On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Business for Beginners by
Most small business guides claim to be for entrepreneurs, but either talk over their heads or treat them like they have no business savvy. The solution? Business for Beginners. Written by an entrepreneur, it targets the 13 big questions (and all the other questions that come with) that entrepreneurs need to consider to build a successful business, with the answers that will set them on the right track. Frances McGuckin and SmallBizPro are dedicated to reaching the small business owner, speaking constantly across North America and working closely with the small business associations that entrepreneurs turn to for help. This book contains clear advice along with case studies, examples, checklists and "success strategies." The essential advice includes: Knowing where to start Understanding legal and tax requirements Understanding financial statements Organizing accounting and paperwork Developing a winning business plan Building entrepreneurial skills Marketing on a budget
Call Number: HD62.5 .M387 2005
Business Plans Kit for Dummies by
Discover the ins and outs of constructing a winning business plan When you're establishing, expanding, or re-energizing a business, the best place to start is with your business plan. Whether you want start-up money from investors or are looking to expand or re-energize your business, a business plan will give you a defined road map to help you get your business moving. Business Plans Kit For Dummies, 4th Edition has been updated to give you the very latest information on today's current economy and its impact on business plans; dealing with venture capitalists; getting start-up money in any economy; incorporating social and ecological responsibility issues; and developing a plan conducive to marketplace changes and advancements. Refreshed examples and data sources for planning Updated "ten top plans" section CD includes new forms, worksheets, and resources If you're a small business owner, investor, or entrepreneur looking for expert guidance and friendly tips on developing and implementing a strategic plan to help your business succeed in any economy, Business Plans Kit For Dummies has you covered! Note: CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of the e-book file, but are available for download after purchase.
Call Number: HD30.28 .P474 2014
Business Plans That Work: a Guide for Small Business 2/e by
Turn your great idea into BIG PROFITS with a powerful, persuasive business plan! With any endeavor, good planning is the key to good results--especially in the launch of a new business or product. Business Plans That Work gives you an easy-to-follow template for conceptualizing, writing, focusing, and revising a business plan that converts your business idea into financial profit. A virtual blueprint for entrepreneurial success, this new edition of the popular entrepreneur's guide provides all the tools you need to communicate the value of your idea to investors and attract key talent, and create a plan you can turn to throughout the entire process of starting and running a business. You'll learn how to: Determine what to include in each plan, why, and for whom Secure the capital you need to get the project off the ground Assess opportunities and risks involved in your project Avoid common pitfalls that cost money, time, and effort With Business Plans That Work, you have everything you need to create winning strategies for development, sales, marketing, operations, distribution, and everything else successful ventures are founded on.
Call Number: HD30.28 .T5766 2011
The Entrepreneur's Guide to Writing Business Plans and Proposals by Call Number: HD62.5 .C423 2008
How to Write a Business Plan by
Write a business plan that potential investors will embrace! If you're thinking of starting a business or raising money to expand an existing one, you need a plan. Running a successful business requires a great deal of forethought, so write a business plan and secure your venture's future. How to Write a Business Plan will show you how to write the right plan for your business and design a loan package necessary to finance your business and make it work. With this bestselling all-in-one guide you'll learn how to: . figure out if your business idea will make money . estimate operating expenses . prepare cash flow . create profit and loss forecasts . determine assets, liabilities, and net worth . find potential sources of financing . think first before borrowing from friends and relatives, and . professionally present your plan to lenders and investors How to Write a Business Plan provides spreadsheets that help you determine and forecast cash flow, financial statements, sales revenue, and profit and loss. It also provides three sample business plans you can modify for your own use.This edition is completely updated, providing all-new online resources and updated examples of successful business plans. - Download forms for book on nolo.com
Call Number: HD30.28 .M3839 2012
The Entrepreneur's Information Sourcebook by
This guide offers invaluable assistance to those who wish to start or have already embarked upon a small business enterprise. Utilizing a step-by-step approach, it takes users through a process of planning, establishing, growing, maintaining, and even exiting a small business. For each step, the book offers dozens of the best information sources in print and on the Web, putting vital business information at your fingertips. This is a must-purchase for any library that serves entrepreneurs or future entrepreneurs. In fact, multiple copies may be in demand_for the reference desk and the circulating collection. In addition, it is a valuable guide for collection development. Every year hundreds of thousands of new small businesses open. According to the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Statistics and Research Center, small businesses in the United States, represent more than 99% of all employer firms and employ 51% of all private workers. According to the Small Business Administration, nearly 2/3 of college students say they intend to be entrepreneurs at some point in their careers. Nevertheless, business schools and textbooks offer little in the way of guidance for future entrepreneurs. Beyond contacting the SBA, most people are at a loss to find the current and accurate information they need to start and manage a small business. This guide offers invaluable assistance to those who wish to start or have already embarked upon a small business enterprise. With a step-by-step approach, it takes users through a process of planning, establishing, growing, maintaining, and even exiting a small business. By identifying and describing hundreds of the best information sources in print and on the Web for each step of the business building process, it puts information vital to business success at your fingertips, enabling you to locate and use data from a wide range of resources. Chapters cover: Are You an Entrepreneur? Gathering Information and Statistics; Start Up; Your Business Plan; The Ups and Downs of Franchising; Raising Capital; Marketing and Advertising; Management; Personnel/Human Resources; Legal/Taxes; Working with the Government; Competitive Analysis; Growing Your Business and Moving On. In addition, there is a glossary of small business terms; and a detailed index concludes the guide. A first (and last) stop for any small business owner or would-be entrepreneur, this is a handy ready reference for librarians, and an essential collection development tool.
