On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Wounds of War by
U.S. military conflicts abroad have left nine million Americans dependent on the Veterans Health Administration (VHA) for medical care. Their "wounds of war" are treated by the largest hospital system in the country--one that has come under fire from critics in the White House, on Capitol Hill, and in the nation's media. In Wounds of War, Suzanne Gordon draws on five years of observational research to describe how the VHA does a better job than private sector institutions offering primary and geriatric care, mental health and home care services, and support for patients nearing the end of life. In the unusual culture of solidarity between patients and providers that the VHA has fostered, Gordon finds a working model for higher-quality health care and a much-needed alternative to the practice of for-profit medicine.
Call Number: UB369 .W678 2018
Business Networking for Veterans by
Your military skills and experience will be invaluable to you in civilian life. But your successful transition won't just happen. You need a network of people who can help you decide where you want to go[md]and then help you get there. Don't know how to build that network? No problem: Business Networking for Veterans will help you. Not comfortable drawing attention to yourself? Don't worry: networking is about service, not showing off. And service is something you've already mastered. Authored by two former U.S. Marines and a world-renowned business consultant, Business Networking for Veterans will teach you everything you need to know to succeed. From start to finish, it focuses on the unique challenges you face as a transitioning veteran[md]and the unique skills and resources you bring to the table. You've already proven yourself as a leader in service to your country. This book will help you do it as a civilian, too. #65533; Why networking is even more important for transitioning veterans Employers won't just hire you, because they may not understand you #65533; How to network well even if you're not comfortable doing it Not a natural talker? Use your powerful listening skills #65533; How to use online social networks to support your in-person networking Magnify your impact with LinkedIn, Facebook, and other online services #65533; Where to start today A complete plan that starts with the network you already have
Call Number: UB356 .A27 2014
Homefront 911 by
The hallmarks of America's War on Terror have been repeated long deployments and a high percentage of troops returning with psychological problems. Family members of combat veterans are at a higher risk of potentially lethal domestic violence than almost any other demographic; it's estimated that one in four children of active-duty service members have symptoms of depression; and nearly one million veterans of Iraq and Afghanistan require increased care due to physical or psychological trauma. But, despite these staggering trends, civilian America has not been mobilized to take care of the families left behind; the American Homefront, which traditionally has been rallied to support the nation's war efforts, has disappeared. In Homefront 911 Stacy Bannerman, a nationally-recognized advocate for military families, provides an insider's view of how more than a decade of war has contributed to the emerging crisis we are experiencing in today's military and veteran families as they battle with overwhelmed VA offices, a public they feel doesn't understand their sacrifices, and a nation that still isn't fully prepared to help those who have given so much. Bannerman, whose husband served in Iraq, describes how extended deployments cause cumulative, long-lasting strain on families who may not see their parent, child, or spouse for months on end. She goes on to share the tools she and others have found to begin to heal their families, and advocates policies for advancing programs, services, and civilian support, all to help repair the broken agreement that the nation will care for its returning soldiers and their families. Skyhorse Publishing, as well as our Arcade imprint, are proud to publish a broad range of books for readers interested in history--books about World War II, the Third Reich, Hitler and his henchmen, the JFK assassination, conspiracies, the American Civil War, the American Revolution, gladiators, Vikings, ancient Rome, medieval times, the old West, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.
