Databases
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles about companies and business trends around the world, especially useful for company research.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on business, management, economics, and finance. Also includes company and industry profiles as well as country and marketing research reports.
- International Newsstream
News from outside the United States and Canada.
Web Sites
Online from CCBC Libraries
SAGE Brief Guide to Marketing Ethics by
Marketing ethics is the systematic study of how moral standards are applied to marketing decisions, behaviors, and institutions. This guide to marketing ethics provides all the key terms and concepts in a short, easy-to-use format, with each entry written by a scholar from the field of business or marketing ethics. This essential companion can be used in a number of marketing courses and will be a valuable reference for practitioners.
Publication Date: 2011-03-14
The Rise of Urban Entrepreneurship by
Combining emerging trends in collaboration, democratization, and urbanization, this book examines the emergence of entrepreneurship and innovation as a primarily urban phenomenon, explains why urban environments are rapidly attracting global innovators across three distinct forms of "urbanpreneurship," and lights the path forward for entrepreneurs, innovators, and city governments. The world is urbanizing rapidly. Currently, 600 cities account for 60 percent of the global economy; by 2025, it is predicted that the top 100 cities will account for 35 percent of the world's economy. Emerging trends in collaboration, the sharing economy, and innovation are opening up new opportunities for entrepreneurs in urban environments--"urbanpreneurs"--to participate in everything from tech startups in cities (instead of suburban tech parks) to makers and on-demand service providers to roles in civic entrepreneurship for those interested in solving the challenges that growing cities are facing. Readers of this book will understand how the converging trends of collaboration, democratization, and urbanization are rapidly attracting global innovators to cities capable of creating the enabling environment for aspiring innovators. The book discusses how entrepreneurs can best capitalize on the opportunities in urban settings, identifies what large and small cities can do to encourage more urbanpreneurship, and concludes with a consideration of the future of entrepreneurship in urban environments. Documents how the integration of three converging trends--collaboration, democratization, and urbanization--contribute to what the author calls the "Urbanpreneur Spiral" Presents eye-opening insights and reflections on the current and future state of entrepreneurship and innovation in society Explains why today's cities are the primary source of opportunities for new entrepreneurs Pays much-needed attention to the growing role of local governments in fostering entrepreneurship and innovation
Publication Date: 2016-05-16
Project Management Essentials by
Project management is seen as a critical skill across a broad range of disciplines. Yet most people, regardless of educational background, have never received training in how to plan, manage, and execute projects. Project Management Essentials contains tried and true project management skills in a concise, up to date, user-friendly format. It follows the project lifecycle and provides several ready-to-use templates. A person can use this book to plan and manage a project from start to finish or as a reference for help with one particular component of project management. Alongside each template, is a brief description of what each template is, why it is useful, and an example to illustrate it.
Publication Date: 2015-08-25
The New CEOs by
The New CEOs looks at the women and people of color leading Fortune 500 companies, exploring the factors that have helped them achieve success and their impact on the business world and society more broadly. As recently as fifteen years ago, there had only been three women CEOs of Fortune 500 companies, and no African Americans. By now there have been more than 100 women, African American, Latino, and Asian-American CEOs of Fortune 500 companies. Richard L. Zweigenhaft and G. William Domhoff look at these "new CEOs" closely. Weaving compelling interview excerpts with new research, the book traces how these new CEOs came to power, questions whether they differ from white male Fortune 500 CEOs in meaningful ways, asks whether the companies that hired them differ from other companies, and discusses what we can learn about power in America from the emergence of these new CEOs. As Americans continue to debate corporate compensation, glass ceilings, and colorblind relationships, The New CEOs shares information critical to understanding our current situation and looks toward the future in our increasingly globalized world. The paperback edition of The New CEOs features a new Introduction and an updated comprehensive list of new CEOs to date.
Publication Date: 2011-06-23
Leadership Essentials Video Series
How to Foster True Diversity and Inclusion at Work
The Human Skills we Need in an Unpredictable World
Interactive Media Bias Chart
- Interactive Media Bias Chart
Use this free media bias chart to see where your news site is on the chart.
On Shelf from CCBC Libraries
100+ Management Models: How to Understand and Apply the World's Most Powerful Business Tools by
The one-stop resource to 100+ powerful management methods 100+ Management Models offers a quick overview of the key features and potential applications of each of the most important models in nine different categories: sustainability, innovation, strategy, diversity, customers, human resources, benchmarking, leadership, and implementation. Each section concludes with a summary of the key dilemmas that tend to emerge from the particular function, along with analysis of potential solutions. Fons Trompenaars is a world expert on international management and the author of the global bestseller Riding the Waves of Culture. He is a recipient of the International Professional Practice Area Research Award by the American Society for Training and Development (ASTD). Piet Hein Coebergh is an expert in formulating and communicating corporate strategy. He is a lecturer at the University of Applied Sciences, Leiden, and managing consultant at Coebergh Communications & PR.