Call Number: HD62.5 .A96 2006
Other Useful Guides
Inc. Magazine
- (Video) Business Plan: Inc. Magazine’s Complete Series on Starting and Growing a BusinessThis program discusses what goes into a business plan and how to present a business plan to investors.
Databases
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles about companies and business trends around the world, especially useful for company research.
- Business Market Research Collection
Company profiles and market research reports covering global public and non-public companies.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on business, management, economics, and finance. Also includes company and industry profiles as well as country and marketing research reports.
Government Demographic Information
Reference USA
- Reference Solutions from BCPL
Excellent source of local business information. You MUST use your BCPL library card to access it. - Reference USA from Enoch Pratt Free LibraryExcellent source of local business information. You MUST use your EPFL library card to access it.
Business Plan Templates
Online from CCBC Libraries
3 Steps to Success: Business Plans That Get Investment by Publication Date: 2018-02-23
The AMA Handbook of Business Documents by
From business plans and sales presentations to newsletters and email marketing, The AMA Handbook of Business Documents gives readers the tips, tricks, and specific words they need to make their company come across on page or screen in a way that leads to its success. This versatile guide to preparing first-class written pieces provides readers with dozens of sample documents and practical tips to give them a strategic and creative advantage when crafting proposals, memos, emails, press releases, collection letters, speeches, reports, sales letters, policies and procedures, warning letters, announcements, and much more. You'll learn about the various types of business documents and the parts of a document that spell either big success or big trouble. Suited equally to executives, entrepreneurs, managers, administrative staff, and anyone else charged with putting a business's intentions into words, this handy guide will forever transform the way you communicate your company's identity, products, services, and strengths in written communication.
Publication Date: 2011-05-10
The Restaurant by
Restaurant owners will continue to turn to The Restaurant because it helps them gain the skills needed to master every challenge and succeed in this highly competitive and rewarding industry. Each chapter has been revised, updated, and enhanced with numerous industry examples, sidebars, charts, tables, photographs, and menus. Greater emphasis is placed on restaurant business plans, restaurant management, and restaurant operations. The themes of sustainability and sustainable restaurant management have been added throughout. New sections have also been included on purchasing meat, cocktails, and the early history of eating out. All of this information will help restaurant owners make the decisions necessary to build a thriving business.
Publication Date: 2010-11-02
Grow to Greatness by
Simply put, most entrepreneurial start-ups fail. Those fortunate enough to succeed then face a second, major challenge: how to grow. This book focuses on the key questions an entrepreneur must answer in order to grow a business. Based on extensive research of more than fifty successful growth companies, Grow to Greatness discusses the top ten growth challenges and how to overcome them.Author Edward D. Hess dispels the myth that businesses must grow or die. Growth can create value. But, too much growth too fast outstrips effective processes, controls, or management capacity. Viewing growth as "recurring change," Grow to Greatness lays out a framework for how to approach business development--and how to manage its risks and pace.The book then takes readers through chapters that explore whether the time is right to grow, how to do it, and how to manage the vital reality that growth requires the right leadership, culture, and people. Uniquely, this book aims to prepare readers for the day-to-day reality of growth, offering up the lived experiences of eleven entrepreneurs. Six workshops to assess where readers stand now and a suite of templates that will prove to be useful over time help bring the book's teachings to life. After reading this book, entrepreneurs will have a real understanding of their readiness to grow and place in the growth cycle, as well as a concrete action plan for where to take their businesses next.Many books address how to start a business, but this is a unique, go-to resource for readers who want to learn how to thrive beyond the start-up phase.
Publication Date: 2012-04-25
Smart Growth by
Wall Street believes that all public companies should grow smoothly and continuously, as evidenced by ever-increasing quarterly earnings, and that all companies either "grow or die." Introducing a research-based growth model called "Smart Growth," Edward D. Hess challenges this ethos and its dangerous mentality, which often deters real growth and pressures businesses to create, manufacture, and purchase noncore earnings just to appease Wall Street. Smart Growth accounts for the complexity of growth from the perspective of organization, process, change, leadership, cognition, risk management, employee engagement, and human dynamics. Authentic growth is much more than a strategy or a desired result. It is a process characterized by complex change, entrepreneurial action, experimental learning, and the management of risk. Hess draws on extensive public and private company research, incorporating case studies of Best Buy, Sysco, UPS, Costco, Starbucks, McDonalds, Coca Cola, Room & Board, Home Depot, Tiffany & Company, P&G, and Jet Blue. With conceptual innovations such as an Authentic Earnings and Growth System framework, a seven-step growth funnel pipeline, a Growth Decision Template, and a Growth Risks Audit, Hess provides a blueprint for an enduring business that strives to be better, rather than simply bigger.
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
Growing Your Business by
In the hard-fought business world, only one new business in 20 lives to see its fifth anniversary. Typical management books do not address the unique nuances of early stage companies. Most entrepreneurial books often profile successful entrepreneurs or companies who are better known, which usually includes only the small percentage that achieve stratospheric success. Growing Your Own Business shares the secrets of long-term survival and success, detailing practical guidelines and relevant "tales from the trenches" to help entrepreneurs tackle common concerns and obstacles. A welcome combination of first-person how-to advice and peer mentoring support, this comprehensive, essential resource book provides sound, battle-proven advice for developing effective sales and marketing strategies, managing employees, and navigating business cycles. Growing Your Own Business continues after the first book, Starting Your Own Business. This resource is designed to work as independent resource or integrate into business curriculums.
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
Finding an Association for Your Industry
Associations often have excellent research materials. Some you need to join to have access to the tools but others you do not need to. To find an association for your business search Google using the type of business (i.e. spa, restaurant, daycare, etc.), the word association and the words United states. EX: restaurant united states association.