Call Number: UB403 .B36 2015
The Complete Guide to Veterans' Benefits by
Retiring or being discharged from the military is one of the most trying times for service members. You must leave your military life and training to venture once more into the civilian life, transition into a civilian career, and navigate the waters of life without the military. But the good news is, you donâe(tm)t have to do it alone. As a veteran of the U.S. military, you are entitled to multiple benefits including health care, loans, and many other aids for all aspects of your life. The Complete Guide to Veteransâe(tm) Benefits will help you discover and apply for every benefit you are eligible to receive. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, in recent years there were approximately 21.8 million veterans in the United States. When not on duty, 20 percent of these veterans do not have health coverage. This book will help you discover all you could be receiving for your dedicated service to this country. Author Bruce C. Brown provides all the details you need to know in order to receive your maximum benefits. Still serving in the U.S. Coast Guard, Brown understands what it takes to be in the military and knows the difficulties of navigating all of the government programs and policies. Thatâe(tm)s why he has gathered everything you need to know here, in one great resource. Topics included are: health care, disability compensation, the Post-9/11 GI Bill, scholarships, grants, military discounts, VA loans, vocational rehabilitation and employment, hospitals and facilities, and much more. Take the next step for yourself and your familyâe(tm)s future by finding out what veteransâe(tm) benefits you qualify for, and apply for them today using this book as your guide. Thank you for your service. Atlantic Publishing is a small, independent publishing company based in Ocala, Florida. Founded over twenty years ago in the company presidentâe(tm)s garage, Atlantic Publishing has grown to become a renowned resource for non-fiction books. Today, over 450 titles are in print covering subjects such as small business, healthy living, management, finance, careers, and real estate. Atlantic Publishing prides itself on producing award winning, high-quality manuals that give readers up-to-date, pertinent information, real-world examples, and case studies with expert advice. Every book has resources, contact information, and web sites of the products or companies discussed.
Call Number: UB357 .B75 2014
Federal Benefits for Veterans, Dependents and Survivors 2012 by
Important Documents In order to expedite benefits delivery, Veterans seeking a VA benefit for the first time must submit a copy of their service discharge form (DD-214, DD-215, or for World War II Veterans, a WD form), which documents service dates and type of discharge, or provides full name, military service number, and branch and dates of service. The Veteran's service discharge form should be kept in a safe location accessible to the Veteran and next of kin or designated representative. The following documents will be needed for claims processing related to a Veteran's death: 1. Veteran's marriage certificate for claims of a surviving spouse or children. 2. Veteran's death certificate if the Veteran did not die in a VA health care facility. 3. Children's birth certificates or adoption papers to determine children's benefits. 4. Veteran's birth certificate to determine parents' benefits eBenefits eBenefits is a joint VA/Department of Defense Web portal that provides resources and self-service capabilities to Servicemembers, Veterans, and their families to apply, research, access, and manage their VA and military benefits and personal information through a secure Internet connection. Through eBenefits Veterans can: Apply for benefits, view their disability compensation claim status, access official military personnel documents (e.g., DD Form 214, Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty), transfer entitlement of Post-9/11 GI Bill to eligible dependents (Servicemembers only), obtain a VA-guaranteed home loan Certificate of Eligibility, and register for and update direct deposit information for certain benefits. New features are added regularly. Accessing eBenefits: The portal is located at www.ebenefits. va.gov. Veterans must register for an eBenefits account at one of two levels: Basic or Premium. A Premium account allows access to personal data in VA and DoD systems, apply for benefits online, check the status of claims, update address records, and more. The Basic account allows access to information entered into eBenefits by the
Call Number: UB357 .F43 2012
Streaming Videos
- VA : The Human Cost of War / PBS. The Human Cost of War takes a broad look at the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs— examining the organization’s history, leadership, structure, funding and relationship to veterans. The film chronicles, in depth and often in wrenching detail, the workings of this crucial but at times beleaguered American institution.
Article Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Current news for all branches of the military and government.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint essays, topic essays, and news and magazine articles on controversial issues. Browse for topics or search.
- U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Articles, essays, and primary sources on the history of the United States.
Online from CCBC Libraries
We the People by
We the people--these words embody the ethos of what it means to be an American citizen. As individuals we are a tapestry of colors and creeds; united we are a nation committed to preserving our hard-earned freedom. In this heart-stirring collection of watercolor portraits of military veterans--one from each of the fifty states--artist Mary Whyte captures this ethos as well as the dedication, responsibility, and courage it takes to fulfill that promise. Those who raise their hands to serve may join for different reasons, but all--along with their families--make the extraordinary commitment to place the needs of the country before their own. Whyte gives us the opportunity to meet and to see some of them--to really see them. Whyte's portrait of America includes individuals from many walks of life, some still active duty, and from every branch: women and men, old and young, and from a wide swath of ethnicities, befitting our glorious melting pot. From a mayor to an astronaut, from a teacher to a garbage collector, from a business entrepreneur to someone who is homeless, Whyte renders their unique and exceptional lives with great care and gentle brush strokes. We the People is not only a tour across and through these vast United States, it is a tour through the heart and soul, the duty and the commitment of the people who protect not only our Constitution and our country but our very lives. We can only be deeply grateful, inspired, and humbled by all of them.
