Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online From CCBC Libraries
Landscape Architecture by Aimed at prospective and new students, this book gives a comprehensive introduction to the nature and practise of landscape architecture, the professional skills required and the latest developments.After discussing the history of the profession, the book explains the design process through principles such as hierarchy, human scale, unity, harmony, asymmetry, color, form, and texture. It looks at how design is represented through both drawing and modeling, and through digital techniques such as CAD and the use of GIS (Geographic Information Systems). This is followed by an examination of project management and landscape management techniques. Finally, the book explores educational and employment opportunities and the future of the profession in the context of climate change and sustainability.Illustrated with international examples of completed projects, Landscape Architecture provides an invaluable, one-stop resource for anyone considering studying or a career in this field.
Publication Date: 2014
The Green Leap by Written for anyone interested in green development--including policy makers, architects, developers, builders, and homeowners--this practical guide focuses on the central question of how to conserve biodiversity in neighborhoods and to minimize development impacts on surrounding habitats. The Green Leap specifically helps move green development beyond the design stage by thoroughly addressing construction and post-construction issues. Incorporating many real-world examples, Mark Hostetler explains key conservation concepts and techniques, with specific advice for a wide variety of stakeholders that are interested in creating and maintaining green developments. He outlines the key players and principles needed to establish biodiverse communities and illustrates eight key design and management strategies. The Green Leap not only offers essential information for constructing new developments but also helps existing communities retrofit homes, yards, and neighborhoods to better serve both people and nature.
Publication Date: 2012
Green Building Materials and Energy-Saving Construction by This collection of peer-reviewed papers, on new research results in green building materials and energy-saving construction, brings together industrial and academic researchers, developers and users from around the world to - in effect - share their state-of-the-art results, to explore new areas of research and development and to discuss the emerging issues facing green building materials and energy-saving construction.
Publication Date: 2011
Sustainable Landscape Construction by Published at the beginning of the twenty-first century, "Sustainable Landscape Construction" took a new approach to what was then a nearly new subject: how to construct outdoor environments based on principles of sustainability. This enormously influential book helped to spur a movement that has taken root around the U.S. and throughout the world. The second edition has been thoroughly updated to include the most important developments in this landscape revolution, along with the latest scientific research in the field. It has been expanded to provide even more ideas for designing, building, and maintaining environmentally sensitive landscapes. It is essential reading for everyone with an interest in "green" landscape design. Like its predecessor, the new edition of "Sustainable Landscape Construction" is organized around principles that reflect the authors' desire to put environmental ethics into practice. Each chapter focuses on one over-arching idea. These principles of sustainability are clearly articulated and are developed through specific examples. More than 100 projects from around the globe are described and illustrated. A new chapter details ways in which landscape architectural practice must respond to the dangers posed by fire, floods, drought, extreme storms, and climate change. "Sustainable Landscape Construction" is a crucial complement to basic landscape construction texts, and is a one-of-a-kind reference for professionals, students, and concerned citizens.
Publication Date: 2008
Green Roofs - On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
The Green Roof Manual by Green roofs--the ultimate in sustainable building practices--continue to generate enormous interest and enthusiasm among architects, landscape designers, and urban planners. Increasingly strict stormwater regulations and the appeal of LEED-related projects have also boosted the popularity and desirability of green roofs. Those who want to build green roofs, however, have few resources to guide them. Until now, no book has taken a comprehensive look at how to effectively adapt green-roof technology to the variable and extreme North American climate, and how to design projects that will function and endure as successfully as those in Germany, Switzerland, and other European countries. This book fills the gap by providing an overview of practices and techniques that have been effective in North America. The authors offer options regarding structure, function, horticulture, and logistics, as well as surveys of actual projects and analyses of why they have or haven't succeeded. Approachable and reader-friendly, the manual clearly explains how these complex systems function and how to plan and carry out projects successfully from concept through construction and maintenance. Ideally suited to professionals (including architects, landscape architects, engineers, and designers) and their clients, it brings together key lessons from leaders in the field. Numerous photographs highlight the range of design possibilities and show green roofs both during construction and at various stages of maturity. At last, those seeking basic information about how to design and build green roofs have a concise, authoritative guide to this exciting new technology.
