Databases
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on business, management, economics, and finance. Also includes company and industry profiles as well as country and marketing research reports.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
HR Strategy and Management (Video)
- HR Strategy and ManagementPeter Wallbridge explains the life cycle of employees from recruitment to exit. He breaks down the functions of the human resources department which include; advertising and marketing the company brand, recruiting new employees, hiring, planning for training and development, managing performance, knowing local and state laws, following policy for terminations, managing change, and remuneration.
The Role of Human Resources (Video)
- The Role of Human ResourcesUsing expert testimonials and person on the street interviews, this video covers the role of human resources in a business. Representatives from a variety of different organizations discuss the crucial functions of Human Resources using theory, anecdotes and real world examples. Topics include; recruitment and selection, employee training, employee rights, equal opportunity, management, and motivation.
Job Analysis and Design (Video)
HR Basics: Selection (Video)
Online from CCBC Libraries
Human Resources Management Issues, Challenges and Trends by
Human Resources Management Issues, Challenges and Trends: "Now and Around the Corner" explores and provides an updated look at some of the challenges, trends and issues HRM professionals will need to focus on now and around the corner. Like other departments in the broader organization HRM professionals will need to increasingly demonstrate how they add value and contribute to the organization's success. While the trends, challenges and issues impacting organizations and HRM professionals will continue to change over the years, the bottom-line of organization success is the clear reality that employees are their best assets and the need for effective HRM. The book is intended to help to better understand the ongoing transformation of HRM given the issues, challenges and opportunities offered by the contributors to this book. This means the book discusses the ever evolving role of HRM professionals to include discussion of how the profession must continue to become more adaptive, resilient, quick to change direction and customer-centered in its efforts to help meet the human resource needs of contemporary organizations and their employees. The book contributes to the ongoing dialogue and insights offered by HRM experts on what HRM professionals and their organizations can do in the face of such challenges, trends and issues in their efforts to win the talent wars.
Publication Date: 2019
Global Human Resources Management by
Global Human Resources Management studies various aspects of human resource management including an extensive overviewof management in relation human resource and relatedconcepts. It includes definitions of global human resourcesmanagement, recruitment, selection and performance management.It talks about new trends in the industry. Provides thereader with insights into the management of human resource soas to understand the employee's mind, motivations, arguments,backgrounds and why their management is necessary.
Publication Date: 2019
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Human Resource Management: a Very Short Introduction by
The way in which organizations manage their people has always been pivotal to their performance, long before formal human resource management coalesced into a definable and somewhat fashionable discipline in the mid-1980s. Earlier campaigns for worker welfare in the 18th and 19th century weredriven by a mix of humanitarian, religious, philanthropic, and business motives, and sought workplace amenities such as medical care, housing, and libraries. At the same time functionaries and departments specialising in HR processes such as hiring, payroll, and record keeping emerged.This Very Short Introduction describes how the key players and watershed moments in labour history shaped the state of human resource management today. In our era of globalization human resource management has to contend with a number of new and increasingly complex factors, such as global sourcing,regional trade agreements and labour standards, remote working, strategic alliances, and innovation driven by competition. As traditional sources of competitive advantage such as access to capital, protected markets, or proprietary technologies evaporate, firms increasingly look to human resourcemanagement to offer a competitive edge. In the 'laboratory' of university departments or in the gritty and sweaty reality of the shop floor, there is no single model of human resource management. Instead human resource management today is as able to impact everything from small owner-managed shopsin Brick Lane to the high tech behemoths of Silicon Valley. Adrian Wilkinson shows how human resource management covers the relations between employees and their employers, and explores the range of HR practices, processes, and line management activities.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Call Number: HF5549 .W4839 2022
The Essential HR Handbook, 10th Anniversary Edition by
Since 2008, busy managers by the tens of thousands have turned to this best-selling book as a handy guide to the ins and outs of human resources. And no wonder! Because whether you're a small business owner, a manager in a business without an HR department, or even a seasoned HR professional, The Essential HR Handbook will help you handle any personnel problem--from onboarding to outplacement--quickly and easily. This fully updated 10th anniversary edition is packed with information, tools, checklists, sample forms, and timely tips to guide you through the maze of personnel issues in today's complex business environment. In it you'll find out how to: Attract talented staff through social media recruiting Identify legal pitfalls to avoid lawsuits and regulatory interference Train a diverse and inclusive multigenerational workforce Provide the compensation and benefits package that will make your organization an "employer of choice" Streamline your orientation and onboarding practices so new employees hit the ground running Whenever personnel problems arise, having The Essential HR Handbook on your bookshelf is like having a team of expert HR consultants at your beck and call!