Publication Date: 2019-10-23
Bourbon and Bullets by
American soldiers, sailors, airmen, and marines carried whiskey at Yorktown, Gettysburg, Manila, and Da Nang. It bolstered their courage, calmed their nerves, and treated their maladies. As a serious American whiskey drinker, John C. Tramazzo noticed how military service and whiskey went hand in hand during his service as a commissioned officer in the U.S. Army. In Bourbon and Bullets Tramazzo reveals the rich and dramatic connection between bourbon and military service in America. Although others have discussed whiskey's place in military history, Bourbon and Bullets explores the relationship between military service and some of the most notable whiskey distillers and executives working today. American servicemen Weller, Handy, Stagg, Van Winkle, and Bulleit all experienced combat before they became household names for American whiskey enthusiasts. In small towns and big cities across America, veterans of armed conflict in Panama, Somalia, Haiti, Iraq, and Afghanistan cook mash, operate stills, and push the booming industry to new heights. Bourbon and Bullets delves into the lives and military careers of these whiskey distillers and tells the story of whiskey's role on the battlefield and in the American military community.
Publication Date: 2018-11-01
The Civilian Lives of U.S. Veterans by
In this book, 50 experts study the lives of U.S. veterans at work, at home, and in American society as they navigate issues regarding health, gender, public service, substance abuse, and homelessness. The aftermath of modern war includes a population of veterans whose needs last for many decades--far longer than the war itself. This in-depth study looks at life after the military, considering the dual conundrum of a population benefiting from the perks of their duty, yet continuing to deal with trauma resulting from their service, and of former servicemen and servicewomen trying to fit into civilian life--in a system designed to keep them separate. Through two comprehensive volumes, essays shed light on more than 30 topics involving or affecting former servicemen and servicewomen, offering a blueprint for the formal study of U.S. veterans in the future. Contributions from dozens of experts in the field of military science cover such issues as unemployment, homelessness, disability, access to higher education, health, media portrayal, criminal justice, substance abuse, guns, suicide, and politics. Through information gleaned from surveys, interviews, participant observations, secondary analyses, and content analyses, the chapters reveal how veterans are able to successfully contribute to civilian life and show how the American workforce can benefit from their unique set of skills. Considers the changing demographics of U.S. veterans as compared to previous generations of military personnel Shows the impact that veterans are having on federal, state, and local government organizations Describes how servicemembers transition from active duty to veteran status Includes cross references for ease of use
Publication Date: 2016-12-05
Red, White, and True by
Even as we celebrate the return of our military from wars in the Middle East, we are becoming increasingly aware of the struggles that await veterans on the home front. Red, White, and True offers readers a collection of voices that reflect the experiences of those touched by war--from the children of veterans who encounter them in their fathers' recollections of past wars to the young men and women who fought in the deserts of Iraq and Afghanistan. The diversity of perspectives collected in this volume validates the experiences of our veterans and their families, describing their shared struggles and triumphs while honoring the fact that each person's military experience is different. Leila Levinson's powerful essay recounts her father's experience freeing a POW camp during World War II. Pulitzer Prize-winning author Tracy Kidder provides a chilling account of being a new second lieutenant in Vietnam. Army combat veteran Brooke King recounts the anguish of raising her young children by day while trying to distinguish between her horrific memories of IED explosions in Baghdad and terrifying dreams by night. These individual stories of pain and struggle, along with twenty-nine others, illustrate the inescapable damage that war rends in the fabric of society and celebrate our dauntless attempts to repair these holes with compassion and courage.
Publication Date: 2014-08-15
