It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990 by Nicolas SlonimskyA valuable addition to the "Baker's Biographical Dictionary family, this A-Z biographical reference includes more than 550 entries focusing on artists active from 1990-2003. Individual artists and groups in all popular styles are covered, including those in rock, rhythm and blues, rap, country, electronica, jazz, vocal and crossover classical. Features include select discographies, bibliographies, a glossary of musical terms, a table of best-selling music since 1990 and more.
Publication Date: 2004-07-01
Basic Elements of Music by Michael J. PagliaroBasic Elements of Music introduces readers to a wide range of knowledge essential for a well-rounded understanding of music. This primer surveys the history of music and the composers who made that history; the history of instrument families and how the instruments function; an introduction to the science of sound and sound production; the various types of ensembles; and the fundamentals of music theory, form in music, musical notation, and music vocabulary. Accessible, yet detailed and comprehensive, Michael Pagliaro's handbook is an excellent guide for music lovers, instructors, and students in any music program. As an introduction to music for the layman, a refresher for music teachers planning lessons, or an enrichment source for professional musicians seeking broader music knowledge, this book is an invaluable addition to any library.
Call Number: ML460 .P3115 2016
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Ruth M. Stone (Editor)Explores key themes in African music that have emerged in recent years-a subject usually neglected in country-by-country coverage emphasizes the contexts of musical performance-unlike studies that offer static interpretations isolated from other performing traditions presents the fresh insights and analyses of musicologists and anthropologists of diverse national origins-African, Asian, European, and American Charts the flow and influence of music. The Encyclopedia also charts the musical interchanges that followed the movement of people and ideas across the continent, including: cross-regional musical influences throughout Africa * Islam and its effect on African music * spread of guitar music * Kru mariners of Liberia * Latin American influences on African music * musical interchanges in local contexts * crossovers between popular and traditional practices. Audio CD included. Also includes nine maps and 96 music examples.
Call Number: ML100.G16
Glitter up the Dark by Sasha GeffenFrom the Beatles to Prince to Perfume Genius, Glitter Up the Dark takes a historical look at the voices that transcended gender and the ways music has subverted the gender binary. Why has music so often served as an accomplice to transcendent expressions of gender? Why did the query "is he musical?" become code, in the twentieth century, for "is he gay?" Why is music so inherently queer? For Sasha Geffen, the answers lie, in part, in music's intrinsic quality of subliminal expression, which, through paradox and contradiction, allows rigid gender roles to fall away in a sensual and ambiguous exchange between performer and listener. Glitter Up the Dark traces the history of this gender fluidity in pop music from the early twentieth century to the present day. Starting with early blues and the Beatles and continuing with performers such as David Bowie, Prince, Missy Elliot, and Frank Ocean, Geffen explores how artists have used music, fashion, language, and technology to break out of the confines mandated by gender essentialism and establish the voice as the primary expression of gender transgression. From glam rock and punk to disco, techno, and hip-hop, music helped set the stage for today's conversations about trans rights and recognition of nonbinary and third-gender identities. Glitter Up the Dark takes a long look back at the path that led here.
Call Number: ML3470 .G44 2020
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by Don Michael RandelA standard, desk-size comprehensive dictionary. The Harvard Dictionary of Music is the single most indispensable reference work for musicians, students of music, and music lovers. Seventy scholars have contributed nearly 6000 specially commissioned entries to produce what is simply the best one-volume music dictionary available today.
Publication Date: 2004
The History of Jazz by Ted GioiaAn updated new edition of Ted Gioia's universally acclaimed history of jazz, with a wealth of new insight on this music's past, present, and future.Ted Gioia's The History of Jazz has been universally hailed as the most comprehensive and accessible history of the genre of all time. Acclaimed by jazz critics and fans alike, this magnificent work is now available in an up-to-date third edition that covers the latest developments in the jazz worldand revisits virtually every aspect of the music.Gioia's story of jazz brilliantly portrays the most legendary jazz players, the breakthrough styles, and the scenes in which they evolved. From Louis Armstrong and Duke Ellington at the Cotton Club, Miles Davis's legendary 1955 performance at the Newport Jazz Festival, and Ornette Coleman'sexperiments with atonality to current innovators such as Kamasi Washington and Esperanza Spalding, Gioia takes readers on a sweeping journey through the history of jazz. As he traces the music through the swamp lands of the Mississippi Delta, the red light district of New Orleans, the rent partiesof Harlem, the speakeasies of Chicago, and other key locales of jazz history, Gioia also makes the social contexts in which the music was born come alive.This new edition finally brings the often overlooked women who shaped the genre into the spotlight and traces the recent developments that have led to an upswing of jazz in contemporary mainstream culture. As it chronicles jazz from its beginnings and most iconic figures to its latest dialogues withpopular music, the developments of the digital age, and new commercial successes, Gioia's History of Jazz reasserts its status as the most authoritative survey of this fascinating music.
