On the Shelf from CCBC Libraries
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands, Sales and Marketing: the Essential Cultural Guide--From Presentations and Promotions to Communicating and Closing by
How do you break the ice in the UAE? When do you present a contract in China? How close should you stand to a South Korean? Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: Sales and Marketing is an informative, entertaining guide that shows you what to do--and what to avoid--in any given sales or marketing situation, from Argentina to South Africa. It provides the expert knowledge you need to gather data in diverse cultures, properly present your products, and close deals around the world. "As the global community comes closer together, Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: Sales & Marketing will be a valuable resource to every person in every industry around the world." --Gil A. Cardon, Convention Manager, Japan National Tourism Organization "Just as you can be a connoisseur of wine, Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands: Sales and Marketing can help make you a connoisseur of cultures, philosophies, business behaviors, and social practices. Read it not just for work, but for the human side as well." --Giuseppe G. B. Pezzotti, Senior Lecturer, Cornell University School of Hotel Administration "Terri has accurately and succinctly captured the key issues that businesspeople or tourists need to know when traveling. It is spot-on, and a very valuable resource!" --Thomas M. Feifar, Director of Foreign Military Sales, NAVISTAR Defense
Call Number: HF5389 .M674 2012
Social Media Marketing All-In-One for Dummies by
The bestselling social media marketing book Marketing your business through social media isn't an option these days'it's absolutely imperative. In this new edition of the bestselling Social Media Marketing All-in-One For Dummies, you'll get comprehensive, expert guidance on how to use the latest social media platforms to promote your business, reach customers, and thrive in the global marketplace. Social media continues to evolve at breakneck speed, and with the help of this guide, you'll discover how to devise and maintain a successful social media strategy, use the latest tactics for reaching your customers, and utilize data to make adjustments to future campaigns and activities. Plus, you'll find out how to apply the marketing savvy you already have to the social media your prospects are using, helping you to reach'and keep'more customers, make more sales, and boost your bottom line. Includes the latest changes to Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, LinkedIn, YouTube, and more Offers tips for engaging your community and measuring your efforts Explains how to blend social media with your other online and offline marketing efforts Shows you how to leverage data to learn more about your community Don't get left behind! Let this book help you get the most from every minute and dollar you spend on marketing.
Call Number: HF5414 .Z56 2017
How to Write a Business Plan by
Write a business plan that potential investors will embrace! If you're thinking of starting a business or raising money to expand an existing one, you need a plan. Running a successful business requires a great deal of forethought, so write a business plan and secure your venture's future. How to Write a Business Plan will show you how to write the right plan for your business and design a loan package necessary to finance your business and make it work. With this bestselling all-in-one guide you'll learn how to: figure out if your business idea will make money estimate operating expenses prepare cash flow create profit and loss forecasts determine assets, liabilities, and net worth find potential sources of financing think first before borrowing from friends and relatives, and professionally present your plan to lenders and investors How to Write a Business Plan provides spreadsheets that help you determine and forecast cash flow, financial statements, sales revenue, and profit and loss. It also provides three sample business plans you can modify for your own use. This edition is completely updated, providing all-new online resources and updated examples of successful business plans.
Call Number: HD30.28 .M3839 2014
Invent It, Sell It, Bank It! by
NATIONAL BESTSELLER * From one of the stars of ABC's Shark Tank and QVC's Clever & Unique Creations by Lori Greiner comes a hands-on, nuts-and-bolts guide to getting a new product or company off the ground and making it a success. Turn your idea into a reality. Become your own boss. Make your first million. Achieve financial freedom. Lori Greiner shows you how. Invent It, Sell It, Bank It! is a hands-on, nuts-and-bolts guide to getting a new product or company off the ground and making it profitable. Sharing her own secret formula and personal stories along the way, Lori provides vital information and advice on topics that can often intimidate, frustrate, and stump aspiring entrepreneurs. Offering behind-the-scenes insights into her experiences on ABC's Shark Tank and QVC-TV's Clever & Unique Creations by Lori Greiner, as well as valuable lessons learned from the mistakes and triumphs of her early career, Lori proves that, with hard work and the right idea, anyone can turn themselves into the next overnight success. Lori covers such topic as . . . * Market research: Is your idea a hero or a zero? Don't be so fixated on the end result that you forget to make something that people actually want to buy. * Product design: I have an idea, now what's next? From concept to prototype to final product: How do I make it and where do I start? * Funding: Although loans, investments, and crowd-sourcing are great ways to access cash, first tap into your own resources as wisely as possible. * Manufacturing: Seeing your final product roll off the assembly line is a magical moment, but there are things to watch out for so you get there in a cost-effective way. * Protecting your idea: To patent or not to patent, and other things you can do to safeguard your idea. * The secrets to selling successfully: You got the product made, now learn how to get people to buy it!
