It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Musical Arts and Education: Musical Instruments and Voice
The Billboard Illustrated Musical by Lucien Jenkins (Editor); Evelyn Glennie (Foreword by)From tubas to theremins... a complete reference for musicians and music lovers Comprehensive, authoritative, and stunningly illustrated,The Billboard Illustrated Musical Instruments Handbookis the only up-to-the-minute guide to musical instruments on the market today. Every music student and composer, every family and music store, every school and home needs this accessible book, packed with more than 400 pictures and information on a vast array of instruments. Instruments are organized by type—percussion, wind, brass, stringed, keyboards, electric and electronic, innovations and inspirations—and also include historical context. Each entry describes the personality, history, and sound of the instrument, whether it’s a violin or a steel drum, an accordion or an Ondes-Martenot. Don’t settle for a piano when a piece really cries out for a Peruvian trumpet! Find the right instrument for every score withThe Billboard Illustrated Musical Instruments Handbook. • The only up-to-the-minute encyclopedia of musical instruments • More than 400 full-color pictures • Great for students, composers, anyone who loves music
Call Number: ML460.S24 H5 2006
Brass Instruments by Anthony BainesIn this readable, well-researched history, a distinguished authority on musical instruments offers a concise survey of the evolution of trumpets, trombones, bugles, cornets, French horns, tubas, and other brass wind instruments. The story begins with such primitive contrivances as bark trumpets, conch shells and perforated animal horns, bronze trumpets used by the ancient Danes and Celts, large Roman horns, and other devices. During the medieval period, a large number of curved instruments or horns of various shapes and sizes developed, including trumpets, looped horns, the sackbut (forerunner of the trombone) and others, while the Renaissance saw the introduction of the slide trumpet. In the nineteenth century, the advent of valved instruments ushered in yet another new era. In this extensively revised and updated edition, Mr. Baines documents the various states of the evolution of brass instruments with immense learning and a wealth of detail. The text is supplemented by over 140 black-and-white illustrations as well as 48 music examples. The result is a scholarly yet accessible account that remains an indispensable resource for any brass player or music historian.
Call Number: ML933 .B33 1993
The History of Musical Instruments by Curt SachsThis first comprehensive history of musical instruments, this book ranges from prehistoric times to the 20th century. It traverses five continents and every stage of evolution, from primitive rattles and bull-roarers to the electric organ. Author Curt Sachs, one of the world's most distinguished musicologists, combines rich scholarship with personal insight in a remarkable fusion of music, anthropology, and the fine arts. Beginning with the earliest manifestations of rhythm, Sachs explores the association of sound with primitive rites of fertility, life, death, and rebirth. He traces the evolution of folk and ritual instruments to tools of entertainment and art, the rise of a professional class of singers and musicians, and the musical revolution that flowered during the Renaissance. Sachs chronicles the foundation of the modern orchestra during the baroque period and its subsequent development, concluding with the modern-day rise of electric and jazz instruments. A pleasure to read as well as a valuable resource, this classic work is enhanced with 24 plates and 167 illustrations.