Call Number: SB 419.5.S65 2010
Planting Green Roofs and Living Walls by The latest techniques for planting roofs and walls to enhance our buildings and benefit the environment. The green roof industry is booming and the technology changing fast as professionals respond to the unique challenges of each new planting. In this comprehensively updated, fully revised edition of their authoritative reference, Nigel Dunnett and Noël Kingsbury reveal the very latest techniques, materials, and plants, and showcase some spectacular new case studies for the non-professional. Green roofs and walls reduce pollution and runoff, help insulate and reduce the maintenance needs of buildings, contribute to biodiversity, and provide habitats for wildlife. In addition to all this, they are attractive to look at and enhance the quality of life of residents. In Planting Green Roofs and Living Walls, Revised and Updated Edition, the authors describe and illustrate the practical techniques required to design, implement, and maintain a green roof or wall to the highest standards. This informative, up-to-the-minute reference will encourage gardeners everywhere to consider the enormous benefits to be gained from planting on their roofs and walls.
Call Number: SB 19.5.D85 2008
The Professional Design Guide to Green Roofs by Until recently, most green rooftop gardens were little more than variations on sedum mats on four inches of soil. Now, designers are creating cutting-edge green roofs that focus not only on critical environmental issue like heat, storm management, and ecosystem development, but also on the aesthetics, offering beautiful, livable, sustainable landscapes. The Professional Design Guide to Green Roofs is a comprehensive exploration of rooftop garden design and the process behind it. It covers everything landscape architects and garden designers need to know to create a beautiful garden in the sky. With lush photography, international examples, and solid how-to information, this is an essential resource for all design professionals.
Call Number: SB 419.5.D35 2013
Small Green Roofs by Until now, the green roof movement has been limited to large-scale, professional endeavours and public buildings. But homeowners everywhere are catching onto the benefits of a green roof -- water conservation, energy savings, and storm water management. In Small Green Roofs authors Dunnett, Gedge, Little, and Snodgrass profile ordinary homeowners who scaled green roofs down to the domestic level. Small Green Roofs is the first book to focus on small-scale and domestic green roofs. More than forty profiles of small and domestic-scale projects of all shapes and sizes include green roofs on sheds, garden offices, studios, garages, houses, bicycle sheds, and other small structures, as well as several community projects. For each project, details are given for design, construction, and installation, as well as how-to tips on how the roof was planted and cared for. For readers looking for inspiration when hiring a contractor or taking the adventurous step of building their own, Small Green Roofs provides the knowledge and encouragement to make it possible.
Call Number: SB 419.5.S63 2011
Biological Science Database
Articles on biology topics.
Articles about ecology, energy, natural resources, science, technology, law, public policy, and social impacts.
Articles on environmental topics.
ProQuest Science Database
Articles on both the applied and general sciences like computers, transportation, and biology.
Articles from journals on science, technology and medicine for advanced research.
Science Full Text Select
Articles on science topics.
Rain gardens - On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
The Rain Garden Planner by Encourages the homeowner to conserve water by restoring natural processes that filter and return water to groundwater reservoirs. Learn the installation and maintenance of rain gardens. Provides garden plans and plant lists for different conditions and styles, including wildlife habitat, a pretty cottage border, and a formal garden. Discusses community gardens, ways that individuals can do their part in conservation, and provides many resources for further information. Rain gardens to suit any style or size of property are within the reach of anyone. Create a beautiful and enjoyable home garden while saving water and the natural environment.
Call Number: SB 475.83.W35 2009
Rain Gardens by Rain gardens are at the forefront of the green revolution. This environmentally friendly landscaping captures rainwater runoff rather than redirecting it into storm drains. The result is less erosion, less water pollution, and a beautiful, low-maintenance, sustainable garden. This is the first rain garden handbook for the backyard home gardener. Co-authors Robert Domm and Lynn Steiner draw on hands-on experience to help homeowners build beautiful rain gardens in their own yards. Illustrated with color photography, this instructive book offers specific advice about planning, building, planting, and maintaining your garden. Learn about city grants, how to calculate runoff, rain barrels, attracting wildlife, gray water recycling, and much more.
Call Number: SB475.83 .S74 2012
The American Society of Landscape Architects shares ideas for turning unused areas in in cities into green spaces and urban gardens growing vegetables and other foods.
