Library Catalog
On Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Preparing for Your ACS Examination in Organic Chemistry by
"This guide includes 240 pages of information separated into first-term and additional full-year organic chemistry material. Each section contains material that also aligns to most organic chemistry textbooks for a seamless addition to study materials for students. Each chapter is designed with an introductory section of the material including common representations and where to find this material in a textbook. The second section provides worked examples of typical, multiple choice questions including how the correct answer is determined as well as how the incorrect answers were determined. Also included for each study problem is a listing of the corresponding practice questions that use that concept. The final section is a series of practice problems to test the concepts collectively. The key is provided on a separate page for all study and practice problems."-- From publisher's description.
Call Number: QD257 .P74 2020
Organic Chemistry as a Second Language by
Readers continue to turn to Klein's Organic Chemistry as a Second Language: First Semester Topics, 4th Edition because it enables them to better understand fundamental principles, solve problems, and focus on what they need to know to succeed. This edition explores the major principles in the field and explains why they are relevant. It is written in a way that clearly shows the patterns in organic chemistry so that readers can gain a deeper conceptual understanding of the material. Topics are presented clearly in an accessible writing style along with numerous hands-on problem solving exercises.
Call Number: QD256 .K54145 2017
Organic Chemistry: a Very Short Introduction by
Organic chemistry is the chemistry of compounds of carbon. The ability of carbon to link together to form long chain molecules and ring compounds as well as bonding with many other elements has led to a vast array of organic compounds. These compounds are central to life, forming the basis for organic molecules such as nucleic acids, proteins, carbohydrates, and lipids. In this Very Short Introduction Graham Patrick covers the whole range of organic compounds and their roles. Beginning with the structures and properties of the basic groups of organic compounds, he goes on to consider organic compounds in the areas of pharmaceuticals, polymers, food and drink, petrochemicals, and nanotechnology. He looks at how new materials, in particular the single layer form of carbon called graphene, are opening up exciting new possibilities for applications, and discusses the particular challenges of working with carbon compounds, many of which are colourless. Patrick also discusses techniques used in the field.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Call Number: QD251.3 .P38 2017
Organic Chemistry by
Master organic chemistry with the help of this proven best-seller! John McMurry's ORGANIC CHEMISTRY is consistently praised as the most clearly written book available for the course. In John McMurry's words: "I wrote this book because I love writing. I get great pleasure and satisfaction from taking a complicated subject, turning it around until I see it clearly from a new angle, and then explaining it in simple words." Through his lucid writing and ability to show the beauty and logic of organic chemistry, McMurry makes learning enjoyable. The highest compliment that can be given to a chemistry book applies to McMurry: It works!
Call Number: QD251.3 .M364 2016
Organic Chemistry I for Dummies by
Organic Chemistry I For Dummies, 2nd Edition (9781119293378) was previously published as Organic Chemistry I For Dummies, 2nd Edition (9781118828076). While this version features a new Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the prior release and should not be considered a new or updated product. The easy way to take the confusion out of organic chemistry Organic chemistry has a long-standing reputation as a difficult course. Organic Chemistry I For Dummies takes a simple approach to the topic, allowing you to grasp concepts at your own pace. This fun, easy-to-understand guide explains the basic principles of organic chemistry in simple terms, providing insight into the language of organic chemists, the major classes of compounds, and top trouble spots. You'll also get the nuts and bolts of tackling organic chemistry problems, from knowing where to start to spotting sneaky tricks that professors like to incorporate. Refreshed example equations New explanations and practical examples that reflect today's teaching methods Fully worked-out organic chemistry problems Baffled by benzines? Confused by carboxylic acids? Here's the help you need--in plain English!
Call Number: QD257 .W56 2016
Basic Organic Chemistry for the Life Sciences by
This book is designed for students of biology, molecular biology, ecology, medicine, agriculture, forestry and other professions where the knowledge of organic chemistry plays the important role. The work may also be of interest to non-professionals, as well as to teachers in high schools. The book consists of 11 chapters that cover: - basic principles of structure and constitution of organic compounds, - the elements of the nomenclature, - the concepts of the nature of chemical bond, - introductions in NMR and IR spectroscopy, - the concepts and main classes of the organic reaction mechanisms, - reactions and properties of common classes or organic compounds, - and the introduction to the chemistry of the natural organic products followed by basic principles of the reactions in living cells.
