On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
-
Financial Statements
by
Now the best-selling book of its kind has gotten even better. This revised and expanded second edition of Ittelson's master work will give you that firm grasp of "the numbers" necessary for business success. With more than 100,000 copies in print, Financial Statements is a perfect introduction to financial accounting for non-financial managers, stock-market investors, undergraduate business and MBA students, lawyers, lenders, entrepreneurs, and more. Most introductory finance and accounting books fail either because they are written "by accountants for accountants" or the authors "dumb down" the concepts until they are virtually useless. Financial Statements deftly shows that all this accounting and financial-reporting stuff is not rocket science and that you can understand it! Ittelson empowers non-financial managers by clearly and simply demonstrating how the balance sheet, income statement and cash flow statement work together to offer a "snapshot" of any company's financial health. Every term is defined in simple, understandable language. Every concept is explained with a basic, straightforward transaction example. And with the book's uniquely visual approach, you'll be able to see exactly how each transaction affects the three key financial statement of the enterprise. Two new major sections with nine new chapters were added to this revised second edition of Financial Statements, simply the clearest and most comprehensive introduction to financial reporting available.
Call Number: HF5681.B2 I74 2009 -
Financial Statements Demystified: a Self-Teaching Guide
by
QUESTIONS about STATEMENTS? Find All the Answers Here! Are you considering buying a small business? Do you want to invest in a Fortune 500 company? Are you trying to sell your own business? Balance sheets and income statements are essential to helping you make informed decisions regarding important business transactions. But unless you're an accountant, these documents can be intimidating hodgepodges of columns, rows, and numbers. Don't fret. Financial Statements Demystified is just the tool you need. Devoid of confusing business jargon, this engaging and easy-to-follow guide defines basic financial statement terminology and explains the components of the four most common financial statements: Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Stockholders' Equity, and Statement of Cash Flows. You will learn how to read, interpret, and use pivotal data from these sources--each of which will help you make accurate financial decisions without having to go back to school. This confusion-busting guide covers: An overview of financial statements--what they are and what they tell us Easy-to-understand explanations of profit and loss Statement of cash flows and special reporting issues How to spot fraudulently misstated financial statements Quizzes at the end of each chapter to help test your knowledge Simple enough for a novice but in-depth enough for a seasoned investor, Financial Statements Demystified will help you understand the four main financial statements.
Call Number: HF5681.B2 K73 2009 -
The Essentials of Finance and Accounting for Nonfinancial Managers
by
They say that numbers don't lie, but what if you can't even read them? Financial analysis reports, budgeting reports, forecasting and measuring reports--sometimes they all run together, don't they? The Essentials of Finance and Accounting for Nonfinancial Managers is here to help. This new edition of a business classic demystifies finance and accounting and gives managers the tools they need to make better decisions. Complete with fresh insights, case studies, and street-level exercises to help non-numbers people master the numbers game, this indispensable translation guide reveals how to: * Understand the fundamentals of financial analysis, budgeting, and forecasting * Interpret balance sheets, income/cash flow statements, and annual reports * Sift through conflicting data to find the most relevant figures * Locate key information about competitors and suppliers * Analyze variances and calculate break-even points and other vital measures * And much more! The numbers are too important to allow others to translate for you. You need to know how to read them yourself. Imagine the impact on future decisions when you grasp not only what the numbers mean but can use that insight to drive your business forward.
Call Number: HF5636 .F526 2016 -
Small Time Operator
by
A certified public accountant provides detailed advice about operating a successful small business, including bookkeeping and tax payment. This new edition includes a section on doing business on the Internet. Photos, illustrations, charts, tables, worksheets.
Call Number: HD62.5 .K35 2002
Accounting & Finance Clips
-
Accounting & Finance Clips 1: Accounting, Forecasting, and BreakevenThis program uses case studies to explain and illusatrate key concepts in finance. It discusses income statements and balance sheets, differentiates between financial and management accounting, looks at forecasting in business, and considers breakeven analyses.
