EBooks at CCBC Libraries
Essential Demographic Methods by
Classroom-tested over many years and filled with fresh examples, Essential Demographic Methods is tailored to beginners, advanced students, and researchers. Award-winning teacher and eminent demographer Kenneth Wachter draws on themes from the individual lifecourse, history, and global change to bring out the wider appeal of demography.
Publication Date: 2014
Population Theories and Their Economic Interpretation by
First published in 1998. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Publication Date: 2013
Demographics of the U. S. by
The year is 1950, and you are about to be magically transported more than half a century into the future to the present time. What would you notice first? What would most surprise you? Beyond the obvious technological marvels of the day lie profound changes in our demographics and lifestyles that would be shocking to the 1950s time traveler.Find out what those changes are in Demographics of the U.S.: Trends and Projections, a unique source for details about the socioeconomic trends of the last half of the twentieth century and the first decade of the 21st. It includes comprehensive coverage of historical statistics, including single-year data on many topics such as school enrollment, SAT scores, hospital admissions, employment status of men and women, living arrangements of children, marital status, and geographic mobility.Demographics of the U.S. is a reference book for those who want perspective on the many changes in American life--a perspective critical for understanding what the 21st century will hold. New Strategist's editors scoured web sites and government reference books to locate the most revealing trend data. The result is a compilation of statistics that cannot be found in a single volume anywhere else, documenting the demographic and socioeconomic trends that have transformed the United States since 1950.Demographics of the U.S. documents the trends of the past 60 years by compiling historical numbers that cannot be found in a single volume anywhere else. Its 10 chapters examine trends in American's attitudes and behavior, education, health, housing, income, labor force participation, living arrangements, population, spending, and wealth. New to this edition are 2010 census data, homeownership statistics through 2011, employment projections to 2020, and trends in household spending and wealth since the Great Recession.
Publication Date: 2012
Demography in the Age of the Postmodern by
Nancy Riley and James McCarthy examine demography in this study from the new perspective of postmodernism, and survey its development as a field. Demography as a social science has struggled to maintain its political and academic strength. Riley and McCarthy accordingly argue for the inclusion of new methodologies and theories into the field in order to broaden and strengthen the analysis of demographic behavior. The book includes numerous examples of innovative demographic-related research, indicating how it enriches the field.
Publication Date: 2003
Websites
- Global Road Warrior
Global Road Warrior provides you maps, demographics, atlases, and other related information.
Databases
All of these databases contain information about countries or cultures.
Choose the database that best matches the type of information you need.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Background information on all topics to start your research.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Background information on all topics to start your research.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on business, management, economics, and finance. Also includes company and industry profiles as well as country and marketing research reports.
- Britannica Academic: Compare Countries This link opens in a new window
Compare maps, flags, statistics, events and multimedia about any two countries in the world.
Online From CCBC Libraries
These Reference books include many different countries:
Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily lifePublication Date: 2017
Countries, Peoples and Cultures by Publication Date: 2015
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations by Publication Date: 2012
Philip's world factbookPublication Date: 2008
Countries and their culturesPublication Date: 2003
