this book, 50 experts study the lives of U.S. veterans at work, at home, and in American society as they navigate issues regarding health, gender, public service, substance abuse, and homelessness. The aftermath of modern war includes a population of veterans whose needs last for many decades--far longer than the war itself. This in-depth study looks at life after the military, considering the dual conundrum of a population benefiting from the perks of their duty, yet continuing to deal with trauma resulting from their service, and of former servicemen and servicewomen trying to fit into civilian life--in a system designed to keep them separate. Through two comprehensive volumes, essays shed light on more than 30 topics involving or affecting former servicemen and servicewomen, offering a blueprint for the formal study of U.S. veterans in the future. Contributions from dozens of experts in the field of military science cover such issues as unemployment, homelessness, disability, access to higher education, health, media portrayal, criminal justice, substance abuse, guns, suicide, and politics. Through information gleaned from surveys, interviews, participant observations, secondary analyses, and content analyses, the chapters reveal how veterans are able to successfully contribute to civilian life and show how the American workforce can benefit from their unique set of skills. Considers the changing demographics of U.S. veterans as compared to previous generations of military personnel Shows the impact that veterans are having on federal, state, and local government organizations Describes how servicemembers transition from active duty to veteran status Includes cross references for ease of use
Publication Date: 2016-12-05
The Wounded Warrior Handbook by
The typical wounded soldier must complete and file twenty-two forms after an active-duty injury. To soldiers and their families coping with the shock and reality of the injuries, figuring out what to do next--even completing tasks that seem easy like submitting paperwork--can be overwhelming and confusing. The second edition of this popular resource guide has been thoroughly revised to reflect new policies, additional benefits, updated procedures, and changes to insurance, including traumatic injury insurance and social security disability insurance. New chapters cover veterans' benefits in depth--which have seen significant changes in the last two years--and returning to active duty after an injury. As in the previous edition, this guide directs you to answers and resources for the most pressing and difficult questions that wounded veterans face, such as: Where can I find information on symptoms and treatments of injuries? How do I get through all this paperwork? Where can I get legal assistance? What can I do for employment? How do I get back into everyday life? How can I return to active duty? How do I deal with insurance? What benefits are available to me, and how do I claim them? What about my family? How can they help me? This trusted resource is both comprehensive and easy to use, and now the most up-to-date guide for wounded veterans and their families dealing with active-duty injuries.
Publication Date: 2015-09-17