Call Number: ML460 .B45 2006
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments by Stanley Sadie (Editor)The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments is the definitive guide to over 12,000 musical instruments from around the world. It encompasses western, non-western, and developing-world cultures, and includes classical, folk, and popular music. It also covers instruments of all ages--from the ancient water organ to the synthesizer. The Dictionary describes each instrument individually and in the context of instrument families. It charts the history, development, musical function, and inter-cultural links of each instrument as well as its construction, performance practice and technique. The New Grove Dictionary also explores the cultures and societies that have created these instruments and the various non-musical functions of certain instruments. The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments includes: · Unprecedented coverage of Western musical instruments--from early European instruments, to the development of the organ and the violin, and continuing into the twentieth century with computers and synthesizers · 6,000 articles on non-western developing-world and folk instruments · Detailed catalogs of the world's private and public instrument collections, a survey of forgery, and a study of restoration and maintenance techniques · Articles on performance practice and technique--such as tuning, ornamentation, fingering and improvisation · Biographies of instrument makers--from the Greek inventor Ctesibius to the violin makers of Italy to today's manufacturing giants
Call Number: ML102.I5 N48 1984
The Oboe by Geoffrey Burgess; Bruce HaynesThe oboe, including its earlier forms the shawm and the hautboy, is an instrument with a long and rich history. In this book two distinguished oboist-musicologists trace that history from its beginnings to the present time, discussing how and why the oboe evolved, what music was written for it, and which players were prominent. Geoffrey Burgess and Bruce Haynes begin by describing the oboe’s prehistory and subsequent development out of the shawm in the mid-seventeenth century. They then examine later stages of the instrument, from the classical hautboy to the transition to a keyed oboe and eventually the Conservatoire-system oboe. The authors consider the instrument’s place in Romantic and Modernist music and analyze traditional and avant-garde developments after World War II. Noting the oboe’s appearance in paintings and other iconography, as well as in distinctive musical contexts, they examine what this reveals about the instrument’s social function in different eras. Throughout the book they discuss the great performers, from the pioneers of the seventeenth century to the traveling virtuosi of the eighteenth, the masters of the romantic period and the legends of the twentieth century such as Gillet, Goossens, Tabuteau, and Holliger. With its extensive illustrations, useful technical appendices, and discography, this is a comprehensive and authoritative volume that will be the essential companion for every woodwind student and performer.
Call Number: ML940 .B87 2004
Origins and Development of Musical Instruments by Jeremy MontaguA survey of the origins and development of musical instruments world-wide from Paleolithic times to the present day. Illustrated with pictures of several hundred instruments from all over the world on 120 plates, with five maps for ease of reference to exotic places.
Call Number: ML460 .M76 2007 OVERSIZED
Practical Percussion by James HollandAn Object of Desire? Or of Fear? It was stolen from a New Orleans gravethe centuries-old bust of an evil man, a demonic man. It's an object desired by collectors and by those with wickedness in their hearts. One day, its current owner shows up at Danni Cafferty's antiques shop on Royal Street, the shop she inherited from her father. But before Danni can buy the statue, it disappears and the owner is found dead . Michael Quinn, former cop and now private investigator, is determined to find and destroy this object with its long history of evil and even longer trail of death. He and Danni are drawn together in their search for the missing statue, following it through sultry New Orleans nights to hidden places in the French Quarter and secret ceremonies on abandoned plantations. But Cafferty and Quinn know that their story won't end when this case is closed and the dead rest in peace once again.
Publication Date: 2005
The Saxophone by Stephen CottrellIn the first fully comprehensive study of one of the world?s most iconic musical instruments, Stephen Cottrell examines the saxophone?s various social, historical, and cultural trajectories, and illustrates how and why this instrument, with its idiosyncratic shape and sound, became important for so many different music-makers around the world. After considering what led inventor Adolphe Sax to develop this new musical wind instrument, Cottrell explores changes in saxophone design since the 1840s before examining the instrument's role in a variety of contexts: in the military bands that contributed so much to the saxophone's global dissemination during the nineteenth century; as part of the rapid expansion of American popular music around the turn of the twentieth century; in classical and contemporary art music; in world and popular music; and, of course, in jazz, a musical style with which the saxophone has become closely identified.]]>
Publication Date: 2013-02-05
Stradivari's Genius by Toby Faber“’Tis God gives skill, but not without men’s hands: He could not make Antonio Stradivari’s violins without Antonio.” –George Eliot Antonio Stradivari (1644—1737) was a perfectionist whose single-minded pursuit of excellence changed the world of music. In the course of his long career in the northern Italian city of Cremona, he created more than a thousand stringed instruments; approximately six hundred survive. In this fascinating book, Toby Faber traces the rich, multilayered stories of six of these peerless instruments–five violins and a cello–and the one towering artist who brought them into being. Blending history, biography, meticulous detective work, and an abiding passion for music, Faber embarks on an absorbing journey as he follows some of the most prized instruments of all time. Mysteries and unanswered questions proliferate from the outset–starting with the enigma of Antonio Stradivari himself. What made this apparently unsophisticated craftsman so special? Why were his techniques not maintained by his successors? How is it that even two and a half centuries after his death, no one has succeeded in matching the purity, depth, and delicacy of a Stradivarius? In Faber’s illuminating narrative, each of the six fabled instruments becomes a character in its own right–a living entity cherished by artists, bought and sold by princes and plutocrats, coveted, collected, hidden, lost, copied, and occasionally played by a musician whose skill matches its maker’s. Here is the fabulous Viotti, named for the virtuoso who enchanted all Paris in the 1780s, only to fall foul of the French Revolution. Paganini supposedly made a pact with the devil to transform the art of the violin–and by the end of his life he owned eleven Strads. Then there’s the Davidov cello, fashioned in 1712 and lovingly handed down through a succession of celebrated artists until, in the 1980s, it passed into the capable hands of Yo-Yo Ma. From the salons of Vienna to the concert halls of New York, from the breakthroughs of Beethoven’s last quartets to the first phonographic recordings, Faber unfolds a narrative magnificent in its range and brilliant in its detail. “A great violin is alive,” said Yehudi Menuhin of his own Stradivarius. In the pages of this book, Faber invites us to share the life, the passion, the intrigue, and the incomparable beauty of the world’s most marvelous stringed instruments.
