On the Shelves at CCBC Libraries
Traditional Chinese Medicine by
A leading authority explains the ideas and practice of Chinese medicine from its beginnings in antiquity to today. Paul U. Unschuld describes medicine's close connection with culture and politics throughout Chinese history. He brings together texts, techniques, and worldviews to understand changing Chinese attitudes toward healing and the significance of traditional Chinese medicine in both China and the Western world. Unschuld reveals the emergence of a Chinese medical tradition built around a new understanding of the human being, considering beliefs in the influence of cosmology, numerology, and the supernatural on the health of the living. He describes the variety of therapeutic approaches in Chinese culture, the history of pharmacology and techniques such as acupuncture, and the global exchange of medical knowledge. Insights are offered into the twentieth-century decline of traditional medicine, as military defeats caused reformers and revolutionaries to import medical knowledge as part of the construction of a new China. Unschuld also recounts the reception of traditional Chinese medicine in the West since the 1970s, where it is often considered an alternative to Western medicine at the same time as China seeks to incorporate elements of its medical traditions into a scientific framework. This concise and compelling introduction to medical thought and history suggests that Chinese medicine is also a guide to Chinese civilization.
Call Number: R601 .U57813 2018
Traditional Chinese Medicine in the United States by
Traditional Chinese medicine (TCM) originated from the traditional medical system in the Chinese civilization, with influences from the Daoist and Chinese folk traditions in bodily cultivation and longevity techniques. In the past few decades, TCM has become one of the leading alternative medical systems in the United States. This book demonstrates the fluidity of a medical ideological system with a rich history of methodological development and internal theoretical conflicts, continuing to transform in our postmodern world where people and ideas transcend geographic, ethnic, and linguistic limitations. The unique historical trajectories and cultural dynamics of the American society are critical nutrients for the localization of TCM, while the constant traffic of travelers and immigrants foster the globalizing tendency of TCM. The practitioners in this book represent an incredible range of clinical applications, personal styles, theoretical rationalizations, and business models. What really unifies all these practitioners is not their specific practices but the goal of these practices. The shared goal is to strive for health, not just health in terms of the lack of illness but the ultimate health of achieving perfect balance in every aspect of the being of a person--physically, mentally, spiritually, and energetically.
Call Number: R733 .W8 2013
An Illustrated Chinese Materia Medica by
One of the cornerstones of traditional Chinese medicine (TCM), herbal medicine has evolved over centuries of clinical practice and empirical results into a vast body of knowledge encompassing more than 6,000 substances, most of whose effects and uses have been documented and researched. Theliterature on Chinese medicinal herbs is unparalleled and unsurpassed in the world's medical knowledge; the earliest known pharmacological work was composed before the end of the third century B.C. The first classical Chinese materia medica appeared during the late Han dynasty (25-22- A.D.) andincluded 365 entries of botanical, zoological, and mineral substances, listing their properties and effects. Subsequent materia medica were assembled during virtually every dynasty from the Liang (456-536 A.D.) to the Qing (1645-1911). Among the major treatments published during these centuries wasthe 30-volume Materia Medica Arranged According to Pattern, which had 1558 entries, more than 3,000 formulae, and became the official pharmacopoeia of herbal medicine in China for 500 years.n Illustrated Chinese Materia Medica brings to the English language a lavishly illustrated atlas of the 320 herbs used most frequently in traditional Chinese medical practice. Each substance is profiled authoritatively in monographs that provide pharmaceutical, botanical and English names; flavorproperties and channel tropisms; functions; clinical uses and major combinations; dosage and administration; and precautions. Intended for medicinal and pharmaceutical chemists as well as practitioners of homeopathic and alternative medicines, this materia medica offers a unique blend ofauthenticity that is derived from knowledge of classical Chinese literature with a clearly practical objective of persenting valuable information in a straightforward, easily comprehensible style.
Call Number: RS180.C5 W785 2005
The Yellow Emperor's Classic of Medicine by
The Neijing is one of the most important classics of Taoism, as well as the highest authority on traditional Chinese medicine. Its authorship is attributed to the great Huang Di, the Yellow Emperor, who reigned during the third millennium BCE. This new translation consists of the eighty-one chapters of the section of the Neijing known as the Suwen, or "Questions of Organic and Fundamental Nature." (The other section, called the Lingshu, is a technical book on acupuncture and is not included here.) Written in the form of a discourse between Huang Di and his ministers, The Yellow Emperor's Classic of Medicine contains a wealth of knowledge, including etiology, physiology, diagnosis, therapy, and prevention of disease, as well as in-depth investigation of such diverse subjects as ethics, psychology, and cosmology. All of these subjects are discussed in a holistic context that says life is not fragmented, as in the model provided by modern science, but rather that all the pieces make up an interconnected whole. By revealing the natural laws of this holistic universe, the book offers much practical advice on how to promote a long, happy, and healthy life. The original text of the Neijing presents broad concepts and is often brief with details. The translator's elucidations and interpretations, incorporated into the translation, help not only to clarify the meaning of the text but also to make it a highly readable narrative for students-as well as for everyone curious about the underlying principles of Chinese medicine.