Financing Your Business
-
Financing: Inc. Magazine’s Complete Series on Starting and Growing a BusinessThis program looks at finding investors, getting loans, and using personal funds.
Databases
-
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles about companies and business trends around the world, especially useful for company research.
-
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Company profiles and market research reports covering global public and non-public companies.
-
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on business, management, economics, and finance. Also includes company and industry profiles as well as country and marketing research reports.
Online from CCBC Libraries
-
Understanding Financial Statements, Third Edition
by
Balance sheets. Income statements. Profitability ratios. These are just a few of the crucial tools to successfully understanding and managing business. Becoming comfortable with financial statements and learning how to use them to successfully analyze and navigate a company is essential to success. This introduction to financial statements will lay the ground work for that understanding and serve as a valuable reference guide over time.
Publication Date: 2010-02-16 -
Accounting All-In-One for Dummies with Online Practice
by
Your all-in-one accounting resource If you're a numbers person, it's your lucky day! Accounting jobs are on the rise -- in fact, the Bureau of Labor Statistics projects a faster-than-average growth rate of 11% in the industry through 2024. So, if you're seeking long-term job security while also pursuing your passion, you'll be stacking the odds in your favor by starting a career in accounting. Accountants don't necessarily lead a solitary life behind a desk in a bank. The field offers opportunities in auditing, budget analysis, financial accounting, management accounting, tax accounting, and more. In Accounting All-in-One For Dummies, you'll benefit from cream-of-the-crop content culled from several previously published books. It'll help you to flourish in whatever niche you want to conquer in the wonderful world of accounting. You'll also get free access to a quiz for each section of the book online. Report on financial statements Make savvy business decisions Audit and detect financial fraud Handle cash and make purchasing decisions Get free access to topic quizzes online If you're a student studying the application of accounting theories or a professional looking for a valuable desktop reference you can trust, this book covers it all.
Publication Date: 2018-04-17 -
A Rising Tide
by
Women-owned firms represent an increasingly important segment of the small business sector. According to the most recent data from the U.S. Census Bureau, there were 7.8 million women-owned firms in the United States in 2007, generating $1.2 trillion in revenues and providing employment for 7.6 million people. A Rising Tide presents the financial strategies that have helped today's bold and creative women entrepreneurs to succeed.The authors take a "lifecycle approach" in discussing the issues and strategies for different types of women-owned firms, from nascent and home-based firms to growth-oriented and technology-based enterprises. Each chapter includes real-world cases studies featuring women entrepreneurs as a way to bring the book's lessons to life. Uniquely, this book ties together the latest research on financing women-owned businesses and its implications for actual or potential entrepreneurs. Drawing on the Kauffman Firm Survey, a longitudinal survey of over 4,000 new firms, the authors are able to provide particularly useful conclusions, making this a must read for the thousands of women who are starting or may start businesses in the next few years. Click here to view the book trailer.
Publication Date: 2012-05-30 -
QuickBooks 2019 for Dummies
by
The bestselling guide to QuickBooks--now in a new edition QuickBooks 2019 For Dummies is here to make it easier than ever to familiarize yourself with the latest version of the software. It shows you step by step how to build the perfect budget, simplify tax return preparation, manage inventory, track job costs, generate income statements and financial reports, and every other accounting-related task that crosses your desk at work. Written by CPA Stephen L. Nelson, this perennial bestseller shows you how to get the most out of the software that helps over six million small businesses manage their finances. Removing the need to hire expensive financial professionals, it empowers you to take your small business' finances into your own hands. Handle your financial and business management tasks more effectively Implement QuickBooks and get the most out of its features Create invoices and credit memos with ease Pay bills, prepare payroll, and record sales receipts If you're a small business owner, manager, or employee who utilizes QuickBooks at work, this bestselling guide has answers for all of your business accounting needs.
Publication Date: 2018-11-06
