Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
The Periodic Table by
The periodic table of elements is among the most recognizable image in science. It lies at the core of chemistry and embodies the most fundamental principles of science. In this new edition, Eric Scerri offers readers a complete and updated history and philosophy of the periodic table. Writtenin a lively style to appeal to experts and interested lay-persons alike, The Periodic Table: Its Story and Its Significance begins with an overview of the importance of the periodic table and the manner in which the term "element" has been interpreted by chemists and philosophers across time.The book traces the evolution and development of the periodic table from its early beginnings with the work of the precursors like De Chancourtois, Newlands and Meyer to Mendeleev's 1869 first published table and beyond. Several chapters are devoted to developments in 20th century physics,especially quantum mechanics and and the extent to which they explain the periodic table in a more fundamental way. Other chapters examine the formation of the elements, nuclear structure, the discovery of the last seven infra-uranium elements, and the synthesis of trans-uranium elements. Finally,the book considers the many different ways of representing the periodic system and the quest for an optimal arrangement.
Call Number: QD467 .S345 2020
Superheavy by
An in-depth look at how elements are discovered, why they matter and where they will take us. The science of element discovery is a truly fascinating field, and is constantly rewriting the laws of chemistry and physics as we know them.Superheavy is the first book to take an in-depth look at how synthetic elements are discovered, why they matter and where they will take us. From the Cold War nuclear race to the present day, scientists have stretched the periodic table to 118 elements. They have broken the rules of the periodic table, rewriting the science we're taught in school, and have the potential to revolutionize our lives. Kit Chapman takes us back to the very beginning, with the creation of the atomic bomb. He tells the story of the major players, such as Ernest Lawrence who revolutionized the field of particle physics with the creation of the cyclotron; Yuri Oganessian, the "guerilla scientist" who opened up a new era of discovery in the field and is the only living scientists to have an element named after him; and Victor Ninov, the disgraced physicist who almost pulled off the greatest fraud in nuclear science. This book will bring us in a full circle back to Oak Ridge National Laboratory, where the first atomic bomb was developed, and that has more recently been an essential player in creating the new superheavy element 117. Throughout,Superheavyexplains the complex science of element discovery in clear and easy-to-follow terms. It walks through the theories of atomic structure, discusses the equipment used and explains the purpose of the research. By the end of the book readers will not only marvel at how far we've come, they will be in awe of where we are going and what this could mean for the worlds of physics and chemistry as we know them today.
Call Number: QD172.S93 C453 2019
Survival Guide to General Chemistry by
This work evolved over thirty combined years of teaching general chemistry to a variety of student demographics. The focus is not to recap or review the theoretical concepts well described in the available texts.Instead, the topics and descriptions in this book make available specific, detailed step-by-step methods and procedures for solving the major types of problems in general chemistry. Explanations, instructional process sequences, solved examples and completely solved practice problems are greatly expanded, containing significantly more detail than can usually be devoted to in a comprehensive text. Many chapters also provide alternative viewpoints as an aid to understanding. Key Features: The authors have included every major topic in the first semester of general chemistry and most major topics from the second semester. Each is written in a specific and detailed step-by-step process for problem solving, whether mathematical or conceptual Each topic has greatly expanded examples and solved practice problems containing significantly more detail than found in comprehensive texts Includes a chapter designed to eliminate confusion concerning acid/base reactions which often persists through working with acid/base equilibrium Many chapters provide alternative viewpoints as an aid to understanding This book addresses a very real need for a large number of incoming freshman in STEM fields
Call Number: QD33.2 .M3545 2019
Chemistry by
This book discusses the vital role of chemistry in everyday life. It encourages readers to understand how the knowledge of chemistry is important for the development of society and a better future. The text is organized into three parts. Part 1 covers the historical aspects of chemistry and discusses how countless discoveries since the beginning of life on earth have benefited human beings. Part 2 focuses on modern life and describes chemistry¿s contribution to the developments in the fields of food and agriculture, energy, transportation, medicine, and communications. Part 3 emphasizes the role of chemists and educators in making the layperson aware of the benefits of chemistry without having them to go through its complexities. Written in an easy-to-understand manner and supplemented by ample number of figures and tables, the book will cater to a broad readership ranging from general readers to experts.
