Featured Book: Under A White Sky
Under a White Sky by ISBN: 9780593136270Under a White Sky is an utterly original examination of the challenges we face with our own human-imposed effects of climate change and its disasterous results in the environment. The book is a national bestseller and was also chosen by a college-wide selection process to be the 2022-2023 Community Book Connection winner at CCBC.
- CCBC Research Guide: Under A White SkyThis guide will link researchers to more resources that further develop and illustrate themes and ideas from the 2022-23 Community Book Connection winning book chosen by the Community College of Baltimore County.
Books and eBooks
Encyclopedia of Disasters by
Disasters can strike at any time. From the eruption of Mt. Vesuvius to Hurricane Katrina, floods, tornadoes, earthquakes, hurricanes and other natural disasters have caused tremendous loss of life, human suffering, and environmental catastrophe. The complex technological and social changes of the last few centuries have not only intensified the impact of such natural disasters, but have added new introduced new reasons to be concerned - plane crashes, bombings, industrial accidents, genocides. Calling some disasters natural and others man-made downplays the important interrelationship between the event and human actions. Human actions - or inactions - can catapult a natural phenomenon into a deadly catastrophe. Likewise, nature can be terribly disrupted by events that are created by humans. Encyclopedia of Disasters covers over 180 of the most important disasters in history. Arranged chronologically, the encyclopedia includes entries on those disasters that have had the greatest historical, environmental, and cultural impact: The eruption of Mt. Vesuvius, which destroyed the towns of Pompeii and Herculaneum; the London Fire of 1666, which flattened much of London and allowed the rebuilding of the city; the influenza epidemic of 1918, which killed millions; the 1964 Prince William Sound earthquake in Alaska, which caused death and destruction as far away as Hawaii; the worst nuclear power plant accident in Chernobyl, Ukraine, in 1964, that has rendered the surrounding landscape uninhabitable; and the 2004 earthquake that created a tsunami that killed thousands in Sumatra. Each entry includes a list of readings for additional research, and the encyclopedia is illustrated with numerous photos and line illustrations that show the destruction and despair caused by these disasters.
Call Number: GB5014 .G86 2008 v1 -2, On shelf at Catonsville and EssexISBN: 9780313340024
When Technology Fails by Call Number: TA169.5 .W44 1994
Cataclysms by
Michael R. Rampino builds on the latest findings from leading geoscientists to take "neocatastrophism" a step further, toward a richer understanding of the science behind major planetary upheavals and extinction events. Cataclysms offers a cosmic context for Earth's geologic evolution.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780231544870Publication Date: 2017-08-22
Types of Disasters
Actuarial Solutions: https://aprllp.com/catastrophes-the-challenges-of-man-made-cats/
Links
- Why catastrophes can change the course of humanity
In a feature article written for BBC Future, scientist and catastrophic risk expert, Seth Baum, explains why a global disaster such as a nuclear war, a pandemic or runaway AI could have much graver consequences for humanity’s future than we realize. - The World's Worst Disasters (series)
The Films On Demand Database presents episodes from the BBC filmed mini-series called The World's Worst Disasters. Several retrospective analysis of extreme disaster cases from around the globe are covered in-depth.