It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Anthology for Musical Analysis by Charles BurkhartThis landmark collection of over 200 complete musical compositions and movements, ranging in time from the Middle Ages to the present, contains a large and varied body of music for study. In addition to providing ample material for both a full-year course in the analysis of musical forms and a one-semester course in twentieth-century techniques, the book offers first- and second-year music theory classes a wealth of illustrations of chords, voice-leading techniques, and forms--plus some material for figured-bass realization and score reading. Because the book consists primarily of music and takes no theoretical position, it is adaptable to any theoretical approach and to any type of curriculum, including those that combine theory study with music literature and the history of musical style.
Call Number: MT6.5 .A55 2004
Listening to Music by Craig M. WrightLISTENING TO MUSIC covers all the major topics of a typical music appreciation course, but adds two important pedagogical advantages: one, a CD in each student copy of the text contains all of the music discussed in Chapters 1-3, which covers the elements (or "fundamentals") of music, and two, listening exercises in the text. Chronologically ordered, this text covers traditional Western music from medieval to modern. Concluding chapters discuss popular and world music. Musical examples from each historical period are discussed within their social context.
Understanding Music by Jeremy YudkinFor one semester/quarter undergraduate-level courses in Music Appreciation. Understanding Music teaches students what to listen for in music. Jeremy Yudkin's text is a rich music appreciation program that supports the instructor's ultimate goal of teaching active listening. By focusing on music of the Western tradition in its social, historical, and global context, this text engages students in an active listening experience of music through a lively narrative and innovative activities all supported by accompanying CD recordings, web-based listening, and listening guides.
Call Number: MT6.Y86 U53 2007
What to Listen for in Music by Aaron CoplandLISTEN WITH INTELLIGENCE. Whether they listen to Mozart or Duke Ellington, Aaron Copland invites you to ask two basic questions- Are they hearing everything that is going on? Are you really being sensitive to it? If you cannot answer yes to both questions, you owe it to yourself to read this book. With his provocative suggestions, Copland guides you through a deeper appreciation of the most rewarding of all art forms. This classic work, the only book of its kind written by an eminent American compser, features- Chapters on contemporary music and film music Recommended recordings for each chapter A selected list of books for further reading and reference In this edition, leading music critic Alan Rich continues Copland's discussion of contemporary music for today's listeners and traces the composer's success in bringing music lovers 'closer to the magical mysteries of the music we can hear and want to hear better.' 'By far the best thing of its kind yet to appear.' - Modern Music 'One of the most helpful, sensible, and enjoyable discourses on the subject ever published.' - Victor Record Review WITH FOREWORD AND AN EPILOGUE BY ALAN RICH AND A NEW APPRECIATION BY LEONARD SLATKIN
ASCAP is a membership association of more than 790,000 songwriters, composers and music publishers. We uphold the value of our members’ music, and help them thrive alongside the businesses that use their music every day.
The mission of the International Musicological Society (IMS) is to connect every musicologist to the world community of musicology by embracing the study of music in all its diversity and advancing musicological research across the globe in a spirit of cooperation and collaboration.
The Society for American Music is dedicated to the study, teaching, creation, and dissemination of all musics in the Americas. As a scholarly, collegial, and inclusive organization, we serve a wide and diverse array of academics, librarians, composers, performers and members of the general public.
Articles about many topics for more advanced research.
NOW find articles published prior to 1923 in the U.S. and prior to 1870 elsewhere. This includes nearly 500,000 articles, many are primary documents.
