On the Shelf from CCBC Libraries
Legal Guide for Starting and Running a Small Business by
The all-in-one business law book When you run a small business, legal questions crop up almost on a daily basis. Ignoring them can threaten your enterprise--but hiring a lawyer to help with routine issues can devastate the bottom line. Fortunately, you have a better alternative. Legal Guide for Starting & Running a Small Business clearly explains the how to: raise start-up money pick the right business structure get licenses and permits negotiate a favorable lease protect yourself with the right insurance create binding contracts hire, fire, and manage employees cope with financial problems protect your personal assets save on business taxes The 14th edition is completely updated with the latest business tax rules and numbers, including options for deducting expenses for the business use of your home.
Call Number: KF1659 .S745 2015
Legal Forms for Starting and Running a Small Business by
Legal Forms for Starting & Running a Small Business provides you with over 60 legal forms and documents and all the step-by-step instructions you need to use them. This collection of essential legal and business documents helps you: . create contracts to buy, sell, rent, or store goods . hire employees and consultants . protect your trade secrets . create noncompete agreements . prepare an LLC operating agreement . borrow and lend money . buy a business . lease commercial space . prepare corporate bylaws . record minutes of meetings . buy real estate . and much more This edition is updated with the latest legal documents, contracts, and other forms you need to run your business smoothly, along with up-to-date best practices for business owners and managers. Plus, Legal Forms for Starting & Running a Small Business includes all the information and instructions you need to complete and use your forms effectively.
Call Number: KF1659.A65 S74 2012
American Bar Association Legal Guide for Small Business by Call Number: KF1659 .A96 2010
Business Law Today, the Essentials by Call Number: KF889 .M5271 2017
Federal Government Resources
Streaming Videos
- Understanding Intellectual PropertyIn this film, learn about intellectual property law and contracts from lawyer Angela Perry. She explains intellectual property ownership, why it can be unclear whether an employee or a business owns ideas, and how to clarify these boundaries in employment contracts. She explains the ownership and transfer of intellectual property, and distinguishes IP, copyright and trademarks. She differentiates and explains confidentiality and non-disclosure agreements. She explains how a company can value IP as an asset. She explains the difference between ownership of domain names and business names.
Databases
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles about companies and business trends around the world, especially useful for company research.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on business, management, economics, and finance. Also includes company and industry profiles as well as country and marketing research reports.
- Business Market Research Collection
Company profiles and market research reports covering global public and non-public companies.
Articles
Online from CCBC Libraries
In the Name of Entrepreneurship? by
What are the differential effects of regulation and policy on small businesses? What is the impact of special regulatory treatment for small businesses? This book sheds light on these issues through analysis of the regulatory and public policy environment with regard to small businesses, including focused studies in four key areas: health insurance, workplace safety, corporate governance, and business organization.
Publication Date: 2007-11-10
Taxation of Small Businesses by
Incorporating changes as a result of the UK's Finance Act, 2014, this seventh edition is a practical guide to all aspects of direct taxation of small businesses in the UK. The book will be an ideal handy reference guide for sole practitioners, small partnerships, and tax advisers, providing a clear explanation of relevant UK legislation and practical advice on ways of minimizing clients' tax liabilities and warning against common pitfalls. The tax advantages of incorporating a small business need weighing up carefully, and business owners need to decide whether or not the advantages outweigh the additional burden of compliance. Major topics covered in the book include: taxation of business profits * taxation of employment * corporation tax * NIC * capital gains tax * inheritance tax * pensions * entrepreneurs' relief. [Subject: Tax Law, Business Law]
Publication Date: 2014-08-04
Small Business Taxes for Dummies by
Small business taxes taxing you out? For most business owners, their single biggest "expense" (and headache) is dealing with their taxes. And while the just passed Congressional tax bill reduced taxes for many of the estimated 30 million small business owners in the U.S., the nation's taxes continue to be complex. Not being up-to-speed on tax rules and strategies can lead to mistakes that cost business owners thousands of dollars in fines and penalties every year. Small Business Taxes For Dummies assists both current and aspiring small business owners with important tax planning issues, including complete coverage of the tax changes taking effect in 2018, creating an ongoing tax routine, dealing with the IRS, and navigating audits and notices. Includes issues influencing incorporated small businesses, partnerships, and LLCs Offers expanded coverage of other business taxes including payroll and sales taxes Provides websites and other online tax resources Gives guidance to millennials juggling multiple gigs If you're a current or aspiring small business owner looking for the most up-to-date tax planning issues, this book keeps you covered.
Publication Date: 2019-03-12
