Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Introduction to Magnetism and Magnetic Materials by
A long overdue update, this edition of Introduction to Magnetism and Magnetic Materials is a complete revision of its predecessor. While it provides relatively minor updates to the first two sections, the third section contains vast updates to reflect the enormous progress made in applications in the past 15 years, particularly in magnetic recording. The book includes significant updates to soft magnetic materials, hard magnetic materials, magnetic data storage, and magnetic evaluation of materials. It also adds new information on magneto-transport, small particles, nanomagnetism, magnetic semiconductors, spintronics, and high-frequency magnetism. See What's New in the Third Edition New coverage of applications of magnetism and magnetic materials, especially in magnetic recording Additional exercises with complete worked-out solutions at the end of the book Updated references at the end of each chapter The book adopts an unusual but effectively focused question-answer framework. Each major head is introduced by a question followed by an attempt to answer. This approach maintains attention to the subject matter at hand and clarifies the objective of each section without needless digression. Each chapter also features updated and new exercise problems, accompanied by a solutions manual at the back of the book. This edition gives you an excellent introduction to the key and current theories, practices, and applications of magnetics and magnetic materials.
Call Number: QC753.2 .J55 2016
A Kitchen Course in Electricity and Magnetism by
Electricity is all around us: cars, telephones, computers, lights -- the modern world runs entirely on electrons. But what are electrons? How do they behave? How do we control them? This book will show you how to build a battery, detect static electricity and construct a basic current meter, all using common items from your kitchen. Along the way you'll learn about the meaning of "voltage" and "current", what makes an LED work and the difference between AC and DC. The last chapter uses transistors -- the basic building blocks of every computer -- for lots of interesting experiments. With plenty of colorful illustrations, historical stories and an easy, accessible style, "A Kitchen Course in Electricity and Magnetism" will be a great start for budding and amateur scientists who want to learn more about how the world works.
Call Number: QC527 .N544 2015
Electricity and Magnetism by
For 50 years, Edward M. Purcell's classic textbook has introduced students to the world of electricity and magnetism. The third edition has been brought up to date and is now in SI units. It features hundreds of new examples, problems, and figures, and contains discussions of real-life applications. The textbook covers all the standard introductory topics, such as electrostatics, magnetism, circuits, electromagnetic waves, and electric and magnetic fields in matter. Taking a nontraditional approach, magnetism is derived as a relativistic effect. Mathematical concepts are introduced in parallel with the physics topics at hand, making the motivations clear. Macroscopic phenomena are derived rigorously from the underlying microscopic physics. With worked examples, hundreds of illustrations, and nearly 600 end-of-chapter problems and exercises, this textbook is ideal for electricity and magnetism courses. Solutions to the exercises are available for instructors at www.cambridge.org/Purcell-Morin.
Call Number: QC522 .P85 2013
Electricity and Magnetism by
Although electricity and magnetism seem to be two different things, they are actually deeply connected. Without both of these forces working together, we would not have automobiles, computers, or many of the other devices that we use every day. In Electricity and Magnetism, readers will learn about the different concepts of electricity, magnetism, and electromagnetism, as well as how electric currents and circuits, electric motors, and electric generators have changed our world forever.
Call Number: QC527 .L49 2011
Websites
- Electricity and Magnetism
from Ideas of Physics homepage, Northwestern University
Streaming Video
- Electricity and MagnetismThis program traces the relationship between magnetism and electricity from the first accidental discovery of induced current. The concepts of electric and magnetic fields are introduced and their representation explored. The features of coils and solenoids are examined to develop the construction of practical electromechanical devices such as solenoid switches and electromagnets. Hand rules are introduced to help determine the alignment of currents and fields. Specific modules include Electric Fields, Magnetism, Magnetic Fields, Electromagnetism, Left-Hand Rule, Electric Coils, Solenoids, Solenoid Switches, and Electromagnets. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Shopware Production. (21 minutes)
- ElectricitySteve Spangler has experiments you can do at home, all based on the science of electricity.
OER Resources
- Electric Current
from Boundless Physics - Magnetism and Magnetic Fieldfrom Boundless Physics
Online Articles
- Using electricity to switch magnetism
Science Daily, January 18, 2018
Online From CCBC Libraries
Magnetism: a Very Short Introduction by
Magnetism is a strange force, mysteriously attracting one object to another apparently through empty space. It has been claimed as a great healer, with magnetic therapies being proposed over the centuries and still popular today. Why are its mysterious important to solve?In this Very Short Introduction, Stephen J. Blundell explains why. For centuries magnetism has been used for various exploits; through compasses it gave us navigation and through motors, generators, and turbines it has given us power. Blundell explores our understanding of electricity and magnetism,from the work of Galvani, Ampere, Faraday, and Tesla, and goes on to explore how Maxwell and Faraday's work led to the unification of electricity and magnetism, thought of as one of the most imaginative developments in theoretical physics.With a discussion of the relationship between magnetism and relativity, quantum magnetism, and its impact on computers and information storage, Blundell shows how magnetism has changed our fundamental understanding of the Universe.
Publication Date: 2012
Green Electricity by
This fascinating book explores the pros and cons of the top 25 green electricity technologies, illuminating how each technology works and detailing the key hurdles each emerging energy strategy has to overcome before it becomes a viable option. * Suggests a low or no-cost activity, research project, or demonstration that students can undertake for each energy technology topic * Contains content specifically written for intermediate and middle school audiences * Provides inquiry and discussion questions to engage students' critical thinking skills * Includes a list of "For Further Reading" suggestions with every entry
Publication Date: 2011
A Paradigm Called Magnetism by
This book provides an overview of how diverse issues of Magnetism have implications for other areas of physics. Attention will be drawn to different aspects of many-body physics, which first appeared in Magnetism but have had deep impact in different branches of physics. Each of these aspects will be illustrated schematically and in terms of physical examples, chosen from multicritical phenomena, quantum phase transition, spin glasses, relaxation, phase ordering and quantum dissipation. A unique feature of this book is a unified and coherent discussion of magnetic phenomena, presented in a lucid and pedagogical manner.
Publication Date: 2008
Databases
- Science Database
Articles on both the applied and general sciences like aerospace, computers, transportation, and biology.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals on science, technology, and medicine for advanced research.