Call Number: HF5549 .A89786 2019
Redefining HR by
In these times of change and disruption, HR must adapt, fast. But how can HR professionals critically assess their current processes and activities to identify what areas they need to think differently about in order to drive business results? This book provides the answers to enable all aspects of the people function to perform to their full potential. Redefining HR is a refreshing take on the evolution of the field of Human Resources and People Operations. It's an in-depth guide to the fundamental components of modern HR, and provides a tangible framework of progressive ideas and practices for HR practitioners, people leaders, and business executives. This is not a theoretical examination of HR. This is a book for practitioners, with insights from people professionals at the leading edge of HR's transformation from companies including Hubspot, Reddit, Stripe, Mastercard, Eventbrite, VaynerMedia, Asana. Written by a leading innovator in the HR industry, this book illuminates new perspectives and approaches for rethinking recruitment, talent management, performance and reward to save time, reduce costs and achieve greater business success. It covers key HR practices including diversity and inclusion, people analytics, learning and development (L&D) and employee experience and is supported by global case studies from organizations including Siemens, Upwork, CVS, Schneider Electric, Delivery Hero, and more. Redefining HR is an essential resource for all HR professionals business leaders wanting to create an exceptional people management function.
Call Number: HF5549 .S2448 2021
Human Resources Kit for Dummies by
Align HR practices with your objectives and keep your companycompetitive A company's ability to grow and stay on top of customer demandhas always depended heavily on the quality of its people. Now, morethan ever, businesses recognize that finding (and keeping) a highlyskilled and motivated workforce is pivotal to success. Maybe you'rea business owner and your company is growing, or you're an employeeat a small- to midsize-company and management has asked you to takeon some?or all?of their HR functions. Either way,knowing how to set up and implement successful HR practices (not tomention navigating the legal minefields in today's increasinglyregulated environment) can be tricky. Human Resources Kit For Dummies is your one-stop resourcefor learning the nuts and bolts of HR. It gives you forms andtemplates that you can put to immediate and productive use. New information on anti-discrimination legislation; measuringperformance; hiring, firing, and retaining employees; and trainingand development plans The latest info on online and social media policies Updated forms and contracts, from job application forms andsample employee policies to performance appraisals and benefit planworksheets If you're currently working in Human Resources or areresponsible for employees in your business, the tools presentedhere help you maximize the effectiveness of your own HRprogram.
Call Number: HF5549.2.U5 M48 2013
A Very Short, Fairly Interesting and Reasonably Cheap Book about Human Resource Management by
Engaging and entertaining in equal measure, Human Resource Management is a book about work, the people who do it and the way they are managed (and mismanaged). Raising issues that are often neglected in typical HRM texts, such as work intensification and unemployment; it explores the realities of work, workers, and the communities that are affected by HRM policy and practice. Grugulis draws on current research to provide a critical and reflective overview of the key debates in HRM today.Conceived by Chris Grey as an antidote to conventional textbooks, each book in the 'Very Short, Fairly Interesting and Reasonably Cheap' series takes a core area of the curriculum and turns it on its head by providing a critical and sophisticated overview of the key issues and debates in an informal, conversational and often humorous way.Suitable for students of HRM, professionals working in organizations and anyone with an interest in the nature of human resources.Need another "VSFI" book? Browse the series here
Call Number: HF5549 .G78 2017