Call Number: HD30.4 .T77 2015
The New Rules of Marketing and PR by
The most updated edition yet of the benchmark guide to marketing and PR, with the latest social media, marketing, and sales trends, tools, and real-world examples of success This is the fifth edition of the pioneering guide to the future of marketing. The New Rules of Marketing & PR is an international bestseller with more than 350,000 copies sold in over twenty-five languages. It offers a step-by-step action plan for harnessing the power of modern marketing and PR to directly communicate with buyers, raise visibility, and increase sales. This practical guide is written for marketing professionals, PR professionals, and entrepreneurs who want to grow their businesses and create success. Learn how companies, nonprofits, and organizations of all sizes can leverage web-based content to get timely, relevant information to eager, responsive buyers for a fraction of the cost of big-budget campaigns. This fifth edition--the most extensively revised edition yet--includes: Dozens of compelling case studies with revisions Real-world examples of content marketing and inbound marketing strategies and tactics A fresh introduction A new chapter on sales and service Coverage of the latest social media platforms, including Periscope, Meerkat, and Snapchat The New Rules of Marketing & PR is an unparalleled resource for entrepreneurs, business owners, nonprofit managers, and all of those working in marketing or publicity departments. This practical guide shows how to devise successful marketing and PR strategies to grow any business. David Meerman Scott is a marketing strategist, bestselling author of ten books--including three international bestsellers--advisor to emerging companies such as HubSpot, and a professional speaker on marketing, leadership, and social media. Prior to starting his own business, he was marketing VP for two publicly traded US companies and was Asia marketing director for Knight-Ridder, at the time one of the world′s largest information companies.
Call Number: HF5415.1265 .S393 2015
Burn the Business Plan by
"The evangelist of entrepreneurship" (The Economist) reveals the true stories about how a range of entrepreneurs created their successful start-ups: hint, many of them never began with a business plan. Business schools teach that the most important prerequisite for starting a business is a business plan. Nonsense, says Carl Schramm in Burn the Business Plan, who for a decade headed the most important foundation devoted to entrepreneurship in this country. Microsoft, Apple, Facebook, and Google are just a few of the companies that began without one. Schramm explains that the importance of a business plan is only one of the many misconceptions about starting a company. Another is the myth of the kid genius--that all entrepreneurs are young software prodigies. In fact, the average entrepreneur is thirty-nine years old and has worked in corporate America for at least a decade. Schramm discusses why people with work experience in corporate America have an advantage as entrepreneurs. For one thing, they often have important contacts in the business world who may be customers for their new service or product. For another, they often have the opportunity to strategize with knowledgeable people and get valuable advice. Burn the Business Plan tells stories of successful entrepreneurs in a variety of fields. It shows how knowledge, passion, determination, and a willingness to experiment and innovate are vastly more important than financial skill. This is an important, motivating look at true success that dispels the myths and offers invaluable real-world advice on how to achieve your dreams.
Call Number: HB615 .S367 2018
Good Profit by
THE REVOLUTIONARY MANAGEMENT SYSTEM BEHIND ONE OF THE MOST SUCCESSFUL COMPANIES OF OUR TIME In 1961, Charles Koch joined his father's Wichita-based company, then valued at $21 million. Six years later, he was named chairman of the board and CEO of Koch Industries, Inc. Today, Koch Industries' estimated worth is $100 billion -- making it one of the largest private companies in the world. Koch exceeds the S&P 500's five-decade growth by 27-fold and plans to double its value on average every six years. What exactly does this company do and why is it so remarkably profitable? Koch's name may not be on your stain-resistant carpet, stretch denim jeans, the connectors in your smart phone, or your baby's ultra-absorbent diapers but it makes them all. And Koch's Market-Based Management® system is what drives these innovations and many more. Based on five decades of interdisciplinary studies, experimental discovery, and practical implementation across Koch businesses worldwide, the core objective of MBM is to generate good profit. Good profit results from products and services that customers vote for freely with their dollars, products that improve people's lives. It results from a culture where employees are empowered to act entrepreneurially to discover customers' preferences and the best ways to satisfy them. Good profit is what follows when long-term value is created for customers, employees, shareholders, and society. Here, drawing on revealing, honest, and previously untold stories from his nearly six decades in business, Koch walks the reader through the five dimensions of MBM to show how to apply its framework to generate more good profit in any business, industry, or organization of any size. Readers will learn how to: · Craft a vision for how to thrive in spite of increasingly rapid disruption · Select and retain a workforce possessing both virtue and talent · Create an environment of knowledge sharing that prizes respectful challenges from everyone at every level · Award employees with ownership and decision rights based on their proven contributions, not job title · Motivate all employees to maximize their contributions by structuring incentives so compensation is limited only by the value they create A must-read for any leader, entrepreneur, or student, as well as anyone who wants a more civil, fair, and prosperous society, Good Profit is destined to rank as one of the greatest management books of all time.
Call Number: HD31 .K5982137 2015
