Library Catalog
On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
The Heart of the Buddha's Teaching by
With poetry and clarity, Thich Nhat Hanh imparts comforting wisdom about the nature of suffering and its role in creating compassion, love, and joy - all qualities of enlightenment. In The Heart of the Buddha's Teaching, now revised with added material and new insights, Nhat Hanh introduces us to the core teachings of Buddhism and shows us that the Buddha's teachings are accessible and applicable to our daily lives. Covering such significant teachings as the Four Noble Truths, the Noble Eightfold Path, the Three Doors of Liberation, the Three Dharma Seals, and the Seven Factors of Awakening, The Heart of the Buddha's Teaching is a radiant beacon on Buddhist thought for the initiated and uninitiated alike. "Thich Nhat Hanh shows us the connection between personal, inner peace, and peace on earth." - His Holiness the Dalai Lama
Call Number: BQ4230 .N53 2015Publication Date: 1999-06-08
Buddhism by
Part of The Essential Wisdom Library, Buddhism provides an accessible, comprehensive guide for anyone looking to gain an understanding of the faith and practice of the religion. From central ideas like the Eight Fold Path and the Four Noble Truths to the role of meditation, Buddhism offers an indispensible introduction to the wisdom tradition that has shaped the lives of millions of people across centuries and continents. Writing in an engaging, approachable style, author Joan Duncan Oliver outlines the key tenants of Buddhism for every reader, unpacking complex philosophies and revealing the beauty of the timeless faith. A practitioner of Buddhist meditation for over thirty years, Oliver has written extensively on the subject and is uniquely well versed in Buddhist practice. Her expert knowledge and understanding make Buddhism an essential modern guidebook to an ancient tradition.
Call Number: BQ893 .O45 2019
Why Buddhism Is True by
New York Times Bestseller From one of America's greatest minds, a journey through psychology, philosophy, and lots of meditation to show how Buddhism holds the key to moral clarity and enduring happiness. Robert Wright famously explained in The Moral Animal how evolution shaped the human brain. The mind is designed to often delude us, he argued, about ourselves and about the world. And it is designed to make happiness hard to sustain. But if we know our minds are rigged for anxiety, depression, anger, and greed, what do we do? Wright locates the answer in Buddhism, which figured out thousands of years ago what scientists are only discovering now. Buddhism holds that human suffering is a result of not seeing the world clearly--and proposes that seeing the world more clearly, through meditation, will make us better, happier people. In Why Buddhism is True, Wright leads readers on a journey through psychology, philosophy, and a great many silent retreats to show how and why meditation can serve as the foundation for a spiritual life in a secular age. At once excitingly ambitious and wittily accessible, this is the first book to combine evolutionary psychology with cutting-edge neuroscience to defend the radical claims at the heart of Buddhist philosophy. With bracing honesty and fierce wisdom, it will persuade you not just that Buddhism is true--which is to say, a way out of our delusion--but that it can ultimately save us from ourselves, as individuals and as a species.
Call Number: BQ4050.W75 2017
Buddhism by
Buddhism is often characterised as one of the most complex and enigmatic of all the world's religions. Although the Buddha himself was not a philosopher in the sense that that term is often understood, a Buddhist philosophy nevertheless emerged from the Buddha's teachings that was astonishingly rich, profound and elusive. Buddhism, which for over two millennia has been an integral part of South and East Asian society and civilisation, is now increasingly popular in the West, where its teachings about liberation of the self from the cycle of existence have proved attractive to people from a wide variety of backgrounds. In this new and comprehensive textbook, Alexander Wynne shows that the story of Buddhism as a global system of belief begins with the life of the Buddha in northern India in the fifth century bce. He discusses the many new advances that have been made in recent years with regard to Buddhist origins, and traces the ways that formative Indian doctrines helped shape the features of later Asian Buddhism. Carefully outlining the major Buddhist traditions, Wynne examines in turn the major Mahayana traditions of China, in- cluding the Ch'an and Pure Land schools, as well as recent trends in Theravada Buddhism, especially in Sri Lanka and Thailand, and the Tantric Buddhism of Tibet. Finally, he turns to the role of Buddhism in the modern world, and explores how the western encounter with Buddhism has both affected and been affected by it, especially in the fields of cognitive science and modern psychology.
Call Number: BQ266 .W96 2015
Streaming Video
- Buddhismenefiting from having the charismatic 14th Dalai Lama as its most visible spokesperson, Buddhism is enjoying a surge of popularity, drawing an increasing number of spiritual seekers from the West as well as from the East. In this program, Hans Kung enters the world of the Buddha, beginning with the holy site of the Tree of Enlightenment, in India, and ending at a Zen Buddhist monastery in Japan, to offer an overview of the many branches of and traditions in Buddhism today.
Podcasts
- Secular Buddhism "Secular Buddhism is a non-dogmatic way of understanding and practicing Buddhism. Buddhism is often referred to as the path of liberation. But liberation from what? From our habitual reactivity and self-inflicted suffering. The aim of Buddhist teachings is to understand the nature of reality, the nature of suffering and to let go of the causes of suffering. The process starts by taking a look at how we see the world. When we understand the way we see things, the way we see things will change. This introspection will give us insight into the nature of our own minds. Rather than trying to change the world (our circumstances), we focus on changing ourselves and in that process the world around us changes." -- podcast homepage
Online Articles
Online From CCBC Libraries
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by
Praise for the previous edition:Recommended for high school, undergraduate, and general readership collections...--Library JournalRecommended.--Choice...a compelling, practical, and straightforward work.--School Library Journal...accessible...comprehensive...well suited for public libraries and academic collections.--BooklistEncyclopedia of Buddhism, Second Edition provides easy access to the terms, concepts, personalities, historical events, institutions, and movements that helped shape the history of Buddhism and the way it is practiced today. Although the primary focus of the encyclopedia is clearly on Buddhism in all its forms, it also provides introductions to Daoism, Shinto, Confucianism, and other religious practices in East and Southeast Asia.A comprehensive introduction that provides an overview of the tradition, a chronology, cross-references, further readings, a bibliography, and photographs complete this volume. This easy-to-use and essential encyclopedia is ideal for high school and college students, researchers, and general readers.Entries include:Afghanistan, Buddhism inAnatmanAngkor WatAsokaBodhi treeBuddhas of the pastBuddhism in CambodiaBuddhism in the United StatesBuddhist fundamentalismPema ChodronChristian-Buddhist relationsConfucian ClassicsCremation in BuddhismDalai LamaDaoism in China-TaiwanEightfold PathFalun GongFeng shuiGompaHermann HesseJapan Buddhist FederationKarmaLaoziMandalaNirvanaQuestions of King MilindaSchools of Chinese BuddhismShintoStupaTea ceremonyTheravadaThich Nhat HanhTraditional Buddhist ethicsWar and violenceZen Buddhism.
Publication Date: 2016
Buddhism Beyond Borders by
Explores facets of North American Buddhism while taking into account the impact of globalization and increasing interconnectivity.
Publication Date: 2015
