On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Physics in the Kitchen by
Do you know why honey drips whereas ketchup refuses to budge in the bottle? Or what kettles have in common with power stations, or how to cook with radar? This delightful and accessible book provides a smorgasbord and a whirlwind tour of the multitude of physical phenomena that occur in a kitchen: from the diffusion of nutrients during cooking to how an extractor fan works, how smells disperse, and where quantum effects are hidden. These and numerous other fascinating phenomena are served up in an engaging manner that will fascinate and tantalise the taste buds of anyone who enjoys eating, cooking or simply spending time in the kitchen. No specialist technical or mathematical knowledge is required to enjoy this book. Tuck right in and discover the universe of physical laws in your very own kitchen...
Call Number: QC24.5 .V46 2023
The World According to Physics by
Quantum physicist, New York Times bestselling author, and BBC host Jim Al-Khalili offers a fascinating and illuminating look at what physics reveals about the world Shining a light on the most profound insights revealed by modern physics, Jim Al-Khalili invites us all to understand what this crucially important science tells us about the universe and the nature of reality itself. Al-Khalili begins by introducing the fundamental concepts of space, time, energy, and matter, and then describes the three pillars of modern physics--quantum theory, relativity, and thermodynamics--showing how all three must come together if we are ever to have a full understanding of reality. Using wonderful examples and thought-provoking analogies, Al-Khalili illuminates the physics of the extreme cosmic and quantum scales, the speculative frontiers of the field, and the physics that underpins our everyday experiences and technologies, bringing the reader up to speed with the biggest ideas in physics in just a few sittings. Physics is revealed as an intrepid human quest for ever more foundational principles that accurately explain the natural world we see around us, an undertaking guided by core values such as honesty and doubt. The knowledge discovered by physics both empowers and humbles us, and still, physics continues to delve valiantly into the unknown. Making even the most enigmatic scientific ideas accessible and captivating, this deeply insightful book illuminates why physics matters to everyone and calls one and all to share in the profound adventure of seeking truth in the world around us.
Call Number: QC24.5 .A44 2020
The Physics Behind by
Uncovering the extraordinary science behind everyday life. From the Cloud to static, waterproof clothing and drones, there's a whole world of fascinating science underlying the objects, actions and interactions of ordinary life. The Physics Behind... explains what makes the modern world go 'round by looking at everyday technology, objects in the home, nature and the engineering and science behind things you use every day. Everyday Tech - The Faraday cage; Calculators; Predictive text; Solar panels; Drone delivery Leisure and Lifestyle - CGI; Baked Alaska; Perspective in art; 3-D films; Waterproof clothing; Microwave popcorn; Self-service checkouts Your Home - Static shocks; Wifi technology; Foam; Ring pulls; Refrigeration The Natural World - A fly's eye; Flight patterns of birds; Weather forecasting; Pond skaters; Rainbows Travel - Airbags; Driverless cars; Take-off and landing; Air traffic control Computing - Fingerprint recognition; Google Maps; The Cloud; CT scans; Touch-screen technology; QR codes; Augmented reality; Step counters on smart phones Everything Else - Springs; Night vision; The Doppler effect; Photocopiers; 3-D printing; The perfect igloo; This book. Packed with detailed original artwork and infographics, The Physics Behind... is perfect for anyone who has ever been curious about the science of life.
Call Number: QC24.5 .S93 2018
Physics I by
The fun and easy way to get up to speed on the basic concepts of physics For high school and undergraduate students alike, physics classes are recommended or required courses for a wide variety of majors, and continue to be a challenging and often confusing course. Physics I For Dummies tracks specifically to an introductory course and, keeping with the traditionally easy-to-follow Dummies style, teaches you the basic principles and formulas in a clear and concise manner, proving that you don't have to be Einstein to understand physics! Explains the basic principles in a simple, clear, and entertaining fashion New edition includes updated examples and explanations, as well as the newest discoveries in the field Contains the newest teaching techniques If just thinking about the laws of physics makes your head spin, this hands-on, friendly guide gets you out of the black hole and sheds light on this often-intimidating subject.
Call Number: QC23.2 .H65 2016
College Physics, Volume 1 by
While physics can seem challenging, its true quality is the sheer simplicity of fundamental physical theories--theories and concepts that can enrich your view of the world around you. COLLEGE PHYSICS, Tenth Edition, provides a clear strategy for connecting those theories to a consistent problem-solving approach, carefully reinforcing this methodology throughout the text and connecting it to real-world examples. For students planning to take the MCAT exam, the text includes exclusive test prep and review tools to help you prepare.
Call Number: QC21.3 .C65 2015
College Physics, Volume 2 by
While physics can seem challenging, its true quality is the sheer simplicity of fundamental physical theories--theories and concepts that can enrich your view of the world around you. COLLEGE PHYSICS, Tenth Edition, provides a clear strategy for connecting those theories to a consistent problem-solving approach, carefully reinforcing this methodology throughout the text and connecting it to real-world examples. For students planning to take the MCAT exam, the text includes exclusive test prep and review tools to help you prepare.