Online from CCBC
A Handbook for Beginning Choral Educators by Walter Lamble""This book comes from a very fine music educator with exceptional experience, who has common sense and a real understanding of what a beginning teacher should know. The book puts into print issues that are widely discussed at conventions and at conferences, and that are common knowledge for the experienced teacher, but that are not covered in a music education class. It is a plain and simple book, written in a language that is easy for anyone going into the profession to understand. It makes valuable suggestions in just about every aspect of the role of a choral music teacher."" -- Michael Schwartzkopf, Professor of Music Education, Indiana University School of Music
Publication Date: 2004-05-26
Karaoke Idols by Kevin BrownMost ethnographers don't achieve what Kevin Brown did while conducting their research: in his two years spent at a karaoke bar near Denver, Colorado, he went from barely able to carry a tune to someone whom other karaoke patrons requested to sing. Along the way, he learned everything you might ever want to know about karaoke and the people who enjoy it. The result is Karaoke Idols, a close ethnography of life at a karaoke bar that reveals just what we are doing when we take up the mic - and how we shape our identities, especially in terms of gender, ethnicity, and class, through performances in everyday life. Marrying a comprehensive introduction to the history of public singing and karaoke with a rich analysis of karaoke performers and the community that their shared performances generate, Karaoke Idols is a book for both the casual reader and the scholar: a fascinating exploration of our urge to perform and the intersection of technology and culture that makes it so seductively easy to do so.
Performance of 16th-Century Music by Anne SmithMost modern performers, trained on the performance practices of the Classical and Romantic periods, come to the music of the Renaissance with well-honed but anachronistic ideas. Fundamental differences between 16th-century repertoire and that of later epochs thus tend to be overlooked-yet it is just these differences which can make a performance truly stunning.The Performance of 16th-Century Music will enable the performer to better understand this music and advance their technical and expressive abilities. Early music specialist Anne Smith outlines several major areas of technical knowledge and skill needed to perform the music of this period. She takes readers through the significance of part-book notation; solmization; rhythmic flexibility; and elements of structure in relation to rhetoric of the time; while familiarizing them with contemporary criteria and standards of excellence for performance. Through The Performance of 16th-Century Music, today's musicians will gain fundamental insight into how 16th-century polyphony functions, and the tools necessary to perform this repertoire to its fullest, most glorious potential.
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Play It from the Heart by J. Steven MoorePlay it from the Heart uses stories and concepts from music education as models for success. Making music together requires exceptional cooperation, and ensembles are the ultimate cooperative organizations. J. Steven Moore relates what he and his students have learned about excellence, leadership, responsibility, cooperation, and passion from being in the band.
Publication Date: 2011-06-24
A Song to Save the Salish Sea by Mark PedeltyOn the coast of Washington and British Columbia sit the misty forests and towering mountains of Cascadia. With archipelagos surrounding its shores and tidal surges of the Salish Sea trundling through the interior, this bioregion has long attracted loggers, fishing fleets, and land developers, each generation seeking successively harder to reach resources as old-growth stands, salmon stocks, and other natural endowments are depleted. Alongside encroaching developers and industrialists is the presence of a rich environmental movement that has historically built community through musical activism. From the Wobblies' Little Red Songbook (1909) to Woody Guthrie's Columbia River Songs (1941) on through to the Raging Grannies' formation in 1987, Cascadia's ecology has inspired legions of songwriters and musicians to advocate for preservation through music. In this book, Mark Pedelty explores Cascadia's vibrant eco-musical community in order to understand how environmentalist music imagines, and perhaps even creates, a more sustainable conception of place. Highlighting the music and environmental work of such various groups as Dana Lyons, the Raging Grannies, Idle No More, Towers and Trees, and Irthlingz, among others, Pedelty examines the divergent strategies--musical, organizational, and technological--used by each musical group to reach different audiences and to mobilize action. He concludes with a discussion of "applied ecomusicology," considering ways this book might be of use to activists and musicians at the community level.
Publication Date: 2016-10-03
Tanglewood II by Anthony J. Palmer (Editor); Andre de Quadros (Editor)The culmination of a series of events held over two years by leading music educators in an homage to the famous Tanglewood symposium of 1967, this study prods the profession to examine what the future of music education is. It provokes a reevaluation of present programs and philosophies and tired methodologies while reinvigorating the role music educators play in the lives of their students. As the contributors explore the role of music, what it communicates, and what the impact of world music should be, they tackle questions such as, What is the latest research about nature versus nurture and its impact on music learning? How does the child-teacher relationship affect learning? and How does technology impact music learning, and what are the implications of future technologies? among others. Tanglewood II seeks to reenergize and reimagine the concept of music education and its impact on society.