Call Number: ML3506 .G54 2021
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Stanley Sadie (Editor)Now available in a deluxe paperback edition, The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians is the world's greatest music encyclopedia. This unique 20-volume set is packed with over 18,000 pages of information on the history and development of music, instruments, musical forms and terms,musical cities and institutions, and, above all, thousands of eminent composers and performers. The text is fully illustrated with photographs, drawings and musical examples, and all major articles include extensive bibliographies. Entries on composers are accompanied by detailed lists ofcompositions, which, for example, list the precise instrumentation required for many compositions. These acclaimed worklists alone are a valuable resource for today's musician.The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians includes:* Ancient, Medieval, and Renaissance music--insights on composers as well as new appraisals of theorists, philosophers, and chroniclers. It explores early musical rites, forms, styles and genres, and the social and historical forces that shaped the music of these eras* Composers--the first aim of Music and Musicians is to tell you virtually everything you will want to know about the people who have been writing music, from ancient times onwards* Ethnomusicology--discover Polynesian chants, Uzbek teahouse ensembles, Xhosa wedding songs, cowboy laments, modern protest songs, and other manifestations of non-western and folk music* Forms and genres--harmony, counterpoint, rhythm and melody--the basic materials of music. Symphony, opera, cantata, concerto, motet, oratorio and sonata--these and other genres are surveyed historically and their repertoires outlined* Performers--Music and Musicians covers influential figures from the world of popular music, jazz and opera; it explores the lives of patrons and poets, novelists and scientists, dancers and instrument makers, everyone whose work influences music* Places and institutions--travel from London to Vienna, Dresden to Osaka, Paris to Pittsburgh. Explore top musical arenas such as Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, and Covent Garden
Articles about many topics for more advanced research.
NOW find articles published prior to 1923 in the U.S. and prior to 1870 elsewhere. This includes nearly 500,000 articles, many are primary documents.
Evolution of Music
Complete Symphonies in Full Score by Hans Gal (Editor); Johannes BrahmsThis volume reproduces, complete and unabridged, the scores of all four symphonies of Johannes Brahms, from the Vienna Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde Edition edited by Hans G#65533;l. Included are Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 68; Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 73; Symphony No. 3 in F Major, Op. 90; and Symphony No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 98. Do not confuse this with a piano rendering; it is a full orchestral score. In addition to its obvious uses for study, this score is also an indispensable associate for anyone listening to record sets or broadcasts. In no other manner can the listener appreciate the full orchestral richness of these works.
Call Number: M1001 .B8 G3 1974
Five Orchestral Pieces and Pelleas und Melisande in Full Score by Arnold SchoenbergPerhaps more than any other composer of his time, Arnold Schoenberg (1874–1951) influenced the course of twentieth-century music. His compositional style moved progressively from lush, late Wagnerian chromaticism to a complete break with traditional tonality, later organized theoretically as "composition with twelve tones." This systematic control of all pitches evolved into a similar serialization of all of music's elements — a revolutionary advance that dominated international composition through most of this century. This edition of two of Schoenberg's most important orchestral works invites music lovers into the first steps of the revolution he helped bring about. The symphonic poem Pelleas und Melisande (1902), based on Maurice Maeterlinck's play, reveals Schoenberg's expanding chromatic language. The Five Orchestral Pieces (1909) demonstrates the composer's daring exploration of a music that renounces motivic connections as well as tonality. Both of these groundbreaking works are presented here in authoritative editions.
The Rock Music Collection by Shane Theriot; Alfred Music Staff (Contribution by)Contents include: After Midnight * Basket Case * Change the World * Come to My Window * A Horse with No Name * Hotel California * Jack & Diane * Light My Fire * Longview * More Than Words * Stairway to Heaven * Streets of Philadelphia * Stupid Girl * Tears in Heaven * Til I Hear It from You * The World I Know and many more!