The Broadway Song by Mark Ross ClarkTruly powerful vocal performance in musical theater is more than just the sum of good vocal tone and correct notes. As experienced teacher, director, and performer Mark Ross Clark lays out in The Broadway Song, powerful performance communicates the central function of a song within the contextof the surrounding narrative, or the "truth" of a song. Because unstaged performances of a song, such as auditions, are key to the success of all aspiring singers, Clark provides here the essential practical manual that will help performers choose the right pieces for their vocal abilities andidentify the key truths of them.Clark begins by walking readers conceptually through how a song's truth is based in contexts: what show is a song from? Which character sings it? When in the show does it occur? Answering these questions will lead readers to more convincing performances that are grounded in the text, music,character, context, and larger environment (setting, time frame, and circumstances).The Broadway Song provides a comprehensive guide to the formal characteristics of key Broadway songs on a song-by-song basis, including main voice type, secondary voice qualities (such as soprano-lyric oralto-comic), range and tessitura, as well as larger contextual materials about the source - from the musical's background, information about the character singing, and synoptic narrative information for the song - that provide the performer a way into the character. Clark moreover brings hiswide-ranging and extensive experience as a director, performer, and teacher to bear in his performance notes on the individual pieces. Additionally, he includes excerpts from short interviews with artists that provide insight into the song from the perspective of those who first created (orre-created) it. The interviews, conducted with composers, lyricists, performers, and - in one case - book collaborators, are snapshots into the creative process, and act as conduits to further study of the selected songs.
Call Number: MT956 .C63 2015
Dictionary for the Modern Singer by Matthew HochTitles in the Dictionaries for the Modern Musician series offer both the novice and the advanced artist key information designed to convey the field of study and performance for a major instrument or instrument class, as well as the workings of musicians in areas from conducting to composing. Each dictionary covers topics from instrument parts to technique, major works to key figures--a must-have for any musician's personal library A Dictionary for the Modern Singer is an indispensable guide for students of singing, voice pedagogues, and lovers of the art of singing. In addition to classical singing, genres, and styles, musical theatre and popular and global styles are addressed. With an emphasis on contemporary practice, this work includes terms and figures that influenced modern singing styles. Topics include voice pedagogy, voice science, vocal health, styles, genres, performers, diction, and other relevant topics. The dictionary will help students to more fully understand the concepts articulated by their teachers. Matthew Hoch's book fills a gap in the singer's library as the only one-volume general reference geared toward today's student of singing. An extensive bibliography is invaluable for students seeking to explore a particular subject in greater depth. Illustrations and charts further illuminate particular concepts, while appendixes address stage fright, tips on practicing, repertoire selection, audio technology, and contemporary commercial music styles. A Dictionary for the Modern Singer will appeal to students of singing at all levels. For professionals, it will serve as a quick and handy reference guide, useful in the high school or college library and the home teaching studio alike; students and amateurs will find it accessible and full of fascinating information about the world of the singing.
The Psychology of Singing by David C. TaylorWhether you're a vocal practitioner or a music enthusiast, David C. Taylor's The Psychology of Singing will guide you to a deeper appreciation of the art. Taylor takes a controversial stance against a scientific approach to vocal control and instead emphasizes the mental, psychological, and even spiritual aspects of signing.