Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles about companies and business trends around the world, especially useful for company research.
Business Source Premier
Articles on business, management, economics, and finance. Also includes company and industry profiles as well as country and marketing research reports.
On Shelf from CCBC Libraries
Encyclopedia of American Business by Featuring more than 800 entries, the two-volume Encyclopedia of American Business, Revised Edition is an up-to-date, easy-to-use guide to the nuts and bolts of business jargon. Difficult ideas are explained in straightforward language to help non-specialists, students, and general readers understand the complex and sometimes confusing concepts and terms that are used in business. Five general areas of business are covered: accounting, banking, finance, marketing, and management. This encyclopedia focuses on the terms, concepts, and associations that one is most likely to encounter in business, making it a great place to start learning about how businesses operate and what the primary and different features of specific business-related functions or ideas mean.
Call Number: HF3021 .E53 2011
The American Heritage Dictionary of Business Terms by From arbitrage to leverage to zero-coupon bond, financial expert David L. Scott defines more than 6,000 terms from all aspects of business in clear, understandable language.Unlike most business dictionaries, which address a specific discipline, The American Heritage Dictionary of Business Terms covers the entire spectrum of business terminology. In clear language it defines over 6,000 terms drawn from the areas of investing, finance,marketing, law, real estate,management, economics, accounting, insurance, and international business.Entries range from investment fundamentals (price-earnings ratio, split, yield) to the lexicon of real estate (amortization, buy down, wraparound mortgage) to the terminology of contemporary finance (CDO, short sale, tranche).More than 100 key terms, such as antitrust, bailout, and subprime loan, are enhanced by real-world case studies that bring the concept to life. In addition, scores of tips from expert professionals offer advice on topics ranging from renegotiating a mortgage to reducing the estate tax.This dictionary is an indispensable reference for business professionals and investors at all levels of expertise.The growing need for individuals to plan their own retirement strategies, especially in a global economy,makes it an ideal resource for those interested in how current business news affects their investments. Business students also will find it an informative supplement to their curriculum.
Call Number: HF1001 .S348 2009
Key Performance Indicators (KPI): the 75 Measures Every Manager Needs to Know by Performance indicators are essential tools which will tell you if your business is on target or veering off course. Using the right indicators will help you deliver the right results. Key Performance Indicators cuts straight to the 75 + KPIs that matter. It explains what key performance indicators are, gives you short overviews of each metric and describes how to use the measure effectively. There are worked examples throughout which will equip you with the skills to understand, assess and interpret the most important aspects of any business. From net profit margin, to customer satisfaction through to brand equity, six sigma and employee engagement, the book gives you all the essential performance indicators. A practical guide to the most powerful financial and non-financial performance indicators vital for every business.
Call Number: HF5549.5.P37 M37 2012
The Business Book by You can achieve your business dream. Beat the odds as you learn from the best - including Henry Ford, Steve Jobs, and Bill Gates - and turn your idea into an amazing and profitable enterprise. The Business Book helps you over the hurdles facing every new business, such as finding a gap in the market, securing finance, employing people, and creating an eye-catching brand. It is a plain-speaking visual guide to 80 of the most important commerce theories including chaos theory, critical path analysis, market mapping, and the MABA matrix. Its graphics and flow diagrams demystify complicated concepts and explain the ideas of seminal business thinkers, such as Malcolm Gladwell's "tipping point" or Michael Porter's "five forces". It shows that you can succeed with stories of rags-to-riches entrepreneurs, including the founders of Hewlett-Packard, who began their global enterprise from their garage. Whether you are a student, a CEO, or a would-be entrepreneur, The Business Book will inspire you and put you on the inside track to making your goal a reality. Series Overview: Big Ideas Simply Explained series uses creative design and innovative graphics along with straightforward and engaging writing to make complex subjects easier to understand. With over 7 million copies worldwide sold to date, these award-winning books provide just the information needed for students, families, or anyone interested in concise, thought-provoking refreshers on a single subject.
Call Number: HF5351 .B8512 2014
Online from CCBC Libraries
Gale Business Insights Handbooks of Social Media Marketing by The Gale Business Insights Handbook Of Social Media Marketing examines the questions What is social media marketing and How can it be used in my business? This volume focuses on building an internal business case for using social media, highlighting its importance, the benefits it can provide, and how to implement a successful strategy and measure its effectiveness. Entries examine such topics as the types of social media and their followers; how to increase discoverability; and how to define and protect your brand; legal challenges with social media, and more.
Business An international bestseller, BUSINESS- The Ultimate Resource is a one-stop reference and interactive tool covering all aspects of today's world of work. Unique, authoritative, and wide-ranging, it offers practical and strategic advice for anyone doing business today. Written with a team of world-class writers and editors, it is an essential desk reference for managers, MBA and business students and for small business owners worldwide. Fully updated and revised for this new edition, BUSINESS features- Best Practice- over 170 essays from a stellar cast of business thought leaders including C. K. Prahalad, Gary Hamel and John Kotter Checklists and actionlists- more than 200 practical solutions to everyday business challenges Management Library- time-saving digests of more than 100 of the world's best business books Dictionary- jargon-free definitions of more than 7,000 terms Giants and Thinkers- revised biographies of over 100 of the world's most influential gurus and pioneers
Publication Date: 2011-06-13
Business Skills All-In-One for Dummies by Find workplace success There are some things that will never go out of style, and good business skills are one of them. With the help of this informative book, you'll learn how to wear multiple hats in the workplace no matter what comes your way--without ever breaking a sweat. Compiled from eight of the best Dummies books on business skills topics, Business Skills All-in-One For Dummies offers everything you need to hone your abilities and translate them into a bigger paycheck. Whether you're tasked with marketing or accounting responsibilities--or anything in between--this all-encompassing reference makes it easier than ever to tackle your job with confidence. Manage a successful operation Write more effectively Work on the go with Microsoft Office 365 Deal with marketing, accounting, and projects with ease If you've ever dreamed about being able to juggle all your work responsibilities without ever dropping the ball, the book is for you.
Publication Date: 2018-04-17