On the Shelves at CCBC Libraries
The Praeger Handbook of Acupuncture for Pain Management by
This unique text examines 30 specific pain management case studies to explain pain treatments from the perspectives of Eastern acupuncture and traditional Chinese medicine as well as that of Western medical practice. Millions of Americans are affected or incapacitated by a wide variety of chronic pain--from heel spurs, herniated discs, and hip bursitis to osteoarthritis, plantar fasciitis, and rotator cuff tears. As complex as the injuries and problems can be, medically speaking, for many pain sufferers, the question is simple: can acupuncture work to make my pain go away? This book provides information from 30 different pain management cases to shed light on the effectiveness of acupuncture treatments in specific situations. Presented in easy-to-understand, plain language, the author explains why acupuncture works to stop pain from the theoretical frameworks of both traditional Chinese medicine and Western medicine. Each chapter describes the potential sources and systems of specific pain, depicts the acupuncture points for that pain, and explains how they work. The case studies--selected from more than 9,000 patients seen by Dr. Xu during his 14 years of clinical practice in the United States--document how acupuncture has effectively granted these individuals relief from pain, whether viewed from the Western science of neurology, or the Eastern theories of yin and yang and keeping the body's energies in a balanced state. Presents information and experience from a unique physician: a licensed, board-certified medical doctor and acupuncturist with extensive training in both the United States and China Illustrates acupuncture and acupressure points with specific detail useful to both patients and acupuncturists Provides a dual-purpose self-study book that enables acupuncturists to better diagnose pain and guides patients on performing self acupressure pain treatment
Call Number: RM184 .X833 2014
Evidence-Based Acupuncture by Call Number: RM184 .E95 2013
I Ching Acupuncture - The Balance Method by
I Ching Acupuncture - The Balance Method is a system of acupuncture point selection based on the principles of Chinese philosophy and classic Chinese texts, including the I Ching, Nei Jing Su Wen and Ling Shu. In this unique book Dr. Twicken presents classic Chinese philosophical models that explain the relationships between philosophy, Chinese medical principles, acupuncture channels and the human body. The models are the He Tu, Luo Shu Nine Palaces, Early Heaven Ba Gua, Later Heaven Ba Gua, Twelve-Stage Growth Cycle, Stems and Branches and the Chinese calendar. These models and theories clearly show the relationships between the acupuncture channels and the human body and provide guiding theory for acupuncture strategies and point selection. I Ching Acupuncture presents six Balance Methods. This clinically effective system of acupuncture is based on minimal and distal acupuncture treatments. I Ching Acupuncture - The Balance Method is a valuable and effective acupuncture system that can complement any practice.
Call Number: RM184 .T93 2012
The Acupuncture by Call Number: RM184 .H524 2010
Acupuncture, Meridian Theory and Acupuncture Points by Call Number: RM184.5 .D5 1992
Healing Power of Acupressure and Acupuncture by Call Number: RM723.A27 B38 2005
Videos
Acupuncture
EBooks
The Fundamentals of Acupuncture by
This accessible textbook clearly explains the basic foundations and principles of acupuncture and Chinese Medicine. With over 70 illustrations, it covers the theories of yin and yang, the five phases, the physiology of the body, the internal organs, the channel system, acupuncture point categories, the point functions and indications, needling techniques and aetiological factors. Authoritative, yet readable, this is a vital addition to the shelves of all students of Chinese medicine.
Call Number: eBook RM184.5 .C45 2017
Acupuncture for Body, Mind and Spirit by
Written by one of the UK's leading practitioners, this authoritative and accessible introduction to acupuncture reveals everything you need to know before you step into the acupuncture clinic. It includes: - how acupuncture goes beyond quick cures and is used as preventative medicine - the origins and theory behind Chinese medicine and acupuncture - the differences between diagnosis in acupuncture and Western medicine - what to expect in the treatment room and how acupuncture will help you. Comparing acupuncture with Western medicine and demonstrating how the two are complementary, Peter Mole provides answers to the questions most frequently asked by acupuncture patients, prospective patients, prospective students and people who have simply heard about acupuncture and want to know more.
Call Number: eBook RG129.A25 .M654 2014
Acupuncture by
Acupuncture is widely practised in the 21st century in scientifically developed countries for a wide range of ailments ranging from chronic pain, giddiness and high blood pressure to gastrointestinal disorders and sexual dysfunction. Yet the reasons for its vaunted efficacy remain a matter of controversy. In traditional Chinese medical theory, the mechanism of action in acupuncture was understood in terms of the flow of qi and the balance of yin and yang through the body's meridians, a complex network painstaking charted but never found. Modern medical researchers have examined old and new needling points, and some view them as "trigger points" that stimulate physiological responses in the body. There is also clear evidence of strong placebo effects, although it has not been conclusively established that that this is either the main or the only significant effect. This volume contains twelve articles covering the latest scientific explanations of the mechanism of acupuncture and critical reviews of clinical trials on its efficacy by leading scholars, including Edzard Ernst at Exeter, Lixing Lao at the University of Maryland, PC Leung at the Chinese University of Hong Kong and Thomas Lundeberg at Karolinska Institute. Hong Hai is Senior Fellow at the Institute of Advanced Studies and Adjunct Professor, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore and Director of the Renhai Clinic.
Call Number: eBook RM184 .A28 2013ISBN: 9789814452014
Introduction to Acupuncture and Moxibustion by
Acupuncture and moxibustion are one of the most important contributions our ancestors have made to humankind. In the narrow sense, acupuncture and moxibustion refer to medical therapy, whilst broadly, they are an integral science consisting of four subdisciplines: the subject of meridians and acupoints, the subject of acupuncture and moxibustion techniques, the subject of acupuncture and moxibustion therapy, and the subject of experimental acupuncture and moxibustion.
Call Number: eBook RM184ISBN: 9
Evidence-Based Acupuncture by
Acupuncture has been an important branch of Traditional Chinese Medicine for over 3000 years and is the most popular practice among non-Chinese practitioners outside of China. In 1998, the United States National Institutes of Health (NIH) held a consensus conference and endorsed the practice of acupuncture as an effective pain control agent -- since then acupuncture has become even more popular.Clinical practice is always an inviting form of research. In the field of acupuncture, research concentrates on the neurological pathways of the meridians and acupoints, the neurological functional changes within the central nervous system, and innovative devices being invented, etc. It appears that there will be a long way before firm explanations can be acquired for the explanation of the physiological effects of acupuncture.The technique of acupuncture is easily acquired although the evidence of efficacy remains subjective. Before the evidence can be sorted out through scientific explorations, confidence on efficacy can rely only on literature search and sharing of expert experiences.This is a user-friendly book for all professionals practicing acupuncture. The contents consist of all the popular areas of clinical application viz. pain control and neuromuscular training. Each chapter is composed of two parts: clinical evidences as previously recorded in literature and personal experiences of the author. Acupuncture practice requires a thorough knowledge of the treatment choices relevant to particular conditions, as well as their modifications. This book offers quick references for this purpose.
Call Number: eBook RM184 .E95 2013
Suggested Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.