Call Number: QC21.3 .C65 2015
Physics for Rock Stars by
The ultimate guide to understanding the universe. These days, it often seems like there's nothing we can count on. Mechanical engineer and proud science geek Christine McKinley has some good advice- Trust the laws of gravity, motion, energy, and entropy. In this funny, smart, and surprisingly practical book, McKinley offers a guided tour of the physical world, explaining everything from sound and light waves to momentum, buoyancy, magnetism, and relativity - and offers advice on how to use them in our everyday lives and more glamorous pursuits. Whether you're a secret agent trying to cover your tracks, a war correspondent ducking into a bomb shelter, or simply trying to execute the perfect stage dive, understanding physics can mean the difference between life and death (or at least looking kind of silly). Part science book, part memoir, and part extreme survival handbook, Physics for Rock Starsis the amazing science class you never had (or don't remember).
Call Number: QC24.5 .M35 2014
The Physics of Superheroes by
A complete update to the hit book on the real physics at work in comic books, featuring more heroes, more villains, and more science Since 2001, James Kakalios has taught "Everything I Needed to Know About Physics I Learned from Reading Comic Books," a hugely popular university course that generated coast-to-coast media attention for its unique method of explaining complex physics concepts through comics. With The Physics of Superheroes, named one of the best science books of 2005 by Discover, he introduced his colorful approach to an even wider audience. Now Kakalios presents a totally updated, expanded edition that features even more superheroes and findings from the cutting edge of science. With three new chapters and completely revised throughout with a splashy, redesigned package, the book that explains why Spider-Man's webbing failed his girlfriend, the probable cause of Krypton's explosion, and the Newtonian physics at work in Gotham City is electrifying from cover to cover.
Call Number: QC23.2 .K35 2009
Streaming Video
- The Physics Behind The Football ThrowA physicist explains the science behind a tight spiral pass down the field.
Databases
- Science Database
Articles on both the applied and general sciences like aerospace, computers, transportation, and biology.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals on science, technology, and medicine for advanced research.
OER Resources
- Classical Mechanics
from InTech - The Basics of Physics
from Boundless Physics - The Laws of Motionfrom Boundless Physics
Library Catalog
Online From CCBC Libraries
Philosophy of Physics: a Very Short Introduction by
Very Short Introductions: Brilliant, Sharp, InspiringPhilosophy of physics is concerned with the deepest theories of modern physics - notably quantum theory, our theories of space, time and symmetry, and thermal physics - and their strange, even bizarre conceptual implications. A deeper understanding of these theories helps both physics, throughpointing the way to new theories and new applications, and philosophy, through seeing how our worldview has to change in the light of what we learn from physics.This Very Short Introduction explores the core topics in philosophy of physics through three key themes. The first - the nature of space, time, and motion - begins by considering the philosophical puzzles that led Isaac Newton to propose the existence of absolute space, and then discusses how thosepuzzles change - but do not disappear - in the context of the revolutions in our understanding of space and time that came first from special, and then from general, relativity. The second - the emergence of irreversible behavior in statistical mechanics - considers how the microscopic laws ofphysics, which know of no distinction between past and future, can be compatible with the melting of ice, the cooling of coffee, the passing of youth, and all the other ways in which the large-scale world distinguishes past from future. The last section discusses quantum theory - the foundation ofmost of modern physics, yet mysterious to this day. It explains just why quantum theory is so difficult to make sense of, how we might nonetheless attempt to do it, and why the question has been highly relevant to the development of physics, and continues to be so.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Publication Date: 2021
Principles of Physics by
This new resource introduces students and researchers to the fundamentals of physics. Entries are written in easy-to-understand language, so readers can use these entries as a solid starting-off point to develop a thorough understanding of this oftentimes confusing subject matter.
Publication Date: 2016
50 Physics Ideas You Really Need to Know by
"We encounter physics before we've even left the house in the morning; an alarm clock tracks time, a mirror reflects light waves and our mobile phones rely on satellites held in their orbit by gravity. Where would we be without the Bernoulli equation to explain how planes fly, electromagnetic waves enabling us to communicate around the world or the discovery of X-rays? In 50 Physics Ideas You Really Need to Know Joanne Baker will uncover the physics all around us, from basic concepts like gravity, light and energy through to the complexities of quantum theory, chaos and dark energy. Featuring short biographies of iconic physicists, explanatory diagrams and timelines showing discoveries within their historical context, this book is the perfect guide to the fundamental concepts of physics, making even the most challenging theories easy to understand. Contents include: Newton's law of gravitation, Brownian motion, Chaos theory, Fleming's right hand rule, Planck's law, Heisenberg's uncertainty principle, Schrodinger's cat, Superconductivity, Rutherford's atom, Nuclear fission and fusion, The God particle, String theory, Special and general relativity, The big bang and the Anthropic principle."--publisher's description.
Publication Date: 2014
Physics Olympiad by
This book contains some of the problems and solutions in the past domestic theoretical and experimental competitions in Japan for the International Physics Olympiad. Through the exercises, we aim at introducing the appeal and interest of modern physics to high-school students. In particular, the problems for the second-round of competition are like long journey of physics, beginning with fundamental physics of junior-high-school level, and ending with the forefronts of updated physics and technology
Publication Date: 2014
Physics Terminology by
Essential terminology for Physics study pulled together in one guide to maximize success in College and High School courses. Succinct definitions by our resident Harvard Ph.D., Chemistry author and professor ensure the usefulness of this handy guide from high school to college.
Publication Date: 2013