Call Number: HD53 .G7454 2014
The 20 Ps of Marketing by
Marketing has changed dramatically since the four classic Ps of the marketing mix (price, product, promotion and place) were proposed. The new marketing landscape is characterized by the demand for constant innovation, rising pressure on budgets, the growth of social media and the impact of issues of sustainability and ethics. As the business landscape has transformed so have the fundamental areas marketers need to master to succeed. The 20 Ps of Marketing provides a thorough guide to marketers at all levels of the new elements of the marketing mix they need to contend with for business success including: planning; persuasion; publicity; positioning; productivity; partnerships; passion and more. Combining practical advice with case studies it covers brands that have changed the game through mastery of the 20 Ps such as Häagen-Dazs and Sony, and others, such as Kodak, who got left behind. This essential guide to the current face of marketing strategy provides marketers with a thorough and valuable grounding to the new fundamentals of marketing.
Call Number: HF5415.13 .P36 2014
Other Useful Guides
Sales
- Small Business: Successful Sales CopySales copy is the entrepreneur's chance to win over customers. Due to limited budgets, most small business owners end up writing this themselves instead of using some high-cost advertising firm. This ABC News report gives tips to entrepreneurs on how to write sales copy that will catch the eye of your prospective customers. Andre Taylor, author of You Can Still Win, offers his advice.
Marketing Strategies
- Marketing Strategies: Inc. Magazine’s Complete Series on Starting and Growing a BusinessThis program discusses how to devise successful marketing strategies.
Inc. Magazine
- Market Research: Inc. Magazine’s Complete Series on Starting and Growing a BusinessThe essence of marketing is knowing who your customer is and what do they want. You could take all the marketing stuff in the world. It's all fluff if you don't know who your customer is and what do they want. What do they need? What do they need to be satisfied?
When you've answered those two questions, when you define your customer and you define the product, then you can meet that need
Databases
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles about companies and business trends around the world, especially useful for company research.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on business, management, economics, and finance. Also includes company and industry profiles as well as country and marketing research reports.
- Business Market Research Collection
Company profiles and market research reports covering global public and non-public companies.
Online from CCBC Libraries
PR for Anyone by
Small business owners have limited resources and often forego publicity, which is vital for establishing credibility in their industry. Appearing in the media gives the business owner a third party endorsement and can be influential in gaining new clients and customers.
Call Number: eBook HD59
Herding Cats by
This book is a concise, insightful, and actionable series of chapters that communicate strategic and timeless fundamentals to help organizations, companies, and brands develop and manage their social media marketing efforts. These fundamentals include defining your purpose and objective based on what your brand or organization stands for, understanding your consumer/customer, developing a content marketing strategy, applying the social media ecosystem perspective, knowing where (through which social channels) to communicate your content, generating consumer insights from online social dialogue, defining key performance indicators (KPIs), and generating relevant analytics that help define your organization's or brand's success against key measures (and not merely reporting raw data). In short, this book is intended to provide the reader (whether an upper-level undergraduate or MBA student, social media manager, or executive) much needed perspectives and frameworks on developing and managing an effective social media strategy. The authors will leverage their extensive industry experience along with much of the current and original research that they are conducting in the field of social media marketing.
Call Number: eBook HF6146.I58 R644 2014
The Experience Effect for Small Business by
As every customer knows, the shopping experience is critical to brand satisfaction and loyalty. We all care deeply about the overall experience of the buying process--the marketing message, subliminal cues, the sales approach, personal human interaction...and more. When all of these elements come together in a cohesive and seamless package, a loyal customer is born. Brand strategist Jim Joseph calls this the experience effect. In a groundbreaking volume called The Experience Effect (2010), Jim showed big business how to create the total brand experience. Now he customizes that very same expertise for the backbone of the American economy, small business. While it is often said that small business is key to recovery, all around us we still see small business suffering the most. Flex and wiggle room is at a minimum, small business simply cannot afford the resources and the access to big brand thinking that the corporations do. Jim believes that there's simply no reason why a small business cannot perform like a big brand, even within our turbulent times. His perspective makes The Experience Effect For Small Business a timely and compelling read, particularly now. Filled with practical advice and real-life examples that will resonate with readers, The Experience Effect For Small Business teaches small business owners how to understand their brand's target audience, conduct effective market research, connect with customers on an emotional level, establish unique and engaging touchpoints, and much, much more. Readers learn how to replicate these activities on limited budgets and few resources. Loaded with inspiration, Jim Joseph's book will touch a chord with you, the small business owner in today's America economy.
