Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Plant Partners by
2021 AHS Book Award Winner Companion planting has a long history of use by gardeners, but the explanation of why it works has been filled with folklore and conjecture. Plant Partners delivers a research-based rationale for this ever-popular growing technique, offering dozens of ways you can use scientifically tested plant partnerships to benefit your whole garden. Through an enhanced understanding of how plants interact with and influence each other, this guide suggests specific plant combinations that improve soil health and weed control, decrease pest damage, and increase biodiversity, resulting in real and measurable impacts in the garden.
Call Number: SB453.6 .W35 2020
The Encyclopedia of Gardening Techniques Rev and updated edition by
The definitive guide to the best gardening techniques from pruning to propagation and planting to harvesting.
Call Number: SB 450.95.N49 2019
Sustainable Horticulture by
For one or two semester courses in Horticulture, Horticultural Science, or Plant Science. This comprehensive introduction to the emerging discipline of sustainable horticulture provides students with the foundations of horticultural science that underlie all forms of horticulture--from conventional through sustainable to organic. The practice of sustainable horticulture is designed to preserve agricultural resources and to prevent environmental damage to the farm and offsite land, water, and air. Production, profits, and incentives must remain at optimal levels, and the system must function in the context of socioeconomic realities. This text leads students through these practices and production, and provides the necessary information to support a more sustainable and environmentally-friendly horticulture.
Call Number: SB319.95 .P65 2004
American Horticultural Society Encyclopedia of Gardening by
An essential volume packed with authoritative advice for all gardeners, The American Horticultural Society Encyclopedia of Gardening guides readers expertly through the latest gardening techniques, details information on garden planning and design, and covers useful tools and materials.
Call Number: SB450.95 .A45 2003Dictionary of Horticulture by Covers gardening techniques, tools, pest control, plats to suit any climate, plant care, and other information (publisher note).
Call Number: SB45.N37 1994New York Botanical Garden Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Horticulture by 10 volume encyclopedia available at the Dundalk campus library
Call Number: SB317.58 .E94 1981
Other Library Guides
Native Plants of Maryland
- Recommended Native Plants for Maryland
from University of Maryland Extension Center - Maryland Plant Atlas
The Maryland Plant Atlas Working Group is a partnership between Maryland Department of Natural Resources (DNR), University of Maryland's Norton-Brown Herbarium (NBH), and Maryland Biodiversity Project (MBP). - What Is a Native Plant?from University of Maryland Extension
Glossaries
- Glossary of Horticultural Termsfrom Cornell Department of Agriculture
- Illustrated Glossary of Botanical Terms
Made to accompany Flora of the Chicago Region: A Floristic and Ecological Synthesis (Wilhelm & Rericha, 2017) Published by the Indiana Academy of Science (IAS) - Glossary of Terms
from United States Department of Agriculture
Podcasts
Online From CCBC Libraries
Fundamentals of Horticulture by Publication Date: 2014
Best Bet Databases
- Science (Journal)
A weekly, peer-reviewed journal that publishes significant original scientific research, plus reviews and analyses of current research and science policy.
- Science Database
Articles on both the applied and general sciences like aerospace, computers, transportation, and biology.
Open Access Journals
- Journal of Horticultural Sciences
published by the Society for Promotion of Horticulture, Bengaluru (India) - Biologia plantarum
International journal on Plant Life established by Bohumil Němec in 1959 - Open Agriculture
Open Agriculture is dedicated to different aspects of agriculture and the agricultural economy, The journal helps society from different countries gain well-based and accurate information, which may be adapted in their local communities.
Papers published in our journal fits the current United Nations agenda of sustainable deve