Call Number: QD39.7 .C44 2017
Chemistry in Your Kitchen by
Whether you know it or not, you become a chemist any time you step into a kitchen. Through its unique meal-by-meal organisation, the book playfully explores the chemistry that turns our food into meals. The book features many experiments that you can try in your own kitchen, such as exploring the melting properties of cheese, retaining flavour when cooking and pairing wines with foods. This is a fascinating read for anyone interested in the science behind cooking.
Call Number: TX651 .H377 2017
Databases
- Science Database
Articles on both the applied and general sciences like aerospace, computers, transportation, and biology.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals on science, technology, and medicine for advanced research.
Streaming Video
- Things You Need to Know…About Chemistry: James May's Things You Need to KnowHave you ever wondered if certain chemicals can make you irresistible to the opposite sex? James May, with the help of dynamic motion graphics, distills the sensuous secrets and explains how our world is really just one big laboratory. He discovers whether we can turn lead into gold; reveals how what you flush down your toilet could actually be making you money; explains how the booze in your bottle could power a jet; and discusses why the elements in the periodic table are just like us—they don't all get along. (45 minutes)
Online From CCBC Libraries
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 97th Edition by
Proudly serving the scientific community for over a century, this 97th edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science. The 97th edition of the Handbook includes 20 new or updated tables along with other updates and expansions. It is now also available as an eBook. This reference puts physical property data and mathematical formulas used in labs and classrooms every day within easy reach. New Tables: Surface Active Chemicals ¿ Table of Properties of the Most Important Surfactants (Solubility, Physical Constants, Critical Micelle Concentration, Hydrophilic-Lipophilic Balance, etc.) Nanomaterial Safety Guidelines ¿ Definition of Terms in Nanoscience; Guidelines for Safe Handling and Disposal Updated and Expanded Tables: CODATA Values of the Fundamental Physical Constants ¿ 2014 values Standard Atomic Weights ¿ 2015 Changes Made by IUPAC Atomic Masses and Abundances ¿ Update of Abundances Surface Tension of Common Liquids ¿ Addition of New Compounds and Updates Basic Instrumental Techniques of Analytical Chemistry ¿ Expansion to Cover Colorimetry and Refractometry Bond Dissociation Energies ¿ Addition of Recently Published Data Photon Attenuation Coefficients ¿ Addition of Absorption Edge Data Classification of Electromagnetic Radiation ¿ Update with Modern Terminology Astronomical Constants ¿ Update with New Recommended Constants Solar System Properties ¿ Updates with Newly Discovered Satellites Interstellar Molecules ¿ Update with Complete List of Molecules Observed to Date Major World Earthquakes ¿ Update through 2015 Atmospheric Concentration of CO2 ¿ Update through 2015 Global Temperature Trend ¿ Update through 2015 Abbreviations Used in the Assessment and Presentation of Laboratory Hazards ¿ Update and Expansion Relative Dose Ranges for Ionizing Radiation ¿ Expansion Threshold Limits for Airborne Contaminants ¿ Update to 2015 Recommendations Chemical Carcinogens ¿ Update to 2015 Recommendations of National Toxicology Program
Publication Date: 2016
Principles of Chemistry by
Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of chemistry, from elements and molecules to chemical reactions and properties of matter.
Publication Date: 2016
50 chemistry ideas you really need to know by
50 Chemistry Ideas You Really Need to Know is an engaging guide to the world of chemistry. From the molecules that kick-started life itself to nanotechnology, chemistry offers some fascinating insights into our origins, as well as continuing to revolutionize life as we know it.
Publication Date: 2016
Chemistry As a Game of Molecular Construction by
Chemistry as a Game of Molecular Construction: The Bond-Click Way utilizes an innovative and engaging approach to introduce students to the basic concepts and universal aspects of chemistry, with an emphasis on molecules' beauty and their importance in our lives. * Offers a unique approach that portrays chemistry as a window into mankind's material-chemical essence * Reveals the beauty of molecules through the "click" method, a teaching methodology comprised of the process of constructing molecules from building blocks * Styles molecular construction in a way that reveals the universal aspect of chemistry * Allows students to construct molecules, from the simple hydrogen molecule all the way to complex strands of DNA, thereby showing the overarching unity of matter * Provides problems sets and solutions for each chapter
Publication Date: 2016