Call Number: QD251.3 .V36 2014
Online Article Archives
- Organic Chemistry
from Science Daily - Organic Chemistry
from Nature
TedTalk
Associations
Search Science Select Database
Science Select allows you to limit your search to peer-reviewed full-text articles.
Search Science Direct Database
- Science Direct
Science Direct allows you to limit your search to peer-reviewed full-text articles.
Online from CCBC Libraries
Basic Organic Chemistry by
Basic Organic Chemistry discusses the basic concept of chemistry as well as organic chemistry. It includes detailed description of organic molecules, functional groups and the nomenclature of the organic molecules. This book also discusses the notion of acids and bases and stereochemistry of the organic molecules along with the description of amino acids, proteins, carbohydrates, alcohol and ethers. It provides the reader with the insights of basic organic chemistry so as to understand the basic organic reactions and the application of spectroscopy to study organic molecules.
Publication Date: 2019
Organic Chemistry by
Written in a concise and student-friendly way, this textbook focuses on the underlying principles of organic chemistry and provides the tools for understanding the nature of organic reactions. The author utilizes an integrated approach for organic chemistry, uniting in a logical manner the main reaction types and their mechanisms, compound classes and their typical reactions, organic spectroscopy and principles of structure elucidation.
Publication Date: 2018
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 97th Edition by
Proudly serving the scientific community for over a century, this 97th edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science. The 97th edition of the Handbook includes 20 new or updated tables along with other updates and expansions. It is now also available as an eBook. This reference puts physical property data and mathematical formulas used in labs and classrooms every day within easy reach. New Tables: Surface Active Chemicals ¿ Table of Properties of the Most Important Surfactants (Solubility, Physical Constants, Critical Micelle Concentration, Hydrophilic-Lipophilic Balance, etc.) Nanomaterial Safety Guidelines ¿ Definition of Terms in Nanoscience; Guidelines for Safe Handling and Disposal Updated and Expanded Tables: CODATA Values of the Fundamental Physical Constants ¿ 2014 values Standard Atomic Weights ¿ 2015 Changes Made by IUPAC Atomic Masses and Abundances ¿ Update of Abundances Surface Tension of Common Liquids ¿ Addition of New Compounds and Updates Basic Instrumental Techniques of Analytical Chemistry ¿ Expansion to Cover Colorimetry and Refractometry Bond Dissociation Energies ¿ Addition of Recently Published Data Photon Attenuation Coefficients ¿ Addition of Absorption Edge Data Classification of Electromagnetic Radiation ¿ Update with Modern Terminology Astronomical Constants ¿ Update with New Recommended Constants Solar System Properties ¿ Updates with Newly Discovered Satellites Interstellar Molecules ¿ Update with Complete List of Molecules Observed to Date Major World Earthquakes ¿ Update through 2015 Atmospheric Concentration of CO2 ¿ Update through 2015 Global Temperature Trend ¿ Update through 2015 Abbreviations Used in the Assessment and Presentation of Laboratory Hazards ¿ Update and Expansion Relative Dose Ranges for Ionizing Radiation ¿ Expansion Threshold Limits for Airborne Contaminants ¿ Update to 2015 Recommendations Chemical Carcinogens ¿ Update to 2015 Recommendations of National Toxicology Program
Publication Date: 2016
Websites
- Organic Chemistry - American Chemical Society
Career information - Organic Chemistry Portal
The Organic Chemistry Portal offers an overview of recent topics, interesting reactions, and information on important chemicals for organic chemists.
Podcasts
- Organic Chemistry
from Open Yale Courses
Databases
- Science Database
Articles on both the applied and general sciences like aerospace, computers, transportation, and biology.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals on science, technology, and medicine for advanced research.
