On the Shelf at CCBC Libraries
Catastrophes! by
Devastating natural disasters have profoundly shaped human history, leaving us with a respect for the mighty power of the earth--and a humbling view of our future. Paleontologist and geologist Donald R. Prothero tells the harrowing human stories behind these catastrophic events. Prothero describes in gripping detail some of the most important natural disasters in history: * the New Madrid, Missouri, earthquakes of 1811-1812 that caused church bells to ring in Boston * the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami that killed more than 230,000 people * the massive volcanic eruptions of Krakatau, Mount Tambora, Mount Vesuvius, Mount St. Helens, and Nevado del Ruiz His clear and straightforward explanations of the forces that caused these disasters accompany gut-wrenching accounts of terrifying human experiences and a staggering loss of human life. Floods that wash out whole regions, earthquakes that level a single country, hurricanes that destroy everything in their path--all are here to remind us of how little control we have over the natural world. Dramatic photographs and eyewitness accounts recall the devastation wrought by these events, and the people--both heroes and fools--that are caught up in the earth's relentless forces. Eerie, fascinating, and often moving, these tales of geologic history and human fortitude and folly will stay with you long after you put the book down.
Call Number: QE506 .P76 2011
The Third Wave by
Traces the author's experiences as a volunteer after the tsunami in Sri Lanka, when she, her boyfriend, and two other volunteers attended to first-aid, rebuilding efforts, and establishing a tsunami early-warning center.
Call Number: HV553 .T46 2011
The Power of the Sea by
The Power of the Sea describes our struggle to understand the physics of the sea, so we can use that knowledge to predict when the sea will unleash its fury against us. In a wide-sweeping narrative spanning much of human history, Bruce Parker, former chief scientist of the National Ocean Service, interweaves thrilling and often moving stories of unpredicted natural disaster with an accessible account of scientific discovery. The result is a compelling scientific journey, from ancient man's first crude tide predictions to today's advanced early warning ability based on the Global Ocean Observing System. It is a journey still underway, as we search for ways to predict tsunamis and rogue waves and critical aspects of El Niño and climate change caused by global warming.
Call Number: GC221.2 .P37 2010
Tsunami by
In the past decade over ten major tsunami events have impacted on the world's coastlines, causing devastation and loss of life. Evidence for past great tsunami, or 'mega-tsunami', has also recently been discovered along apparently aseismic and protected coastlines. With a large proportion of the world's population living on the coastline, the threat from tsunami can not be ignored. This book comprehensively describes the nature and process of tsunami, outlines field evidence for detecting the presence of past events, and describes particular events linked to earthquakes, volcanoes, submarine landslides and meteorite impacts. While technical aspects are covered, much of the text can be read by anyone with a high school education. The book will appeal to students and researchers in geomorphology, earth and environmental science, and emergency planning, and will also be attractive for the general public interested in natural hazards and new developments in science.
Call Number: GC221.2 .B78 2001
Streaming Videos
- Tsunami, Indian Ocean, December 2004
This video, produced by World Wide Entertainment, is about the December 2004 tsunami that hit Indonesia.
Online Databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Articles on any subject. This is a good place to start.
- Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new window
Baltimore's newspaper, which is good for local news and issues from 1990 - today.
For articles published 1837-1992, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Baltimore Sun. - Biological Science Database
Articles on biology topics.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
eBooks on every subject. You can use just a chapter on your topic.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles about ecology, energy, natural resources, science, technology, law, public policy, and social impacts.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Viewpoint essays, topic essays, and news and magazine articles on controversial issues. Browse for topics or search.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Points of view essays, topic overviews, and news and magazine articles on controversial issues. Browse for topics or search.
Online from CCBC Libraries
The World's Oceans by
This single-volume resource explores the five major oceans of the world, addressing current issues such as sea rise and climate change and explaining the significance of the oceans from historical, geographic, and cultural perspectives. The World's Oceans: Geography, History, and Environment is a one-stop resource that describes in-depth the Arctic, Atlantic, Indian, Pacific, and Southern Oceans and identifies their importance, today and throughout history. Essays address the subject areas of oceans and seas in world culture, fishing and shipping industries through history, ocean exploration, and climate change and oceans. The book also presents dozens of entries covering a breadth of topics on human culture, the environment, history, and current issues as they relate to the oceans and ocean life. Sample entries provide detailed information on topics such as the Bermuda Triangle, Coral Reefs, the Great Pacific Garbage Patch, Ice Melt, Myths and Legends, Piracy, and Whaling. Contributions to the work come from top researchers in the fields of history and maritime studies, including Paul D'Arcy, John Gillis, Tom Hoogervorst, Michael North, and Lincoln Paine. The volume highlights the numerous ways in which Earth's oceans have influenced culture and society, from the earliest seafaring civilizations to the future of the planet. Introduces readers to the five major oceans of the world and provides ready-reference entries relating to geography, the environment, science, history, and culture Entries are engaging and accessible to all readers from high school to university students to general readers Includes sidebars of "fun facts" throughout the text that highlight interesting oceanic subtopics
Publication Date: 2018-07-26
The Indian Ocean Tsunami by
On December 26, 2004, a massive tsunami triggered by an underwater earthquake pummeled the coasts of Thailand, Indonesia, Sri Lanka, and other countries along the Indian Ocean. With casualties as far away as Africa, the aftermath was overwhelming: ships could be spotted miles inland; cars floated in the ocean; legions of the unidentified dead -- an estimated 225,000 -- were buried in mass graves; relief organizations struggled to reach rural areas and provide adequate aid for survivors. Shortly after this disaster, researchers from around the world traveled to the region's most devastated areas, observing and documenting the tsunami's impact. The Indian Ocean Tsunami: The Global Response to a Natural Disaster offers the first analysis of the response and recovery effort. Editors Pradyumna P. Karan and S. Subbiah, employing an interdisciplinary approach, have assembled an international team of top geographers, geologists, anthropologists, and political scientists to study the environmental, economic, and political effects of the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami. The volume includes chapters that address the tsunami's geo-environmental impact on coastal ecosystems and groundwater systems. Other chapters offer sociocultural perspectives on religious power relations in South India and suggest ways to improve government agencies' response systems for natural disasters. A clear and definitive analysis of the second deadliest natural disaster on record, The Indian Ocean Tsunami will be of interest to environmentalists and political scientists alike, as well as to planners and administrators of disaster-preparedness programs.
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
Tsunami by
This book provides comprehensive scientific information and knowledge survival tips on how to survive a tsunami. it is especially useful to those living (or about to live) in tsunami-prone areas, and to travelers who may visit such areas. The book is composed of two parts: The first consisting of three chapters on how to survive a tsunami by (i) describing precious lessons obtained from actual tsunami disasters, (ii) imparting fundamental knowledge of tsunami science for survival, and (iii) listing measures for tsunami disaster mitigation. The second part provides more detailed scientific knowledge on tsunamis and consists two chapters: one describes tsunami occurrence mechanism and near-shore behavior; the other mentions numerical simulation and tsunami forecasting.
Publication Date: 2009-10-01Guide to the Oceans by
Publication Date: 2007-01-08