Call Number: eBook HF5415.1255 .J672 2012
Small Business Smarts by
This book will help small business owners and marketers feel comfortable using social media to promote their businesses, regardless of their past experiences or level of expertise. * Interviews with 25 small business owners and marketers detailing how they are using social media successfully right now * An evaluation tool and example spreadsheets for conducting a social media audit * Call-outs that show how different types of businesses can implement various marketing ideas * Action-item tips that can be used in online messaging today
Call Number: eBook HF5415.1265 .O44 2011
Sales Ethics by
The international market crisis has been largely generated by a lack of consumer confidence as a result of unfair behavior on the part of some market players. Customers deserve ethics in business relationships both in terms of correctness in supplying them with the efficiency and effectiveness they require to attain and also in terms of respect and honesty in human relationships. The book aims to present the latest international research on ethics in business dealings. The author's goal is to help their readers develop the skills necessary to operate effectively and the communication abilities needed to generate wellness in relationships. The chapters cover the following topics: 1.How ethical behaviors can improve business - a new business approach 2.How to find clients and to be found by clients - values, identity and self-marketing 3.The first contact with the customer - building trust and overcoming filters 4.The analysis - listening to and learning about customers, markets and competitors 5.The consulting process - professional competence and talent to create value 6.The negotiation and sale - responsibility and fair-trade 7.Relationship management - how to retain the clients trust The chapters present various stages of the vendor-customer relationship, analyzing both aspects related to professional skills, and relational abilities. Each chapter will contain theory, case studies and practical exercises. The outline of each chapter will be: 1.Think - Setting goals and strategies 2.Develop - Designing tools and procedures to operate 3.Acting together - Relating to and communicating with colleagues and clients 4.Know and learn - capitalizing on experience and verifying action 5.Good and Bed examples - case studies 6.Starting today... - exercises Part of the exercises will be available on a relevant internet site, in order offer a more interactive approach with the readers. The case studies presented in the book are mainly based on the Italian market field, but they are also useful for international readers. Italy, in fact, could be seen as a 'front line of combat' having a particular need for ethics, both in terms of management procedures and respect for people. Managers and salespeople will find tools and methods that are useful in handling business more effectively, creating value for themselves and their clients.
Call Number: eBook HF5387 .A448 2015
The 800-Pound Gorilla of Sales by
Smart insight and best practices for achieving sales excellence inany market The proverbial 800-pound gorilla is the monster in the room thatyou just can?t ignore, though maybe you want to. In sales,the 800-pound gorilla is that salesperson or company who totallydominates their market, taking more than their fair share ofbusiness, and winning time after time. How can you compete withthat? More importantly, how can you be that? The 800-Pound Gorilla of Sales uses case studies ofindividuals and companies who dominate their markets to show youhow to become the biggest beast in your particular sales jungle.Combining sales best practices, creative marketing, memorableservice, and innovative techniques, this monster of a sales guidedoesn?t just show you how to win more business; it shows youhow to win almost all of the business. ? Includes real-world examples and proven tactics for totalsales domination ? Written by a professional sales trainer with clients in theNBA, NFL, and MLB, and more than 25 years of on-the-street sellingexperience ? Features actual case studies of individuals and companiesthat consistently dominate their competition In the sales game, more is always better. This guide will show youhow to grab a gorilla-size piece of your market.
Call Number: eBook HF5438.25 .G84 2010
Small Business Sales
- Small Business Sales
This presentation, produced by Inc., features small business sales.
Finding an Association for Your Industry
Associations often have excellent research materials. Some you need to join to have access to the tools but others you do not need to. To find an association for your business search Google using the type of business (i.e. spa, restaurant, daycare, etc.), the word association and the words United states. EX: restaurant united states association.
