Library Catalog
On Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Beginning Chemistry by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. This all-in-one-package includes more than 650 fully solved problems, examples, and practice exercises to sharpen your problem-solving skills. Plus, you will have access to 16 detailed videos featuring Chemistry instructors who explain the most commonly tested concepts--it's just like having your own virtual tutor!nbsp;You'll find everything you need to build confidence, skills, and knowledge for the highest score possible. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you 673 fully solved problems Hundreds of examples with explanations of chemistry concepts Support for all the major textbooks for beginning chemistry courses Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum’s to shorten your study time--and get your best test scores! Schaum’s Outlines--Problem Solved.
Call Number: QD41 .G648 2014
Online Article Archives
- Inorganic Chemistry News
from Science Daily - Inorganic Chemistry
from Nature
Search Science Direct Database
- Science Direct
Science Direct allows you to limit your search to peer-reviewed full-text articles.
Databases
- Science Database
Articles on both the applied and general sciences like aerospace, computers, transportation, and biology.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Articles from journals on science, technology and medicine for advanced research.
Online from CCBC Libraries
Techniques in Inorganic Chemistry by
Inorganic chemistry continues to generate much current interest due to its array of applications, ranging from materials to biology and medicine. Techniques in Inorganic Chemistry assembles a collection of articles from international experts who describe modern methods used by research students and chemists for studying the properties and structures of inorganic chemicals. Crystallography and diffraction methods The book begins by examining developments in small-molecule x-ray crystallography. It identifies some of the major advances, discusses current attitudes toward crystallography and its uses, and considers challenges and future prospects. It then examines how ab initio x-ray powder diffraction (XRPD) methods are used to determine structure, with discussions on metal pyrazolates, metal imidazolates, and metal pyrimidinolates. This is followed by a description of single crystal neutron diffraction, a powerful structural technique. The text highlights what can presently be achieved in neutron diffraction and discusses future applications of neutron scattering. Quantum chemistry Reflecting the popularity of density functional calculations, the book includes a chapter that focuses on quantum chemistry. It examines the latest computational techniques and describes how these techniques can be applied to solve a wide range of real-world problems encountered in the realm of inorganic chemistry and particularly in transition metal chemistry. It also explains the intelligent use of quantum chemical methods for the determination of molecular structure, reactivity, and spectra of coordination and organometallic compounds. Spectroscopy Lastly, the text explores important spectroscopic approaches. It first describes intermolecular nuclear Overhauser effect (NOE) NMR experiments and diffusion experiments, offering examples that demonstrate theoretical aspects of the methodology. The final chapter summarizes recent experimental and theoretical work on pressure effects on the d-d and luminescence spectra of transition metal complexes. Derived from select articles in Comments on Inorganic Chemistry, this volume provides a solid background in the array of techniques available in the researcher's toolkit.
Publication Date: 2010
Inorganic Chemistry by
Our 3-panel (6-page) guide is jam-packed with chemistry information not covered in organic chemistry and biochemistry. Perfect for science students who want to focus on the aspects of chemistry that go beyond what is covered in material that deals with organic topics, this guide covers the key concepts, principles, figures and formulas that inorganic chemistry students will need to know in order to succeed. Tables, images and graphic elements further enhance the text.
Publication Date: 2010
Biological Inorganic Chemistry by
The importance of metals in biology, the environment and medicine has become increasingly evident over the last twenty five years. The study of the multiple roles of metal ions in biological systems, the rapidly expanding interface between inorganic chemistry and biology constitutes the subject called Biological Inorganic Chemistry. The present text, written by a biochemist, with a long career experience in the field (particularly iron and copper) presents an introduction to this exciting and dynamic field. The book begins with introductory chapters, which together constitute an overview of the concepts, both chemical and biological, which are required to equip the reader for the detailed analysis which follows. Pathways of metal assimilation, storage and transport, as well as metal homeostasis are dealt with next. Thereafter, individual chapters discuss the roles of sodium and potassium, magnesium, calcium, zinc, iron, copper, nickel and cobalt, manganese, and finally molybdenum, vanadium, tungsten and chromium. The final three chapters provide a tantalising view of the roles of metals in brain function, biomineralization and a brief illustration of their importance in both medicine and the environment.
Publication Date: 2007
Websites
- Inorganic Chemistry - American Chemical Society
Career Information
Databases
- Science Database
Articles on both the applied and general sciences like aerospace, computers, transportation, and biology.