Call Number: R127.1.S93 Y4513 1995
The Handbook of Chinese Massage by
For the first time in the West, Chinese tui na massage techniques are brought together in an easy-to-use method for whole-body health The Handbook of Chinese Massage integrates classic Tui Na (meaning push and grasp) techniques used in the Orient for centuries into a revolutionary method for health and well-being. Traditional Chinese massage practitioners use specific individual techniques to treat a wide variety of ailments--techniques demonstrated in this book. But after years of study in China, Indonesia, and Thailand, Maria Mercati has taken these separate techniques and combined them into a whole-body treatment never before seen in East or West. Tui Na massage stimulates the flow of qi, vital energy, in healthy individuals as well as sick ones. It requires no special equipment and is simple enough to do at home or in a chair at work. The Handbook of Chinese Massage includes step-by-step instructions for each of the fifteen unique tui na techniques, many of which are unfamiliar to Western massage practitioners. More than 100 color photographs and diagrams clearly show where to place your hands on the body and where to find the key meridians.
Call Number: RM723.C5 M47 1997
Traditional Chinese Medicine
Suggested Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
EBooks
Introduction to Diagnosis in Traditional Chinese Medicine by
Traditional Chinese medicine (TCM), with a history of thousands of years, is the crystallization of the ancient Chinese people's experience in their struggle against diseases. It is also an integral part of their splendid culture. Under the influence and direction of classic Chinese philosophies, it has undergone long-term medical practice and infiltrated into, as well as absorbed from, other subjects at that time, thus gradually evolving into a unique medical theoretical system that contributed significantly to the health care of the Chinese people and the prosperity of the Chinese nation. This 7-volume set comprehensively covers the main components of TCM, such as Basic Theory, Diagnosis, Prescription, Chinese Materia Medica, Tui Na, Acupuncture and Moxibustion.
Call Number: eBook R602
Introduction to Formulae of Traditional Chinese Medicine by
With increased demands on medical health care due to societal developments, the sole dependence on modern medicine or Western medicine is clearly insufficient. Traditional Chinese medicine, once derided by many in the west, is now firmly in the global limelight due to its numerous advantages in preventing and treating diseases. Chinese medicine achieves its curative effects by making use of natural therapies such as animal and plant parts, which are of interest to many doctors and patients who are in favor of rectifying the entire state of the body.For over two thousand years, Chinese medicinal formulas have been extensively used in China as the main technique to prevent and treat. The accordance of formula and disease pattern is the most specific, objective, stable, and recurrently effective aspect of treatment based on pattern differentiation, which will be introduced in this book as a reliable analytical method.In this book, the fundamental concepts of Chinese medicine, methods of conducting pattern differentiation and composing principles of formulas, and integration of indispensable courses of Chinese medicine, such as basic theories, diagnostic methods, Chinese medicinals, formulas, treatment principles, internal medicine, and warm diseases will be discussed, opening a door for novices who are interested to learn more about Chinese medicine.Through self-study of this book in a relatively short duration, it is our hope that the reader will be familiar with and preliminarily apply the basic theories of Chinese medicine and formulas in practice. This not only serves to prevent and treat diseases, but more importantly, contributes to the spread of traditional Chinese medicine.
Call Number: eBook RM47.C5
World Century Compendium to TCM by
Traditional Chinese medicine (TCM), with a history of thousands of years, is the crystallization of the ancient Chinese people's experience in their struggle against diseases. It is also an integral part of their splendid culture. Under the influence and direction of classic Chinese philosophies, it has undergone long-term medical practice and infiltrated into, as well as absorbed from, other subjects at that time, thus gradually evolving into a unique medical theoretical system that contributed significantly to the health care of the Chinese people and the prosperity of the Chinese nation. This 7-volume set comprehensively covers the main components of TCM, such as Basic Theory, Diagnosis, Prescription, Chinese Materia Medica, Tui Na, Acupuncture and Moxibustion.
Call Number: eBook R601
Introduction to Tui Na by
Traditional Chinese medicine (TCM), with a history of thousands of years, is the crystallization of the ancient Chinese people's experience in their struggle against diseases. It is also an integral part of their splendid culture. Under the influence and direction of classic Chinese philosophies, it has undergone long-term medical practice and infiltrated into, as well as absorbed from, other subjects at that time, thus gradually evolving into a unique medical theoretical system that contributed significantly to the health care of the Chinese people and the prosperity of the Chinese nation. This 7-volume set comprehensively covers the main components of TCM, such as Basic Theory, Diagnosis, Prescription, Chinese Materia Medica, Tui Na, Acupuncture and Moxibustion.
Call Number: eBook RM721 .L58 2013
Chinese Nutrition Therapy by
Kastner's Chinese Nutrition Therapy is an excellent introduction to Chinese dietetics for both, students and practitioners of Chinese medicine. - I wholeheartedly endorse his book. Nigel Wiseman For millennia, the Chinese have taught that a healthy, appropriate diet is an integral part of maintaining good health and healing myriad disorders, from the common cold and morning sickness to heart disease and diabetes.
Call Number: eBook RM217 .K3313 2004
