Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
The Gardener's Guide to Common-Sense Pest Control by
In this revision of the 1995 original, the authors provide updated information on the control of all pests (insects and diseases) that can afflict lawns, food and ornamental gardens, and shade trees. For each pest, treatments are offered ranging from indirect strategies (such as pruning), through direct physical and biological controls, to least-toxic chemical controls. Easy-to-access finding guides make it a snap to find out what's bugging your plant. Publisher abstract.
Call Number: SB603.5 O45 2013Publication Date: 2013
The Organic Gardener's Handbook of Natural Pest and Disease Control by Call Number: SB453.5.O675 2009
From the CCBC Databases
- Integrated Pest Management (IPM) in Agriculture and Its Role in Maintaining Ecological Balance and Biodiversity
Advances in Agriculture. 8/12/2023, p1-19. 19p. . - Sex or poison? Genetic pest management in the 21st century
BMC Biology. 12/29/2023, Vol. 21 Issue 1, p1-4. 4p
Integrated Pest Management
Websites
- Introduction to Integrated Pest Management
Integrated Pest Management (IPM) is an environmentally friendly, common sense approach to controlling pests. The IPM principles and benefits described below apply to any type of structure and landscaping. - National Pesticide Information Center
"NPIC provides objective, science-based information about pesticides and pesticide related topics to enable people to make informed decisions." - Statewide Integrated Pest Management System
Program of the University of California Agriculture and Natural Resources - IPM Institute of North America IPM Institute of North America, a 501(3)3 non-profit founded in 1998, works to increase adoption of integrated pest management principles and other best practices that reduce risk to health and the environment from pesticide and nutrient use in agriculture and communities.
Online From CCBC Libraries
Area-Wide Integrated Pest Management
Over 98% of sprayed insecticides and 95% of herbicides reach a destination other than their target species, including non-target species, air, water and soil. The extensive reliance on insecticide use reduces biodiversity, contributes to pollinator decline, destroys habitat, and threatens endangered species. This book offers a more effective application of the Integrated Pest Management (IPM) approach, on an area-wide (AW) or population-wide (AW-IPM) basis, which aims at the management of the total population of a pest, involving a coordinated effort over often larger areas. For major livestock pests, vectors of human diseases and pests of high-value crops with low pest tolerance, there are compelling economic reasons for participating in AW-IPM. This new textbook attempts to address various fundamental components of AW-IPM, e.g. the importance of relevant problem-solving research, the need for planning and essential baseline data collection, the significance of integrating adequate tools for appropriate control strategies, and the value of pilot trials, etc. With chapters authored by 184 experts from more than 31 countries, the book includes many technical advances in the areas of genetics, molecular biology, microbiology, resistance management, and social sciences that facilitate the planning and implementing of area-wide strategies. The book is essential reading for the academic and applied research community as well as national and regional government plant and human/animal health authorities with responsibility for protecting plant and human/animal health.
Publication Date: 2021
Sterile Insect Technique by
The sterile insect technique (SIT) is an environment-friendly method of pest control that integrates well into area-wide integrated pest management (AW-IPM) programmes. This book takes a generic, thematic, comprehensive, and global approach in describing the principles and practice of the SIT. The strengths and weaknesses, and successes and failures, of the SIT are evaluated openly and fairly from a scientific perspective. The SIT is applicable to some major pests of plant-, animal-, and human-health importance, and criteria are provided to guide in the selection of pests appropriate for the SIT. In the second edition, all aspects of the SIT have been updated and the content considerably expanded. A great variety of subjects is covered, from the history of the SIT to improved prospects for its future application. The major chapters discuss the principles and technical components of applying sterile insects. The four main strategic options in using the SIT -- suppression, containment, prevention, and eradication -- with examples of each option are described in detail. Other chapters deal with supportive technologies, economic, environmental, and management considerations, and the socio-economic impact of AW-IPM programmes that integrate the SIT. In addition, this second edition includes six new chapters covering the latest developments in the technology: managing pathogens in insect mass-rearing, using symbionts and modern molecular technologies in support of the SIT, applying post-factory nutritional, hormonal, and semiochemical treatments, applying the SIT to eradicate outbreaks of invasive pests, and using the SIT against mosquito vectors of disease. This book will be useful reading for students in animal-, human-, and plant-health courses. The in-depth reviews of all aspects of the SIT and its integration into AW-IPM programmes, complete with extensive lists of scientific references, will be of great value to researchers, teachers, animal-, human-, and plant-health practitioners, and policy makers.
Publication Date: 2021
Greenhouse Pest Management by
As the sustainable agriculture movement has grown, there has been a dramatic increase in the production of horticultural crops in greenhouses worldwide. Although there are numerous publications associated with pest management in greenhouses, Greenhouse Pest Management is the first comprehensive book on managing greenhouse arthropod pests, particularly in commercial production systems. The book contains the necessary information on major insects and mites, describing their biology and life cycle. Color images are included to help with identification and also to illustrate the damage these insects and mites can cause to greenhouse-grown horticultural crops. The book also assesses strategies for managing greenhouse pests, such as cultural, physical, and biological control as well as the use of pesticides, and describes how cultural practices and sanitation affect pest population dynamics. Richly illustrated and presenting material in a concise and focused format, Greenhouse Pest Management is a vital book for professional growers and pest managers, researchers, crop consultants and advisors, hobbyists, students, and government agricultural extension agents. It provides a thorough source of textual and visual information for handling pests in greenhouses.
Publication Date: 2020
Garden Insects of North America by Publication Date: 2017
The Guide to Humane Critter Control by Publication Date: 2017
Databases
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles about ecology, energy, natural resources, science, technology, law, public policy, and social impacts.
- Science (Journal)
A weekly, peer-reviewed journal that publishes significant original scientific research, plus reviews and analyses of current research and science policy.
- Science Database
Articles on both the applied and general sciences like aerospace, computers, transportation, and biology.
- Biological Science Database
Articles on biology topics.