Energy Efficient Home Landscapes
Sustainable Gardens and Landscaping - On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
The American Meadow Garden by If there's one lesson every homeowner must learn, it's this: The traditional lawn is a huge, time consuming, synthetic-chemical sucking mistake. The time has come to look for new ways to create friendly, livable spaces around our homes. In The American Meadow Garden, ornamental grass expert John Greenlee creates a new model for homeowners and gardeners. For Greenlee, a meadow isn't a random assortment of messy, anonymous grasses. Rather, it is a shimmering mini-ecosystem, in which regionally appropriate grasses combine with colorful perennials to form a rich tapestry that is friendly to all life -- with minimal input of water, time, and other scarce resources. Kids and pets can play in complete safety, and birds and butterflies flock there. A prairie style planting is a place you want to be. With decades of experience as a nurseryman and designer, John Greenlee is the perfect guide. He details all the practicalities of site preparation, plant selection, and maintenance; particularly valuable are his explanations of how ornamental grasses perform in different climates and areas. Gorgeous photography by Saxon Holt visually illustrates the message with stunning examples of meadow gardens from across the country. We've reached a stage where we can no longer follow past practices unthinkingly, particularly when those practices are wasteful and harmful to the environment. It's time to get rid of the old-fashioned lawn and embrace a sane and healthy future: the American meadow garden.
Call Number: SB439.G737 2010
Bioshelter Market Garden by To ensure food security and restore the health of the planet, we need to move beyond industrial agriculture and return to the practice of small-scale, local farming. Bioshelter Market Garden: A Permaculture Farm describes the creation of a sustainable food system through a detailed case study of the successful year-round organic market garden and permaculture design at Pennsylvania's Three Sisters Farm. At the heart of Three Sisters is its bioshelter--a solar greenhouse that integrates growing facilities, poultry housing, a potting room, storage, kitchen facilities, compost bins, a reference library, and classroom area. Bioshelter Market Garden examines how the bioshelter promotes greater biodiversity and is an energy-efficient method of extending crop production through Pennsylvania's cold winter months. Both visionary and practical, this fully illustrated book contains a wealth of information on the application of permaculture principles. Some of the topics covered include: Design and management of an intensive market garden farm Energy systems and biothermal resources Ecological soil management and pest control Wetlands usage Solar greenhouse design and management Whatever your gardening experience and ambitions, this comprehensive manual is sure to inform and inspire. Darrell Frey is the owner and manager of Three Sisters Farm, a five-acre permaculture farm, solar greenhouse, and market garden located in western Pennsylvania. Darrell writes extensively on permaculture design and ecological land use planning and has been a sustainable community development consultant and permaculture teacher for twenty-five years.
Call Number: S494.5.P47 F74 2011
The Conscientious Gardener by In his influential A Sand County Almanac, published at the beginning of the environmental movement in 1949, Aldo Leopold proposed a new ecological ethic to guide our stewardship of the planet. In this inspiring book, Sarah Hayden Reichard tells how we can bring Leopold's far-reaching vision to our gardens to make them more sustainable, lively, and healthy places. Today, gardening practices too often damage the environment: we deplete resources in our own soil while mining for soil amendments in far away places, or use water and pesticides in ways that can pollute lakes and rivers. Drawing from cutting edge research on urban horticulture, Reichard explores the many benefits of sustainable gardening and gives straightforward, practical advice on topics such as pest control, water conservation, living with native animals, mulching, and invasive species. The book includes a scorecard that allows readers to quickly evaluate the sustainability of their current practices, as well as an extensive list of garden plants that are invasive, what they do, and where they should be avoided.
