Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
A Student's Guide to Atomic Physics by
This concise and accessible book provides a detailed introduction to the fundamental principles of atomic physics at an undergraduate level. Concepts are explained in an intuitive way and the book assumes only a basic knowledge of quantum mechanics and electromagnetism. With a compact format specifically designed for students, the first part of the book covers the key principles of the subject, including the quantum theory of the hydrogen atom, radiative transitions, the shell model of multi-electron atoms, spin-orbit coupling, and the effects of external fields. The second part provides an introduction to the four key applications of atomic physics: lasers, cold atoms, solid-state spectroscopy and astrophysics. This highly pedagogical text includes worked examples and end of chapter problems to allow students to test their knowledge, as well as numerous diagrams of key concepts, making it perfect for undergraduate students looking for a succinct primer on the concepts and applications of atomic physics.
Call Number: QC173 .F675 2018
The Facts on File Dictionary of Atomic and Nuclear Physics by
This dictionary contains over 2000 entries dealing with the terms used in atomic and nuclear physics. The entries are written in a concise style, with cross-references. The work covers modern research and discoveries in particle physics as well as questions of philosophical interest and applications for nuclear physics in nuclear energy and nuclear medicine. In addition, relevant material to the AP Physics course and the AP Chemistry course is included.
Call Number: QC772 .F33 2003
Atom Land by
Journey into an unseen world--and to the frontiers of human knowledge Welcome to Atom Land, the impossibly small world of quantum physics. With award-winning physicist Jon Butterworth as your guide, you'll set sail from Port Electron in search of strange new terrain. Each discovery will expand the horizons of your trusty map--from the Hadron Island to the Isle of Quarks and beyond. Just beware of Dark Energy and other sea monsters! A masterful work of metaphor, Atom Land also gives form to the forces that shape the universe: Electromagnetism is a highway system; the strong force, a railway; the weak force, an airline. But, like Butterworth, you may find that curiosity is the strongest force of all--one that pulls you across the subatomic seas, toward the unknown realm of Antimatter, and to the very outer reaches of the cosmos.
Call Number: QC793.26 .B747 2018
Streaming Video
- The Atom and UsAction-packed tour through the history of one of the most controversial subjects of the 20th century – nuclear power – as told by those who experienced it first-hand. Focusing on events in the US, UK, France and Germany, it charts its social and political development from the early days of post-war atomic euphoria, through to the struggling ‘nuclear renaissance’ of the present day.
Online Article Archives
- Atomic Physics
from Science Direct - Atomic and Molecular Physics
from Nature.com - Nuclear Physicsfrom Nature.com
Websites
- Nuclear Physics
from the Office of Science, Department of Energy
Online From CCBC Libraries
Advances in Atomic Physics by
This book presents a comprehensive overview of the spectacular advances seen in atomic physics during the last 50 years.
Publication Date: 2011
An Introduction to Nuclear Physics by
This clear and concise introduction to nuclear physics provides an excellent basis for a core undergraduate course in this area. The book opens by setting nuclear physics in the context of elementary particle physics and then shows how simple models can provide an understanding of the properties of nuclei, both in their ground states and excited states, and also of the nature of nuclear reactions. The book also includes chapters on nuclear fission, its application in nuclear power reactors, the role of nuclear physics in energy production and nucleosynthesis in stars. This second edition contains several additional topics: muon-catalysed fusion, the nuclear and neutrino physics of supernovae, neutrino mass and neutrino oscillations, and the biological effects of radiation. A knowledge of basic quantum mechanics and special relativity is assumed. Appendices deal with other more specialized topics. Each chapter ends with a set of problems for which outline solutions are provided.
Publication Date: \
Seventy Years of Double Beta Decay by
This book presents the breathtaking manner in which achievements in particle physics have been made from a nuclear physics process. Consisting of a 150-page highly factual overview of the field of double beta decay and a 1200-page collection of the most important original articles, the book outlines the development of double beta decay research - theoretical and experimental - from its humble beginnings until its most recent achievements, with its revolutionary consequences for the theory of particle physics. It further presents an outlook on the exciting future of the field.
Publication Date: 2008
Databases
- Science Database
Articles on both the applied and general sciences like aerospace, computers, transportation, and biology.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals on science, technology, and medicine for advanced research.
