Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Total Meditation by
The definitive book of meditation that will help you achieve new dimensions of stress-free living For the past thirty years, Deepak Chopra has been at the forefront of the meditation revolution in the West. Total Meditation offers a complete exploration and reinterpretation of the physical, mental, emotional, relational, and spiritual benefits that this practice can bring. Deepak guides readers on how to wake up to new levels of awareness that will ultimately cultivate a clear vision, heal suffering in your mind and body, and help recover who you really are. Readers will undergo a transformative process, which will result in an awakening of the body, mind, and spirit that will allow you to live in a state of open, free, creative, and blissful awareness twenty-four hours a day. With this book, Deepak elevates the practice of meditation to a life-changing quest for higher consciousness and a more fulfilling existence. He also incorporates new research on meditation and its benefits, provides practical awareness exercises, and concludes with a 52-week program of meditations to help revolutionize every aspect of your life.
Call Number: BF637.M4 C476 2020
The Psychology of Meditation by
In the past 20 years meditation has grown enormously in popularity across the world, practised both by the general public, as well as by an increasing number of psychologists within their daily clinical practice. Meditation is now used to treat a range of disorders, including, depression,anxiety, eating disorders, chronic pain, and addiction. In the past twenty years we have also learned much more about the underlying neural bases for meditation, and why it works.The Psychology of Meditation: Research and Practice explores the practice of meditation and mindfulness and presents accounts of the cognitive and emotional processes elicited during meditation practice. Written by researchers and practitioners with considerable experience in meditation practiceand from different religious or philosophical perspectives, he book examines the evidence for the effects of meditation on emotional and physical well-being in therapeutic contexts and in applied settings. The areas covered include addictions, pain management, psychotherapy, physical health,neuroscience, and the application of meditation in school and workplace settings. Uniquely, the contributors also present accounts of their own personal experience of meditation practice including their history of practice, phenomenology, and the impact it has had on their lives.Drawing on evidence from both research and practice, this is a valuable synthesis of the ways in which meditation can profoundly enrich human experience.
Call Number: BF637.M4 P782 2016
Mind, Brain and the Path to Happiness by
Mind, Brain and the Path to Happiness presents a contemporary account of traditional Buddhist mind training and the pursuit of wellbeing and happiness in the context of the latest research in psychology and the neuroscience of meditation. Following the Tibetan Buddhist tradition of Dzogchen, the book guides the reader through the gradual steps in transformation of the practitioner's mind and brain on the path to advanced states of balance, genuine happiness and wellbeing. Dusana Dorjee explains how the mind training is grounded in philosophical and experiential exploration of the notions of happiness and human potential, and how it refines attention skills and cultivates emotional balance in training of mindfulness, meta-awareness and development of healthy emotions. The book outlines how the practitioner can explore subtle aspects of conscious experience in order to recognize the nature of the mind and reality. At each of the steps on the path the book provides novel insights into similarities and differences between Buddhist accounts and current psychological and neuroscientific theories and evidence. Throughout the book the author skilfully combines Buddhist psychology and Western scientific research with examples of meditation practices, highlighting the ultimately practical nature of Buddhist mind training. Mind, Brain and the Path to Happiness is an important book for health professionals and educators who teach or apply mindfulness and meditation-based techniques in their work, as well as for researchers and students investigating these techniques both in a clinical context and in the emerging field of contemplative science.
Call Number: BF151 .D67 2014
Websites
- Meditation: In Depth
from National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health - Meditation: A simple, fast way to reduce stress
from Mayo Clinic
Online Articles
- How to Meditate When You Have No Idea Where to Start
Self, September 1, 2020
Organizations
Online From CCBC Libraries
The Power of Guided Meditation by
Power of Guided Meditation is an illustrated and complete beginners introduction to visualisation and meditation aimed at bringing healing to the mind, body, and spirit in an accessible way.
Publication Date: 2021
The Guided Meditation Handbook by
Help yoga students to access a deep state of relaxation with this guided meditation handbook. Offering yoga teachers scripts for guided meditations, students can learn how to cultivate positive emotions and let go of negative ones. Including practical information on how to set the scene for meditation in a yoga class, using music, lighting and props, the book also advises on how to introduce a meditation practice to yoga students. It explores the benefits of meditation for people from all walks of life, including sleep-deprived parents and those suffering from post-traumatic stress. Six scripts are dedicated to Hasta Mudra meditations and utilising the healing power of traditional hand gestures. The scripts can be used to open or close a class, and there is also guidance on how to create original meditations.
ISBN: 9781787750487Publication Date: 2019
Mindfulness and Meditation by
This book is an approachable introduction to the topics of mindfulness and meditation as they relate to teens and young adults. The information, guidance, and resources offered make it a valuable tool for anyone curious about this trending topic. Although mindfulness and meditation have been practiced for millennia, modern neurobiologists and psychologists are only just beginning to understand their full potential for improving physical and emotional well-being. Part of Greenwood's Q&A Health Guides series, Mindfulness and Meditation: Your Questions Answered provides clear, concise information for readers interested in the contemporary practice of, and research behind, mindfulness and meditation. It explores definitions of mindfulness and meditation, offers solutions for successfully incorporating them into our often-chaotic lives, and explains their many practical applications and benefits for practitioners. Each book in this series follows a reader-friendly question-and-answer format that anticipates readers' needs and concerns. Prevalent myths and misconceptions are identified and dispelled, and a collection of case studies illustrates key concepts and issues through relatable stories and insightful recommendations. The book also includes a section on health literacy, equipping teens and young adults with practical tools and strategies for finding, evaluating, and using credible sources of health information both on and off the Internet--important skills that contribute to a lifetime of healthy decision-making. Makes the subject accessible to readers by means of a simple Q&A format Helps readers hone their research and critical thinking skills in a Guide to Health Literacy section Provides real-world examples of concepts discussed in the book through case studies Dispels popular misconceptions in a Common Myths section and directs readers towards accurate information Points readers towards additional books, organizations, and websites for further study and research in an annotated directory of resources
Publication Date: 2018