Call Number: SB319.95.R45 2011
Green Careers in Building and Landscaping by Under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA), millions of dollars have been allocated to improve energy efficiency in building construction. ARRA's substantial federal investments in building and retrofitting are likely to become a major source of revenue for suppliers of "green" products and services: For example, under ARRA, the government has authorized $4.5 billion alone for "greening" federal buildings. Clearly, building and large-scale landscaping businesses that invest in sustainable practices are poised for great success-and with success comes the need to increase the workforce. Peterson'sGreen Careers in Building and Landscaping is your one-stop resource for entry into the burgeoning green building sector. Selling Points: 1. Target markets: a.) environmentally conscious workers seeking careers in sustainable building and landscaping; b.) job seekers considering a career switch to sustainable building or landscaping; c.) skilled tradespeople and professionals seeking green jobs that do not require an advanced degree; d.) employees in building or landscaping industries hoping to advance as the field develops sustainable practices 2. Profiles of specific professional and skilled labor jobs in building and landscaping, with current data on work environments, career paths, earning potential, and education/licensure/training/certification requirements for each job 3. The latest on building and landscaping job trends and areas where jobs are most plentiful, with tips on where and how to search for jobs 4. Profiles of four- and two-year colleges that offer green programs of study, with data on degrees/programs available, costs and financial aid, admissions and application requirements, and green campus organizations and projects 5. Listings of union programs offering training/retraining for skilled workers 6. Review of government funding available for workplace training in building and landscaping
Call Number: NA2542.36 .G742 2010
Grow More with Less by Horticultural expert Vincent Simeone helps you plan your green garden in this practical, holistic guide. With detailed, strategic timelines for both short-term and long-term gardening techniques, Grow More with Less lets you put your best foot forward in creating an efficient, sustainable home landscape. From composting and mulching to planting trees, author Vincent Simeone covers all the eco-friendly essentials in one straightforward handbook. Simeone makes the what, how, and why of sustainable gardening unmistakably clear: why we should plant for the long-term, how to make the best plant selections possible, how to manage invasive species, how to make the most of your lawn (regardless of its size), the importance of IPM (integrated pest management) in fighting insects and pests, how to conserve water with proper irrigation, installing rain barrels and cisterns, and more. Even when the solution is to do nothing - for instance, leaving some parts of a lawn un-mowed in order to save time and money while attracting local wildlife - Grow More with Less enables you to confidently make the call. With effective, time-proven recommendations like these, field-tested in a large botanical garden and adapted for home use by Vincent Simeone, Grow More with Less is your complete step-by-step personal roadmap for green gardening.
Call Number: SB319.95 .S56 2013
Lawn Gone! by "A colorful guide covering the basics of replacing a traditional lawn with a wide variety of easy-care, no-mow, drought-tolerant, money-saving options that will appeal to today's busy, eco-conscious homeowner. Americans pour 300 million gallons of gas and 1 billion hours every year into mowing their lawns, not to mention 70 million pounds of pesticides and $40 billion for lawn upkeep. No Wonder the anti-lawn movement is thriving, as today's eco-conscious consumers realize that their traditional lawns are water-hogging, chemical-ridden, maintenance-intensive burdens. Lawn Gone!, from award-winning gardening blogger Pam Penick, is the first basic introduction to low-water, easy-care lawn alternatives for beginning gardeners, written in a friendly style with an approachable package. It covers all the available time-saving options- alternative grasses, ground cover plants, artificial turf, hardscaping, mulch, and more. In addition, it includes step-by-step lawn-removal methods, strategies for dealing with neighbors and homeowner associations, and how to minimize your lawn if you're not ready to go all the way."
Call Number: SB473.P428 2013
The New American Landscape by Gardeners are the front line of defence in our struggle to tackle the problems of global warming, loss of habitat, water shortages, and shrinking biodiversity. In The New American Landscape, author and editor Thomas Christopher brings together the best thinkers on the topic of gardening sustainably, and asks them to describe the future of the sustainable landscape. The discussion unfolds from there, and what results is a collective vision as eloquent as it is diverse. The New American Landscape offers designers a roadmap to a beautiful garden that improves, not degrades the environment. It's a provocative manifesto about the important role gardens play in creating a more sustainable future that no professional garden designer can afford to miss. - John Greenlee and Neil Diboll on the new American meadow garden. - Rick Darke on balancing natives and exotics in the garden. - Doug Tallamy on landscapes that welcome wildlife. - Eric Toensmeier on the sustainable edible garden. - David Wolfe on gardening sustainable with a changing climate. - Elaine Ingham on managing soil health. - David Deardorff and Kathryn Wadsworth on sustainable pest solutions. - Ed Snodgrass and Linda McIntyre on green roofs in the sustainable residential landscape. - Thomas Christopher on waterwise gardens. - Toby Hemenway on whole system garden design. - The Sustainable Site Initiative on the managing the home landscape as a sustainable site.