Call Number: M1630.18 .R636 1998 OVERSIZED
Selected Songs for Solo Voice and Piano by Stanley Appelbaum (Translator); Robert SchumannThe year 1840 proved a momentous one for Robert Schumann: after an interval of twelve years, he resumed writing songs, producing some 150 vocal compositions within the year; and in September, after a long and stormy courtship, he married his beloved Clara Wieck. During this period, Schumann’s biographers represent him as being “caught in a tempest of song,” transfiguring the emotions aroused by his love for Clara into a splendid outpouring of sublime music for voice and piano. Much of that music is reproduced in this collection — comprising over 100 of Schumann’s greatest lieder. Selections include: Liederkreis (Heine), Op. 24 Liederkreis (Eichendorff), Op. 39 Myrthen, Op. 25 Zw#65533;lf Gedichte von Justinus Kerner, Op. 35 Sechs Gedichte von Reinick, Op. 36 Frauenliebe und Leben, Op. 42 Dichterliebe, Op. 48 Individual Songs (17) In his work, Schumann embodied a tradition of German musical romanticism, emphasizing self-expression, lyricism, and extra-musical (e.g., literary) association. Thus we find here songs set to the poetry of Heine, Goethe, Burns, Byron, Moore, J. von Eichendorff, Adelbert von Chamisso, Emanuel Geibel, and others. Those who would know Schumann’s work most intimately will be especially interested in Myrthen, a 26-song cycle (liederkreis) dedicated “to his beloved bride.” Of these songs Schumann remarked, “… the Myrthen certainly allow a deeper insight into my inner musical workings.” Of the songs in general, Grove’s Dictionary offers this comment: “… the songs are not only piano pieces with another dimension, an additional tone-col∨ they are explicit, whereas the piano pieces are reserved. The lyrical element is set free and its emotional content made precise.” Complementing the music, this volume contains alphabetical listings of song titles, song openings and poets, and a glossary of German musical terms. New translations of the song texts have been specially prepared for this edition. The music has been reproduced directly from the authoritative Breitkopf and H#65533;rtel edition of 1882-87, edited by Clara Schumann. As a composer of art songs, Schumann ranks among the greatest masters; this inexpensive collection makes the songs widely available to students, singers, musicians — any admirer of romanticism made manifest in exquisite matchings of words and music.
Call Number: M1620 .S39
Symphonies Nos. 5, 6 and 7 in Full Score by Ludwig van BeethovenBeethoven's symphonies are among this greatest works — in the opinion of many, the greatest orchestral compositions in the history of music. Perfect in their fusion of emotion and form, filled with drama and great beauty, they are among the best-known and best-loved works in all classical music. This volume contains complete scores for Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67; Symphony No. 6 in F Major ("Pastoral"), Op. 68; Symphony No. 7 in A Major, Op. 92. Meticulously reproduced from the authoritative Litolff edition, each score features large, clear noteheads and wide margins for ease of use in studying and following the music. Far less expensive than comparable full-score editions, this volume belongs in the library of any music lover who wishes to study the masterly innovation and creativity Beethoven brought to the symphonic form.
Classical 101's podcasts are entertaining and informative. Listen to get the CliffsNotes of an upcoming The Met Opera Live in HD Opera, a discussion with the leader of a local orchestra or getting to know Mozart a little better.
U.S. Branch of the International Association of Music Libraries, Archives, and Documentation Centers.
A Short History of Opera by Donald Jay Grout; Hermine Weigel Williams; Donald J. GroutWhen first published in 1947, A Short History of Opera immediately achieved international status as a classic in the field. Now, more than five decades later, this thoroughly revised and expanded fourth edition informs and entertains opera lovers just as its predecessors have. The fourth edition incorporates new scholarship that traces the most important developments in the evolution of musical drama. After surveying anticipations of the operatic form in the lyric theater of the Greeks, medieval dramatic music, and other forerunners, the book reveals the genre's beginnings in the seventeenth century and follows its progress to the present day. A Short History of Opera examines not only the standard performance repertoire, but also works considered important for the genre's development. Its expanded scope investigates opera from Eastern European countries and Finland. The section on twentieth-century opera has been reorganized around national operatic traditions including a chapter devoted solely to opera in the United States, which incorporates material on the American musical and ties between classical opera and popular musical theater. A separate section on Chinese opera is also included. With an extensive multilanguage bibliography, more than one hundred musical examples, and stage illustrations, this authoritative one-volume survey will be invaluable to students and serious opera buffs. New fans will also find it highly accessible and informative. Extremely thorough in its coverage, A Short History of Opera is now more than ever the book to turn to for anyone who wants to know about the history of this art form.
Call Number: ML1700.G83
Publication Date: 2003-07-18
The Story of Music by Howard GoodallMusic is an intrinsic part of everyday life, and yet the history of its development from single notes to multi-layered orchestration can seem bewilderingly complex.In his dynamic tour through 40,000 years of music, from prehistoric instruments to modern-day pop, Howard Goodall leads us through the story of music as it happened, idea by idea, so that each musical innovation--harmony, notation, sung theatre, the orchestra, dance music, recording--strikes us with its original force. Along the way, he also gives refreshingly clear descriptions of what music is and how it works: what scales are all about, why some chords sound discordant, and what all post-war pop songs have in common.The story of music is the story of our urge to invent, connect, rebel--and entertain. Howard Goodall's beautifully clear and compelling account is both a hymn to human endeavor and a groundbreaking map of our musical journey.
Call Number: ML160 .G58 2014
Understanding Music by Jeremy YudkinFor one semester/quarter undergraduate-level courses in Music Appreciation. Understanding Music teaches students what to listen for in music. Jeremy Yudkin's text is a rich music appreciation program that supports the instructor's ultimate goal of teaching active listening. By focusing on music of the Western tradition in its social, historical, and global context, this text engages students in an active listening experience of music through a lively narrative and innovative activities all supported by accompanying CD recordings, web-based listening, and listening guides.