Resources
- Global Road Warrior
Global Road Warrior provides you maps, demographics, atlases, and other related information.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations by Call Number: REF. G63 .W67 2012
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by Call Number: REF. GN307 .W67 2009
Online From CCBC Libraries
These Reference books include many different countries:
Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily lifePublication Date: 2017
Countries, Peoples and Cultures by Publication Date: 2015
Etiquette and Taboos Around the World: a Geographic Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Customs by
An interesting resource for learning about the cultural differences and characteristics of people across the globe, this encyclopedia covers the "do's" and "don'ts" of a breadth of countries and major ethnic groups. Readers of this one-volume reference will gain useful knowledge of what travelers should and shouldn't do when in countries outside of the United States. After a general introduction, approximately 100 alphabetically arranged entries cover topics such as greeting and meeting, appearance and dress, table manners, body language, social situations and hospitality, verbal communications, business etiquette, religious etiquette, gift-giving, and even "netiquette" regarding social media. Sidebars and images throughout make the text more accessible and engaging, and additional readings at the end of each entry as well as the bibliography offer opportunities for further research on the subject. The content also directly supports the National Geography Standards and the AP Human Geography curriculum for high school students as they learn about the cultural differences and characteristics of people in major ethnic groups across the globe. Provides comprehensive coverage of many of the world's countries and cultures that enables readers to make insightful cross-cultural comparisons Directly supports the National Geography Standards by examining cultural mosaics Provides relevant and useful information for readers preparing for study-abroad excursions or other international travel
Publication Date: 2017
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations by Publication Date: 2012
Philip's world factbookPublication Date: 2008
Countries and their culturesPublication Date: 2003