Call Number: SB 319.95.N40 2011
Principles of Ecological Landscape Design by Today, there is a growing demand for designed landscapes--from public parks to backyards--to be not only beautiful and functional, but also sustainable. With Principles of Ecological Landscape Design, Travis Beck gives professionals and students the first book to translate the science of ecology into design practice. This groundbreaking work explains key ecological concepts and their application to the design and management of sustainable landscapes. It covers topics from biogeography and plant selection to global change. Beck draws on real world cases where professionals have put ecological principles to use in the built landscape. For constructed landscapes to perform as we need them to, we must get their underlying ecology right. Principles of Ecological Landscape Design provides the tools to do just that.
Call Number: QH 541.15.L35 B43 2013
Sustainable Landscape Construction by Published at the beginning of the twenty-first century, Sustainable Landscape Construction took a new approach to what was then a nearly new subject: how to construct outdoor environments based on principles of sustainability. This enormously influential book helped to spur a movement that has taken root around the U.S. and throughout the world. The second edition has been thoroughly updated to include the most important developments in this landscape revolution, along with the latest scientific research in the field. It has been expanded to provide even more ideas for designing, building, and maintaining environmentally sensitive landscapes. It is essential reading for everyone with an interest in "green" landscape design. Like its predecessor, the new edition of Sustainable Landscape Construction is organized around principles that reflect the authors' desire to put environmental ethics into practice. Each chapter focuses on one over-arching idea. These principles of sustainability are clearly articulated and are developed through specific examples. More than 100 projects from around the globe are described and illustrated. A new chapter details ways in which landscape architectural practice must respond to the dangers posed by fire, floods, drought, extreme storms, and climate change. Sustainable Landscape Construction is a crucial complement to basic landscape construction texts, and is a one-of-a-kind reference for professionals, students, and concerned citizens.
Call Number: TH380 .T46 2008
Sustainable Landscape Management by THE COMPLETE GUIDE TO THE SUSTAINABLE MANAGEMENT OF LANDSCAPES A must-have guide for anyone working with landscapes, Sustainable Landscape Management eases the transition of the landscape industry into a new era of green consciousness. Filled with examples that illustrate best practices, the book provides a practical framework for the development of sustainable management strategies from design to execution and, eventually, to maintenance in an effort to construct landscapes that function more efficiently and minimize the impact on the environment. Sustainable Landscape Management includes: An overview of sustainable design and construction techniques as the basis for the maintenance and management of constructed landscapes Coverage of ecosystem development, managing landscape beds, managing trees and shrubs, and lawn care An entire chapter devoted to issues associated with the use of chemicals in landscape management Guidance on retrofitting existing landscapes for sustainability Reshaping the landscape takes on more significance as society embraces a new value system for advancing environmentally friendly ideals. By following the management principles laid out in this book, readers will learn the key elements for building landscapes that integrate beauty and function to create a sustainable presence that extends well into the future.
Call Number: SB 472.3 .C67 2011
Tomorrow's Garden by With a keen eye for aesthetics matched by a strong concern for the environment, garden expert Stephen Orr has developed a sense of what a modern garden should be- small, visually pleasing, and responsible. In Tomorrow's Garden, he presents gardens in 14 American cities that have been scaled back and simplified without sacrificing beauty or innovative design. A devoted supporter of the organic gardening movement, Orr advises gardeners to think about their gardens as part of an interconnected whole with the surrounding environment-with an eye to water usage, local ecology, and preservation of resources. However, for those who are afraid that a sustainable garden means a lack of flora and fauna, Orr believes that a garden, first and foremost, should be a thing of beauty. He encourages flower lovers to plant flowers, and he showcases gardens filled with traditional and exotic plants that are designed with both visual appeal and the environment in mind. With detailed case studies, stunning photographs, and an appendix of resources and information to help gardeners achieve their ecological best, Tomorrow's Garden will teach you the true definition of sustainability and show you how to create beauty without excess in the 21st century and beyond.
Call Number: SB472.45 .O77 2011
Understanding Green Building Materials by From eco-friendly sheetrock to sustainable paint finishes, the green building movement is gaining momentum. But with new products, manufacturers, and standards being introduced routinely, how are architects or designers to know what's best for their projects? This book summarizes what is available and the considerations for selecting sustainable materials.
Call Number: TD196.B85 R53 2011
Search for Books and eBooks